DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 10/02/2025 and 11/25/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the guide groove" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes " the guide groove" will be interpreted as “the guide grooves” as defined in claim 1.
Claims 2-10 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein a second distance between the first point of the first partition wall and the second point of the second partition wall in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove and a third point”, it is unclear if the second distance include the distance between the first point and second point added to the distance from the second point to the third point or if the second distance is a distance from each of the first and second points to the third point. For examination purposes the second distance is interpreted as a distance from ether the first or second point to the third point as shown in fig. 11 of the current application.
Claims 6 is rejected for its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a third distance between the first point of the first partition wall and the second point of the second partition wall in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove and a fourth point of one side surface of the first guide groove”, it is unclear if the third distance includes the distance between the first point and second point added to the distance from the second point to the fourth point or if the third distance is a distance from each of the first and second points to the fourth point. For examination purposes the third distance is interpreted as a distance from ether the first or second point to the fourth point as shown in fig. 12 of the current application.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the guide groove" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes " the guide groove" will be interpreted as “the guide grooves” as defined in claim 1.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a distance between the first point of the first partition wall and the second point of the second partition wall and a third point of the third partition wall”, it is unclear if the distance includes the distance between the first point and second point added to the distance from the second point to the third point or if the distance is a distance from each of the first and second points to the third point. For examination purposes the second distance is interpreted as a distance from ether the first or second point to the third point as shown in fig. 11 of the current application.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “distance between the first point of the first partition and the second point of the second partition and a fourth point”, it is unclear if the distance includes the distance between the first point and second point added to the distance from the second point to the fourth point or if the third distance is a distance from each of the first and second points to the fourth point. For examination purposes the third distance is interpreted as a distance from ether the first or second point to the fourth point as shown in fig. 12 of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses in at least figures 3A-5, a camera module (camera module 100 fig. 3A), comprising:
a housing (housing 1010 fig. 3A);
a rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3A), supported by (the movable holder 1120 may be supported by the housing 1010 by the rotation plate 1130 paragraph [0091]) the housing (housing 1010 fig. 3A), and configured to rotate together with (the movable holder 1120 may move the reflective module 1100 provided in the movable holder 1120 paragraph [0081]) a reflective member (reflective module 1100 fig. 3A); and
a first plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4) disposed between (the two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 are between the housing 1010 and the movable holder 1120 paragraph [0075]) the housing (housing 1010 fig. 4) and the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 4),
wherein the housing (housing 1010 fig. 3A) and the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3A) respectively have guide grooves (the housing 1010 has a third guide groove 1021 and the movable holder 1120 has a fourth guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) that accommodate (the first ball bearing 1131 may slide in the, the third guide groove 1021 and the fourth guide groove 1121 paragraph [0105]) a first set of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 fig. 3A) of the first plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4),
a first set of guide grooves (guide grooves 1021 fig. 3A), among the guide grooves (guide grooves 1021 and 1121 fig. 3B), comprise a plurality of partition walls (first and second walls as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) that protrude toward (the walls protrude toward the internal space of as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) an internal space (internal space as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) of the guide grooves (guide grooves 1021 and 1121 fig. 3B) in which the first set of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 fig. 3A) of the first plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4) are accommodated (the two first ball bearings 1131 are accoladed by guide grooves 1021 fig. 3A), and are disposed to be spaced apart from each other (the first and second walls are disposed to be spaced apart in the y direction by the interior space as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) in a direction of extension (guide grooves 1021 and 1121 extend in the y direction fig. 3B) of the guide groove (guide grooves 1021 and 1121 fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein the guide grooves (the guide grooves 1021 and 1121 fig. 3B) comprise:
a first guide groove (fourth guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) provided on (the movable holder 1120 has guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3B), the first guide groove (fourth guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) extending approximately (the fourth guide groove 1121 extends in the Y direction fig. 3B) in a direction of rotation (the movable holder 1120 rotates with reference to an axis in parallel to the first axis (X axis) or the second axis (Y axis) paragraph [0081]) of the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3B); and
a second guide groove (the third guide grooves 1021 fig. 3B) provided on (the housing 1010 has a third guide groove 1021 fig. 3B) the housing (housing 1010 fig. 3B) to correspond to (the third guide grooves 1021 corresponds to the fourth guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) the first guide groove (guide groove 1021 fig. 3A),
wherein the first guide groove (guide groove 1021 fig. 3A) comprises (the guide groove 1021 comprises the walls as shown below in annotated fig. 3A) plurality of partition walls (first and second walls as shown below in annotated fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, wherein the first plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4) comprise:
a rotation axis ball (two first ball bearings 1131 fig. 4) that forms (two first ball bearings 1131 allow the movable holder to rotate around the x axis paragraph [0089]) a rotation axis (the movable holder 1120 rotates with reference to an axis in parallel to the first axis (X axis) or the second axis (Y axis) paragraph [0081]) of the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3B); and
a plurality of guide balls (two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4) that are disposed spaced apart from (the second ball bearing 1133 are dispose apart from the two first ball bearings 1131 fig. 4) the rotation axis ball (two first ball bearings 1131 fig. 4) and are accommodated in (the second ball bearing 1133 are accommodated in the in the guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) the guide groove (the guide grooves 1021 and 1121 fig. 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) as applied to claim 2 above and in view of Yun et al. (US 20230217111 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses, wherein:
the plurality of partition walls (first and second walls as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) comprise a first partition wall (first wall as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) and a second partition wall (second wall as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (the first and second walls are disposed to be spaced apart in the y direction by the interior space as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) in a direction of extension (guide grooves 1021 and 1121 extend in the y direction fig. 3B) of the first guide groove (guide groove 1021 fig. 3A).
-
Kwon does not disclose, a first distance between a first point of the first partition wall in contact with a ball member accommodated in the first guide groove and a second point of the second partition wall in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove is less than a diameter of the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove.
However Yun discloses in at least figure 1, a first distance (first distance as shown below in annotated fig. 1) between a first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. 1) of the first partition wall (first wall as shown below in annotated fig. 1) in contact with (the first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 paragraph [0078]) a ball member (first ball member B1 fig. 1) accommodated in (the first ball member B1 is accommodated in the first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1) and a second point (second point as shown below in annotated fig. 1) of the second partition wall (second wall as shown below in annotated fig. 1) in contact with (the first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 paragraph [0078]) the ball member (first ball member B1 fig. 1) accommodated in (the first ball member B1 is accommodated in the first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1) is less than (the first distance is less than the diameter of the first ball member as shown below in annotated fig. 1) a diameter of (diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 1) the ball member (first ball member B1 fig. 1) accommodated in (the first ball member B1 is accommodated in the first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Yun in the camera module of Kwon. The first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 at three points such that the first ball member B1 may rotates in the same place, and the second guide groove 123 may have a polygonal shape or a circular shape having a size larger than the diameter of the first ball member B1 (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kwon and Yun discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and Kwon further discloses, wherein the plurality of partition walls (first and second walls as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) further comprise a third partition wall (spacer wall as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) disposed to oppose (the spacer wall opposes the separation space as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) a separation space formed between (separation space as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) the first partition wall (first wall as shown below in annotated fig. 3B) and the second partition wall (second wall as shown below in annotated fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kwon and Yun discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein a second distance between the first point of the first partition wall and the second point of the second partition wall in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove and a third point of the third partition wall in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove is less than the diameter of the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove.
However Yun further discloses, wherein a second distance (second distance as shown below in annotated fig. --1) between the first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. --1) of the first partition wall (first wall as shown below in annotated fig. --1) and the second point (second point as shown below in annotated fig. --1) of the second partition wall (second wall as shown below in annotated fig. --1) in contact with (the first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 paragraph [0078]) the ball member (first ball member B1 fig. 1) accommodated in (the first ball member B1 is accommodated in the first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1) and a third point (third point as shown below in annotated fig. --1) of the third partition wall (third wall as shown below in annotated fig. --1) in contact (the first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 paragraph [0078]) with the ball member (first ball member B1 fig. 1) accommodated in (the first ball member B1 is accommodated in the first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1) is less than (the second distance is less than the diameter of the first ball member as shown below in annotated fig. 1) the diameter (diameter as shown below in annotated fig. --1) of the ball member (first ball member B1 fig. 1) accommodated in (the first ball member B1 is accommodated in the first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1) the first guide groove (first guide groove 132 fig. 1).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Yun in the camera module of Kwon. The first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 at three points such that the first ball member B1 may rotates in the same place, and the second guide groove 123 may have a polygonal shape or a circular shape having a size larger than the diameter of the first ball member B1 (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kwon and Yun discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein the third point is disposed at approximately a central portion of the third partition wall.
