DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradshaw et al. (US – 2016/0003322 A1).
As per claim 1, Bradshaw discloses Axially Damped Hydraulic Mount Assembly comprising:
a hydro mass damper (104, [0041], Fig: 1-7) capable of being assembled with a rubber bush (102, load bearing body mount including 110, 112, 114, 130, The load bearing body mount further includes a damping member (sometimes referred to as a main rubber element or MRE) such as an elastomeric material or natural rubber 114 that is secured at opposite ends to the first component 110 and the second component 112, respectively, [0041], Fig: 1-5 and 7), wherein the hydro mass damper comprises a fluid flowing through an inside of the hydro mass damper according to vibration applied to the hydro mass damper (The passage 156 communicates with the upper fluid chamber 140 at one end and with the lower fluid chamber 142 at the other end. Vibrations are damped by the inertia track in a manner well known in the art and in addition this structural arrangement provides for viscous fluid damping where the fluid flow through the passage is limited due to the cross-sectional dimension of the passage and thereby provides the viscous fluid damping between the first and second fluid chambers, [0042], Fig: 1-7).
As per claim 2, Bradshaw discloses wherein the hydro mass damper comprises:
a housing (190, The hydromount further includes a rigid, metal housing (sometimes referred to as a can or shell) 190, [0044], Fig: 6-7) configured to accommodate the fluid in the housing (Fig: 6-7); and
a nozzle assembly (152, 154, fig: 6-7) mounted on the housing and configured to guide movement of the fluid in the housing (150, The first and second fluid chambers are separated by an inertia track 150 which is an elongated, preferably serpentine interconnecting passage that ads in damping vibrations between the upper and lower ends of the hydromount, [0042], Fig: 6-7), therefore inertia track 150, 152, 154 with passage 156 function as nozzle assembly).
As per claim 3, Bradshaw discloses wherein the housing comprises a first housing (144, 144a, Fig: 6-7) disposed on a first side of the nozzle assembly (Fig: 6-7) and a second housing (146, 146a, Fig: 6-7) disposed on a second side of the nozzle assembly (Fig: 6-7).
As per claim 4, Bradshaw discloses wherein the first housing (144, 144a) comprises:
a first inner core (170, Fig: 6-7);
a first ring 144a, Fig: 6-7) concentrically disposed with the first inner core (Fig: 6-7); and
a rubber (144, Fig: 6-7) vulcanized to connect the first inner core to the first ring (the housing first end seals against an outer peripheral region of the first main rubber element 144. An inner peripheral region of the first main rubber element, that preferably includes rigid insert 144a, is sealed or mold bonded to a radial outer surface of the shaft 170 to form a first subassembly of the hydromount assembly, [0044], Fig: 6-7)
As per claim 5, Bradshaw discloses wherein the second housing (146, 146a) comprises:
a second inner core (180, Fig: 6-7);
a second ring (146a, Fig: 6-7) concentrically disposed with the second inner core (Fig: 6-7); and a contractable or expandable diaphragm (146, fig: 6-7) vulcanized to connect the second inner core to the second ring (The second main rubber element 146, which also preferably includes the rigid insert 146, is sealed (preferably by mold bonding) to an outer peripheral surface of the tube 180 to form a second subassembly of the hydromount assembly, [0044], Fig: 6-7)
As per claim 7, Bradshaw discloses a sleeve (160, Fig: 6-7) surrounding the housing and the nozzle assembly (Fig: 6-7).
As per claim 8, Bradshaw discloses wherein each of the housing (144, 144a, 146, 146a) and the nozzle assembly (150, 156) comprises a coaxially formed aperture (Fig: 1-7), wherein a connection member is inserted into the aperture (a rigid inner hollow shaft 170 extends through the hydromount and is adapted to receive a fastener (not shown), [0043], Fig: 1-5).
As per claim 9, Bradshaw discloses wherein the first housing (144, 144a) comprises a first inner core (180, Fig: 6-7), wherein the aperture is formed in the first inner core (Fig: 6-7), and
wherein the second housing 146, 146a) is disposed with a gap from the first inner core (Fig: 6-7) and comprises a second inner core (182, Fig: 6-7)connected to the nozzle assembly (150, 156) by a contractable or expandable diaphragm ( In the present arrangement, the inertia track 150 is a movable component that spans between the first and second fluid chambers and is resiliently mounted about an outer peripheral portion with elastomer sidewall 158, [0042], Fig: 6-7).
