DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 2 of his remark filled on 07/09/2026 on a substance that, Biasini (applied prior art) doesn’t disclose or reasonably suggest "determining a metric corresponding to variation in distances between a plurality of imaging targets and an image sensor, and based on the metric selecting a set of focus regions, each focus region having (i) a portion of a field of view and (ii) a focus position within the portion".
Examiner respectfully disagrees: Biasini , the applied prior art, discloses: fig. 19 depicts an embodiment of a process 1900 for cropping an image before decoding an optical pattern. Process 1900 begins in step 1905 with estimating a distance from an optical pattern to a device (e.g., a camera). In some embodiments, the optical pattern is detected in a real scene from one or more image frames (e.g., a video feed) acquired by the camera before estimating the distance from the optical pattern to the device. For example, focus of the camera is used to estimate the distance and/or LIDAR is used to measure the distance. In step 1910 the distance from the optical pattern to the device is compared to a threshold value , In col. 31 lines 4-15.
Given the above teaching, in summary the prior art discloses estimating a distance between the optical pattern and the camera based on the focal length of the lens. Biasini further disclose detecting the optical pattern from one or more image frame or video feed. Which also implies estimating a distance between the optical character included in more than one frame or image from the camera (see also col. 30 lines 35-62).
Therefore based on the above teachings of Biasini, the position taken by the examiner is, Biasini estimates a distance between the optical character and the camera based on the focal length of the lens, which is equated to the claimed “determining a metric corresponding to variation in distances between a plurality of imaging targets and an image sensor”. The applied prior art is measuring a distance between the optical character, can be multiple optical characters, and the camera or image sensor. Then the prior art numerically identifies how far the optical character is from the camera, thus a distance difference or variation value is identified.
The claim language requires the distance variation between a plurality imaging targets and an image sensor. Similarly the prior art reasonably discloses measuring a distance between plurality optical character and the camera, see also fig. 17 of the prior art.
The prior art further also compares the measured distance to a threshold in order to estimate in-focus region, which is in the field of the camera, by virtue of focusing the optical character, (col. 31 lines 4-15). Thus the prior art based on the estimated distance focuses a desired portion of the optical character (see fig. 19 step 1910). Therefore, founded on the estimated distance it is possible to focus the desired optical character region, and hence choosing a region of interest.
Thus as a discussed above it is the examiner’s position that the prior art reasonably encompasses the limitation in question.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., subdivide a field of view into a set of focus regions, (see page 2 of applicant’s remark)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim [11] has substantially same limitation as claim [1], and thus the above response applies to it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [1-3, 5, 7-8, 11-13, 15 and 17-18] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Biasini (US. PAT. No. 12, 380,571).
Reclaim [1], Biasini discloses a method (see fig.19, all steps ), comprising: determining a metric corresponding to variation in distances between a plurality of imaging targets and an image sensor (see step 1905 fig. 20); based on the metric (distance information as stated in step 1905), selecting a set of focus regions, each focus region having (i) a portion of a field of view of the image sensor (see step 1910, by the virtue of comparing a distance in formation to a threshold in in order to identify in-focus region and out of focus region from the camera as focus of the camera is used to estimate the distance as disclosed in the text of col. 31 lines 10-11), and (ii) a focus position within the portion (see step 1910, col. 31 lines 11-15, focus of the camera is used to estimate the distance and/or LIDAR is used to measure the distance. In step 1910, the distance from the optical pattern to the device is compared to a threshold value); for each focus region, controlling the image sensor to capture an image using the corresponding focus position (see step 1915 fig. 19 and col. 31 lines 15-17, In step 1915, an image of the optical pattern is acquired, using the camera with the focus distance used to estimate the distance from the optical pattern); and providing the captured images to a decoder (see step 1915, and col. 31, lines 15-17).
Reclaim [2], Biasini further discloses , wherein the imaging targets include at least one of barcodes or text strings (see step 1910 . fig. 19, the optical pattern).
Reclaim [3], Biasini further discloses, wherein determining the metric comprises: determining a distance from the image sensor to a first point in a field of view of the image sensor (see step 1905 fig. 19, by the virtue of distance from the optical patten to the camera).
Reclaim [5], Biasini further discloses, wherein determining the metric comprises: determining an angle between a sensor plane of the image sensor and a plane containing at least a portion of the imaging targets (see col. 31 lines 15-17, the focus distance used to estimate the distance from the optical pattern , [ the focus angle which incorporates a focus region of the optical patentor or barcode]).
Reclaim [7] Biasini further discloses further comprising: prior to selecting the set of focus regions, determining that the metric exceeds a threshold (see step 1910 fig. 19, by the virtue comparing to a threshold).
Reclaim [8] Biasini further discloses, wherein capturing an image for each focus region comprises: capturing an image of the field of view (see step 1915 fig. 19); and cropping the image to the corresponding portion of the field of view (see step 1920 fig. 19).
Reclaim [11], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim 1 above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [12], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [2] above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [13], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [3]. above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [15], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [5]. above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [17], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [7]. above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [18], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [8] above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) [4 and 14] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biasini (US. PAT. No. 12, 380,571) in view of Jarugubilli (US. 2019/0286864).
Reclaim[4], Biasini discloses everything except wherein determining the distance comprises: obtaining the distance via a depth sensor.
Nonetheless in the same field of endeavor Jarugubilli discloses an image processing system as Biasni (see Jarugubilli fig. 1). Jarugubilli further discloses obtaining the distance via a depth sensor (see ¶¶ 0041 and 0095, the depth sensor may be configured to determine the distance of the point).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have been motivated to modify Biasni before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by the teachings of Jarugubilli, for example by incorporating the depth sensor of Jarugubilli in the device of Biasini since this would allow to enhance distance measurement accuracy.
Reclaim [14], except a few changes in wording has substantially same limitation as claim [4]. above, and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims [6, 9-10, 16 and 19-20] are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639