DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 05/13/2026. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claim 15 was cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 4, 14, 17, and 19 were amended.
Reply to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 05/13/2026, with respect to the claim objection of claim 14 has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 05/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 and 16-20 under §103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. While Examiner disagrees with the basis of applicant's arguments presented in the reply dated 05/13/2026, new grounds of rejection are nonetheless provided to address the newly amended subject matter in view of Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray. Applicant argues that the previously cited references do not cover the amended independent claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, or BRI, is that the claim is not claiming that only the active air flap on the inside of the road corner, i.e. in the turning direction of the vehicle, must be opened. Rather the claim is much broader than such an interpretation, as presently the independent claims can be read to require that one or both of the active air flaps be opened, one in the turning direction of the vehicle, inside of the road corner, and one of the opposite side of the vehicle, while cornering, which the Bray reference teaches. Further, the Applicant is not claiming that the vehicle determines, using GPS data, that it is inside a designated turning zone on a map, therefore, the BRI of the “turning zone” can be interpreted to mean that the vehicle’s air flaps must be opened when it is cornering such as when the vehicle is in on a road corner. Therefore, the combination of Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray teach the limitations of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 9-10, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Yoon et al., US-20180134331-A1, in view of Cheeseman, US-20150217734-A1, and Bray et al., US-20170151984-A1, hereinafter referred to as Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray.
As per claim 1
Yoon 331 discloses [a] system for controlling a vehicle, comprising: a plurality of active aerodynamic components disposed at the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10);
a controller configured to control operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components based on a driving mode of the vehicle that is selected from among a plurality of driving modes (selects one or more of the active air skirt 710, the active rear spoiler 730, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 in accordance with the corresponding mode and controls an actuator (not shown) to deploy the devices to extents corresponding to the reference values inputted in the controller 300 – Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶33).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of active aerodynamic components comprise an active air flap.
Yoon 331 discloses a plurality of aerodynamic components of different types. However, Cheeseman teaches wherein the plurality of active aerodynamic components comprise an active air flap (air flaps K are opened or closed by an electronic control unit 2 as a function of the vehicle speed v, Mode 1 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined upper speed threshold value, here for example 110 km/h, Mode 2 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined lower speed threshold value, here for example 15 km/h - Cheeseman Fig 1 (K) + ¶10 & ¶11 & ¶12).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cheeseman teaches an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps, as taught by Cheeseman, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving vehicle deceleration and acceleration in direction modes for opening the air-guiding flaps, see Cheeseman ¶5 for details.
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to, based on the vehicle entering into a turning zone, open the active air flap that is located in a same direction as a turning direction of the vehicle.
However, Bray teaches wherein the controller is configured to, based on the vehicle entering into a turning zone, open the active air flap that is located in a same direction as a turning direction of the vehicle (vary the position of the adjustable flap 38 in order to affect the magnitude of downforce FD generated by the aerodynamic-aid element 36 during cornering of the vehicle 10 in response to the yaw rate detected by the second sensor 52-2 - Bray ¶36).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Bray teaches a system to control aerodynamics of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with a system to control aerodynamics of a vehicle, as taught by Bray, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve vehicle traction, high speed stability, and cornering, see Bray ¶3 for details.
As per claim 2
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components based on a speed of the vehicle in each driving mode of the plurality of driving modes (speed table including a normal mode, a fuel-efficient mode, and a driving mode divided in accordance with a speed of a vehicle may be inputted in the controller…select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds, A speed table including a first range VR1, a second range VR2, and a third range VR3 for the speed of a vehicle, and a normal mode BM, a fuel-efficient mode EM, and a driving mode DM - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10 & ¶33).
As per claim 3
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the plurality of active aerodynamic components further comprises an active air skirt, an active rear spoiler, and an active rear bumper diffuser (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10).
