DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/25/2024. Claims 1-4 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "vibration determiner that is configured to", in claim 1, "torque ratio changer that is configured to", in claims 1, 3, and 4, and "guard value calculator is configured to" in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al., US-20080004780-A1, in view of Hasegawa, US-20130297133-A1, hereinafter referred to as Watanabe, and Hasegawa.
As per claim 1
Watanabe discloses [a] drive force control system for an electric vehicle, comprising (wheels are driven by power from an electric motor, a four-wheel-drive type hybrid vehicle - Watanabe ¶10 & ¶14):
a motor that drives a first wheel as one of a front wheel and a rear wheel (wheels are driven by power from an electric motor, a four-wheel-drive type hybrid vehicle - Watanabe ¶10 & ¶14);
another prime mover that drives a second wheel as other one of the front wheel and the rear wheel (a main drive system 12 that drives front wheels 38R and 38L, and an auxiliary drive system 14 that drives rear wheels 48R and 48L. - Watanabe ¶26),
wherein a four-wheel drive mode in which the electric vehicle is propelled by the motor and the another prime mover is available (four-wheel-drive hybrid vehicle 10…a main drive system 12 that drives front wheels 38R and 38L, and an auxiliary drive system 14 that drives rear wheels 48R and 48L. - Watanabe ¶26),
the drive force control system comprises a controller that controls the motor (drive torque control means calculates drive torques of the front and rear wheels based on the calculated required drive torque and the changed torque distribution, and controls the drive torques of the engine and the electric motor - Watanabe ¶12),
the controller comprises: a vibration determiner that is configured to determine whether an operating point of the motor governed by an output torque and a speed of the motor will enter a noise region in which noise and vibrations of the motor are amplified during operation of the motor (calculates a required drive torque TD…the vehicle speed V…torque distribution controlling means 84 determines a load distribution ratio between the front wheels 38R and 38L and the rear wheels 48R and 48L…the torque distribution controlling means 84 also determines a front torque distribution ratio Ktf and a rear torque distribution ratio Ktr (Ktr is a value less than 1; Ktf+Ktr=1) based on the load distribution ratio. The rear torque distribution ratio Ktr is calculated by adding a correction value (sin θL×K) to a static rear wheel load distribution ratio Ktrw, it is determined whether the gear noise will be produced depending on whether the torque of the first electric motor is within the predetermined gear noise producing torque region when the engine is operating in the predetermined operating state - Watanabe ¶37 & ¶80);
a reference torque ratio [and controlling the motors to remain outside of the vibration generating operating region] (calculates a required drive torque TD…the vehicle speed V…torque distribution controlling means 84 determines a load distribution ratio between the front wheels 38R and 38L and the rear wheels 48R and 48L…the torque distribution controlling means 84 also determines a front torque distribution ratio Ktf and a rear torque distribution ratio Ktr (Ktr is a value less than 1; Ktf+Ktr=1) based on the load distribution ratio. The rear torque distribution ratio Ktr is calculated by adding a correction value (sin θL×K) to a static rear wheel load distribution ratio Ktrw, step S4 the torque distribution between the front and rear wheels is changed, with the torque of the second motor-generator MG2 of the front wheel side being increased which increases the front drive torque TF, so that the front drive torque TF moves out of the gear noise producing torque region X - Watanabe ¶37 & ¶51).
Watanabe does not specifically disclose a torque ratio changer that is configured to change a torque ratio as a ratio between a torque driving the first wheel and a torque driving the second wheel, so as to deviate the operating point of the motor from the noise region, when the vibration determiner determines that the operating point of the motor will enter the noise region.
However, Hasegawa teaches a torque ratio changer that is configured to change a torque ratio as a ratio between a torque driving the first wheel and a torque driving the second wheel, so as to deviate the operating point of the motor from the noise region, when the vibration determiner determines that the operating point of the motor will enter the noise region (changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel (for example, a front wheel) and a driven wheel (for example, a rear wheel)., changing a distribution ratio of torque to the main drive wheel and the driven wheels by the torque distributor, and that inhibits occurrence of vibration at the start time of the engine, target value of the transmission amount of torque to the drive system on the side of the rear wheels 8L and 8R at the start time of the engine 1 is set at a largest value (the target transmitted-torque Tcpfb) in a range in which vibration is inhibited at the drive system on the side of the rear wheels 8L and 8R, hybrid vehicle…inhibits noise (muffled sound) in the vehicle interior caused by the vibration. - Hasegawa ¶1 & ¶12 & ¶103 & ¶117).
Watanabe discloses a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle. Hasegawa teaches a control device of a vehicle that includes a torque distributor capable of changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Watanabe, a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle, with a control device of a vehicle that includes a torque distributor capable of changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel, as taught by Hasegawa, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the travel performance and improve the fuel efficiency (fuel consumption ratio) as compared with continuous travel in the four-wheel drive state, see Hasegawa ¶3 for details.
