DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the upstream surface being concave in combination with the arcuate inner surface extending from the upstream surface (i.e. claim 18 as dependent on claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Specifically Examiner notes that the only Fig. showing a concave upstream surface is Fig. 4F which does not show the arcuate inner surface extending from such a concave upstream surface (i.e. as there is shown to be a step portion/surface in between these surfaces).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an additional downstream tapered face” should read “an additional downstream tapered surface” (see the “tapered downstream surface” of claim 1, that is appears this limitation is referring to). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the upstream surface is concave”. Though there is literal antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims and support for this limitation alone in Fig. 4F, the specification does not sufficiently disclose such in combination with the arcuate inner surface extending from such a concave upstream surface (i.e. required by claim 16 on which this claim depends, as there is shown/described to be a step portion/surface in between these surfaces). Appropriate correction is required. Examiner recommends canceling this claim or amending claim 16 to read “an arcuate inner surface extending approximately from the upstream surface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15-16, and 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mullins et al. (US 2022/0403839).
With regard to claim 1, Mullins discloses a sealing ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B below) for a packing arrangement of a reciprocating pump (as seen in Figs. 3A, 7A, as described in the abstract, para. [0003], etc.), the sealing ring comprising: a planar upstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B below); a tapered downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B below) disposed opposite of the planar upstream surface (as seen in Fig. 3B); and an arcuate inner surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B below) extending convexly from the planar upstream surface toward the tapered downstream surface (as seen in Fig. 3B), wherein the arcuate inner surface is configured to engage with a reciprocating element of the reciprocating pump (as seen in Fig. 3A-B it engages with plunger rod 106).
With regard to claim 2, Mullins discloses that the planar upstream surface and the arcuate inner surface cooperatively form a vertex (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above).
With regard to claim 3, Mullins discloses that the tapered downstream surface extends transverse to the planar upstream surface (as seen in Fig. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 4, Mullins discloses an extension extending from the tapered downstream surface in a downstream direction (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above).
With regard to claim 5, Mullins discloses an outer surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above) extending opposite of the arcuate inner surface (as seen in Fig. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 6, Mullins discloses an additional tapered downstream face (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above) extending from the outer surface toward the tapered downstream surface in a downstream direction (as seen in Fig. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 9, Mullins discloses a sealing ring assembly (as seen in Fig. 3A-B, etc.) for a packing arrangement of a reciprocating pump (as seen in Figs. 3A, 7A, as described in the abstract, para. [0003], etc.), the sealing ring assembly comprising: a first ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above) comprising a downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above); and a second ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above) comprising: an upstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above) configured to engage the downstream surface of the first ring (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.); and an inner surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3B above) extending arcuately and convexly from the upstream surface in a downstream direction (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 10, Mullins discloses that the second ring comprises a tapered downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Figs. 3B above/below) extending from the inner surface (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.), and the sealing ring assembly comprises a third ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Figs. 3B above/below) comprising a tapered upstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Figs. 3B below) configured to engage the tapered downstream surface of the second ring (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.) and extend over the inner surface of the second ring (as seen in Figs. 3B).
With regard to claim 11, Mullins discloses that the inner surface of the second ring extends radially inward beyond the first ring (as seen in Fig. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 12, Mullins discloses that the upstream surface of the second ring extends radially outward beyond the downstream surface of the first ring (as seen in Fig. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 13, Mullins discloses that the upstream surface of the second ring extends toward the downstream surface of the first ring (as seen in Fig. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 15, Mullins discloses that the downstream surface of the first ring is planar (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 16, Mullins discloses a sealing ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated first Fig. 3B above) for a packing arrangement of a reciprocating pump (as seen in Figs. 3A, 7A, as described in the abstract, para. [0003], etc.), the sealing ring comprising: an upstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated first Fig. 3B above); an arcuate inner surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated first Fig. 3B above) extending convexly from the upstream surface (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.), wherein the arcuate inner surface is configured to engage with a reciprocating element of the reciprocating pump (as seen in Figs. 3A-B, etc. it engages with plunger 106); and a downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated first Fig. 3B above) extending from the arcuate inner surface (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.).
With regard to claim 19, Mullins discloses that the upstream surface is planar (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.).
Claims 9-11, 14, 16, and 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chase et al. (US 2019/0085978).