As per claim 12, Bradshaw discloses wherein the fluid is capable of flowing between the first housing and the second housing through the nozzle assembly (the inertia track is typically a stationary component that has a winding path shown here as being formed from first and second stamped components 152, 154 that abut against one another, and together form a continuous passage 156. The passage 156 communicates with the upper fluid chamber 140 at one end and with the lower fluid chamber 142 at the other end, [0042], Fig: 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw et al. (US – 2016/0003322 A1) and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US – 2017/0267091 A1).
As per claim 13, Bradshaw discloses Axially Damped Hydraulic Mount Assembly comprising:
a rubber bush (102, Fig: 1-7) mounted on a vehicle body of a vehicle (102, load bearing body mount including 110, 112, 114, 130, The load bearing body mount further includes a damping member (sometimes referred to as a main rubber element or MRE) such as an elastomeric material or natural rubber 114 that is secured at opposite ends to the first component 110 and the second component 112, respectively, [0041], Fig: 1-5 and 7); and
a hydro mass damper (104, Fig: 1-7) detachably coupled to the rubber bush (102, Fig: 1-5).
Bradshaw discloses all the structural element of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a rubber bush mounted on a vehicle body of a vehicle and
wherein the hydro mass damper is mounted on a structure to connect the structure to the vehicle body.
Takahashi discloses Engine Mount Structure comprising:
a rubber bush (22, Fig: 1-4) mounted on a vehicle body of a vehicle (Fig: 1-4) and
wherein the hydro mass damper (26, Fig: 1-4) is mounted on a structure to connect the structure to the vehicle body (10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, Fig: 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Axially Damped Hydraulic Mount Assembly of the Bradshaw to use in vehicle frame and structure of the vehicle body as taught by Takahashi in order to provide vibration input from the engine applied to the mount device is absorbed by a rubber bush, and vibration of the subframe may be directly transferred to the dynamic damper, so that attenuate efficiency of the vibration can be improved.
As per claim 15, Takahashi further disclose a connection member (81, 83, Fig: 2-4) configured to connect the rubber bush (22, Fig: 2-4) to the hydro mass damper (26, Fig: 2-4).
As per claim 18, Takahashi further disclose wherein the hydro mass damper (25, Fig: 1-4) is configured to be non- rotatable with respect to the structure (Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 19, Takahashi further disclose wherein the structure (11, Fig: 4) comprise a non-curved surface (Fig: 2-5) in a portion coupled to the hydro mass damper (26, Fig: 4-5), wherein the hydro mass damper comprises a flat surface mated with the non-curved surface (29, Fig: 4-5).
As per claim 20, Takahashi further disclose the mount structure (20, Fig: 1-5) capable of efficiently absorbing vibration input from an engine is provided (Fig: 1-5).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradshaw et al. (US – 2016/0003322 A1) as modified by Takahashi et al. (US – 2017/0267091 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kaneko et al. (US – 2022/0032758 A1).
As per claim 14, Bradshaw as modified by Takahashi discloses wherein the vehicle body is a cross member of the vehicle (10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, Fig: 2), but fails to explicitly disclose the structure is a housing comprising a motor configured to drive the vehicle.
Kaneko Discloses Vehicle Body Structure comprising:
the structure (Fig: 21) is a housing comprising a motor (75, [0154], Fig: 21) configured to drive the vehicle (Fig: 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Axially Damped Hydraulic Mount Assembly of the Bradshaw as modified by Takahashi to use in structure with Motor as taught by Kaneko in order to provide the rigidity of the load transmitting members can be improved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10-11, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art and teaching references fail to disclose wherein the second inner core has a flat surface formed on at least a part of an outer peripheral surface of the second inner core (Claim 6), wherein the connection member is screwed to the second inner core (Claim 10), wherein the connection member is configured to penetrate the rubber bush and the hydro mass damper, and a first end of the connection member is configured to be screwed to the hydro mass damper (Claim 15) and wherein the rubber bush is press-fitted into the vehicle body, and the hydro mass damper is press-fitted into the structure (Claim 17).
Claim 11 depends on claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: GASPAR et al. (US – 2022/0024520 A1),
B: NEVERS (US – 2021/0372500 A1),
C: Robinson et al. (US – 2020/0049225 A1),
D: Molesworth (US – 2019/0170207 A1),
E: Gaspar et al. (US – 2014/0077428 A1), and
F: Bradshaw et al. (US – 2013/0015614 A1).
/SAN M AUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616