As per claim 5
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein, based on the selected driving mode being a normal mode, the controller is configured to: in a first speed range, retract the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser (speed of the vehicle is within a first range…may determine that it is the normal mode and may not deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶11 - Examiner reasons that if the aero surfaces are deployed when the vehicle is in a condition where they should not be, then the aero surfaces will be retracted),
in a second speed range, deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser, and wherein the first speed range is a speed range less than the second speed range (speed of the vehicle is within a second range…may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a first reference value, when the speed of the vehicle decreases from the second range inputted in the controller to a first range. - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶12 & ¶17 - Examiner reasons that the reference explains that the first speed range is less than the second speed range).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose open the active air flap, close the active air flap.
However, Cheeseman teaches open the active air flap, close the active air flap (air flaps K are opened or closed by an electronic control unit 2 as a function of the vehicle speed v, Mode 1 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined upper speed threshold value, here for example 110 km/h, Mode 2 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined lower speed threshold value, here for example 15 km/h - Cheeseman Fig 1 (K) + ¶10 & ¶11 & ¶12).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cheeseman teaches an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps, as taught by Cheeseman, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving vehicle deceleration and acceleration in direction modes for opening the air-guiding flaps, see Cheeseman ¶5 for details.
As per claim 9
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein, based on the selected driving mode being an eco-mode, the controller is configured to: in a first speed range, and retract the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser (controller may determine that it is the fuel-efficient mode and may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a first reference value - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶12 - Examiner reasons that if the aero surfaces are deployed when the vehicle is in a condition where they should not be, then the aero surfaces will be retracted and that it would obvious to try to have the control surfaces retracted to minimize drag),
in a second speed range, and deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser, and wherein the first speed range is a speed range less than the second speed range (speed of the vehicle is within a second range…controller may determine that it is the fuel-efficient mode and may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a first reference value, when the speed of the vehicle decreases from the second range inputted in the controller to a first range. - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶12 & ¶17 - Examiner reasons that the reference explains that the first speed range is less than the second speed range).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose close the active air flap.
However, Cheeseman teaches close the active air flap (air flaps K are opened or closed by an electronic control unit 2 as a function of the vehicle speed v, Mode 1 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined upper speed threshold value, here for example 110 km/h, Mode 2 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined lower speed threshold value, here for example 15 km/h - Cheeseman Fig 1 (K) + ¶10 & ¶11 & ¶12).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cheeseman teaches an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps, as taught by Cheeseman, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving vehicle deceleration and acceleration in direction modes for opening the air-guiding flaps, see Cheeseman ¶5 for details.
As per claim 10
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to increase deployment degrees of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser, as the speed increases in the first speed range (the first reference value, the active air skirt 710 is deployed 80 mm downward from the vehicle, the active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 0 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and is then deployed downward 100 mm from the vehicle - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶36 - Examiner argues that it would have been obvious to try to set different deployment values for the respective control surfaces to achieve greater efficiency in different driving modes for different types of vehicles, see Tables 1-6 in Yoon 331 as examples of this analysis).
As per claim 17
Yoon 331 discloses [a] method of controlling a vehicle, comprising: detecting, by a controller, a driving mode of the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10);
controlling, by the controller, operation of a plurality of active aerodynamic components based on the detected driving mode of the vehicle (selects one or more of the active air skirt 710, the active rear spoiler 730, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 in accordance with the corresponding mode and controls an actuator (not shown) to deploy the devices to extents corresponding to the reference values inputted in the controller 300 – Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶33).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of active aerodynamic components comprise an active air flap.
Yoon 331 discloses a plurality of aerodynamic components of different types. However, Cheeseman teaches wherein the plurality of active aerodynamic components comprise an active air flap (air flaps K are opened or closed by an electronic control unit 2 as a function of the vehicle speed v, Mode 1 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined upper speed threshold value, here for example 110 km/h, Mode 2 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined lower speed threshold value, here for example 15 km/h - Cheeseman Fig 1 (K) + ¶10 & ¶11 & ¶12).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cheeseman teaches an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps, as taught by Cheeseman, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving vehicle deceleration and acceleration in direction modes for opening the air-guiding flaps, see Cheeseman ¶5 for details.
