DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Accordingly claims 9, 27, 28 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HAVOLA (US 2020/0008508).
With respect to claim 17, HAVOLA discloses a helmet system comprising: a helmet (helmet 102); a processor (control unit 800, figures 7-8); and connections to a first power source, a second power source and at least one accessory device (figures 7 and 8 disclose first and second power sources (battery 810 and external power source) connected via respective connections to supply power to the helmet accessories); and wherein the processor is configured to select one of the first power source and the second power source as an active power source for powering the at least one accessory device in response to detecting a threshold. Control unit 800 selects the external power source, when it is detected that the external power sources is available, paragraphs 0080-0081, 0084.
With respect to claim 18, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 17 wherein the processor and the first power source are mounted to a unit removably attachable to the helmet. Figure 4 discloses that the unit is removable.
With respect to claim 19, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 18 further comprising an external power and data interface mounted to the unit. Figure 8 discloses connection to the external unit 818 for providing data and power.
With respect to claim 20, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 19 wherein in response to detecting the threshold, the processor selects an external power source connected to the external power and data interface as the active power source. Control unit 800 selects the external power source, when it is detected that the external power sources is available, paragraphs 0080-0081, 0084.
With respect to claim 24, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 18 wherein the second power source is mounted to a power module removably attachable to the unit. Figure 8 discloses that the external power source 818 is removably attached to the unit.
With respect to claim 25, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 24 further comprising a power and data interface connecting the unit and the power module. Figure 8, Paragraph 0084-0085 disclose a USB bus for providing power and data.
With respect to claim 26, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 25 wherein the second power source comprises a plurality of second power sources. HAVOLA discloses that the external power supply is for example a computing unit that necessarily has plural power sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAVOLA (US 2020/0008508) in view of Ford (US 9,413,181).
With respect to claims 21, 22, HAVOLA discloses the helmet system of claim 19; except for, further comprising a charging circuit mounted to the unit and connected to the processor, the first power source, and the external power and data interface; further comprising a power converter mounted to the unit and connected to the processor, the first power source, and the external power and data interface.
Ford discloses a wearable power supply for a helmet, comprising a charging circuit 48 for charging battery cells, and converter 46 all the elements are connected to a controller circuit, figure 3A.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify HAVOLA and include the charger and converter circuits of Ford, for the purpose of providing a charging circuit for recharging the batteries and a converter for providing a constant voltage, for example.
With respect to claim 23, HAVOLA in view of Ford disclose the helmet system of claim 22 further comprising a power bus mounted to the unit and connected to the power converter and a plurality of accessories. HAVOLA discloses in figures 5, 7-8 mounting rails 104 connected to the controller/power management units and accessory units.
With respect to claim 28, HAVOLA in view of Ford disclose the helmet system of claim 23 further comprising means for connecting or disconnecting the first power source in response to the processor detecting the threshold. HAVOLA discloses that the controller controls the connection of the batteries when there is no external power source, paragraph 0081.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim1-16 are allowed.
Claim 1 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to: select one of the first power source and the second power source as an active power source for the at least one accessory device, select the first power source or the second power source not selected as the active power source as a backup power source for the at least one accessory device, detect when a remaining capacity of the active power source is less than a threshold, and select the backup power source as a new active power source for the at least one accessory device in response to detecting the remaining capacity of the active power source is less than the threshold. Along with the remaining features of the claim.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose connections to a first power source, a second power source and at least one accessory device; and wherein the apparatus is configured, via a processor, to: select one of the first power source and the second power source as an active power source for the at least one accessory device, select the first power source or the second power source not selected as the active power source as a backup power source for the at least one accessory device, detect when a remaining capacity of the active power source is less than a threshold, and select the backup power source as a new active power source for the at least one accessory device in response to detecting the remaining capacity of the active power source is less than the threshold.
Claims 27, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 27 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose means for connecting or disconnecting any one of the plurality of second power sources in response to the processor detecting the threshold.
Claim 29 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose further comprising a second charging circuit connected to the processor, the external power and data interface, and a selected one of a plurality of power sources.
Conclusion
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836