DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-11, 16 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 16 and 19 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,502. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of independent claims 1, 16 and 20 from the instant invention are to be found independent claims 1, 16 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,502, except for minor difference(s), for example “a real-time feedback” instead of “a first and a second feedback” or “the machine learning model is a pre-trained model with a data set comprising the input data and the behavioral data from plurality of patients” instead of “the machine learning model is a pre-trained model with a data set comprising the input data from plurality of patients”.
It is clear that all the elements of the instant application as claimed are to be found in patent claim(s) (as the patent claim(s) fully encompasses the application claim(s)). The difference between the application claim(s) and the patent claim(s) lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus much more specific.
Thus, the invention of claims of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the patent 12,274,502, thereby the instant invention is not patentably distinct, where both inventions are directed to: “eye health prediction and more specifically to systems and methods for myopia prognosis powered by multimodal data for detecting myopia in an individual and its progression over time or risk of developing myopia in case the individual does not currently have myopia at the time of eye test.”.
Table shows the list of conflicting claims:
Claims from the instant application 18958319
Claims from application 18778027 now patent 12,274,502
Claims 1 + 7-10.
Claim 1.
Claim 11.
Claim 10.
Claim 16.
Claim 16.
Claim 20.
Claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US PUB 2021/0375460; herein after “Li”) in view of Tran (US PUB 2022/0248955).
Li and Tran disclose predictions or diagnoses of myopia progression. Therefore, they are analogous art.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a system (i.e., a computer-implemented system, para. [0010]) comprising: a processor storing instructions in non-transitory memory that, when executed, cause the processor to: receive (i.e., an electronic device comprising: a processor, a memory, and an operating system configured to perform executable instructions, para. [0010]), via an input module (e.g., the input device (module) is a touch screen or a multi-touch screen, para. [0068]), an input data, wherein the input data comprises ocular characteristics of an ocular region of a user (i.e., imaging one or both eyes of the individual, screening for ocular disorders or conditions (e.g., ocular characteristics), para. [0013], also see para. [0014], and clinical data of the user (i.e., a software module obtaining data of the individual (clinical data), para. [0010]; a) obtaining input data of the individual, para. [0012]); receive behavioral data comprising one or more of device screen exposure time (i.e., the algorithms and models disclosed herein can provide clinically meaningful predictions of refractive error over various time spans (screen time), para. [0051]), and outdoor activity metrics (i.e., the data comprises average exposure to sunlight or natural lighting (e.g., outdoor activities, para. [0008]), para. [0013]); combine, using a multimodal fusion module, the input data and the behavioral data to determine a holistic health embedding (i.e., b) a software module (a multimodal fusion module) evaluating the input data using a machine learning model to generate a prediction of myopia onset or myopia progression, para. [0014]; Artificial Intelligence (AI) has the potential to revolutionize disease diagnosis and prediction, leading to an overall (holistic) higher standard of care, para. [0080], also see para. [0050]); determine, based on a machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, a risk category of myopia and severity of myopia for the user (i.e., the machine learning model is a linear model providing a relationship between myopia progression and two or more features corresponding to the input data, para. [0012]); determine, based on the machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, influence of features of the input data and the behavioral data on myopia (i.e., b) a software module evaluating the input data using a machine learning model to generate a prediction of myopia onset or myopia progression, para. [0014]); recommend, by the machine learning model, based on the risk category of myopia and the severity of myopia (i.e., a new avenue for prediction of visual outcomes in populations with high myopia prevalence while identifying individuals at risk for developing high myopia, para. [0051]), personalized care interventions via a real-time feedback (i.e., prediction accuracy is assessed (feedback) via area under the receiver operating characteristics curve (AUC), para. [0050]), wherein personalized care interventions comprise a change in the behavioral data; and monitor continuously, for an effectiveness of the personalized care interventions on myopia (i.e., when high myopia is not predicted (e.g., the individual is classified into a lower risk category), the recommendation is provided for prevention (e.g., lifestyle changes), para. [0058]); and wherein the machine learning model is a pre-trained model with a data set comprising the input data and the behavioral data from plurality of patients to recognize one or more patterns using the holistic health embedding (i.e., the model accurately predicts myopia progression and high myopia onset (pattern) and shows any differences in progression rates between patients who sought interventive methods such as OK lens, and atropine, respectively, para. [0080]); and wherein the system is configured for myopia management powered by multimodal data (i.e., Through predicting myopia progression, the current rapid prevalence rates can be dampened (e.g., myopia management) by interventive techniques (e.g., by multimodal data), para. [0080]).
Li teaches all limitations except for explicit teaching of receive behavioral data comprising one or more of device screen exposure time; personalized care interventions via a real-time feedback; and combine, using a multimodal fusion module, the input data and the behavioral data to determine a holistic health embedding.
