DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2 the recited reference number in parentheses “(106)” should be removed.
Claim 1, line4 the recited “(108)” should be removed.
Dependent claims 2-3 are also objected to since they depend on objected claim 1.
Claim 4, line 7 the recited “(112)” should be removed.
Dependent claims 5-7 are also objected to since they depend on objected claim 4.
Claim 8, line 7 the recited “(112)” should be removed.
Dependent claims 9-13 are also objected to since they depend on objected claim 8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 12-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,199,694. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
claim 1 of U.S. 12,199,694 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claim 1, claim 2 of U.S. 12,199,694 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claims 4 and 8. Claims 3-4 of U.S. 12,199,694 claim the subject matter claimed by instant claims 5-6. Claim 4 of U.S. 12,199,694 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claims 12-13. Claims 5-8 of U.S. 12,199,694 claim the subject matter claimed by instant claims 14-17.
Claims 1-4, 7-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,133,841. (This patent is cited in the 11/25/2024 IDS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: claim 1 of U.S. 11,133,841 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claim 1, claim 2 of U.S. 11,133,841 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claim 3, claim 3 of U.S. 11,133,841 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claim 2. Claim 8 of U.S. 11,113,841 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claims 4 and 7. Claim 4 of U.S. 11,133,841 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claim 8. Claims 5-8, 10 of U.S. 11,133,841 claim the subject matter claimed by instant claims 9-13.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
8. Claims 3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 2 of prior U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,199,694. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
9. Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 11-14 of prior U.S. Patent No. U.S. 11,133,841. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maung et al. (U.S. 2016/0269126)(reference cited in the 11/25/2024 IDS) in view of Pigott et al. (U.S. 2015/0004902)(reference cited in the 11/25/2024 IDS).
With respect to claim 1, Maung et al. disclose: an embedded USB (eUSB) repeater (106) configured to convert a 2-line data in an USB format to 2-line data in an eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to 345 (or 360) [0031] the conversion from DP/DM to eD+/eD- performed by 345 (or 360), conversion described in at least [0031]-[0032]);
and an eUSB to power line (e2pwr) repeater (108) coupled to the eUSB repeater and configured to encode the 2-line data into (Fig. 3, lines 8-12 of [0006] refer to the use of electrically isolating interface for example refer to the disclosed inductive interface, [0046], refer to the (not shown) circuit(s) replacing 340 (or 310) and used to implement communication over an inductive interface. It is coupled to 345 (or 360) and encodes the 2-line data into a format suitable (transformed signal) for inductive communication (into a transmission signal)) a transmission signal; wherein the e2pwr repeater (the inductive interface replacing 340 (or 310)) encodes the 2-line data into the transmission signal (it encodes the 2-line data (eD+, eD-) out of 345 (or 360) eUSB repeater into a format suitable for inductive communication (into a transmission signal)).
Maung et al. do not disclose: single transmission signal; by generating a single wave in the single transmission signal.
Implementing inductive interface communication, Pigott et al. disclose: single transmission signal; by generating a sine wave in the single transmission signal (e.g. Fig. 1, inductive communication interface and [0024] inductive communication system, refer to at least lines 1-15 of [0024] description of how the communication signal is generated based on a sinusoidal drive signal (single transmission signal) which is converted into a time-varying magnetic field by the transmit coil).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the inductive interface (replacing 340 or 310) of Maung et al. using the known and suitable components (which implement an inductive interface) disclosed by Pigott et al (Fig. 1, [0024] of Pigott et al).
With respect to claim 2, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater is further configured to receive a second single transmission signal encoded with second 2-line data and decode the second single transmission signal to recover the second 2-line data from the second single transmission signal (function of the inductive interface circuit replacing 340 (or 310) which receives a second single transmission signal (over the inductive link), the single transmission signal encoded with second 2-line data (from the opposite side eUSB2 repeater) and decodes the second signal transmission signal (converts the second signal transmission signal into eD+ and eD- supplied to 345 (or 360))..