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein controlling the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components includes opening the active air flap that is located in a same direction as a turning direction of the vehicle, based on the vehicle entering into a turning zone.
However, Bray teaches wherein controlling the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components includes opening the active air flap that is located in a same direction as a turning direction of the vehicle, based on the vehicle entering into a turning zone (vary the position of the adjustable flap 38 in order to affect the magnitude of downforce FD generated by the aerodynamic-aid element 36 during cornering of the vehicle 10 in response to the yaw rate detected by the second sensor 52-2 - Bray ¶36).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Bray teaches a system to control aerodynamics of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with a system to control aerodynamics of a vehicle, as taught by Bray, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve vehicle traction, high speed stability, and cornering, see Bray ¶3 for details.
As per claim 18
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein: the driving mode comprises one of a normal mode, an eco-mode, or a sport mode, and controlling the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components comprises controlling the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components based on a speed of the vehicle in each driving mode (speed of the vehicle is within a first range…may determine that it is the normal mode and may not deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler, controller may determine that it is the fuel-efficient mode and may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a first reference value - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶11 & ¶12).
As per claim 19
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the plurality of active aerodynamic components further comprise an active air skirt, an active rear spoiler, and an active rear bumper diffuser (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10).
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray, as per claims 3, 5, 9, and 19, respectively, and further in view of Yoon et al., US-20170080986-A1, hereinafter referred to as Yoon 986.
As per claim 4
Yoon 331 further discloses the active air skirt is disposed in front of front wheels of the vehicle and configured to deploy toward ground or retract into the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10);
the active rear spoiler is disposed at an upper or middle part of a rear of the vehicle and configured to deploy toward an outside of the vehicle or retract into the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10),
the active rear diffuser is disposed at a lower part of the rear of the vehicle and configured to deploy toward the outside of the vehicle or retract into the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein: the active air flap is disposed at a front end of the vehicle and configured to, based on being opened, allow fluid communication between an interior and an exterior of the vehicle and, based on being closed, block the fluid communication between the interior and the exterior of the vehicle, an opening degree of the active air flap being adjustable between open and closed positions.
However, Yoon 986 teaches wherein: the active air flap is disposed at a front end of the vehicle and configured to, based on being opened, allow fluid communication between an interior and an exterior of the vehicle and, based on being closed, block the fluid communication between the interior and the exterior of the vehicle, an opening degree of the active air flap being adjustable between open and closed positions (active air flap…that opens and closes an aperture in a radiator grill formed at a front bumper based on a vehicle speed. When the vehicle travels at low speed, the active air flap forms a large opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a significant amount of air is introduced into an engine room, thereby ensuring safety of heat exchanger components in the engine room. When the vehicle travels at high speed, the active air flap forms a minimal opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a smaller amount of air is introduced into the engine room, thereby improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency - Yoon 986 ¶7).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Yoon 986 teaches an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed, as taught by Yoon 986, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency by reducing drag and lift, see Yoon 986 ¶6 for details.
As per claim 6
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to increase deployment degrees of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser, as the speed increases in each speed range (the first reference value, the active air skirt 710 is deployed 80 mm downward from the vehicle, the active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 0 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and is then deployed downward 100 mm from the vehicle, second reference value, the active air skirt 710 is deployed 20 mm downward from the vehicle, the active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 12.7 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and is then deployed downward 100 mm below the vehicle - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶36 & ¶37 - Examiner argues that it would have been obvious to try to set different deployment values for the respective control surfaces to achieve greater efficiency in different driving modes for different types of vehicles, see Tables 1-6 in Yoon 331 as examples of this analysis).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose increase a closed area of the active air flap [based on vehicle speed].
However, Yoon 986 teaches increase a closed area of the active air flap [based on vehicle speed] (active air flap…that opens and closes an aperture in a radiator grill formed at a front bumper based on a vehicle speed. When the vehicle travels at low speed, the active air flap forms a large opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a significant amount of air is introduced into an engine room, thereby ensuring safety of heat exchanger components in the engine room. When the vehicle travels at high speed, the active air flap forms a minimal opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a smaller amount of air is introduced into the engine room, thereby improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency - Yoon 986 ¶7).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Yoon 986 teaches an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed, as taught by Yoon 986, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency by reducing drag and lift, see Yoon 986 ¶6 for details.
