DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-12 and 15 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 -2, 5-12 and 15 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraemer, publication number: US 2017/0270296 in view of Boulton, publication number: US 2020/0104490.
As per claims 1 and 20, Kraemer teaches a reverse shell detection method, comprising:
obtaining a first shell command (Command shell, [0083]);
performing syntax analysis on the first shell command to obtain a command execution intention for the first shell command (analyze syntax to detect nature of initiated command, [0085-0086]);
determining a command execution path corresponding to the first shell command based on the command execution intention (determining if there is a connection to an external server, [0014][0045][0107]); and
in response to at least one node in the command execution path satisfying a first predetermined condition, determining whether the first shell command is a reverse shell intrusion command (Tracking API calls, [0085], remediating reverse command shell, [0091]).
Kraemer does not teach performing syntax analysis on a text of a command,
wherein performing the syntax analysis comprises:
performing semantic parsing on the first command to obtain at least one command element in the first shell command; and
performing intention analysis on the at least one command element to obtain the command execution intention
wherein performing the intention analysis on the at least one command element to obtain the command execution intention comprises:
determining a first code language of the first command;
obtaining an intention tag library corresponding to the first code language based on the first code language, wherein the intention tag library comprises a function attribute of at least a portion of basic commands in the first code language; and
parsing the at least one command element based on the intention tag library to obtain a command execution intention for each of the command elements
In an analogous art, Boulton teaches performing syntax analysis on a text of a command (identifying text strings, [0021]),
wherein performing the syntax analysis comprises:
performing semantic parsing on the first command to obtain at least one command element in the first shell command (disassembling code, [0026]); and
performing intention analysis on the at least one command element to obtain the command execution intention (determining security risks, [0027])
wherein performing the intention analysis on the at least one command element to obtain the command execution intention comprises:
determining a first code language of the first command (associating code to a platform, [0023]);
obtaining an intention tag library corresponding to the first code language based on the first code language, wherein the intention tag library comprises a function attribute of at least a portion of basic commands in the first code language (Having access to potentially malicious codes for different software platforms, [0026]); and
parsing the at least one command element based on the intention tag library to obtain a command execution intention for each of the command elements (analyzing components to detect risk, [0027])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kraemer to include platform based malicious intention determination as described in Boulton’s software security system for the advantage of effectively identifying a variety of malicious code.
As per claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the first shell command is generated by a first server, and the first shell command is configured to cause the first server to access a second server (Kraemer: Remote network connection, [0017][0030]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches wherein parsing the at least one command element based on the intention tag library to obtain the command execution intention for each of the command elements comprises:
obtaining a basic command and an execution object of the basic command in one of the command elements; and
obtaining the command execution intention for each of the command elements based on a function attribute of the basic command and the execution object of the basic command (Kraemer: Analyzing API calls, [0084-0085]).
As per claim 6, the combination teaches wherein obtaining the command execution intention for each of the command elements comprises:
determining at least one of pipe information, file information, network interaction information, input information, output information, or a command executor in each of the command elements (Kraemer: API calls to read file, [0085-0086]).
As per claim 7, the combination teaches wherein determining the command execution path corresponding to the first shell command based on the command execution intention comprises:
obtaining, based on the command execution intention, target command elements that satisfy a second predetermined condition and a connection relationship between the target command elements in the at least one command element; and
determining a command execution path between the target command elements based on the connection relationship (Kraemer: Determining reverse shell, [0091], tracking pipe, [0018][0109]).
As per claim 8, the combination teaches wherein the second predetermined condition comprises: at least one of network interaction, a command executor, or a pipe being present in a node corresponding to the command element (Kraemer: Tracking pipe, [0018][0109]).
As per claim 9, the combination teaches wherein before determining a detection result of the first shell command in response to the at least one node in the command execution path satisfying the first predetermined condition, the method further comprises:
determining that the command execution path is a closed-loop path;
wherein the command execution path is a closed-loop path comprises: the first server obtaining a second command from the second server and executing the second command, and sending an execution result to the second server (Kraemer: Determine reverse shell intrusion, [0012][0028][0109]).
As per claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the first predetermined condition comprises:
a network node being present in the command execution path;
an executor node being present in the command execution path; and
the network node being directly or indirectly connected to the executor node (Kraemer: Remote network connection, [0017][0027][0045]).
Claims 11 –12 and 15-19 are rejected based on claims 1-2 and 5-9
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494