DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose, as recited in MPEP §609: “In nonprovisional applications, applicants and other individuals substantively involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application have a duty to submit to the Office information which is material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neumann US 821,819 (hereafter Neumann).
Regarding claims 1-2, Neumann teaches a particle separator (middle portion of Fig 3, as shown below) for an intake (intake to h), comprising
a C-shaped intake (intake portion located between first vessel g and chamber h in Fig 3), which is divided into an inlet segment (segment near second flap d in Fig 3, labeled below), a bending segment (segment near third flap d in Fig 3, labeled below), and an outlet segment (segment near fourth flap d in Fig 3, labeled below), wherein a direction of an airflow at the inlet segment is reversely bent by 180° through the bending segment, then the airflow enters the outlet segment (as shown in Fig 3), and the outlet segment is externally connected (via vessels g and h); and
[AltContent: textbox (Bending segment)][AltContent: textbox (outlet segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Inlet segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: textbox (Outer wall surface)]a particle separation device (device flap d at the upper most region shown in Fig 3; labeled below), arranged at the bending segment (3) and comprising a separation flow path (c) outward in an air inlet direction, wherein the airflow is controlled to be separated by controlling an inlet (inlet to c) of the separation flow path, which makes most particles in the airflow discharged through the separation flow path along with the airflow;
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rotating bearing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inner wall surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rotating wall surface)][AltContent: arrow]
wherein the particle separation device comprises an inner wall surface (labeled above) of the bending segment, an outer wall surface (labeled above) of the bending segment, and a rotating wall surface (d); the rotating wall surface is a part of outer wall surface of the bending segment (as shown in Fig 3); the separation flow path is fixedly connected to the outer wall surface of the bending segment (as shown in Fig 3) and located on an outer side of the rotating wall surface; a rotating bearing (bearing at the hinge side of d as labeled above) is arranged on an inner side (side closer to outlet) of the separation flow path and the outer wall surface of the bending segment, and located on the outlet segment side; a free end (end of flap d opposite bearing and facing the incoming air flow in Fig 3) of the rotating wall surface is towards an air inlet direction; the rotating wall surface rotates with the rotating bearing as a rotating shaft to control inlet area of the separation flow path (page 1 lines 50-67); and the airflow is segmented (one segment flows through c, the other in b) by the rotating wall surface, making most particles in the airflow flow into the separation flow path (where the structure of the Neumann separator would be fully capable of making most particles in the airflow flow into the separation flow path in accordance with MPEP 2114, 2115, 2173.05(g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Garrone US3710561 (hereafter Garrone).
Regarding claim 3, Neumann teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
Neumann does not teach wherein cross-sectional area of the rotating wall surface is 0.9-1.3 times area of an air outlet of the outlet segment.
Garrone teaches a particle separator (Fig 2) comprising a C-shaped intake (Fig 2) comprising an inlet segment (2), a bending segment (1), and an outlet segment (5) where the airflow is bent 180° and further comprises a rotating wall surface (4) with a rotating bearing (pin of col 3 lines 1-9). Garrone further teaches wherein cross-sectional area of the rotating wall surface is not less than a third times area of an air outlet of the outlet segment (col 3 lines 10-23). Garrone teaches where the blade area affects the size of the exhaust opening/angle of rotation which affects the particle separation (col 3 lines 10-23, lines 50-54).
MPEP 2144.05 I states that where prior art and claimed ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose the overlapping portions of the ranges. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cross-sectional area of the rotating wall surface (d) of Neumann, such as to be 0.9-1.3 times area of an air outlet of the outlet segment, as a matter of obvious overlapping ranges (MPEP 2144.05 I) and in order to affect the size of the exhaust opening/angle of rotation which affects the particle separation (Garrone col 3 lines 10-23, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 4, Neumann teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Neumann further teaches wherein the separation flow path is externally connected to a sand discharging device (g and/or A).
Regarding claim 5, Neumann teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Neumann further teaches wherein the sand discharging device is a blower (A).
Prior Art
Applicant is made aware of pertinent prior art Donsi EP0623375 and Etemad WO2011031192 which teach a particle separator comprising a C-shaped intake and a particle separation device.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776