The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits (FAOM).
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 18and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 and 18 recite “reconfiguring one least one”, should “reconfiguring at least one”,
Claim 20 recites “receiving, from at the terminal”, should be “receiving, from the terminal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5, 10, 11, 15 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine”).
With respect to claim 1, Gailloux teaches a method (Gailloux The steps/method in Figure 2), comprising:
receiving, by a server, a plurality of first device configuration parameters of a terminal that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges (Gailloux: Figure 2 208, Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications. The server analyzes the data received from the mobile device and service providers and may identify the root causes of service interruptions and other problems. ”, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem. The aggregation component 124 of the diagnostics application 120 may retrieve or receive directly from the portable electronic device 150 data generated by the diagnostics software 152 about the services in use by the portable electronic device 150 when the service problem occurred. The data gathered may comprise the results of tests run by the diagnostics software 152 at the time of the service problem. In an embodiment, when a service problem, degradation, or other event occurs on a portable electronic device 150, 160, the diagnostics software 152, 162 executing on the portable electronic devices 150, 160, respectively, may be configured to automatically record system information, run tests, and send the information and test results to the diagnostics server 110. The information gathered may include signaling information being sent and received by the portable electronic devices 150, 160 at the time of the service problem.”, where the locations of the portable device/terminal received by the server as the user is moving pertains to first device configuration parameters and does not require providing carrier operator access privileges, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0047] “In one embodiment, the first device configuration parameters that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges include: brand, model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, WiFi configuration, battery saving mode, tethering hotspot configuration, data roaming configuration, and device location.”);
[[receiving, by the server, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges;]]
receiving, by the server, signal information and network usage information of the terminal (Gailloux Figure 2 208, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem…”, and Col. 3 line 31-35 “The server may make recommendations to the mobile device for changes in usage practices and habits and may provide feedback to service providers about adjustments they may make to improve their service.”, and Col. 4 line 15-20 “The diagnostics application 120 also may access information stored in the database 130 and in other network components about the usage of services by the portable electronic device 150 and prevailing network conditions when the portable electronic device 150 was using services.”, and Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1 “The aggregation component 124 also may gather data about network conditions in effect at the times and in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 accesses voice and data services. The information about network conditions may comprise radio frequency conditions (i.e. signal information) in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 operates. ”, Col. 7 line 22-52 “The aggregation component 124 may gather information from the portable electronic device 150… For example, but not by way of limitation, information about usage of services (i.e. network usage information) that is unrelated to diagnosing service problems of the portable electronic device 150 may serve to improve network performance generally or to promote improved marketing and/or customer profile analysis.”);
determining one or more historical snapshots of first [and second] device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information for the terminal (Gailloux Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications. The server analyzes the data received from the mobile device and service providers and may identify the root cause of service interruptions and other problems.”, Col. 6 line 29-32 “…the aggregation component 124 may not continually gather and aggregate information and may instead do so on a periodic or as-needed basis that may be defined by one or more policies.”, where the location information of the mobile device are aggregated by the server as movements of the mobile device occur, where the locations (historical snapshots of locations), usage and network conditions (in Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1 and Col. 7 line 22-52) corresponding to signal information, are all aggregated on a periodic bases); and
performing diagnostics for the terminal based on the first [and second] device configuration parameters, signal information, network usage information, and the one or more historical snapshots to identify malfunctions at the terminal (Gailloux Figure 2. Step 212, and Col. 11 line 49-67 and Col. 12 line 1-3 “At block 212, the diagnostics server 110 analyzes the data gathered at blocks 208 and 210 about the positioning and services in use by the portable electronic device 150 as well as the network conditions at the time of the service problem. The analysis component 126 of the diagnostics application 120 receives the information gathered by the aggregation component 124 and may process the information using statistical models and computer programs and algorithms. These operations may identify trends and service degradations that may not be apparent otherwise. Signaling data and radio frequency conditions may be analyzed using specialized statistical methods that identify lapses or weaknesses in signal strength in some specific geographic areas passed through by the portable electronic device 150. Analysis of the geographic positioning and movements of the portable electronic device 150 may reveal that the portable electronic device 150 during the time of the service problem was physically in an area with poor signal strength and/or high interference. The analysis may alternatively reveal that the services vendor 170 providing a specific data application being accessed at the time of the service problem experienced a service outage or degradation.”).
Gailloux does not explicitly disclose the limitations below.
However, Heine discloses receiving, by the server, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges, determining one or more historical snapshots of second device configuration parameters for the terminal and performing diagnostics for the terminal based on second device configuration parameters to identify malfunctions at the terminal (Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, and [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms, requirements and definitions, and any other criterion imposed by a marketplace on the transaction of second-life electronic goods such as those in the CTIA's R2 framework.”, where the unique device identification number, e.g. IMEI corresponds to the second device configuration parameters of the terminal, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0046] “[0046] In one embodiment, the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges include: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), voice over LTE (VOLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type, and Network selection mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
With respect to claim 5, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network usage information comprises: data service data, SMS service data, and voice service data. (Gailloux Col. 6 Line 1-2 “The aggregation component 124 also may gather data about network conditions in effect at the times and in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 accesses voice and data services.” And Col. 1, Line 23-26 “current mobile phones and other similar portable electronic devices may support additional services including short message service (SMS) for text messaging”).
