DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 21-38 is/are pending. Claim(s) 25, 30, and 37-37 is/are withdrawn. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-24, 26-29, 31-33, and 38 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner notes the change in prior art was necessitated by the Applicants amendments.
Applicant argues the amended claim language is not taught by Hong. As new prior art is cited teaching these elements, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 26-29, 31-33, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, et al (Hong) (US 2010/0016961 A1) in view of Weeber (US 8,430,508 B2).
Regarding Claim 21, Hong teaches an ophthalmic lens (e.g. abstract), comprising:
an optic (e.g. [0097], lens) comprising an optical axis (this axis is inherently present) and an optical profile extending radially from the optical axis (there is inherently some optical profile present), the optical profile comprising:
a first zone (e.g. [0098], radially inner zone and transition zone) comprising a first aspheric profile having a first asphericity (e.g. [0086]),
a second zone (e.g. [0098], radially outer zone) comprising a second aspheric profile having a second asphericity (e.g. [0086]), and
a phase shift feature extending from a first radial position to a second radial position (e.g. [0098], transition zone);
wherein the phase shift feature is configured to produce a controlled varying amount of phase shift of light waves passing through the phase shift feature between the first radial position and the second radial position (e.g. [0096]) to focus the light waves to a single expanded far focal region provided by the ophthalmic lens (e.g. [0097], Figure 4A).
Hong discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the second asphericity is different from the first aspheric profile.
Weeber teaches an IOL having different asphericities in different zones on a surface (e.g. column 12, line 60 to column 13, line 5).
Weeber and Hong are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely aspheric IOLs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong by incorporating the differing asphericities as taught by Weeber as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)) of a lens that corrects the needs of the patient (e.g. Weeber, column 2, line 62 to column 3, line 26).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Hong and Weeber teaches the phase shift feature comprises an annular ring centered about the optical axis, the annular ring having an outer diameter between 1.6 mm and 2.4 mm (e.g. Hong, [0098], about 2.6 mm).
Thus, the combination of Hong and Weeber discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the annular ring having an outer diameter between 1.6 mm and 2.4 mm.
Hong is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely IOLs having multiple regions, including a phase shift region. Weeber is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely aspheric IOLs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hong and Weeber such that the annular ring having an outer diameter between 1.6 mm and 2.4 mm a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding Claim 23, the annular ring has a width between 0.1 mm and 1 mm (e.g. Hong, [0098], 2.6 mm – 2.2 mm = 0.4 mm in radial width).
Regarding Claim 24, the phase shift feature comprises a ridge projecting anteriorly from an anterior surface of the optic (e.g. Hong, [0100], there is a slope in this region, thus a shape that projects from the lens surface; the side of the projection is considered anterior).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Hong and Weeber discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the phase shift feature comprises:
a first phase shift step; a second phase shift step; and a region of increased thickness extending from the first phase shift step to the second phase shift step.
In another embodiment Hong teaches a lens where the phase shift region a first phase shift step; a second phase shift step; and a region of increased thickness extending from the first phase shift step to the second phase shift step (e.g. annotated Figure 6 below).
Annotated Figure 6, Hong
Both embodiments of Hong are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely IOLs having multiple regions, including a phase shift region. Weeber is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely aspheric IOLs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hong and Weeber such that the phase shift region has the shape of the embodiment of Figure 6 as taught by Hong as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)) of a known mechanism for providing the phase shift as taught by Hong. Here, the substituted elements function is known as discussed supra.
Regarding Claim 27, the first phase shift step has a first step height; the second phase shift step has a second step height (e.g. Hong, Figure 6); and the second step height is greater than the first step height (the step height between the first step and the second step is the first height and the step height between the second step and the outer region is the second height; thus, the second height is greater than the first height).
Regarding Claim 28, the phase shift feature is positioned within the first zone (discussed supra with claim 21).
Regarding Claim 29, the ophthalmic lens comprises an intraocular lens (e.g. Hong, [0064]).
Regarding Claim 31, Hong teaches an ophthalmic lens (discussed supra for claim 21), comprising:
an optic (discussed supra for claim 21) comprising a surface (the optic inherently has at least two surfaces) and an optical axis (discussed supra for claim 21), the surface comprising:
a first zone extending from the optical axis to a first radial boundary (discussed supra for claim 21), the first zone having a first base curvature (discussed supra for claim 21);
a second zone extending from the first radial boundary towards an edge of the optic (discussed supra for claim 21), the second zone having a second base curvature (discussed supra for claim 21) different from the first base curvature (discussed supra for claim 21; differing asphericities); and
a phase shift feature within the first zone (discussed supra for claim 21) configured to produce a controlled varying amount of phase shift of light waves passing through the phase shift feature to focus the light waves to a single expanded far focal region provided by the ophthalmic lens (discussed supra for claim 21);
wherein the first base curvature of the first zone is configured to provide increased range of focus in a myopic direction (e.g. Hong, Figures 4A-C, the largest peak is at a negative value, which is a myopic correction).
Regarding Claim 32, the first base curvature comprises a first aspheric profile (discussed supra for claim 21), and the second base curvature comprises a second aspheric profile (discussed supra for claim 21).
Regarding Claim 33, the first base curvature and the second base curvature have different aspheric surface profiles (discussed supra for claim 21).
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Hong and Weeber teaches the single expanded far focal region comprises between the following extended depth of focus from a far focal point: the range of diopters is at least -2 to +2 D as shown, with the largest peak ranging from about -0.5 to +0.5 D (e.g. Hong, Figures 4A-C).
The combination of Hong and Weeber discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the single expanded far focal region comprises between 0.5D and 2.5D of extended depth of focus from a far focal point.
Hong is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely IOLs having multiple regions, including a phase shift region. Weeber is concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely aspheric IOLs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hong and Weeber such that the single expanded far focal region comprises between 0.5D and 2.5D of extended depth of focus from a far focal point since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 9/11/2026