However Yun further discloses, wherein the third point (third point as shown below in annotated fig. 1) is disposed at approximately a central portion (the third point is at a central portion of third wall as shown below in annotated fig. 1) of the third partition wall (third wall as shown below in annotated fig. 1).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Yun in the camera module of Kwon. The first guide groove 132 may have a shape in contact with the first ball member B1 at three points such that the first ball member B1 may rotates in the same place, and the second guide groove 123 may have a polygonal shape or a circular shape having a size larger than the diameter of the first ball member B1 (paragraph [0078]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) in view of Yun et al. (US 20230217111 A1) as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20220291475 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kwon and Yun discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein a third distance between the first point of the first partition wall and the second point of the second partition wall in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove and a fourth point of one side surface of the first guide groove, opposing the first partition wall and the second partition wall, in contact with the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove is less than the diameter of the ball member accommodated in the first guide groove.
However Kim discloses in at least figure 21A, wherein a third distance (third distance as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) between the first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]) and the second point (second point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the second partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]) in contact with (the ball bearing 350 is in contact with the alignment member 810 fig. 21A) the ball member (ball bearing 350 fig. 21A) accommodated in (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21A) the first guide groove (second guide recess 562 fig. 21A) and a fourth point (fourth point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of one side surface (first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first guide groove (second guide recess 562 fig. 21A), opposing (the first surface opposes the alignment members 810 and 820 fig. 24) the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]) and the second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]), in contact with (the ball bearing 350 is in contact with the alignment member 810 fig. 21A) the ball member (the ball bearing fig. 21A) accommodated in (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21A) the first guide groove (second guide recess 562 fig. 21A) is less than (the third distance is less than the diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the diameter (diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the ball member (the ball bearing 350 fig. 21A) accommodated in (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21A) the first guide groove (second guide recess 562 fig. 21A).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. The guide recesses 562 may have a triangular cross-sectional shape to contact the ball bearings 340 and 350 in at least two points (paragraph [0136]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Jung et al. (US 20230400703 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses, further comprising:
a reflective holder (mounting surface 1122 fig. 3A) supported by (the mounting surface 1122 is supported by the movable holder 1120 fig. 3A) the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3A), and configured to rotate together with (the movable holder 1120 may move the reflective module 1100 provided in the movable holder 1120 paragraph [0081]) the reflective member (reflective module 1100 fig. 3A).
Kwon does not disclose, a second plurality of ball members disposed between the rotation holder and the reflective holder,
wherein the rotation holder and the reflective holder are each configured to rotate about axes, perpendicular to each other.
However Jung discloses in at least figure 4, a second plurality of ball members (first rolling members 1151 fig. 4) disposed between (the first rolling members 1151 are between the pivot plate 1132 and the moving holder 115 fig. 4) the rotation holder (pivot plate 1132 fig. 4) and the reflective holder (moving holder 115 has reflective member 112 fig. 4),
wherein the rotation holder (pivot plate 1132 fig. 4) and the reflective holder (moving holder 115 has reflective member 112 fig. 4) are each configured to rotate about axes (the moving holder 115 rotates around the first axis (the x-axis in the drawings) and the pivot plate 1132 rotates around the second axis (the y-axis in the drawings) paragraph [0071]), perpendicular to each other (the x and y axis are perpendicular fig. 4).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a second plurality of balls to rotate in perpendicular directions as taught by Jung in the camera module of Kwon. It is possible to reduce a size of rotational moment generated by weights of the moving holder 115 and the reflective member 112 without increasing an additional size of the OIS driving portion (paragraph [0076]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Lee et al. (US 20250102882 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses, wherein:
the first set of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 fig. 4) of the first plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4) are disposed between (the two first ball bearings 1131 are between the fourth guide groove 1121 and the third guide groove 1021 fig. 4) the first guide groove (fourth guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) and the second guide groove (the third guide groove 1021 fig. 3B),
Kwon does not disclose, a number of contact points between the first set of ball members of the first plurality of ball members and the first guide groove is greater than a number of contact points between the first set of ball members of the first plurality of ball members and the second guide groove.
