DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is in response to the application, filed 25 November 2024.
Priority
Claims 1-5 are pending, having a filing date of 25 November 2024, and claiming foreign priority to Japanese Patent Application Number 2024-017715, filed 8 February 2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP-2024-017715, filed on 8 February 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 25 November 2024 complies with 35 C.F.R. 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy of the 1449 Form is enclosed herewith.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 24 November 2024, are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0411541 to Ravulapalli et al. (hereafter Ravulapalli).
As per claim 1, Ravulapalli disclose [a]n information processing device (see at least Ravulapalli, Abstract), comprising:
a control unit that executes acquiring of a condition that is specified by a user of a vehicle (see at least Ravulapalli, [0023] disclosing that the first connection module 136 and the second connection module 138 can enable, activate, deactivate, monitor, or control one or more communication channels of the vehicle 130. The first connection module 136 and the second connection module 138 can be configured to communicate with each other, the components of the vehicle 130, the data processing system 102, the network 101, or the mobile device 120, among others; [0030] disclosing that the selection of inactive mode can be associated with a profile 114. The profile 114 can correspond to various data and preferences, such as the decision to operate in inactive mode <interpreted as a condition specified by a user of a vehicle; and interpreted as the stopped state>. The profile 114 can include driving habits of a user associated with the profile 114; [0031]), and
that is a time-related condition that is a condition for specifying a period for a communication function of the vehicle relating to remote operations to be placed in at least one of a stopped state and a standby state (see at least Ravulapalli, [0023] further disclosing that each connection module of the connection modules 136 and 138 can include a network connection or a communication channel to facilitate communications within the vehicle 130 and with external systems. Each connection module of the connection modules 136 and 138 can correspond to different communication parameters for controlling the one or more communication channels of the vehicle 130 <interpreted as a function of the vehicle relating to remote operation>; [0031] disclosing that the policy 112 can be time-based or schedule-based <interpreted as a time related condition>. For example, the user can select that an action prompting a network connection during inactive mode only trigger a connectivity request during certain hours), and
placing the communication function in at least one of the stopped state or the standby state in accordance with the time-related condition that is acquired (see at least Ravulapalli, [0031] disclosing that the policy 112 can be time-based or schedule-based <interpreted as a time related condition>. For example, the user can select that an action prompting a network connection during inactive mode only trigger a connectivity request during certain hours).
As per claim 2, Ravulapalli further discloses the following limitations:
wherein: the time-related condition is a condition for immediately placing the communication function in the stopped state (see at least Ravulapalli, [0017] disclosing that the inactive mode can be a user-initiated mode of operation of the vehicle in which the user (e.g., driver) chooses to suspend network connectivity to the vehicle <interpreted as immediately placing the communication in the stopped state>; [0023]; [0030] disclosing that the selection of inactive mode can be associated with a profile 114. The profile 114 can correspond to various data and preferences, such as the decision to operate in inactive mode. ; [0031]); and
in accordance with reception of the time-related condition, the control unit immediately places the communication function in the stopped state (see at least Ravulapalli, [0030]; [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravulapalli as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2014/0088794 to Yashiro et al. (hereafter Yashiro).
