DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/29/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the phrase “the pair of films”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase has been read as “a pair of films”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Notten et al. (US PGPUB 2008/0097704 A1, hereinafter Notten).
Regarding claim 1, Notten teaches a battery cell (see Fig. 1, all elements), comprising: a housing (6); and an electrode assembly accommodated in the housing (see Fig. 1, electrode assembly 3 accommodated in the housing 6), wherein the battery cell further comprises one or more sensor strips (see Fig. 1, sensor strip 2), wherein the one or more sensor strips are embedded between the electrode assembly and the housing (see Fig. 1, sensor strip 2 embedded between the electrode assembly 3 and housing 6 as shown), and are spirally wound around an outer peripheral surface of the electrode assembly (see Fig. 1, sensor strip 2 spirally wound around outer peripheral surface of the electrode assembly 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Notten teaches that the battery cell is a cylindrical battery cell (see Fig. 1, cylindrical battery cell shown).
Regarding claim 11, Notten teaches a battery cell fabrication method (see Fig. 1, all elements; see also [0009] and [0022]-[0023], description of providing a battery cell of Fig. 1, considered by the Examiner as teaching a fabrication method), comprising: providing an electrode assembly of a battery cell (see Fig. 1 and [0022]-[0023], electrode assembly 3 provided); and accommodating the electrode assembly into a housing (see Fig. 1 and [0022]-[0023], electrode assembly 3 provided within housing 6), wherein the battery cell fabrication method further comprises: before accommodating the electrode assembly into the housing, spirally winding one or more sensor strips around an outer peripheral surface of the electrode assembly (see Fig. 1 and [0022]-[0023], sensor strip 2 spirally wound around outer peripheral surface of the electrode assembly 3 as shown), so that the one or more sensor strips are embedded between the electrode assembly and the housing (see Fig. 1 and [0022]-[0023], sensor strip 2 embedded between the electrode assembly 3 and housing 6 as shown).
Regarding claim 15, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 11.
Furthermore, Notten teaches that the battery cell is a cylindrical battery cell (see Fig. 1, cylindrical battery cell shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Notten as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Zou (CN 205657107 U, hereinafter Zou).
Regarding claim 2, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Notten fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips are sealed between a pair of films.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the sensor strips are sealed between a pair of films (see Fig. 1-2 and translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, sensor strips 3 sealed between pair of films 1 and 2 as shown and described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Notten such that the sensor strips were sealed between a pair of films as described by Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane without influencing the size of the battery and maintain the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Furthermore, Notten teaches that a longitudinal axis of the sensor strips is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the battery cell (see Fig. 1, incline of sensor strips 2 shown).
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that a width of the pair of films corresponds to a height of the electrode assembly, and a longitudinal axis of the sensor strips is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the pair of films.
However, Zou teaches that the pair of films are formed as a battery membrane (see translation page 3, para. 10-11, films 1 and 2 form a battery membrane as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the width of the pair of films of Notten as modified by Zou above would correspond to a height of the electrode assembly. This is because battery membranes are utilized to cover and/or separate the anodes and cathode layers of a battery and thus would correspond to the height/width of the battery cell as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Notten above fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips comprise a plurality of measurement points spaced apart from each other, and the sensor strips measure a strain and/or a temperature of the battery cell at each of the measurement points.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the sensor strips are sealed between a pair of films (see Fig. 1-2 and translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, sensor strips 3 sealed between pair of films 1 and 2 as shown and described); and wherein the sensor strips comprise a plurality of measurement points spaced apart from each other, and the sensor strips measure a strain and/or a temperature of the battery cell at each of the measurement points (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 12 through translation page 4, para. 1, sensor strip 3 includes plurality of measurement points 4 spaced apart and configured to measure strain and/or temperature as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the sensor strips of Notten with the sensor strip design of Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane with a plurality of sensing points without influencing the size of the battery and simultaneously maintaining the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Notten fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the sensor strips are sealed between a pair of films (see Fig. 1-2 and translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, sensor strips 3 sealed between pair of films 1 and 2 as shown and described); and wherein the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 12 through translation page 4, para. 1, sensor strip 3 includes plurality of FBGs 4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the sensor strips of Notten with the sensor strip design of Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane with a plurality of sensing points without influencing the size of the battery and simultaneously maintaining the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 7, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips.
However, Zou further teaches that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 12 through translation page 4, para. 1, sensor strip 3 includes plurality of FBGs 4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the sensor strips of Notten with the sensor strip design of Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane with a plurality of sensing points without influencing the size of the battery and simultaneously maintaining the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 8, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4.
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips.
However, Zou further teaches that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 12 through translation page 4, para. 1, sensor strip 3 includes plurality of FBGs 4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the sensor strips of Notten with the sensor strip design of Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane with a plurality of sensing points without influencing the size of the battery and simultaneously maintaining the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 9, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Furthermore, Notten teaches that the battery cell a cylindrical battery cell (see Fig. 1, cylindrical battery cell shown).
Regarding claim 10, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that the battery cell is a pouch battery cell, the housing is a flexible film, and the flexible film forms one of the pair of films.
