DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US PGPUB No. 20140375862 A1, hereinafter Kim, and further in view of An et al., US PGPUB No. 20190199926 A1, hereinafter An.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a computer system (Kim; a computer system (i.e. electronic device) [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0026], as illustrated within Fig. 1), comprising:
one or more cameras (Kim; the computer system (i.e. electronic device), as addressed above, comprising one or more cameras [¶ 0043]);
one or more processors (Kim; the computer system (i.e. electronic device), as addressed above, comprising one or more processors [¶ 0036-0037 and ¶ 0045-0046], as illustrated within Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Kim; the computer system (i.e. electronic device), as addressed above, is in communication with a touch screen (i.e. display generation component and one or more input devices) [¶ 0039-0042]); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Kim; the computer system (i.e. electronic device), as addressed above, comprising memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors [¶ 0035-0037]; additionally, communication control program [¶ 0034]), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a camera user interface (Kim; the one or more programs, as addressed above, including instructions for displaying a camera UI via the touch screen (i.e. display generation component) [¶ 0037 and ¶ 0041-0042]; wherein, the UI displayed is associated with presenting a shooting and scene mode [¶ 0050-0051 and ¶ 0058], as illustrated within Fig. 3A-B; additionally, UI configured to detected selection options [¶ 0093-0094] in relation with one or more selection types [¶ 0095]);
while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a request to capture media with the one or more cameras (Kim; the one or more programs, as addressed above, including instructions for detecting a request to capture media with the one or more cameras while displaying the camera UI [¶ 0061-0063], as illustrated within Figs. 3A-D; moreover, input causing display of a menu [¶ 0057-0058] that allows various functions related to camera operations to be selected [¶ 0059, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0072-0073]; moreover, the camera program allows the existing shooting and scene mode to be maintained and photographing in accordance with a typical photographing method [¶ 0041, ¶ 0056, and ¶ 0067-0069]); and
in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (Kim; in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0061, ¶ 0072, and ¶ 0085]; wherein, a photograph preparation is performed and an object may be photographed [¶ 0050-0051]; moreover, the camera program in accordance with a typical photographing method [¶ 0041, ¶ 0050-0051, and ¶ 0056]):
in accordance with a determination that the computer system is configured to store media in a first file format, storing a sequence of images in the first file format (Kim; storing a sequence of images (i.e. media, one or more images) in the 1st file format (i.e. coding format) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is configured to store media (i.e. a capture event based on a mode) in a 1st file format (i.e. coding formatting) [¶ 0061, ¶ 0070-0072, and ¶ 0085]; moreover, file/coding format storing media [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]); and
in accordance with a determination that the computer system is configured to store media in a second file format, storing a single image in the second file format (Kim; storing a single image in the 2nd file format (i.e. another coding format) in accordance with a determination that the computer system is configured to store media (i.e. another capture event based on another mode) in a 2nd file format [¶ 0065 and ¶ 0069-0070]; wherein, a plurality of shooting and scene modes [¶ 0059-0061 and ¶ 0073-0075]; moreover, the electronic device displays the UI as well as configures the camera in accordance with the selected shooting and scene modes [¶ 0063-0066 and ¶ 0070-0072]; wherein, the file/coding format is associated with one or more different operations that enable a single or multiple image capture [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]).
Kim fails to disclose wherein the sequence of images can be played back in temporal order in response to a user input detected after the sequence of images has been captured; and
wherein the second file format is a reduced compression file format relative to the first file format.
However, An teaches wherein the sequence of images can be played back in temporal order in response to a user input detected after the sequence of images has been captured (An; the sequence of images can be played back (i.e. reproduction) in temporal order in response to a user input detected after the sequence of images has been captured [¶ 0075 and ¶ 0078-0079]); and
wherein a file format is a reduced compression file format relative to another file format (An; wherein a file format is a reduced compression file format relative to another file format [¶ 0075 and ¶ 0078]).