As per claim 3, Ravulapalli discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Ravulapalli further discloses
wherein: the time-related condition is a condition for specifying a period ... placing the communication function in the stopped state (see at least Ravulapalli, [0030]; [0049] disclosing that to activate the connection, the connection manager 106 can identify the mobile device 120. The mobile device 120 can be linked (e.g., communicatively coupled) with the computing system 132. The mobile device 120 can be associated with a user of the vehicle 130. The mobile device can be associated with the profile 114 of the user. The mobile device 120 can be associated with the profile 114 by at least a prior pairing of the mobile device 120 to the vehicle 130. For example, the mobile device 120 can connect to the computing system 132 via a wired or wireless connection. The computing system 132 can store the mobile device 120 in association with the profile 114 of the user in the data repository 110 subsequent to the connection.; [0053] disclosing that the connection manager 106 can limit the duration of the network connection. The connection manager 106 can limit the duration of the network connection based on time. For example, the connection manager 106 can enable activation of the network connection between the computing system 132 and the data processing system 102 for an hour, twelve hours, or two days.) ... . But, Ravulapalli does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Yashiro:
the time-related condition is a condition for specifying a period for temporarily placing the communication function in the stopped state (see at least Yashiro, [0083] disclosing that the mode-switch timing setting unit 31 is operated via a touch panel 30B of the touch panel display 30 of the smartphone 3. The mode-switch timing displaying unit 32 and the communication-state indicating unit 33 are operated via a display 30A of the touch panel display 30 of the smartphone 3. The time schedule for the reception standby mode or the reception dormant mode is set by operation of the setting menu 800 on the smartphone 3, which is illustrated in FIGS. 11 and 12. The reception-mode timer button is selected from the setting menu. In response, a reception-mode-timer setting menu 900, such as that illustrated in FIG. 13A, is displayed ; [0084] disclosing that as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the top edge region of the reception-mode-timer setting menu 900 displays a menu title (reception-mode timer setting) 901, an update button (switch button) 902, and a return button (switch button) 903. The bottom edge region displays a timer setting button 911 and a send button 91; [0085] disclosing that The remaining center area of the reception-mode-timer setting menu 900 other than the top edge and the bottom edge regions displays a time schedule set regarding the timing of the reception standby mode. The following four setting patterns (1) to (4) for the reception standby mode and the current state (5) are provided for the requested establishment of communication between the smartphone 3 and the vehicle 1 by the operator, such as the driver, of the vehicle; [0086] (1) Time of control enabled after exiting vehicle: X hours; ; [0087] (2) Time 1 of control enabled: X1 to X2 every day ; [0088] (3) Time 2 of remote control enabled: X3 to X4 every day; [0089] (4) Time 3 of remote control enabled: Y1 to Y2 every hour; [0090] (5) Current remote control: activated/deactivated; [0091]);
the control unit executes placing the communication function in the stopped state in accordance with a start time of the period arriving (see at least Yashiro, [0083]-[0091]), and
placing the communication function in the standby state in accordance with an end time of the period arriving (see at least Yashiro, [0083]-[0091]).
Ravulapalli and Yashiro are analogous art to claim 3 because they are in the same field of information processing device acquires a timing condition designated by the user of the vehicle. Ravulapalli relates to an inactive vehicle mode in vehicles that connect to networks in order to perform various functions (see at least Ravulapalli, Abstract; [0001]). Yashiro relates to a system that remotely controls devices installed in an automobile (see at least Yashiro, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Ravulapalli, to provide the benefit of having the time-related condition be a condition for specifying a period for temporarily placing the communication function in the stopped state, having the control unit execute placing the communication function in the stopped state in accordance with a start time of the period arriving, and placing the communication function in the standby state in accordance with an end time of the period arriving, as disclosed in Yashiro, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the convenience of the vehicles in use, saving battery power, and preventing consumption of the battery power by the standby current (see at least Yashiro, [0020]; [0031]).
As per claim 4, Ravulapalli discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Ravulapalli further discloses
wherein: the time-related condition is a condition for specifying at least one of a day of a week and a part of day for regularly placing the communication function in the stopped state (similar to claim 3, see at least Ravulapalli, [0030]; [0049]; [0053] disclosing that the connection manager 106 can limit the duration of the network connection. The connection manager 106 can limit the duration of the network connection based on time. For example, the connection manager 106 can enable activation of the network connection between the computing system 132 and the data processing system 102 for an hour, twelve hours <interpreted as part of a day>, or two days.) ... . But, Ravulapalli does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Yashiro:
wherein: the time-related condition is a condition for specifying at least one of a day of a week and a part of day for regularly placing the communication function in the stopped state (similar to claim 3, see at least Yashiro, [0083]-[0091]);
the control unit executes placing the communication function in the stopped state every time at least one of the day of the week and the part of day arrives (similar to claim 3, see at least Yashiro, [0083]-[0091]), and
placing the communication function in the standby state every time at least one of the day of the week and the part of day ends (similar to claim 3, see at least Yashiro, [0083]-[0091]).