With respect to claim 4, Maung et al. disclose: a host device (Fig. 3, claimed host device corresponds to at least 335 or 355 approximate middle of [0043] e.g. refer to the disclosed host mode) comprising:
an embedded USB (eUSB) repeater configured to convert a 2-line data in the USB format to 2-line data in an eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to 345 (or 360) [0031] the conversion from DP/DM to eD+/eD- performed by 345 (or 360), conversion described in at least [0031]-[0032]);
an eUSB to power line (e2pwr) repeater coupled to the eUSB repeater and configured to encode the 2-line data in the eUSB format (Fig. 3, lines 8-12 of [0006] refer to the use of electrically isolating interface for example refer to the disclosed inductive interface, [0046], refer to the (not shown) circuit(s) replacing 340 (or 310) and used to implement communication over an inductive interface. It is coupled to 345 (or 360) and encodes the 2-line data into a format suitable (transformed signal) for inductive communication); and
a device (claimed device corresponds to the inductive interface which replaces 310 when the host device comprises 335 or corresponds to the inductive interface which replaces 340 when the host device comprises 355) comprising a second e2pwr repeater configured to receive a transmission signal and decode the single transmission signal to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format (function of 310 (or 340 decodes the indictive transmission signal into a format suitable for the eUSB2 repeater)). The claimed “e2pwr” repeater is interpreted as a circuit which performs the claimed receive and decode to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format, the circuit implementing the inductive interface and communication (instead of the optical communication shown)); and wherein the e2pwr repeater is coupled to the second e2pwr repeater (circuit (replacing 340) implementing inductive communication over the inductive interface is coupled to the circuit (replacing 310) via the inductive interface); wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the transmission signal (circuit replacing 340 to implement inductive communication over the inductive interface encodes the 2-line data (eD+, eD-) out of 345 eUSB repeater)
Maung et al. do not expressly disclose: single transmission signal; by generating a sine wave in the single transmission signal.
Implementing inductive interface communication, Pigott et al. disclose: single transmission signal; by generating a sine wave in the single transmission signal (e.g. Fig. 1, inductive communication interface and [0024] inductive communication system, refer to at least lines 1-15 of [0024] description of how the communication signal is generated based on a sinusoidal drive signal (single transmission signal) which is converted into a time-varying magnetic field by the transmit coil).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the inductive interface of Maung et al. using the known and suitable components (implementing an inductive interface) disclosed by Pigott et al (Fig. 1, [0024] of Pigott et al).
With respect to claim 5, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the second e2pwr repeater is further configured to encode second 2-line data into a second single transmission signal (circuit replacing 340 generating a single transmission signal in response to receiving transmit eD+, eD- to generate the sinusoidal drive signal which is converted into a time-varying magnetic field or flux).
With respect to claim 6, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater is further configured to receive the second single transmission signal encoded with the second 2-line data and decode the second single transmission signal to recover the second 2-line data from the second single transmission signal (function of circuit replacing 310 in response to receiving the second single transmission signal out of the circuit replacing 340 and received over the inductive interface).
With respect to claim 8, Maung et al. disclose: a host device (Fig. 3, claimed host device corresponds to at least 335 or 355 approximate middle of [0043] e.g. refer to the disclosed host mode) comprising:
an embedded USB (eUSB) repeater configured to convert a 2-line data in the USB format to 2-line data in an eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to 345 (or 360) [0031] the conversion from DP/DM to eD+/eD- performed by 345 (or 360), conversion described in at least [0031]-[0032].);
an eUSB to power line (e2pwr) repeater coupled to the eUSB repeater and configured to encode the 2-line data in the eUSB format (Fig. 3, in light of lines 8-12 of [0006] refer to the use of electrically isolating interface for example refer to the disclosed inductive interface (alternative to optical interfance), [0046] (claim 8 does not claim encoding the 2-line data in the eUSB format into a power line compatible format or transmission over a power line therefore the claimed “e2pwr” is treated as a circuit which converts the eUSB format signal into a transformed signal), refer to the (not shown) circuit(s) replacing 340 and used to implement communication over an inductive interface. It is coupled to 345 and encodes the 2-line data into a format suitable (transformed signal) for inductive communication); and
a device (claimed device corresponds to 310 when the host device comprises 335 or corresponds to 340 when the host device comprises 355) comprising a second e2pwr repeater configured to receive a transmission signal and decode the single transmission signal to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format (function of 310 (or 340). Similar to above the claimed “e2pwr” repeater is interpreted as a circuit which performs the claimed receive and decode to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format, the circuit implementing the inductive interface and communication (instead of the optical communication shown)); and wherein the e2pwr repeater is coupled to the second e2pwr repeater (circuit (replacing 340) implementing inductive communication over the inductive interface is coupled to the circuit (replacing 310) via the inductive interface); wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the transmission signal (circuit replacing 340 to implement inductive communication over the inductive interface encodes the 2-line data (eD+, eD-) out of 345 eUSB repeater)
Maung et al. do not expressly disclose: single transmission signal.
