DETAILED ACTION
Claims 17-21 withdrawn
Claims 1-16 pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (PG Pub 2020/0039827 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Jung teaches the process of forming a carbon film (graphene, 40) on top of a pattern (abstract, figure 1), where the process of forming the carbon film (graphene film) is formed using plasma CVD [0038], using a gas mixture consisting of carbon source (of acetylene gas), inert gas such as Argon gas, and hydrogen gas [0047], and where the gas mixture of C2H2, H2, Ar form the graphene layer using plasma (figure 2B).
Consider Claim 2, Jung teaches the carbon source is acetylene gas [0047].
Consider Claims 3-4, Jung teaches the processing temperature is 700℃ or less [0005], or more preferably 300-700℃ [0049].
Consider Claim 5, Jung teaches the use of gas mixture comprising 5 sccm of the acetylene gas, 95 sccm of the argon gas, and 5 sccm of the hydrogen gas [0054], leading to 4.7%.
Consider Claim 6, Jung teaches the pattern is a trench (figure 1).
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto (PG Pub 2013/0059091 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Matsumoto teaches the process of forming carbon film (CNT) (abstract), teaches the CNT film (213) is formed using gas mixture consisting of acetylene (C2H2), hydrogen gas and Argon, under the plasma process [0100], forming a CNT (213) on top of a metal catalyst layer (211) as a pattern (figure 5).
Consider Claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the use of acetylene [0100].
Consider Claims 3-4, Matsumoto teaches the growth temperature is 350-550℃ [0103].
Consider Claim 5, Matsumoto teaches the hydrogen is supplied between 100-2000 ml/min [0106], with acetylene supplied between 5-200 mL/min [0105], with Ar supplied between 0-1000ml/min [0107]. Leading to (for example) H2, C2H2, Ar with amount of 3, 96, 1 ml/min with have hydrogen gas with 3% or more.
Consider Claims 6-8, Matsumoto teaches the aspect ratio of from 1-10 [0072].
Consider Claim 13, Matsumoto teaches the pattern is metal protrusion (211) from an interlayer insulating film (203) (figure 4, [0068]) where the carbon layer (CNT) 213 is formed on top of the metal layer (211) (figure 5).
Consider Claims 14-15, Matsumoto teaches the process of etching to form the opening 205 using photolithography/hard mask ([0068]-[0069] figure 4), where the carbon layer/CNT is grown within the recess after etching step (figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (PG Pub 2020/0039827 A1).
Consider Claims 3-4, Jung teaches the processing temperature is 700℃ or less [0005], or more preferably 300-700℃ [0049]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 5, Jung teaches the use of gas mixture comprising 5 sccm of the acetylene gas, 95 sccm of the argon gas, and 5 sccm of the hydrogen gas [0054], leading to 4.7%. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05)
Claim(s) 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (PG Pub 2013/0059091 A1).
Consider Claims 3-4, Matsumoto teaches the growth temperature is 350-550℃ [0103]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 5, Matsumoto teaches the hydrogen is supplied between 100-2000 ml/min [0106], with acetylene supplied between 5-200 mL/min [0105], with Ar supplied between 0-1000ml/min [0107]. Leading to (for example) H2, C2H2, Ar with amount of 3, 96, 1 ml/min with have hydrogen gas with 3% or more. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claims 6-8, Matsumoto teaches the aspect ratio of from 1-10 [0072]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (PG Pub 2013/0059091 A1), and in view of Matsudo (WO 2022/050136 A1, equivalent to PG Pub 2023/0307215 A1 used in here for paragraph referencing).
Consider Claim 9-12, Matsumoto teaches the process of forming carbon film (CNT) (abstract), using system shown in figure 1, having electrode 87, and using plasma for deposition process [0100].
Matsumoto does not teach the claimed in claims 9-12.
However, Matsudo is in the process of forming film (claim 8), using plasma processing system (abstract), teaches the film forming process is under depressurized chamber (such as 0.2 Torr) [0009], a plasma with eV of 200 or less (with high impedance) (figure 6); and with 40.68 MHz [0068]; and an electrode (35) facing the stage (14), and the electrode (34) is between the stage (14) and the electrode (35) facing the stage (figure 1); and an impedance of the impedance circuit is set such that an impedance of an electrical path from the lower electrode through the impedance circuit to the ground is higher than an impedance of an electrical path from a wall of the chamber to the ground (abstract).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Matsumoto with Matsudo to provides a technique for generating a high-density plasma in a high-pressure chamber and reducing energy applied to a substrate [0008].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued against the prior arts of Jung. On the following grounds;
Jung discloses a method in which a protective layer 30 is formed on a substrate 20, a plasma of a reaction gas of a mixed gas of a carbon source gas, an inert gas, and a hydrogen gas is generated, and a nanocrystalline graphene 40 is directly grown on a surface of the protective layer 30 at a temperature of 700° C or lower.
Referring to FIG.4 of Jung, the graphene 40, which allegedly corresponds to the carbon- based film, is selectively formed where the protective layer 30 is present, whereas the graphene 40 is not formed where the protective layer 30 is absent, as shown on the left-hand side of FIG. 4 (see paragraphs [0064]-[0065] of Jung). That is, the selective formation of the graphene 40 in Jung is made depending on the presence or absence of the protective layer 30 on the substrate in Jung.
However, Jung is totally silent on whether the graphene is only formed on the top of the pattern as a result of the selective formation. Indeed, Jung does not describe the graphene formation position in association with the position in the pattern. It merely describes the graphene formation position in association with the presence or absence of the protective layer.
However, the claimed limitation of “substrate having a pattern” reads on various descriptions, such as: substrate itself having a groves, trenches and wavey surface; or the substrate surface include two or more materials, such as dielectric and metal surfaces.
Moreover, Jung disclose the substrate having wavey structure, with repeated tops and groves, as seen in figure 1. Additionally, Jung also disclose the substrate surface having two materials, the SiO2 (20) and the protective layer (30) (figure 4). Where in both cases, the formed carbon/graphene layer is on top of a patterned substrate, having a wavey structure and patterned with varies surface materials.
The applicant argued against the prior arts of Matsumoto. On the following grounds;
Matsumoto discloses a method in which a wafer having a catalyst metal layer 211 formed at the bottom of an opening 205 is sequentially subjected to an oxygen plasma treatment and a hydrogen plasma treatment, and thereafter a carbon nanotube 213 is grown on the catalyst metal layer 211 by plasma CVD.
However, Matsumoto is also silent on whether the graphene is only formed on the top of the pattern as a result of the selective formation. Matsumoto merely describes the carbon nanotube 213 is grown from the catalyst metal layer 211 disposed at the bottom of the opening, rather than being selectively formed only on a top of a pattern.
Accordingly, Matsumoto also fails to disclose or suggest the above feature of the forming the carbon-based film and thus fails to cure the deficiencies of Jung.
However, Matsumoto disclose the substrate (201) having first surface patterned with a metal catalyst (211), where the other side of the substrate surface have the insulating layer (203). As the carbon layer (213) is formed on the patterned portion of the substrate (figure 5).
All other applicant arguments not specifically addressed above are deemed unpersuasive as either not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or are unsupported by factual evidence and are deemed mere attorney speculation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718