DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the camera module with “a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side” as claimed in claims 1 and 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Specifically, while the figures show various configurations of lenses, there is no indication that any figures are provided to scale and no discussion at all of the distance between lenses in the groups of the figures. Thus, the claimed feature is not clearly shown in the figures.
Additionally, the “third lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction” as claimed in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites that “an optical axis of the first lens group and an optical axis of the second lens group approximately correspond to each other.” The term “approximately” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what range of values for alignment would be encompassed by two axes “approximately corresponding to each other,” and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would not be able to discern the metes and abounds of the claimed limitation, as minor changes in optical systems can have unpredictable results. Additionally, claim 3 depends upon claim 1 which recites “an optical axis.” It is unclear if either of the optical axes of the first and second groups are the optical axis recited in claim 1 or if the groups should have a different optical axis.
For the purposes of examination, any camera module having first and second lens groups disposed on an optical axis will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 6 recites that “the optical path converter is configured to be rotatable about one or more of the optical axis, a first axis perpendicular to the optical axis, and a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis.” However, it is unclear how such an optical path converter can be configured to be rotatable about one or more of “a first axis perpendicular to the optical axis and a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis” as a second axis that is perpendicular to both the first axis and the optical axis also reads on the first axis perpendicular to the optical axis. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. For the purposes of examination, any optical path converter that rotates about the optical axis or any axis perpendicular to the optical axis will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 11 recites “a plurality of camera modules having different optical characteristics from each other.” However, it is unclear what constitutes “different optical characteristics” as no optical characteristics have been defined and it is unclear whether such a feature is referring to optical qualities of the lenses themselves, a zoom value, etc. For the purposes of examination, any device including multiple camera modules will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 12 recites “a first lens group including some lenses, among five or more lenses arranged in an optical axis direction, and a second lens group including the remaining lenses.” However, it is unclear what constitutes “some lenses” as such an amount is not defined and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to discern how many lenses are encompassed by “some lenses.” For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as requiring five or more lenses with a first lens group comprising a plurality of the five or more lenses.
Claims 13-20 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 12 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim 20 recites “a plurality of camera modules having different optical characteristics from each other.” However, it is unclear what constitutes “different optical characteristics” as no optical characteristics have been defined and it is unclear whether such a feature is referring to optical qualities of the lenses themselves, a zoom value, etc. For the purposes of examination, any device including multiple camera modules will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iida et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0103478; hereinafter – “Iida”).
Regarding claim 1, Iida teaches a camera module comprising:
a first lens group (G1) comprising a plurality of lenses (L1, L2, L4) and disposed fixedly on an optical axis (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061, 0081, and 0121); and
a second lens group (G2) comprising a plurality of lenses (L3, L5) and movable in an optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121),
wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121), and
wherein a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121; See Tables 1-4 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required distance of the first group being longer than that of the second).
Regarding claim 2, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches an image sensor (306) disposed on the image side of the second lens group (G2), wherein the second lens group is configured to be movable in the optical axis direction between the first lens group and the image sensor (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0054, 0060, 0065-0069, 0081, and 0121).
Regarding claim 3, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches that an optical axis of the first lens group (G1) and an optical axis of the second lens group (G2) approximately correspond to each other (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121).
Regarding claim 4, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches that the first lens group is accommodated in a first lens barrel (304), and the second lens group is accommodated in a second lens barrel (305) (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0030-0033, 0055, 0063-0065, 0071-0075, and 0167).
Regarding claim 5, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches an optical path converter (303) disposed on the object side of the first lens group (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0033-0034, 0054-0061, 0070-0076, and 0191-0193).
Regarding claim 6, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 5, as above.
Iida further teaches that the optical path converter (303) is configured to be rotatable about one or more of the optical axis, a first axis perpendicular to the optical axis, and a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0033-0034, 0054-0061, 0070-0076, and 0191-0193).
Regarding claim 9, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches that one or more of the first lens group and the second lens group includes three or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061, 0081, and 0121).
Regarding claim 10, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: the camera module of claim 1, wherein the optical axis direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the portable electronic device (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 10; Paragraphs 0028-0034, 0054, and 0165-0173).
Regarding claim 11, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: a plurality of camera modules having different optical characteristics from each other, wherein the plurality of camera modules comprises the camera module of claim 1 (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 10; Paragraphs 0028-0034, 0054, and 0165-0173).
