DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GAITHER 20170098724.
CLAIM 1
GAITHER discloses 1. a vehicle solar wrap device (FIG. 6, SOLAR WRAP 100) that provides a user with a film for converting solar power into energy to charge vehicles, the vehicle solar wrap device (solar wrap 100) comprising: a body component; and a plurality of photovoltaic cells; wherein the plurality of photovoltaic cells are integrated into the body component; wherein the body component is applied to all selected surfaces of an electric vehicle (reference discloses vehicle having electrical circuit, electric vehicle inherently has an electrical circuit); and further wherein the plurality of photovoltaic cells capture solar energy to charge the electric vehicle’s batteries (FIG. 6, solar wrap 100).
CLAIM 2
GAITHER discloses the vehicle solar wrap device of claim 1, wherein the vehicle solar wrap device is utilized with any conventional electric vehicle having an electric motor mounted therein which is connected to a vehicle drive train for propelling the electric vehicle (the mentioned components are all inherently part of an electrical circuit).
CLAIM 3
GAITHER discloses the vehicle solar wrap device of claim 2, wherein the body component is configured in a shape of the electric vehicle (electric vehicle inherently has the shape of a vehicle, they are both vehicles with hood, fenders, trunk, roof etc).
CLAIM 4
GAITHER discloses the vehicle solar wrap device of claim 2, wherein the body component is configured in a shape of an electric vehicle part, such as a body panel, roof, hood, or door (FIG.6).
CLAIM 5
GAITHER discloses the vehicle solar wrap device of claim 2, wherein the body component 102 is a thin wrap that functions like a protective automotive film. [0030] FIG. 4A shows two photovoltaic nodes 140 of the solar wrap 100 of FIG. 1, where each photovoltaic node 140, 140′ is a photovoltaic cell 141, 141′. The photovoltaic cell 141 can be any type of photovoltaic cell, including without limitation a crystalline or amorphous silicon solar cell, a dye-sensitized solar cell, and an organic solar cell. In some implementations, a photovoltaic cell 141 can be a thin film photovoltaic cell, including without limitation any of a copper indium gallium selenide solar cell, a cadmium telluride solar cell, and an amorphous silicon solar cell. Being that the solar wrap covers the surface of a vehicle body panel the solar wrap inherently functions like a protective automotive film.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 allowed.
Claims 6-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
November 4, 2025
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836