However, in a related field of endeavor Tran teaches the analysis may be automated, and may also be capable of providing real-time feedback to patients and/or healthcare providers (para. [0272]).
a patient or healthcare provider may create a patient profile comprising, e.g., identifying, characterizing, and/or medical information, including information about a patient's medical history, profession, and/or lifestyle. Further examples of information that may be stored in a patient profile includes diagnostic information such as family medical history, medical symptoms, duration of hypertension, localized vs. general hypertension, etc. Further contemplated as part of a patient profile are non-pharmacologic treatment(s) (e.g., chiropractic, radiation, holistic, psychological, acupuncture, etc.), lifestyle characteristics (e.g., diet, alcohol intake, smoking habits), cognitive condition, behavioral health, and social well-being (para. [0256]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li such that the analysis may be capable of providing real-time feedback to a patient and the patient may create a patient profile comprising, e.g., a holistic lifestyle characteristic that includes diagnostic information such as family medical history, cognitive condition, behavioral health (e.g., screen time), as taught by Tran such that the technology will provide improved field-care capabilities, reduce recovery time of injured people, and help minimize complications of wound healing after trauma or surgery.
Regarding claim 2, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the system further receives via a wearable device, real-time data capture of latent characteristics influencing myopia comprising blink rate, gaze direction, and ambient light exposure (i.e., the data comprises average exposure to sunlight or natural lighting, intensity of sunlight exposure, average UV index, latitude, or any combination thereof, para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the behavioral data further comprises lifestyle factors, wherein the lifestyle factors comprise, one or more of diet, physical activity, sitting posture, smoking, alcohol consumption, and sedentary lifestyle (i.e., given a prediction of myopia onset when myopia has not yet occurred or when myopia is in the early stages, a recommended prevention step may be lifestyle changes such as increasing outdoor activities or exposure to sunlight, or reducing near-work such as reading, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the behavioral data further comprises social determinants of health factors, wherein social determinants of health factors comprise one or more of age, ethnicity, gender, geography, exposure to pollution, and exposure to green spaces (i.e., the input data is obtained from an eye examination. In some embodiments, the input data comprises age, gender, nationality, ethnicity, spherical equivalent (SE) measurement of one or both eyes, para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the behavioral data further comprise screen distance from eyes (i.e., a recommended prevention step may be lifestyle changes such as increasing outdoor activities or exposure to sunlight, or reducing near-work (distance) such as reading, para. [0008]), screen brightness settings used by the patients, screen size used, and screen size variations within a day (i.e., the portal is displayed on a digital screen of the electronic device, the electronic device comprises an analog interface, the electronic device comprises a digital interface such as a touchscreen (e.g., larger screen size), para. [0063]; the digital processing device is part of a point-of-care device such as a medical diagnostic device integrating the diagnostic software described herein, the medical diagnostic device is a consumer-facing portable medical diagnostic device configured for use outside of the clinical setting (e.g. consumer use at home such as on a smart phone app), para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the personalized care interventions comprise time limits on screen use, reduced brightness of screen, promoting outdoor activities, implementing regular eye breaks during near work, and providing guidance on reducing screen time (i.e., given a prediction of myopia onset when myopia has not yet occurred or when myopia is in the early stages, a recommended prevention step may be lifestyle changes such as increasing outdoor activities or exposure to sunlight, or reducing near-work such as reading, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the ocular characteristics comprise one or more of Optic Disc Size, Cup Disc Ratio, Optic Disc, Fundus, IOP, Ocular Alignment, Tor CA unaided, BCVA, SPH, Cyl, Tor fr corr axis (i.e., the further testing comprises an optometry exam, genetic testing, imaging one or both eyes of the individual, screening for ocular disorders or conditions (e.g., Ocular Alignment), or any combination thereof., para. [0010])
Regarding claim 8, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the input data further comprises an image of the ocular region and an image processing module comprising adaptive filtering techniques is used to extract the ocular characteristics (i.e., a software module processing the data to calculate a spherical equivalent based on the refraction … imaging one or both eyes of the individual, screening for ocular disorders, para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 9, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the system further detects, based on the machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, a first output, wherein the first output comprises likelihood of myopia, and severity of myopia severity (i.e., the prediction comprises a likelihood of progression to a higher degree of myopia, para. [0011] … a machine learning model to generate a prediction of myopia onset or myopia progression, para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 10, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the system further predicts, based on the machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, a second output, wherein the second output comprises an onset of myopia and a progression of myopia in the user (i.e., a machine learning model to generate a prediction of myopia onset or myopia progression, para. [0012] … different degrees of myopic severity, para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the machine learning model comprises one or more of logistic regressions, support vector machines (SVM), K-nearest neighbors, decision trees, and ensemble models; and wherein the ensemble model comprises one or more of random forests, extra trees, and bagging (SVM, para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the system further generates an eye examination appointment schedule based on the risk category of myopia and severity of myopia (i.e., Predicting High Myopia has been associated with a range of comorbidities, such as glaucoma and maculopathy, further elevating the severity of the disease, para. [0142] and [0143] … carrying different degrees of myopic severity with a number of candidate genes associated to the disease, para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 13, Li according to claim 1 further teaches the system further comprises a generative artificial intelligence (AI) module configured to preprocess and enhance quality of the multimodal (para. [0003] and [0080]).