With respect to claim 10, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: scheduling the first [[and second device configuration parameters]], signal information, and network usage information to be received at a predetermined period from the terminal (Gailloux Col. 6 line 29-32 “…the aggregation component 124 may not continually gather and aggregate information and may instead do so on a periodic or as-needed basis that may be defined by one or more policies.” And (Gailloux: Figure 2 208, Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications…The information gathered may include signaling information being sent and received by the portable electronic devices 150, 160 at the time of the service problem…” Where Gailloux is relied upon to disclose the receiving and the aggregating of (the first device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information) on a periodic basis (predetermined bases) for performing diagnostics of the device as discussed in claim 1 above. Heine is relied upon to disclose the second device configuration parameters for subsequent diagnosis of the device as discussed in claim 1 above.
Gailloux does not teach the limitation below.
However, Heine teaches second device configuration parameters (that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges) (Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
With respect to claim 11, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses a method, comprising: [[determining, by a terminal, carrier operator access privileges for an application of the terminal]]
determining, by the terminal, a plurality of first device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges (Gailloux: Figure 2 208, Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications. The server analyzes the data received from the mobile device and service providers and may identify the root causes of service interruptions and other problems. ”, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem. The aggregation component 124 of the diagnostics application 120 may retrieve or receive directly from the portable electronic device 150 data generated by the diagnostics software 152 about the services in use by the portable electronic device 150 when the service problem occurred. The data gathered may comprise the results of tests run by the diagnostics software 152 at the time of the service problem. In an embodiment, when a service problem, degradation, or other event occurs on a portable electronic device 150, 160, the diagnostics software 152, 162 executing on the portable electronic devices 150, 160, respectively, may be configured to automatically record system information, run tests, and send the information and test results to the diagnostics server 110. The information gathered may include signaling information being sent and received by the portable electronic devices 150, 160 at the time of the service problem.”, where the locations of the portable device/terminal is determined/monitored (as disclosed in Col. 4 line 5-15) by the portable device and through the software 152 in the portable device and to be received by the server as the user is moving pertains to first device configuration parameters and does not require providing carrier operator access privileges, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0047] “In one embodiment, the first device configuration parameters that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges include: brand, model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, WiFi configuration, battery saving mode, tethering hotspot configuration, data roaming configuration, and device location.”);
[[determining, by the terminal, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges; ]]
determining, by the terminal, signal information and network usage information of the terminal (Gailloux Figure 2 208, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem…”, and Col. 3 line 31-35 “The server may make recommendations to the mobile device for changes in usage practices and habits and may provide feedback to service providers about adjustments they may make to improve their service.”, and Col. 4 line 15-20 “The diagnostics application 120 also may access information stored in the database 130 and in other network components about the usage of services by the portable electronic device 150 and prevailing network conditions when the portable electronic device 150 was using services.”, and Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1 “The aggregation component 124 also may gather data about network conditions in effect at the times and in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 accesses voice and data services. The information about network conditions may comprise radio frequency conditions (i.e. signal information) in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 operates. ”, Col. 7 line 22-52 “The aggregation component 124 may gather information from the portable electronic device 150… For example, but not by way of limitation, information about usage of services (i.e. network usage information) that is unrelated to diagnosing service problems of the portable electronic device 150 may serve to improve network performance generally or to promote improved marketing and/or customer profile analysis.”).
and sending the first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information to a server Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem. The aggregation component 124 of the diagnostics application 120 may retrieve or receive directly from the portable electronic device 150 data generated by the diagnostics software 152 about the services in use by the portable electronic device 150 when the service problem occurred. The data gathered may comprise the results of tests run by the diagnostics software 152 at the time of the service problem. In an embodiment, when a service problem, degradation, or other event occurs on a portable electronic device 150, 160, the diagnostics software 152, 162 executing on the portable electronic devices 150, 160, respectively, may be configured to automatically record system information, run tests, and send the information and test results to the diagnostics server 110. The information gathered may include signaling information being sent and received by the portable electronic devices 150, 160 at the time of the service problem.”, where the locations of the portable device/terminal received by the server as the user is moving pertains to first device configuration parameters and does not require providing carrier operator access privileges, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0047] “In one embodiment, the first device configuration parameters that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges include: brand, model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, WiFi configuration, battery saving mode, tethering hotspot configuration, data roaming configuration, and device location.”)
Gailloux does not explicitly disclose the limitations below.