However Lee discloses in at least figure 24, a number of contact points (the first ball recess BR1 and four-point contact paragraph [0184]) between the first set of ball members (first ball unit B1 fig. 24) and the first guide groove (first ball recess BR1 fig. 24) is greater than (the first ball recess BR1 and the second ball recess BR2 may have a multi-point contact structure having a different number of points and four contact points is greater than three contact points paragraph [0184]) a number of contact points (the second ball recess BR2 may have a three-point contact paragraph [0184]) between the first set of ball members (first ball unit B1 fig. 24) and the second guide groove (second ball recess BR2 fig. 24).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves as taught by Lee in the camera module of Kwon. Furthermore, the first ball recess BR1 and the second ball recess BR2 may have a multi-point contact structure having the same or different numbers of points (paragraph [0184]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 10866430 B2)(Kim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses in at least figures 3A-5, a camera module (camera module 100 fig. 3A), comprising:
a rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3A) accommodated in (the movable holder 1120 is in the housing 1010 fig. 3A) a housing (housing 1010 fig. 3A) and configured to rotate (the movable holder 1120 rotates with reference to an axis in parallel to the first axis (X axis) or the second axis (Y axis) paragraph [0081]) about a first axis (Y axis fig. 3A);
a plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4) disposed between (the two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 are between the housing 1010 and the movable holder 1120 fig. 4) the housing (housing 1010 fig. 4) and the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 4); and
a first guide groove (fourth guide groove 1121 fig. 3B) that accommodates (the fourth guide groove 1121 accommodates the two first ball bearings 1133 fig. 3B) a first set of ball members (two second ball bearings 1133 fig. 3B), among the plurality of ball members (two first ball bearings 1131 and two second ball bearing 1133 fig. 4), and extending approximately (the fourth guide groove 1121 extends in the y direction fig. 3B) in a direction of rotation (the movable holder 1120 rotates with reference to an axis in parallel to the first axis (X axis) or the second axis (Y axis) paragraph [0081]) of the rotation holder (movable holder 1120 fig. 3B).
Kwon does not disclose, wherein the first guide groove has a first side surface and a second side surface opposing each other and extending in a direction of rotation of the rotation holder, and a third side surface and a fourth side surface positioned on the direction of rotation of the rotation holder and connecting the first side surface and the second side surface to each other, and the first set of ball members are accommodated in the first guide groove, and are in contact with at least one side surface, among the first side surface and the second side surface, and are disposed apart from the third side surface and the fourth side surface during the rotation of the rotation holder.
However Kim 1 discloses in at least figures 12B, wherein the first guide groove (fourth seating groove 1121 fig. 12B) has a first side surface (first surface a shown below in fig. 12B) and a second side surface (second surface a shown below in fig. 12B) opposing each other (the first and second surfaces are opposing each other as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) and extending (the first and second surfaces have an extension direction that is aligned with the rotation direction as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) in a direction of rotation (the rotation holder 1120 rotates in a rotation direction as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) of the rotation holder (rotation holder 1120 fig. 12B), and a third side surface (third surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) and a fourth side (fourth surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) surface positioned on (the third and fourth surface are positioned on the rotation direction as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) the direction of rotation (the rotation holder 1120 rotates in a rotation direction as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) of the rotation holder (rotation holder 1120 fig. 12B) and connecting the first side surface (the first surface as shown below in fig. 12B) and the second side surface (second surface a shown below in fig. 12B) to each other (the first and second surfaces are connected by the third and fourth surfaces as shown below in annotated fig. 12B), and the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (first ball member 1131 fig. 12B) are accommodated in (the first ball member 1131 is accommodated in the fourth seating groove 1121 fig. 12B) the first guide groove (fourth seating groove 1121 fig. 12B), and are in contact with (the first ball member 1131 is in contact with the first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) at least one side surface (first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B), among the first side surface (first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) and the second side surface (seconds surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B), and are disposed apart (the first ball member 1131 does not contact the third of fourth surface fig. 12B) from the third side surface (third surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) and the fourth side surface (fourth surface as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) during the rotation (the rotation holder 1120 rotates in a rotation direction as shown below in annotated fig. 12B) of the rotation holder (the rotation holder 1120 fig. 12B).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. When the driving holder 1130 moves in the rotational direction around the virtual axis parallel to the second axis (the Y-axis), the driving holder 1130 may rotate along the first ball member 1131 inserted into the first guide groove 1021 provided as the arcs of the circle based on the virtual axis parallel to the second axis (the Y-axis) (col. 12 lines 47-53).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 10866430 B2)(Kim 1) as applied to claim 11 above and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20220291475 A1) (Kim 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kwon and Kim 1 discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein:
at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface comprises a partition wall that protrudes toward an internal space of the first guide groove, and the first set of ball members are in contact with the partition wall.