Kim and An are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a visualization effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim, to incorporate wherein the sequence of images can be played back in temporal order in response to a user input detected after the sequence of images has been captured; and wherein a file format is a reduced compression file format relative to another file format (as taught by An), in order to provide an improved imaging environment that reduces power consumption (An; [¶ 0007-0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of An further discloses the computer system of claim 1, the ones or more programs (Kim; the ones or more programs [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) further including instructions for:
while displaying the camera user interface and while the computer system is configured to capture and store the sequence of images in the first file format in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras, detecting a request to configure the computer system to store media in the second file format (Kim; the ones or more programs [as addressed above] further including instructions for detecting a request to configure the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format (i.e. another coding format) [¶ 0065 and ¶ 0069-0070] while displaying the camera UI and while the computer system is configured to capture and store the sequence of images (i.e. media, multiple images) in the 1st file format (i.e. coding format) in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0058-0061]; moreover, transitioning between modes and/or settings associated with UI objects [¶ 0062-0063, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0073-0075], as illustrated within Figs. 3B-D and 3F; moreover, a plurality of shooting and scene modes [¶ 0059-0061 and ¶ 0073-0075]; wherein, the electronic device displays the UI as well as configures the camera in accordance with the selected shooting and scene modes [¶ 0063-0066 and ¶ 0070-0072]; and wherein, file/coding format is associated with one or more different operations [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]); and
in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to store media in the second file format (Kim; in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format (i.e. another coding format) [as addressed above]; moreover, requesting the capture of media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0061, ¶ 0072, and ¶ 0085]; wherein, the camera program in response with typical photographing techniques [¶ 0041, ¶ 0050-0051, and ¶ 0056]):
configuring the computer system to store media in the second file format in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras (Kim; configuring the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format (i.e. another coding format) [¶ 0061-0065] in response to detecting the request to store media (i.e. another capture event based on another mode) with the one or more cameras [¶ 0066-0069]); and
configuring the computer system to store a second single image in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras (Kim; configuring the computer system to store a 2nd single image in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0065 and ¶ 0069-0070]; wherein, a plurality of shooting and scene modes [¶ 0059-0061 and ¶ 0073-0075]; moreover, the electronic device displays the UI as well as configures the camera in response to a selected shooting and scene mode [¶ 0063-0066 and ¶ 0070-0072]; additionally, the file/coding format is associated with one or more different operations that enable a single or multiple image capture [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of An further discloses the computer system of claim 2, wherein:
the camera user interface includes a selectable user interface object for controlling a file format for storing media and a selectable user interface object for controlling capture of the sequence of images (Kim; the camera UI [as within the parent claim(s)] includes a selectable UI object (i.e. icon, menu object) for controlling [¶ 0058-0060] a file/coding format for storing media and a selectable UI object for controlling capture of the sequence of images [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]; moreover, menu settings [¶ 0061-0062] in relation with shooting and scene modes [¶ 0065-0069], as illustrated within Figs. 3C-D); and
the one or more programs (Kim; the ones or more programs [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) further including instructions for:
in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to store media in the second file format (Kim; in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]):
displaying the selectable user interface object for controlling the file format for storing media in an active state (Kim; displaying the selectable UI object (i.e. icon, menu object) for controlling the file format for storing media in an active state (i.e. selection) [¶ 0061-0063], as illustrated within Figs. 3A-D, in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format [as addressed above]; moreover, input that causes display of a menu [¶ 0057-0058] that allows various functions related to camera operations to be selected [¶ 0059, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0072-0073]); and
displaying the selectable user interface object for controlling capture of the sequence of images in an inactive state (Kim; displaying the selectable UI object (i.e. icon, menu object) for controlling capture of the sequence of images in an inactive state (i.e. non-selection) [¶ 0053 and ¶ 0061-0062] in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format [as addressed above]; additionally, operation of maintaining a touch state for than a predetermined time is deemed the predefined input [¶ 0078, ¶ 0088, and ¶ 0095]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of An further discloses the computer system of claim 2, the one or more programs (Kim; the one or more programs [as addressed within parent claim(s)]) further including instructions for:
after configuring the computer system to store media in the second file format, in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras and configuring the computer system to store the second single image in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras (Kim; in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras and configuring the computer system to store the 2nd single image [¶ 0058-0061] in response to detecting the request to store media with the one or more cameras [as addressed within parent claim(s)], after configuring the computer system to store media in the 2nd file format [¶ 0065 and ¶ 0069-0070]; moreover, transitioning between modes and/or settings associated with UI objects [¶ 0062-0063, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0073-0075], as illustrated within Figs. 3B-D and 3F; moreover, input that causes display of a menu [¶ 0057-0058] that allows various functions related to camera operations to be selected [¶ 0059, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0072-0073]):
in accordance with a determination that a set of reversion criteria are met (Kim; in accordance with a determination that a set of reversion (i.e. selection/non-selection) criteria are met [¶ 0061-0064]; such as, touch-and-drag and/or touch-and-hold corresponding to a determination [¶ 0053, ¶ 0095, and ¶ 0109]; additionally, touch operation(s) [¶ 0040, ¶ 0061-0062, and ¶ 0074-0076]), wherein the set of reversion criteria includes a criterion that is met when a predetermined period of time has elapsed (Kim; the set of reversion (i.e. selection/non-selection) criteria, as addressed above, includes a criterion that is met when a predetermined period of time has elapsed [¶ 0053]; wherein, controlling the operational input incorporates a time (i.e. touch-and-hold) aspect [¶ 0086-0088], as illustrated within Fig. 6; additionally, an operation of maintaining a touch state for more than a predetermined time in relation with deeming a predefined input [¶ 0078]):
configuring the computer system to store media in the first file format in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (Kim; configuring the computer system to store media in the 1st file format [¶ 0061-0065] in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [as addressed above]); and
configuring the computer system to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (Kim; configuring the computer system to store the sequence of images [¶ 0061-0065] in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [as addressed above]).
An further teaches to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (An; to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0075 and ¶ 0077-0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by An, to incorporate to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (as taught by An), in order to provide an improved imaging environment that reduces power consumption (An; [¶ 0007-0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of An further discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs (Kim; the one or more programs [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) further including instructions for:
while displaying the camera user interface and while the computer system is configured to store media in the second file format in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras, detecting a request to configure the computer system to capture media that includes the sequence of images (Kim; detecting a request to configure the computer system to capture media that includes the sequence of images [¶ 0065 and ¶ 0069-0070] while displaying the camera UI and while the computer system is configured to store media in the 2nd file format (i.e. another coding format) in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0058-0061]; moreover, modes and/or settings associated with camera operations [¶ 0061-0063, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0073-0075], as illustrated within Figs. 3B-D and 3F; wherein, the electronic device displays the UI as well as configures the camera in accordance with the selected shooting and scene modes [¶ 0063-0066 and ¶ 0070-0072]; and wherein, file/coding format is associated with one or more different operations [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]); and
in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to capture the media that includes the sequence of images (Kim; in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to capture the media that includes the sequence of images [¶ 0061, ¶ 0070-0072, and ¶ 0085]; moreover, the camera program in accordance with a typical photographing method [¶ 0041, ¶ 0050-0051, and ¶ 0056]):
configuring the computer system to store media in the first file format in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (Kim; configuring the computer system to store media in the 1st file/coding format [¶ 0061-0065] when the 2nd input was received [¶ 0070-0072], as illustrated within Figs. 3B-E, in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [as addressed above]); and
configuring the computer system to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (Kim; configuring the computer system to store the sequence of images [¶ 0061, ¶ 0070-0072, and ¶ 0085] in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [as addressed above]; moreover, file/coding format storing media [¶ 0028-0031, ¶ 0046-0047, and ¶ 0051]).