With regard to claim 9, Chase discloses a sealing ring assembly (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.) for a packing arrangement of a reciprocating pump (as seen in Figs. 1-2, as described in the abstract, etc.), the sealing ring assembly comprising: a first ring (306) comprising a downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 below); and a second ring (308) comprising: an upstream surface (408) configured to engage the downstream surface of the first ring (as seen in Fig. 3-4); and an inner surface (404 as seen in Fig. 4) extending arcuately and convexly from the upstream surface in a downstream direction (as seen in Figs. 3-4).
With regard to claim 10, Chase discloses that the second ring comprises a tapered downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 above and Fig. 4 below) extending from the inner surface (as seen in Figs. 3-4), and the sealing ring assembly comprises a third ring (310) comprising a tapered upstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Figs. 3 above) configured to engage the tapered downstream surface of the second ring (as seen in Fig. 3) and extend over the inner surface of the second ring (as seen in Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 11, Chase discloses that the inner surface of the second ring extends radially inward beyond the first ring (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.).
With regard to claim 14, Chase discloses that the upstream surface of the second ring is arcuate (as seen in Fig. 4 as 408 includes an arc shaped curved portion at least in the center thereof).
With regard to claim 16, Chase discloses a sealing ring (308) for a packing arrangement of a reciprocating pump (as seen in Figs. 1-2, as described in the abstract, etc.), the sealing ring comprising: an upstream surface (408); an arcuate inner surface (404 as seen in Fig. 4) extending convexly from the upstream surface (as seen in Fig. 4), wherein the arcuate inner surface is configured to engage with a reciprocating element of the reciprocating pump (as seen in Fig. 3 it engages with plunger 202); and a downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 above) extending from the arcuate inner surface (as seen in Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 18, Chase discloses that the upstream surface is concave (as seen in Fig. 4 as 408 includes an arc shaped concave curved portion at least in the center thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins et al. (US 2022/0403839) in view of Chase (US 2022/0163032).
With regard to claim 7, Mullins fails to disclose an additional inner surface extending from the arcuate inner surface to the tapered downstream surface.
Chase discloses a similar sealing ring (306) for a similar application (see Figs. 1-3, etc.) having an additional inner surface extending from convex inner portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 5 below) to a tapered downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 5 below).
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have modified the device of Mullins with the additional inner surface extending from the arcuate inner surface to the tapered downstream surface as taught by Chase. Such a modification would have provided the expected result of providing better scraping of the plunger rod.
With regard to claim 8, Mullins fails to disclose that the arcuate inner surface terminates prior to the tapered downstream surface.
Chase discloses a similar sealing ring (306) for a similar application (see Figs. 1-3, etc.) having a convex inner portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 5 below) that terminates prior to (as seen in Fig. 5m etc.) a tapered downstream surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 5 below).
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have modified the device of Mullins such that the arcuate inner surface terminates prior to the tapered downstream surface as taught by Chase. Such a modification would have provided the expected result of providing better scraping of the plunger rod.
With regard to claim 17, Mullins fails to disclose that the upstream surface is convex.
Chase discloses a similar sealing ring (306) with an upstream face (402) that is convex (as seen in Fig. 5 as it comprises plural portions (e.g. 422 with 423) at make a convex shape).
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have modified the device of Mullins such that the upstream surface is convex as taught by Chase. Such a modification would have provided the expected benefit of better retention between an upstream ring (e.g. 302 in Chase or the “first ring” in Mullins (see above)).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins et al. (US 2022/0403839) alone.
With regard to claim 20, Mullins discloses an outer surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated first Fig. 3B above) extending opposite of the arcuate inner surface (as seen in Figs. 3B, etc.), but fails to disclose a tapered portion extending from the upstream surface to the outer surface (i.e. as it discloses a sharp corner).
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have modified the device of Mullins such that a tapered portion extending from the upstream surface to the outer surface as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of easier installation of the ring while preventing scraping of the device the ring is installed in and/or preventing damage of the sharp corner of the ring during installation and is a well-known mechanical alternative to a sharp corner. Additionally and/or alternatively it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have modified the device of Mullins such that a tapered portion extending from the upstream surface to the outer surface as Examiner hereby takes Official notice that the art is replete with examples of similar seal rings having a tapered portion extending from the upstream surface to the outer surface instead of a sharp corner. Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of easier installation of the ring while preventing scraping of the device the ring is installed in and/or preventing damage of the sharp corner of the ring during installation and is a well-known mechanical alternative to a sharp corner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides additional examples of similar seal rings and seal ring assemblies.
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675