Regarding claim 12, Iida teaches a camera module comprising:
a first lens group (G1) including some lenses (L1, L2, L4), among five or more lenses arranged in an optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061, 0081, and 0121), and
a second lens group (G2) including the remaining lenses (L3, L5), wherein the second lens group is configured to be movable relative to the first lens group in the optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121), and
a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121; See Tables 1-4 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required distance of the first group being longer than that of the second).
Regarding claim 13, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches that each of the first lens group and the second lens group includes two or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121).
Regarding claim 14, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches that the first lens group is disposed on the object side of the second lens group, and an image sensor (306) is disposed on the image side of the second lens group (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121).
Regarding claim 15, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches an optical path converter (303) disposed on the object side of the first lens group (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0033-0034, 0054-0061, 0070-0076, and 0191-0193).
Regarding claim 17, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches that the five or more lenses are formed of a glass or plastic material (See e.g. Figs. 2-7; Paragraphs 0029-0034, 0049, 0055, 0061-0063, 0081, and 0121; See Tables 1-4 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required materials).
Regarding claim 18, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches a first lens barrel (304) in which the first lens group is mounted; a second lens barrel (305) in which the second lens group is mounted; and a housing (300) in which the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel are accommodated, wherein the first lens barrel has a plurality of rib surfaces coupled to the housing (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0030-0033, 0055, 0063-0065, 0071-0075, and 0167).
Regarding claim 19, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: the camera module of claim 12, wherein the optical axis direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the portable electronic device (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 10; Paragraphs 0028-0034, 0054, and 0165-0173).
Regarding claim 19, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: a plurality of camera modules having different optical characteristics from each other, wherein the plurality of camera modules comprises the camera module of claim 12 (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 10; Paragraphs 0028-0034, 0054, and 0165-0173).
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (PCT Pub. No. WO 2023/003367 A1; hereinafter – “Kim”). All citations to Kim are directed toward the corresponding U.S. Publication of the international application (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2024/0353660), used as an English translation.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a camera module comprising:
a first lens group (G1) comprising a plurality of lenses (110-130) and disposed fixedly on an optical axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0216); and
a second lens group (G2) comprising a plurality of lenses (140-150) and movable in an optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081),
wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081), and
wherein a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081; See also Tables 1, 3, 5, 7 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required distances).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches an image sensor (300) disposed on the image side of the second lens group (G2), wherein the second lens group is configured to be movable in the optical axis direction between the first lens group and the image sensor (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0046, 0052-0056, 0220, and 0250).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches that an optical axis of the first lens group (G1) and an optical axis of the second lens group (G2) approximately correspond to each other (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches that the first lens group is accommodated in a first lens barrel (not shown), and the second lens group is accommodated in a second lens barrel (not shown) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0047-0048 and 0077-0080).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches an optical path converter (not shown) disposed on the object side of the first lens group (Paragraphs 0052 and 0057-0063).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches a third lens group (G3) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the third lens group is disposed on the image side of the second lens group (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066 and 0072-0079).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches that one or more of the first lens group and the second lens group includes a D-cut lens having a straight portion on an edge thereof (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0120-0126, 0129, and 0245).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches that one or more of the first lens group and the second lens group includes three or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: the camera module of claim 1, wherein the optical axis direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the portable electronic device (See e.g. Fig. 12; Paragraphs 0052, 0057-0063, and 0248-0253).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: a plurality of camera modules having different optical characteristics from each other, wherein the plurality of camera modules comprises the camera module of claim 1 (See e.g. Fig. 12; Paragraphs 0052, 0057-0063, and 0248-0253).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a camera module comprising:
a first lens group (G1) including some lenses (110-130), among five or more lenses arranged in an optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0216), and
a second lens group (G2) including the remaining lenses (140-150), wherein the second lens group is configured to be movable relative to the first lens group in the optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081), and
a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081; See also Tables 1, 3, 5, 7 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required distances).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches that each of the first lens group and the second lens group includes two or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches that the first lens group is disposed on the object side of the second lens group, and an image sensor (300) is disposed on the image side of the second lens group (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0046, 0052-0056, 0066-0070, and 0076-0081).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches an optical path converter (not shown) disposed on the object side of the first lens group (Paragraphs 0052 and 0057-0063).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches that one or more of the five or more lenses includes a D-cut lens having a straight portion on an edge thereof (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0120-0126, 0129, and 0245).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches that the five or more lenses are formed of a glass or plastic material (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0095, 0099, 0103, 0107, 0111, 0115, and 0126).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches a first lens barrel in which the first lens group is mounted; a second lens barrel in which the second lens group is mounted; and a housing in which the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel are accommodated, wherein the first lens barrel has a plurality of rib surfaces coupled to the housing (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0047-0048 and 0077-0080).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: the camera module of claim 12, wherein the optical axis direction is perpendicular to a thickness direction of the portable electronic device (See e.g. Fig. 12; Paragraphs 0052, 0057-0063, and 0248-0253).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches a portable electronic device comprising: a plurality of camera modules having different optical characteristics from each other, wherein the plurality of camera modules comprises the camera module of claim 12 (See e.g. Fig. 12; Paragraphs 0052, 0057-0063, and 0248-0253).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Park et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2020/0351421; hereinafter – “Park”).