An further teaches to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (An; to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras [¶ 0075 and ¶ 0077-0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by An, to incorporate to store the sequence of images in response to detecting the request to capture media with the one or more cameras (as taught by An), in order to provide an improved imaging environment that reduces power consumption (An; [¶ 0007-0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of An further discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the camera user interface includes a second selectable user interface object for controlling a file format for storing media and a second selectable user interface object for controlling capture of a second sequence of images (Kim; the camera UI includes a 2nd selectable UI object for controlling a file/coding format for storing media and a 2nd selectable UI object for controlling capture of a 2nd sequence of images [¶ 0061-0063 and ¶ 0073-0076], as illustrated within Figs. 3A-D; moreover, input that causes display of a menu [¶ 0057-0058] that allows various functions related to camera operations to be selected [¶ 0059, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0072-0074]; and moreover, the electronic device displays the UI as well as configures the camera in accordance with the selected shooting and scene modes [¶ 0063-0066 and ¶ 0070-0072]); and
the one or more programs (Kim; the one or more programs [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) further including instructions for:
in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to capture media that includes the second sequence of images (Kim; in response to detecting the request to configure the computer system to capture media that includes the 2nd sequence of images [¶ 0061, ¶ 0070-0072, and ¶ 0085]; wherein, capture settings allow multiple image captures [¶ 0063-0066 and ¶ 0069]):
displaying the second selectable user interface object for controlling the file format for storing media in an inactive state (Kim; displaying the 2nd selectable UI object for controlling the file format for storing media in an inactive (i.e. non-selection) state [¶ 0052-0053 and ¶ 0070-0072]; moreover, HDR media capture [¶ 0058-0061]); and
displaying the second selectable user interface object for controlling capture of the second sequence of images in an active state (Kim; displaying the 2nd selectable UI object for controlling capture of the 2nd sequence of images in an active (i.e. selection) state [¶ 0052-0053 and ¶ 0070-0072]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of An further discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs (Kim; the one or more programs [as addressed within parent claim(s)]) further including instructions for:
after capturing the media, while displaying the media, detecting a second input corresponding to the media (Kim; detecting a 2nd input corresponding to the media after capturing the media (and) while displaying the media [¶ 0061-0063], as illustrated within Figs. 3A-D; moreover, displaying various UI options [¶ 0057-0059, ¶ 0065-0067, and ¶ 0072-0073]); and
in response to detecting the second input:
in accordance with a determination that the media is part of a sequence of still images (Kim; the sequence of still images [¶ 0070-0072] in accordance with a determination that the media is part of a sequence of still images [¶ 0065-0069] in response to detecting the second input [¶ 0070-0072 and ¶ 0092-0094]; moreover, previewing media [¶ 0052-0053 and ¶ 0070], as illustrated within Figs. 3A-E)..
An further teaches in accordance with a determination that the media is part of a sequence of still images, playing through at least a portion of the sequence of still images (An; playing through at least a portion of the sequence of still images in accordance with a determination that the media is part of a sequence of still images [¶ 0074-0075 and ¶ 0079]); and
in accordance with a determination that the media is not part of a sequence of still images, performing an operation without playing through the sequence of still images (An; performing an operation without playing through the sequence of still images in accordance with a determination that the media is not part of a sequence of still images [¶ 0073-0075]; additionally, forming a single image [¶ 0071 and ¶ 0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Kim as modified by An, to incorporate in accordance with a determination that the media is part of a sequence of still images, playing through at least a portion of the sequence of still images; and in accordance with a determination that the media is not part of a sequence of still images, performing an operation without playing through the sequence of still images (as taught by An), in order to provide an improved imaging environment that reduces power consumption (An; [¶ 0007-0009]).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 8. Although, claim 8 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Kim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras (Kim; a non-transitory CRSM storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system [¶ 0035-0037 and ¶ 0045-0046] having one or more cameras [¶ 0043]), wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Kim; the computer system [as addressed above] is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices [¶ 0034, ¶ 0037, and ¶ 0041-0042]; moreover, communication with a touch screen [¶ 0039-0042]).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 9 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 9 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 9. Although, claim 9 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 9 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611