Ravulapalli and Yashiro are analogous art to claim 4 because they are in the same field of information processing device acquires a timing condition designated by the user of the vehicle. Ravulapalli relates to an inactive vehicle mode in vehicles that connect to networks in order to perform various functions (see at least Ravulapalli, Abstract; [0001]). Yashiro relates to a system that remotely controls devices installed in an automobile (see at least Yashiro, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Ravulapalli, to provide the benefit of having the time-related condition be a condition for specifying at least one of a day of a week and a part of day for regularly placing the communication function in the stopped state, having the control unit execute placing the communication function in the stopped state every time at least one of the day of the week and the part of day arrives, and placing the communication function in the standby state every time at least one of the day of the week and the part of day ends, as disclosed in Yashiro, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the convenience of the vehicles in use, saving battery power, and preventing consumption of the battery power by the standby current (see at least Yashiro, [0020]; [0031]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravulapalli as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0329647 to Masuda and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0357014 to Kolberg et al. (hereafter Kolberg).
As per claim 5, Ravulapalli discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. But, Ravulapalli does not explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Masuda:
wherein the control unit further executes determining a candidate of the time-related condition according to history of a time when the user used the vehicle in a past (see at least Masuda, [0056] disclosing that the recommendation information determination unit 230 may determine to make a recommendation to the user 90a based on the remote operation history, if there is a predetermined amount of time before the scheduled time of action of the user 90a based on the action plan of the user 90a acquired by the action plan acquisition unit 240) ... . But, neither Ravulapalli nor Masuda explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Kolberg:
outputting information for causing the user to select whether to consent to the candidate (see at least Kolberg, [0160]; [0161] disclosing that to increase system security, the method can optionally include the following step: receiving a consent message, in particular a text or voice message, to agree to remote access); and
setting the candidate to the time-related condition in accordance with consent of the user to the candidate (see at least Kolberg, [0160]; [0161]).
Ravulapalli, Masuda, Kolberg are analogous art to claim 5 because they are in the same field of information processing device acquires a timing condition designated by the user of the vehicle. Ravulapalli relates to an inactive vehicle mode in vehicles that connect to networks in order to perform various functions (see at least Ravulapalli, Abstract; [0001]). Masuda relates to a vehicle remote operation apparatus (see at least Masuda, [0001]). Kolberg relates to devices and systems for remotely accessing a vehicle (see at least Kolberg, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Ravulapalli, to provide the benefit of having the control unit further execute determining a candidate of the time-related condition according to history of a time when the user used the vehicle in a past, as disclosed in Masuda, with a reasonable expectation of success. It would also have been obvious to provide the benefit of outputting information causing the user to select whether to consent to the candidate and setting the candidate to the time-related condition in accordance with consent of the user to the candidate, as disclosed in Kolberg, with a reasonable expectations of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of increasing system security (see at least Kolberg, [0160]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0102069 to Mueller at [0009] disclosing that the invention the communication device is switched to an inactive mode after a certain period of time following parking of the vehicle, wherein it is no longer available for communication. There is also a (concurrent) second predetermined time interval, after the expiration of which the vehicle devices are switched to a so-called "sleep-mode", in which the energy requirement of the vehicle devices is reduced in comparison to the normal mode; and [0025] [0025] disclosing that this means for example that the communication unit 40 continues to remain logged in to a cellular mobile radio network. Following conclusion of time interval T1 the communication unit 40 switches itself off. In the switched-off mode the communication device 40 is no longer available for communication, that is, it cannot establish a communication link and it is not possible from outside, for example through unit 20 via communication unit 25, to establish a communication link with the communication unit 40.
PATRICK M. BRADY III
Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/PATRICK M BRADY/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666