As per claim 7
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to, in a third speed range, and fully deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser, and wherein the third speed range is a speed range greater than the second speed range (speed of the vehicle is within the third range inputted in advance in the controller…may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a second reference value, when the speed of the vehicle decreases from the third range inputted in the controller to a second range, second reference value, the active air skirt 710 is deployed 20 mm downward from the vehicle, the active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 12.7 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and is then deployed downward 100 mm below the vehicle - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶13 & ¶18 & ¶37 - Examiner argues that it would have been obvious to try to set different deployment values for the respective control surfaces to achieve greater efficiency in different driving modes for different types of vehicles, see Tables 1-6 in Yoon 331 as examples of this analysis).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose fully open the active air flap [based on vehicle speed].
However, Yoon 986 teaches fully open the active air flap [based on vehicle speed] (active air flap…that opens and closes an aperture in a radiator grill formed at a front bumper based on a vehicle speed. When the vehicle travels at low speed, the active air flap forms a large opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a significant amount of air is introduced into an engine room, thereby ensuring safety of heat exchanger components in the engine room. When the vehicle travels at high speed, the active air flap forms a minimal opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a smaller amount of air is introduced into the engine room, thereby improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency - Yoon 986 ¶7).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Yoon 986 teaches an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed, as taught by Yoon 986, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency by reducing drag and lift, see Yoon 986 ¶6 for details.
As per claim 11
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to, in a third speed range, and fully deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser, and wherein the third speed range is a speed range greater than the second speed range (speed of the vehicle is within the third range inputted in advance in the controller…may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a second reference value, when the speed of the vehicle decreases from the third range inputted in the controller to a second range, second reference value, the active air skirt 710 is deployed 20 mm downward from the vehicle, the active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 12.7 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees from the horizontal line of the vehicle, and is then deployed downward 100 mm below the vehicle - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶13 & ¶18 & ¶37 - Examiner argues that it would have been obvious to try to set different deployment values for the respective control surfaces to achieve greater efficiency in different driving modes for different types of vehicles, see Tables 1-6 in Yoon 331 as examples of this analysis).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose fully open the active air flap [based on vehicle speed].
However, Yoon 986 teaches fully open the active air flap [based on vehicle speed] (active air flap…that opens and closes an aperture in a radiator grill formed at a front bumper based on a vehicle speed. When the vehicle travels at low speed, the active air flap forms a large opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a significant amount of air is introduced into an engine room, thereby ensuring safety of heat exchanger components in the engine room. When the vehicle travels at high speed, the active air flap forms a minimal opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a smaller amount of air is introduced into the engine room, thereby improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency - Yoon 986 ¶7).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Yoon 986 teaches an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed, as taught by Yoon 986, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency by reducing drag and lift, see Yoon 986 ¶6 for details.
As per claim 20
Yoon 331 further discloses the active air skirt is disposed in front of front wheels of the vehicle and configured to deploy toward ground or retract into the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10);
the active rear spoiler is disposed at an upper or middle part of a rear of the vehicle and configured to deploy toward an outside of the vehicle or retract into the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10),
the active rear diffuser is disposed at a lower part of the rear of the vehicle and configured to deploy toward the outside of the vehicle or retract into the vehicle (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein: the active air flap is disposed at a front end of the vehicle and configured to, based on being opened, allow fluid communication between an interior and an exterior of the vehicle and, based on being closed, block the fluid communication between the interior and the exterior of the vehicle, an opening degree of the active air flap being adjustable between open and closed positions.
