DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite the limitation “wherein the first receiver and second receiver are the same receiver’, the examiner was unable to find support in the specification for the limitation. Please indicate where support can be found.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite the limitation “wherein the first receiver and second receiver are the same receiver’, since support was not found on the specification it is unclear the scope of the limitation. Also, it is unclear how the first receiver and second receiver can be the same receiver, when the parent claim requires the first receiver to be active or activated with the received signal and at the same time activating again the same already active receiver. Please explain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weyn 20200052371.
As to claim 1, Weyn discloses the method performed by a wireless transmit / receive unit (WTRU) (see par. 0009), the method comprising: receiving, using a first receiver [103 passive receiver], one or more a zero-energy (ZE) waveforms [Passive transceiver 103 is a chipset providing baseband and RF functions for one or more passive wireless standards, i.e., wireless standards that do not rely on the power supply] (see par. 0068); determining that at least one of the one or more ZE waveforms includes a ZE notification, wherein the determination that at least one of the one or more ZE waveforms includes a ZE notification is based on one of a bit flag or a symbol sequence [If one or more bits 313 in register 311 are written or if the one or more bits 313 match a predefined logical combination, then the passive transceiver 103, 203, 303. 503 activates the control unit in step 405.] (see par. 0077-0079); and activating, based on the determination that the ZE waveform includes a ZE notification, a second receiver [102] (see par. 0080).
As to claim 3, Weyn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first receiver is an active receiver [102] (see par. 0066).
As to claim 4, Weyn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second receiver is a passive receiver [103] (see par. 0066).
As to claim 5, Weyn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the WTRU determines that at least one of the one or more ZE waveforms includes a ZE notification by decoding the one or more ZE waveforms (see par. 0077-0079).
Regarding claims 9, 11-13, they are the corresponding wireless transmit / receive unit claims of method claims 1, 3-5. Therefore, claims 9, 11-13 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weyn.
As to claims 2 and 10, Weyn discloses everything as disclosed above, but as indicated in the 112 rejections it is unclear the scope of wherein the first receiver and second receiver are the same receiver. For examination purposes the limitation of the same receiver is going to be interpreted as the receivers in the same device (see par. 0009-0013).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weyn in view of Haque 20200314752.
As to claims 6-8 and 14-16, Weyn discloses wherein the WTRU decodes the one or more ZE waveforms (see par. 0077). Weyn fails to disclose based on a reception schedule. In an analogous art, Haque discloses a reception schedule [periodically wakeup and listen to the downlink for pages. This type of scheduled approach is broadly known as duty cycling] (see par. 0145); wherein the reception schedule is based on a cycle length (see par. 0132), wherein the reception schedule is based on a time duration (see par. 0132, 0145). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add reception scheduling to Weyn for the simple purpose of maintaining communication and compatibility with existing standards.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647