Implementing inductive interface communication, Pigott et al. disclose: single transmission signal; by generating a sine wave in the single transmission signal (e.g. Fig. 1, inductive communication interface and [0024] inductive communication system, refer to at least lines 1-15 of [0024] description of how the communication signal is generated based on a sinusoidal drive signal (single transmission signal) which is converted into a time-varying magnetic field by the transmit coil (alternative single transmission signal)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the inductive interface of Maung et al. using the known and suitable components (implementing an inductive interface) disclosed by Pigott et al (Fig. 1, [0024] of Pigott et al).
Claims 12-13 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claims 5-6 above.
13. Claims 8-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maung et al. (U.S. 2016/0269126) in view of Werthen et al. (U.S. 2008/0235418)(reference cited in the 11/25/2024 IDS).
With respect to claim 8, Maung et al. disclose: a host device (Fig. 3, claimed host device corresponds to at least 335 or 355 approximate middle of [0043] e.g. refer to the disclosed host mode) comprising:
an embedded USB (eUSB) repeater configured to convert a 2-line data in the USB format to 2-line data in an eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to 345 (or 360) [0031] the conversion from DP/DM to eD+/eD- performed by 345 (or 360), conversion described in at least [0031]-[0032]);
an eUSB to power line (e2pwr) repeater coupled to the eUSB repeater and configured to encode the 2-line data in the eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to optical transceiver 340 (or 310) which corresponds to the claimed “eUSB to power line” repeater (claim 8 does not claim encoding the 2-line data in the eUSB format into a power line compatible format or transmission over a power line therefore the claimed “e2pwr” is treated as a circuit which converts the eUSB format signal into a transformed signal) 340 is coupled to 345 and encodes the 2-line data into a format suitable (transformed signal) for optical transmission via 330, last sentence of [0028], last sentence of [0031] 2-line data is converted to an optical signal); and
a device (claimed device corresponds to 310 when the host device comprises 335 or corresponds to 340 when the host device comprises 355) comprising a second e2pwr repeater configured to receive a transmission signal and decode the single transmission signal to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format (function of 310 (or 340). Similar to above the claimed “e2pwr” repeater is interpreted as a circuit which performs the claimed receive and decode to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format, at least lines 1-2 of [0032] (340 functions in a similar manner when it receives data over 330)); and wherein the e2pwr repeater is coupled to the second e2pwr repeater via a transmission line over which the transmission signal is transmitted (340 is coupled to 310 via 330, lines 1-4 of [0047]).
Maung et al. do not expressly disclose: single transmission signal.
In the field of converting USB signals to optical data, Werthen et al. discloses: single transmission signal (Fig. 2, pulse diagram of Fig. 3 and detailed view of transmitter comprising 120, 130 of Fig. 2. A single transmission signal (optical pulse) is generated at the output of 130. [0049], [0052] and [0053]-[0059] which describes the function of the transmitter of Fig. 4 used in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the optical transceiver of Maung et al. to use the USB-to-optical transceiver components of Fig. 1 of Werthen et al. to implement the e2pwr (optical transceiver 310 (and 340)) and perform encoding of the eD+, eD- to a single (optical) transmission signal by using a transmitter comprising 120, 130 of Fig. 4 (of Werthen et al.) which is capable of transmitting special optical signals (in addition to “regular” data optical signals) as described in [0059] of Werthen et al.
With respect to claim 9, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the single transmission signal by generating a signal pulse in the single transmission signal at each state change of the 2-line data (as described in [0054]-[0058] of Werthen et al. also shown in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 10, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the single transmission signal by generating a single signal pulse in the single transmission signal at each state change of a first component of the 2-line data (Werthen et al. [0054]-[0058] when D+ changes from 0 to 1 a single signal pulse is generated by the change from 0mA to 25mA or 50mA to 25mA or 50mA to 75mA or 0mA to 75mA drives the LED which generates a pulse according to the current supplied to it. When D+ changes from 1 to 0 a single pulse is generated by the change from 25mA to 0mA or 25mA to 50mA or 75mA to 0mA or 75mA to 50mA).
With respect to claim 12, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the second e2pwr repeater is further configured to encode second 2-line data into a second single transmission signal (function of modified 310 in response to receiving transmit eD+, eD- out of 360 and converts them to a second single optical transmission signal based on the teachings of Werthen et al.).
With respect to claim 13, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater is further configured to receive the second single transmission signal encoded with the second 2-line data and decode the second single transmission signal to recover the second 2-line data from the second single transmission signal (function of modified 310 in response to receiving the second single transmission signal out of 340 over 330).
14. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maung et al. (U.S. 2016/0269126) in view of Bortolini (U.S. 5,105,293)(reference cited in the 11/25/2024 IDS).
With respect to claim 8, Maung et al. disclose: a host device (Fig. 3, claimed host device corresponds to at least 335 or 355 approximate middle of [0043] e.g. refer to the disclosed host mode) comprising:
an embedded USB (eUSB) repeater configured to convert a 2-line data in the USB format to 2-line data in an eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to 345 (or 360) [0031] the conversion from DP/DM to eD+/eD- performed by 345 (or 360), conversion described in at least [0031]-[0032]);
an eUSB to power line (e2pwr) repeater coupled to the eUSB repeater and configured to encode the 2-line data in the eUSB format (Fig. 3, refer to optical transceiver 340 (or 310) which corresponds to the claimed “eUSB to power line” repeater (claim 1 does not claim encoding the 2-line data in the eUSB format into a power line compatible format or transmission over a power line therefore the claimed “e2pwr” is treated as a circuit which converts the eUSB format signal into a transformed signal) 340 is coupled to 345 and encodes the 2-line data into a format suitable (transformed signal) for optical transmission via 330, last sentence of [0028], last sentence of [0031] 2-line data is converted to an optical signal); and
a device (claimed device corresponds to 310 when the host device comprises 335 or corresponds to 340 when the host device comprises 355) comprising a second e2pwr repeater configured to receive a transmission signal and decode the single transmission signal to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format (function of 310 (or 340). Similar to above the claimed “e2pwr” repeater is interpreted as a circuit which performs the claimed receive and decode to recover the 2-line data in the eUSB format, at least lines 1-2 of [0032] (340 functions in a similar manner when it receives data over 330)); and wherein the e2pwr repeater is coupled to the second e2pwr repeater via a transmission line over which the transmission signal is transmitted (340 is coupled to 310 via 330, lines 1-4 of [0047]).
Maung et al. do not expressly disclose: single transmission signal.
In the field of converting differential signals to optical data, Bortolini discloses: single transmission signal (Fig. 1 and 3, 4a-4b where differential signals out of 21 are converted into a single (implicit) optical transmission signal (having two wavelength components) propagating into the fiber 12 by using wavelength division multiplexing. Column 2, lines 39-50, column 4, lines 30-45, 61-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the optical transceiver (340, 310) of Maung et al. to perform WDM differential optical transmission and communication of the differential eD+ and eD- by using WDM through a single optical fiber as taught by Bortolini so that :”the common optical path and the use of differential signaling minimize common-mode distortion” (Bortolini column 2, lines 64-68, column 3, lines 1-11).
With respect to claim 9, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the single transmission signal by generating a signal pulse in the single transmission signal at each state change of the 2-line data (as shown in Fig. 4a for example refer to the λ1 part of the single transmission signal (λ1 + λ2).
With respect to claim 10, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the single transmission signal by generating a single signal pulse in the single transmission signal at each state change of a first component of the 2-line data (Fig. 4a λ1 state change from 0 to 1 and 1 to 0 of the input signal (Fig. 4b one component of the differential signal out of 21) comprises a respective single signal pulse the saw pattern and 0 respectively).
With respect to claim 11, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater encodes the 2-line data into the single transmission signal by generating a pair of signal pulses in the single transmission signal at each state change of a second component of the 2-line data (Fig. 4a with λ1 waveform corresponding to the first component of the 2-line signal and λ2 corresponding to the second component of the 2-line signal. At each state change of the second component (inverse of the input signal), a pair of signal pulses is generated – part of the saw-pattern of the non-zero λ2 and λ1 which corresponds to each state change of the second component of the 2-line data).
With respect to claim 12, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the second e2pwr repeater is further configured to encode second 2-line data into a second single transmission signal (function of modified 310 in response to receiving transmit eD+, eD- out of 360 and converts them to a second single optical transmission signal based on the teachings Bortolini out of 35)).
With respect to claim 13, modified Maung et al. disclose: wherein the e2pwr repeater is further configured to receive a second single transmission signal encoded with second 2-line data and decode the second single transmission signal to recover the second 2-line data from the second single transmission signal (function of modified 340 when it receives the second single transmission signal received over 330 and decodes the second single optical transmission signal into eD+, eD- supplied to 345).
Contact Information
SOPHIA VLAHOS
Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/SOPHIA VLAHOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 02/05/2026fsinglefsingle