However Kim 2 discloses in at least figure 21A, wherein:
at least one of (second surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the first side surface (first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) and the second side surface (second surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) comprises a partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]) that protrudes toward (the alignment member 810 protrudes toward the internal space as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) an internal space (internal space as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first guide groove (second guide recess 562 fig. 21A), and the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21A) are in contact with (the ball bearing 350 is in contact with the alignment member 810 fig. 21A) the partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. The guide recesses 562 may have a triangular cross-sectional shape to contact the ball bearings 340 and 350 in at least two points (paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kwon, Kim 1 and Kim 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein one of the first side surface and the second side surface comprises a first partition wall and a second partition wall disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a direction of extension of the first guide groove.
However Kim 2 further discloses, wherein one of (second surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the first side surface (first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) and the second side surface (second surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) comprises a first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]) and a second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21A may be a protrusion shape paragraph [0178]) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (the alignment members 810 and 820 are spaced apart in the x direction as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) in a direction of extension (the first guide groove extends in the x direction as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first guide groove (second guide recess 562 fig. 21A).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. The guide recesses 562 may have a triangular cross-sectional shape to contact the ball bearings 340 and 350 in at least two points (paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kwon, Kim 1 and Kim 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein the one of the first side surface and the second side surface further comprises a third partition wall disposed to oppose a separation space formed between the first partition wall and the second partition wall.
However Kim 2 further discloses, wherein the one of (first surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the first side surface (second surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) and the second side surface (second surface as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) further comprises a third partition wall (third wall as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) disposed to oppose (the third wall opposes the separation space as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) a separation space (separation space as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) formed between (the separation space is between the alignment members 810 and 820 as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A) and the second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. The guide recesses 562 may have a triangular cross-sectional shape to contact the ball bearings 340 and 350 in at least two points (paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kwon, Kim 1 and Kim 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 14.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein a distance between a first point of the first partition wall in contact with the first set of ball members and a second point of the second partition wall in contact with the first set of ball members, and a distance between the first point of the first partition wall and the second point of the second partition wall and a third point of the third partition wall in contact with the first set of ball members are respectively less than a diameter of the first set of ball members.
However Kim 2 further discloses, wherein a distance (first distance as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) between a first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A) in contact with (the alignment member 810 is in contact with the ball bearing 350 fig. 21A) the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21) and a second point (second point as show below in fig. 21A) of the second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21) in contact with (alignment member 820 in in contact with the ball bearing 350 fig. 21) the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21), and a distance (second distance as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) between the first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A) and the second point (second point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21A) and a third point (third point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the third partition wall (third wall as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) in contact with (the third wall is in contact with the ball bearing 350 as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21) are respectively less than (the first and second distances are less than the diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) a diameter (diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. The guide recesses 562 may have a triangular cross-sectional shape to contact the ball bearings 340 and 350 in at least two points (paragraph [0136]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kwon, Kim 1 and Kim 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein:
a distance between a first point of the first partition, in contact with the first set of ball members, and a second point of the second partition, in contact with the first set of ball members, and a distance between the first point of the first partition and the second point of the second partition and a fourth point of one side surface of the first guide groove opposing the first partition wall and the second partition wall, in contact with the first set of ball members, is respectively less than a diameter of the first set of ball members.