However, Yoon 986 teaches wherein: the active air flap is disposed at a front end of the vehicle and configured to, based on being opened, allow fluid communication between an interior and an exterior of the vehicle and, based on being closed, block the fluid communication between the interior and the exterior of the vehicle, an opening degree of the active air flap being adjustable between open and closed positions (active air flap…that opens and closes an aperture in a radiator grill formed at a front bumper based on a vehicle speed. When the vehicle travels at low speed, the active air flap forms a large opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a significant amount of air is introduced into an engine room, thereby ensuring safety of heat exchanger components in the engine room. When the vehicle travels at high speed, the active air flap forms a minimal opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a smaller amount of air is introduced into the engine room, thereby improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency - Yoon 986 ¶7).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Yoon 986 teaches an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed, as taught by Yoon 986, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency by reducing drag and lift, see Yoon 986 ¶6 for details.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray, as per claim 5, and further in view of Lee et al., US-20230182831-A1, hereinafter referred to as Lee 831.
As per claim 8
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components in response to occurrence of sudden deceleration or sudden acceleration of the vehicle in the second speed range.
However, Lee 831 teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the operation of the plurality of active aerodynamic components in response to occurrence of sudden deceleration or sudden acceleration of the vehicle in the second speed range (determining whether or not the current driving speed of the mobility vehicle is in a high-speed driving state when the mobility vehicle is rapidly braked. Here, when it is confirmed that the mobility vehicle is suddenly braked in the high-speed driving state, the controller 300 performs step S13 of causing the front side spoiler 100a to be operated in the stowed mode and the rear side spoiler 100b to be operated in the fully deployed mode and, when the mobility vehicle is not high-speed driving or not a sudden braking situation, the controller 300 performs step S14 of maintaining the front side spoiler 100a and the rear side spoiler 100b in the current state - Lee 831 ¶89).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Lee 831 teaches a side spoiler device for a mobility vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with a side spoiler device for a mobility vehicle, as taught by Lee 831, with a reasonable expectation of success so that a deployment angle of the side spoiler is controlled according to driving conditions and road conditions to improve aerodynamic performance, see Lee 831 ¶2 for details.
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray, as per claim 3, and further in view of Lee et al., US-20240391539-A1, hereinafter referred to as Lee 539.
As per claim 12
Yoon 331 further discloses [deploy] the active air skirt, and the active rear bumper diffuser (select and deploy one or more of the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler in accordance with the mode to which the current speed of the vehicle corresponds - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶10).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose close the active air flap.
However, Cheeseman teaches close the active air flap (air flaps K are opened or closed by an electronic control unit 2 as a function of the vehicle speed v, Mode 1 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined upper speed threshold value, here for example 110 km/h, Mode 2 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined lower speed threshold value, here for example 15 km/h - Cheeseman Fig 1 (K) + ¶10 & ¶11 & ¶12).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cheeseman teaches an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps, as taught by Cheeseman, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving vehicle deceleration and acceleration in direction modes for opening the air-guiding flaps, see Cheeseman ¶5 for details.
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein, based on the driving mode being a sport mode, the controller is configured to, in a first speed range, and deploy the active rear spoiler.
However, Lee 539 teaches wherein, based on the driving mode being a sport mode, the controller is configured to, in a first speed range, and deploy the active rear spoiler (movement of the spoiler…spoiler is used when the vehicle travels at a high speed and in the sport mode - Lee 539 ¶26).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Lee 539 teaches a vehicle spoiler system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with a vehicle spoiler system, as taught by Lee 539, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve driving safety by mainly performing a downforce function for reducing a lift force that floats or lifts a vehicle when the vehicle travels at a predetermined vehicle speed or higher, see Lee 539 ¶4 for details.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 331, Cheeseman, Bray, and Lee 539, as per claim 12, and further in view of Yoon 986.
As per claim 13
Yoon 331 further discloses wherein the controller is configured to, in a second speed range, and deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser (speed of the vehicle is within a second range…may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a first reference value - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶12).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose fully open the active air flap.