Regarding claim 14, Li according to claim 13 further teaches the generative artificial intelligence module enhances an understanding of input fields by context-specific explanations (para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 15, Li according to claim 13 further teaches the generative artificial intelligence module is integrated and interfaced with a graphical user interface to produce dynamic visualizations and narrative summaries that explain predictions from the machine learning model in an intuitive manner configured to interpret complex data sets for making informed decisions (para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 16, Li according to claim 1 further teaches a method (see para. [0003]) comprising, receiving, via an input module, an input data, wherein the input data comprises ocular characteristics of an ocular region of a user, and clinical data of the user; receiving behavioral data comprising one or more of device screen exposure time, and outdoor activity metrics; combining, using a multimodal fusion module, the input data and the behavioral data to determine a holistic health embedding; determining, based on a machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, a risk category of myopia and severity of myopia for the user; determining, based on the machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, influence of features of the input data and the behavioral data on myopia; recommending, by the machine learning model, based on the risk category of myopia and the severity of myopia, personalized care interventions via a real-time feedback, wherein personalized care interventions comprise a change in the behavioral data; and monitoring continuously, for an effectiveness of the personalized care interventions on myopia; and wherein the machine learning model is a pre-trained model with a data set comprising the input data and the behavioral data from plurality of patients to recognize one or more patterns using the holistic health embedding; and wherein the method is configured for myopia management powered by multimodal data (see para. [0012], [0047], and for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, Li according to claim 16 further teaches the behavioral data further comprises lifestyle factors and social determinants of health factors, wherein the lifestyle factors comprise, one or more of diet, physical activity, sitting posture, smoking, alcohol consumption, and sedentary lifestyle; and wherein social determinants of health factors comprise one or more of age, ethnicity, gender, geography, exposure to pollution, and exposure to green spaces (i.e., the input data is obtained from an eye examination. In some embodiments, the input data comprises age, gender, nationality, ethnicity, spherical equivalent (SE) measurement of one or both eyes, para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 18, Li according to claim 16 further teaches the behavioral data further comprise screen distance from eyes (i.e., a recommended prevention step may be lifestyle changes such as increasing outdoor activities or exposure to sunlight, or reducing near-work (distance) such as reading, para. [0008]), screen brightness settings used by the patients, screen size used, and screen size variations within a day (i.e., the portal is displayed on a digital screen of the electronic device, the electronic device comprises an analog interface, the electronic device comprises a digital interface such as a touchscreen (e.g., larger screen size), para. [0063]; the digital processing device is part of a point-of-care device such as a medical diagnostic device integrating the diagnostic software described herein, the medical diagnostic device is a consumer-facing portable medical diagnostic device configured for use outside of the clinical setting (e.g. consumer use at home such as on a smart phone app), para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Li according to claim 16 further teaches the personalized care interventions comprise time limits on screen use, reduced brightness of screen, promoting outdoor activities, implementing regular eye breaks during near work, and providing guidance on reducing screen time (i.e., given a prediction of myopia onset when myopia has not yet occurred or when myopia is in the early stages, a recommended prevention step may be lifestyle changes such as increasing outdoor activities or exposure to sunlight, or reducing near-work such as reading, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 20, Li according to claim 1 further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations (see para. [0046]) comprising: receiving, via an input module, an input data, wherein the input data comprises ocular characteristics of an ocular region of a user, and clinical data of the user; receiving behavioral data comprising one or more of device screen exposure time, and outdoor activity metrics; combining, using a multimodal fusion module, the input data and the behavioral data to determine a holistic health embedding; determining, based on a machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, a risk category of myopia and severity of myopia for the user; determining, based on the machine learning model and the holistic health embedding, influence of features of the input data and the behavioral data on myopia; recommending, by the machine learning model, based on the risk category of myopia and the severity of myopia, personalized care interventions via a real-time feedback, wherein personalized care interventions comprise a change in the behavioral data; and monitoring continuously, for an effectiveness of the personalized care interventions on myopia; and wherein the machine learning model is a pre-trained model with a data set comprising the input data and the behavioral data from plurality of patients to recognize one or more patterns using the holistic health embedding; and wherein the instructions are configured for myopia management powered by multimodal data (see para. [0011], [0014], and for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LI et al. (US PUB 2022/0165418) teaches “the plurality of disorder classifications further comprise at least one of a cataract, myopia, kidney disease, hypertension, or stroke.”, paragraph 0015.
Serafini et al. (US PUB 2022/0165418) teaches “The machine-learning algorithms may include performing at least one of the following: optimization of the interchangeable modules and examination order, analysis of images to determine ocular pathology ranging from true physiologic deficit pathologies, contrast sensitivity, oculomotor function, visual acuity, myopia vs hyperopia screening etc.”, paragraph 0020.
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
August 26, 2026