Regarding claim 4, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida further teaches that the first lens group is accommodated in a first lens barrel (304), and the second lens group is accommodated in a second lens barrel (305) (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0030-0033, 0055, 0063-0065, 0071-0075, and 0167).
Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Park.
Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, wherein the first lens group is accommodated in a first lens barrel (1230), and the second lens group is accommodated in a second lens barrel (1220) (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0089, 0101-0108, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this first and second lens barrel such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Therefore, even if Iida did not teach the required lens barrels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Iida with the lens barrels of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Regarding claim 7, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida fails to explicitly disclose a third lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the third lens group is disposed on the image side of the second lens group.
However, Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group (1230) comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group (1220) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, and a third lens group (1210) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the third lens group is disposed on the image side of the second lens group (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0089, 0101-0108, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this third lens group such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Iida with the third lens group of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Regarding claim 18, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida further teaches a first lens barrel (304) in which the first lens group is mounted; a second lens barrel (305) in which the second lens group is mounted; and a housing (300) in which the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel are accommodated, wherein the first lens barrel has a plurality of rib surfaces coupled to the housing (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 10; Paragraphs 0030-0033, 0055, 0063-0065, 0071-0075, and 0167).
Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Park.
Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, a first lens barrel (1230) in which the first lens group is mounted; a second lens barrel (1220) in which the second lens group is mounted; and a housing (1010) in which the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel are accommodated, wherein the first lens barrel has a plurality of rib surfaces (1009, 1052, 1053, 1234) coupled to the housing (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0089, 0101-0108, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this first and second lens barrel such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Therefore, even if Iida did not teach the required lens barrels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Iida with the lens barrels of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Claim(s) 4-7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches that the first lens group is accommodated in a first lens barrel (not shown), and the second lens group is accommodated in a second lens barrel (not shown) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0047-0048 and 0077-0080).
Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Park.
Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, wherein the first lens group is accommodated in a first lens barrel (1230), and the second lens group is accommodated in a second lens barrel (1220) (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0089, 0101-0108, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this first and second lens barrel such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Therefore, even if Kim did not teach the required lens barrels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Kim with the lens barrels of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches an optical path converter (not shown) disposed on the object side of the first lens group (Paragraphs 0052 and 0057-0063).
Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Park.
Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group (1230) comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group (1220) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, and an optical path converter (1110) disposed on the object side of the first lens group (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0087-0089, 0097, 0101-0108, 0111-0119, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this optical path converter such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0112 and 0255-0257).
Therefore, even if Kim did not teach the required optical path converter, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Kim with the optical path converter of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0112 and 0255-0257).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Park teaches the camera module of claim 5, as above.
Kim fails to explicitly disclose that the optical path converter is configured to be rotatable about one or more of the optical axis, a first axis perpendicular to the optical axis, and a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis.
However, Park further teaches that the optical path converter is configured to be rotatable about one or more of the optical axis, a first axis perpendicular to the optical axis, and a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0087-0089, 0097, 0101-0108, 0111-0119, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this optical path converter such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0112 and 0255-0257).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Kim with the optical path converter of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0112 and 0255-0257).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Kim further teaches a third lens group (G3) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the third lens group is disposed on the image side of the second lens group (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066 and 0072-0079).
Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Park.
Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group (1230) comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group (1220) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, and a third lens group (1210) comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the third lens group is disposed on the image side of the second lens group (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0089, 0101-0108, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this third lens group such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Therefore, even if Kim did not teach the required third lens group, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Kim with the third lens group of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Kim further teaches a first lens barrel in which the first lens group is mounted; a second lens barrel in which the second lens group is mounted; and a housing in which the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel are accommodated, wherein the first lens barrel has a plurality of rib surfaces coupled to the housing (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0047-0048 and 0077-0080).
Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Park.
Park teaches a camera module comprising a first lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and disposed fixedly on an optical axis; and a second lens group comprising a plurality of lenses and movable in an optical axis direction, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side, a first lens barrel (1230) in which the first lens group is mounted; a second lens barrel (1220) in which the second lens group is mounted; and a housing (1010) in which the first lens barrel and the second lens barrel are accommodated, wherein the first lens barrel has a plurality of rib surfaces (1009, 1052, 1053, 1234) coupled to the housing (See e.g. Figs. 3-4, 6, and 10-16; Paragraphs 0089, 0101-0108, 0143-0149, 0178-0201, and 0206-0211).
Park teaches this first and second lens barrel such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided” (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Therefore, even if Kim did not teach the required lens barrels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Kim with the lens barrels of Park such that “the camera module and the portable electronic device including the same may have a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and “power consumption may be minimized” while also having “a simple structure and a reduced size while implementing the functions such as the AF function, the zoom function, the OIS function, and the like” and allowing “for easy alignment in an optical axis direction, even when the plurality of lens groups are provided,” as taught by Park (Paragraphs 0255-0257).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Iida fails to explicitly disclose that one or more of the first lens group and the second lens group includes a D-cut lens having a straight portion on an edge thereof.
However, Kim teaches an optical system comprising a first lens group (G1) comprising a plurality of lenses (110-130) and disposed fixedly on an optical axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0216); and a second lens group (G2) comprising a plurality of lenses (140-150) and movable in an optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081), wherein the first lens group and the second lens group are disposed in sequence from an object side (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081), and wherein a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081; See also Tables 1, 3, 5, 7 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required distances) wherein one or more of the first lens group and the second lens group includes a D-cut lens having a straight portion on an edge thereof (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0120-0126, 0129, and 0245).
Kim teaches this D-cut lens such that “the optical system 1000 may be implemented in a small size, has improved optical performance, and may be provided in a compact manner compared to an optical system consisting of only a circular shape” (Paragraph 0245).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Iida with the D-cut lens of Kim such that “the optical system 1000 may be implemented in a small size, has improved optical performance, and may be provided in a compact manner compared to an optical system consisting of only a circular shape,” as taught by Kim, and since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Iida teaches the camera module of claim 12, as above.
Iida fails to explicitly disclose that one or more of the five or more lenses includes a D-cut lens having a straight portion on an edge thereof.
However, Kim teaches an optical system comprising a first lens group (G1) including some lenses (110-130), among five or more lenses arranged in an optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0216), and a second lens group (G2) including the remaining lenses (140-150), wherein the second lens group is configured to be movable relative to the first lens group in the optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081), and a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the second lens group, disposed closest to an image side, is shorter than a distance on the optical axis from an object-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the object side, to an image-side surface of a lens of the first lens group, disposed closest to the image side (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0066-0070 and 0076-0081; See also Tables 1, 3, 5, 7 for Embodiments 1-4 showing the required distances), wherein one or more of the five or more lenses includes a D-cut lens having a straight portion on an edge thereof (See e.g. Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0120-0126, 0129, and 0245).
Kim teaches this D-cut lens such that “the optical system 1000 may be implemented in a small size, has improved optical performance, and may be provided in a compact manner compared to an optical system consisting of only a circular shape” (Paragraph 0245).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Iida with the D-cut lens of Kim such that “the optical system 1000 may be implemented in a small size, has improved optical performance, and may be provided in a compact manner compared to an optical system consisting of only a circular shape,” as taught by Kim, and since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Obikane (PCT Pub No. WO 2023/212878 A1 & U.S. PG-Pub No. 2025/0076619) teaches an optical system and photographing device having an optical system with a similar configuration of lens groups.
Osaka et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0273392) teaches a lens driving device, camera module, and camera-equipped device comprising a similar arrangement of lens groups in barrels.
Cohen et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0148183) teaches a folded macro-tele camera lens design with similar lens groups.
Jang et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0413356) teaches a camera actuator and camera device including the same having a similar configuration of lens barrels.
Chang et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0394159) teaches a camera module and electronic device having a similar configuration of lens groups.
Son et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2021/0063704) teaches an optical imaging system with a similar configuration of two lens groups.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896