However Kim 2 further discloses, wherein a distance (first distance as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) between a first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A) in contact with (the alignment member 810 is in contact with the ball bearing 350 fig. 21A) the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21) and a second point (second point as show below in fig. 21A) of the second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21) in contact with (alignment member 820 in in contact with the ball bearing 350 fig. 21) the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21), and a distance (second distance as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) between the first point (first point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first partition wall (alignment member 810 fig. 21A) and the second point (second point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the second partition wall (alignment member 820 fig. 21A) and a third point (third point as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the third partition wall (third wall as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) in contact with (the third wall is in contact with the ball bearing 350 as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21) are respectively less than (the first and second distances are less than the diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) a diameter (diameter as shown below in annotated fig. 21A) of the first set (taught above by Kwon) of ball members (the ball bearing 350 may be disposed in the second guide recess 562 paragraph [0134] and shown below in fig. 21).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves with walls as taught by Kim in the camera module of Kwon. The guide recesses 562 may have a triangular cross-sectional shape to contact the ball bearings 340 and 350 in at least two points (paragraph [0136]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200363614 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 10866430 B2)(Kim 1) as applied to claim 11 above and in further view of Lee et al. (US 20250102882 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kwon and Kim 1 discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein:
the housing has a second guide groove that opposes the first guide groove, and accommodates a second set of ball members of the plurality of ball members accommodated in the first guide groove, and the second guide groove has a cross-sectional shape in at least one direction, different from a cross-sectional shape of the first guide groove.
However Lee discloses in at least figure 24, the housing (housing 1232 fig. 24) has a second guide groove (second ball recess BR2 fig. 24) that opposes (the second ball recess BR2 opposes first ball recess BR1 fig. 24) the first guide groove (first ball recess BR1 fig. 24), and accommodates (the second ball recess BR2 accommodates ball unit B2 fig. 24) a second set of ball members (ball unit B2 fig. 24) of the plurality of ball members (ball units B1 and B2 fig. 24) accommodated in (ball units B1 and B2 are accommodated in the first ball recess BR1 fig. 24) first guide groove (first ball recess BR1 fig. 24), and the second guide groove (second ball recess BR2 fig. 24) has a cross-sectional shape (the second ball recess BR2 has a rectangular cross section in the z direction fig. 24) in at least one direction (x direction fig. 24), different from () a cross-sectional shape (the first ball recess BR2 has a triangular cross section in the z direction fig. 24) of the first guide groove (the first ball recess BR2 fig. 24).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves as taught by Lee in the camera module of Kwon. Furthermore, the first ball recess BR1 and the second ball recess BR2 may have a multi-point contact structure having the same or different numbers of points (paragraph [0184]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kwon, Kim 1 and Hur discloses all the limitations of claim 17.
Kwon does not disclose, wherein a number of contact points between the first set of ball members and the first guide groove is greater than a number of contact points between the first set of ball members and the second guide groove.
However Lee discloses in at least figure 24, a number of contact points (the first ball recess BR1 and four-point contact paragraph [0184]) between the first set of ball members (first ball unit B1 fig. 24) and the first guide groove (first ball recess BR1 fig. 24) is greater than (the first ball recess BR1 and the second ball recess BR2 may have a multi-point contact structure having a different number of points and four contact points is greater than three contact points paragraph [0184]) a number of contact points (the second ball recess BR2 may have a three-point contact paragraph [0184]) between the first set of ball members (first ball unit B1 fig. 24) and the second guide groove (second ball recess BR2 fig. 24).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use guide groves as taught by Lee in the camera module of Kwon. Furthermore, the first ball recess BR1 and the second ball recess BR2 may have a multi-point contact structure having the same or different numbers of points (paragraph [0184]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 20230266638 A1) discloses a camera module with different shaped guide grooves.
Seo et al. (US 20220252826 A1) discloses a camera module with a plurality of guide grooves with ball members.
Park et al. (US 20220229310 A1) discloses an actuator for a reflector with a rotating reflector and balls in groove rails.
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872