However, Notten does teach that the sensor strips are wound around a cell casing of a battery cell and designed to measure deformation of a battery cell (see Abstract; see also claim 1-3; see also [0022]-[0023], description of sensor strips 2 for monitoring pressure within the cell 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Notten as modified by Zou above such that the sensor was utilized with a pouch battery cell with a flexible housing. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability for the device of Notten to be applied to any form factor of battery known in the art so as to critically measure cell pressure.
Regarding claim 12, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 11.
Notten fails to specifically teach before winding the one or more sensor strips around the outer peripheral surface of the electrode assembly, sealing the one or more sensor strips between a pair of films.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the sensor strips are sealed between a pair of films (see Fig. 1-2 and translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, sensor strips 3 sealed between pair of films 1 and 2 as shown and described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the method of Notten such that the sensor strips were sealed between a pair of films as described by Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane without influencing the size of the battery and maintain the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 11 and 12.
Furthermore, Notten teaches that a longitudinal axis of the sensor strips is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the battery cell (see Fig. 1, incline of sensor strips 2 shown).
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that a width of the pair of films corresponds to a height of the electrode assembly, and a longitudinal axis of the sensor strips is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the pair of films.
However, Zou teaches that the pair of films are formed as a battery membrane (see translation page 3, para. 10-11, films 1 and 2 form a battery membrane as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the width of the pair of films of Notten as modified by Zou above would correspond to a height of the electrode assembly. This is because battery membranes are utilized to cover and/or separate the anodes and cathode layers of a battery and thus would correspond to the height/width of the battery cell as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 11.
Notten fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the sensor strips are sealed between a pair of films (see Fig. 1-2 and translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, sensor strips 3 sealed between pair of films 1 and 2 as shown and described); and wherein the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 12 through translation page 4, para. 1, sensor strip 3 includes plurality of FBGs 4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the sensor strips of Notten with the sensor strip design of Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane with a plurality of sensing points without influencing the size of the battery and simultaneously maintaining the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 11 and 12.
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips.
However, Zou further teaches that the sensor strips are FBG sensor strips (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 12 through translation page 4, para. 1, sensor strip 3 includes plurality of FBGs 4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the sensor strips of Notten with the sensor strip design of Zou. This would allow for the sensors to be integrated into the battery membrane with a plurality of sensing points without influencing the size of the battery and simultaneously maintaining the ability to measure internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 18, Notten as modified by Zou above teaches all of the limitations of claims 11 and 12.
Notten as modified by Zou above fails to specifically teach that the battery cell is a pouch battery cell, the housing is a flexible film, and the flexible film forms one of the pair of films.
However, Notten does teach that the sensor strips are wound around a cell casing of a battery cell and designed to measure deformation of a battery cell (see Abstract; see also claim 1-3; see also [0022]-[0023], description of sensor strips 2 for monitoring pressure within the cell 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Notten as modified by Zou above such that the sensor was utilized with a pouch battery cell with a flexible housing. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability for the device of Notten to be applied to any form factor of battery known in the art so as to critically measure cell pressure.
Regarding claim 19, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Notten fails to specifically teach that an aviation battery, comprising one or more battery cells according to claim 1.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the battery and sensor are utilized in electric vehicles (see translation page 1, para. 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Notten such that the battery sensor strip and battery cell were utilized in electric aviation vehicles in a manner as described by Zou. This would ensure protection of the aviation vehicle battery by measuring internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Regarding claim 20, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Notten teaches a method for monitoring a battery (see [0010]-[0011], method of monitoring a battery described), wherein the battery comprises one or more battery cells according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and the method comprises: receiving measurement data of the one or more sensor strips of each battery cell of the battery at a plurality of measurement points that are spaced apart from each other (see [0010]-[0011], each battery cell is monitored over time, thus considered by the Examiner as including a plurality of time spaced measurement points); and determining a state of each battery cell of the battery based on the measurement data (see [0010]-[0011], state of each battery cell monitored as described).
Notten fails to specifically teach that the battery is an aviation battery.
Zou teaches a sensor strip for a battery cell (see Fig. 2, all elements; see also Abstract; see also translation page 3, para. 9 through page 4, para. 3, discussion of sensor strip 3 for a battery cell); wherein the battery and sensor are utilized in electric vehicles (see translation page 1, para. 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Notten such that the battery sensor strip and battery cell were utilized in electric aviation vehicles in a manner as described by Zou. This would ensure protection of the aviation vehicle battery by measuring internal temperature, stress, pH value and electrolyte ion concentration as described by Zou (see translation page 3, para. 12).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Notten.
Regarding claim 16, Notten above teaches all of the limitations of claim 11.
Notten fails to specifically teach that the battery cell is a pouch battery cell, the housing is a flexible film, and the flexible film forms one of a pair of films.
Notten teaches sensor strips wound around a cell inside of a flexible sleeve housing of a battery cell and designed to measure deformation of a battery cell (see Abstract; see also claim 1-3; see also [0022]-[0023], description of sensor strips 2 for monitoring pressure within the cell 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Notten such that the sensor was utilized with a pouch battery cell with a multilayered flexible housing. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability for the device of Notten to be applied to any form factor of battery known in the art so as to critically measure cell pressure.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855