As per claim 4
Watanabe further discloses change a torque of the another prime mover with a change in a required driving torque to propel the electric vehicle while maintaining an output torque of the motor to the torque before the operating point of the motor enters the noise region, when the vibration determiner determines that the operating point of the motor will enter the noise region due to a change in the output torque of the motor (changing the set torque distribution between the front and rear wheels when a predetermined gear noise producing condition is satisfied; and e) calculating drive torques of the front and rear wheels based on the calculated required drive torque and the changed torque distribution between the front and rear wheels and controlling the drive torques of the engine and the electric motor, gear noise preventing means prevents gear noise in a gear mechanism due to torque fluctuation in the engine, when the engine 16 is running or there is a demand to start the engine 16, it is determined in step R2 whether the MG2 torque is within the gear noise producing torque region Y If the MG2 torque is within the gear noise producing torque region Y, steps R3 and thereafter are executed. In step R4, the front drive torque T.sub.F is increased so that the MG2 torque will move out of the gear noise producing torque region Y – Watanabe ¶11 & ¶12 & ¶66).
Watanabe does not specifically disclose wherein the torque ratio changer is further configured to.
However, Hasegawa teaches wherein the torque ratio changer is further configured to (changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel (for example, a front wheel) and a driven wheel (for example, a rear wheel). - Hasegawa ¶1).
Watanabe discloses a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle. Hasegawa teaches a control device of a vehicle that includes a torque distributor capable of changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Watanabe, a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle, with a control device of a vehicle that includes a torque distributor capable of changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel, as taught by Hasegawa, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the travel performance and improve the fuel efficiency (fuel consumption ratio) as compared with continuous travel in the four-wheel drive state, see Hasegawa ¶3 for details.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe, and Hasegawa, as per claim 1, and further in view of Kaneko, JP-2018088788-A, hereinafter referred to as Kaneko (Translation by Espacenet).
As per claim 2
Watanabe does not specifically disclose wherein the controller further comprises a guard value calculator that calculates an upper limit value and a lower limit value of an amount of change in the torque ratio, and the guard value calculator is configured to set the upper limit value and the lower limit value in a case that the reference torque ratio is employed to maintain a performance of the electric vehicle.
However, Kaneko teaches wherein the controller further comprises a guard value calculator that calculates an upper limit value and a lower limit value of an amount of change in the torque ratio, and the guard value calculator is configured to set the upper limit value and the lower limit value in a case that the reference torque ratio is employed to maintain a performance of the electric vehicle (When the minimum total output loss drive torque distribution ratio is selected as the drive torque distribution ratio command, the upper limit of the change amount of the drive torque distribution ratio is limited by the rate limiter 24 b…the shock of the vehicle can be suppressed - Kaneko ¶14 - Examiner reasons that the reference torque ratio must be utilized based on the claim construction of independent claim 1 and that because there is a upper limit discussed that a lower limit is also present).
Watanabe discloses a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle. Kaneko teaches a control device for an electric vehicle that suppresses deterioration of the power cost performance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Watanabe, a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle, with a control device for an electric vehicle that suppresses deterioration of the power cost performance, as taught by Kaneko, with a reasonable expectation of success to run at the maximum efficiency and to improve the electricity cost performance, see Kaneko ¶15 for details.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe, and Hasegawa, as per claim 1, and further in view of Johri et al., US-20150251657-A1, hereinafter referred to as Johri.
As per claim 3
Watanabe does not specifically disclose wherein the torque ratio changer is further configured to.
However, Hasegawa teaches wherein the torque ratio changer is further configured to (changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel (for example, a front wheel) and a driven wheel (for example, a rear wheel). - Hasegawa ¶1).
Watanabe discloses a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle. Hasegawa teaches a control device of a vehicle that includes a torque distributor capable of changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Watanabe, a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle, with a control device of a vehicle that includes a torque distributor capable of changing a distribution ratio of torque to a main drive wheel, as taught by Hasegawa, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the travel performance and improve the fuel efficiency (fuel consumption ratio) as compared with continuous travel in the four-wheel drive state, see Hasegawa ¶3 for details.
Watanabe does not specifically disclose start changing the torque ratio at an earlier timing when changing the torque ratio significantly.
However, Johri teaches start changing the torque ratio at an earlier timing when changing the torque ratio significantly (seen from FIG. 3B that the change in torque ratio of the transmission occurs during the earlier torque phase of the transmission gear shift between T1 and T2 - Johri ¶39 – Examiner reasons that the word, “significantly” is broad rather than indefinite).
Watanabe discloses a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle. Johri teaches hybrid powertrain control systems with regenerative braking controls.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Watanabe, a control apparatus and a control method for a hybrid vehicle, with hybrid powertrain control systems with regenerative braking controls, as taught by Johri, with a reasonable expectation of success to apply regenerative braking torque and to reduce or eliminate the response lag in M/G speed, see Johri ¶6 & ¶32 for details.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668 /Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668