However, Yoon 986 teaches fully open the active air flap (active air flap…that opens and closes an aperture in a radiator grill formed at a front bumper based on a vehicle speed. When the vehicle travels at low speed, the active air flap forms a large opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a significant amount of air is introduced into an engine room, thereby ensuring safety of heat exchanger components in the engine room. When the vehicle travels at high speed, the active air flap forms a minimal opening angle of the radiator grill and thus, a smaller amount of air is introduced into the engine room, thereby improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency - Yoon 986 ¶7- – Examiner reasons that application’s second speed range corresponds to the reference’s low speed).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Yoon 986 teaches an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus for improving aerodynamic characteristics of a vehicle in which an active air flap and an active air skirt are simultaneously operated based on a vehicle speed, as taught by Yoon 986, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving aerodynamic characteristics and fuel efficiency by reducing drag and lift, see Yoon 986 ¶6 for details.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray, as per claim 3, and further in view of Cha et al., US-20190002039-A1, hereinafter referred to as Cha.
As per claim 14
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose open the active air flap.
However, Cheeseman teaches open the active air flap (air flaps K are opened or closed by an electronic control unit 2 as a function of the vehicle speed v, Mode 1 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined upper speed threshold value, here for example 110 km/h, Mode 2 provides for opening of the air flaps K if the vehicle speed v exceeds a defined lower speed threshold value, here for example 15 km/h - Cheeseman Fig 1 (K) + ¶10 & ¶11 & ¶12).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cheeseman teaches an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an air-guiding device for cooling the brakes in a motor vehicle with adjustable air-guiding flaps, as taught by Cheeseman, with a reasonable expectation of success for improving vehicle deceleration and acceleration in direction modes for opening the air-guiding flaps, see Cheeseman ¶5 for details.
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to, based on (i) the vehicle entering into a speed limit zone or (ii) presence of an obstacle to the vehicle, and retract the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser.
However, Cha teaches wherein the controller is configured to, based on (i) the vehicle entering into a speed limit zone or (ii) presence of an obstacle to the vehicle, and retract the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser (control the airflow using the air spoiler and the air skirt…a rear bumper spoiler, allow the air skirt and the rear bumper spoiler to be deployed or retracted… when the vehicle speed is within a predetermined low-speed range in the state in which the obstacle is detected by the detecting device, allow the air skirt, the rear bumper spoiler and the rear air spoiler to be deployed by the driver's command when it is determined that the speed limit of the current road is within a low-speed range – Cha ¶7 & ¶18 & ¶20).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Cha teaches a vehicular spoiler system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with a vehicular spoiler system, as taught by Cha, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the aerodynamic performance when it is determined based on the weather information, among the environmental information, that the vehicle may be affected by a weather condition and to improve traveling performance, see Cha ¶73 & ¶76 for details.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 331, Cheeseman, and Bray, as per claim 3, and further in view of Choi, US-20160101682-A1, hereinafter referred to as Choi.
As per claim 16
Yoon 331 further discloses retract the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper diffuser of the plurality of active aerodynamic components (speed of the vehicle is within a second range…may deploy the active air skirt, the active rear spoiler, and the active rear bumper spoiler to an extent corresponding to a first reference value - Yoon 331 Fig 1 (100, 710, 730, 750) + ¶12 - Examiner reasons that if the aero surfaces are deployed when the vehicle is in a condition where they should not be, then the aero surfaces will be retracted).
Yoon 331 does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to, based on the vehicle being in a low temperature, open the active air flap.
However, Choi teaches wherein the controller is configured to, based on the vehicle being in a low temperature, open the active air flap (an exterior air temperature is low, inflow of air is interrupted by fully closing the air flap in a low temperature condition corresponding to a temperature of the first reference temperature (for example, 0° C.) or less, the air flap is fully opened such that air can be maximally introduced during driving of the vehicle in a condition corresponding to a temperature of the second reference temperature (for example, 10° C.) or more - Choi ¶47).
Yoon 331 discloses a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle. Choi teaches an apparatus and a method for controlling an active air flap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yoon 331, a variable aerodynamic system for a vehicle, with an apparatus and a method for controlling an active air flap, as taught by Choi, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve aerodynamic performance and enhance fuel ratio, see Choi ¶9 for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668