However, Heine discloses determining, by a terminal, carrier operator access privileges for an application of the terminal (Heine: [0042] “the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number”, [0079] “At block 402, the device information associated with one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, is received from the one or more electronic device receiving and collection points 116.”, where the portable device enables access privilege such that IMEI is sent to the server, where the IMEI is considered access-privileged, which is consistent with the applicant’s assertion in [0046] in the instant application)
determining, by the terminal, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges (Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, and [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms, requirements and definitions, and any other criterion imposed by a marketplace on the transaction of second-life electronic goods such as those in the CTIA's R2 framework.”, where the unique device identification number, e.g. IMEI corresponds to the second device configuration parameters of the terminal, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0046] “[0046] In one embodiment, the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges include: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), voice over LTE (VOLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type, and Network selection mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
With respect to claim 15, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the network usage information comprises: data service data, SMS service data, and voice service data (Gailloux Col. 6 Line 1-2 “The aggregation component 124 also may gather data about network conditions in effect at the times and in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 accesses voice and data services.” And Col. 1, Line 23-26 “current mobile phones and other similar portable electronic devices may support additional services including short message service (SMS) for text messaging”).
With respect to claim 19, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving a scheduling request from the server, wherein the first [[and second]] device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information are determined in response to receiving the scheduling request. (Gailloux Col. 6 line 29-32 “…the aggregation component 124 may not continually gather and aggregate information and may instead do so on a periodic or as-needed basis that may be defined by one or more policies.” And (Gailloux: Figure 2 208, Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications…The information gathered may include signaling information being sent and received by the portable electronic devices 150, 160 at the time of the service problem…” Where Gailloux is relied upon to disclose the receiving and the aggregating of (the first device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information) on a periodic basis (predetermined bases) for performing diagnostics of the device as discussed in claim 1 above. Heine is relied upon to disclose the second device configuration parameters for subsequent diagnosis of the device as discussed in claim 1 above.
Gailloux does not teach the limitation below.
However, Heine teaches second device configuration parameters (that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges) (Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
With respect to claim 20, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein (Gailloux Col. 18 line 67 “The computer program product may comprise one or more computer readable storage medium having computer usable program code”), which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (Gailloux Col. 19 Lines 18-20 “The processor 782 may process the executable instructions and/or data in part by directly accessing the computer program product,”), the operations comprising:
receiving, from a terminal, a plurality of first device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges (Gailloux: Figure 2 208, Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications. The server analyzes the data received from the mobile device and service providers and may identify the root causes of service interruptions and other problems. ”, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem. The aggregation component 124 of the diagnostics application 120 may retrieve or receive directly from the portable electronic device 150 data generated by the diagnostics software 152 about the services in use by the portable electronic device 150 when the service problem occurred. The data gathered may comprise the results of tests run by the diagnostics software 152 at the time of the service problem. In an embodiment, when a service problem, degradation, or other event occurs on a portable electronic device 150, 160, the diagnostics software 152, 162 executing on the portable electronic devices 150, 160, respectively, may be configured to automatically record system information, run tests, and send the information and test results to the diagnostics server 110. The information gathered may include signaling information being sent and received by the portable electronic devices 150, 160 at the time of the service problem.”, where the locations of the portable device/terminal received by the server as the user is moving pertains to first device configuration parameters and does not require providing carrier operator access privileges, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0047] “In one embodiment, the first device configuration parameters that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges include: brand, model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, WiFi configuration, battery saving mode, tethering hotspot configuration, data roaming configuration, and device location.”).
[[receiving, from the terminal, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges;]]
receiving, from at the terminal, signal information and network usage information of the terminal (Gailloux Figure 2 208, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150 and the diagnostics database 130 about the services in use at the time of the service problem…”, and Col. 3 line 31-35 “The server may make recommendations to the mobile device for changes in usage practices and habits and may provide feedback to service providers about adjustments they may make to improve their service.”, and Col. 4 line 15-20 “The diagnostics application 120 also may access information stored in the database 130 and in other network components about the usage of services by the portable electronic device 150 and prevailing network conditions when the portable electronic device 150 was using services.”, and Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1 “The aggregation component 124 also may gather data about network conditions in effect at the times and in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 accesses voice and data services. The information about network conditions may comprise radio frequency conditions (i.e. signal information) in the geographic areas in which the portable electronic device 150 operates. ”, Col. 7 line 22-52 “The aggregation component 124 may gather information from the portable electronic device 150… For example, but not by way of limitation, information about usage of services (i.e. network usage information) that is unrelated to diagnosing service problems of the portable electronic device 150 may serve to improve network performance generally or to promote improved marketing and/or customer profile analysis.”).
determining one or more historical snapshots of first and [[second]] device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information for the terminal (Gailloux Col. 3 line 25-30 “The server also receives information from service providers and other network sources about the geographic locations and physical movements of the mobile device while using voice, data, and other applications. The server analyzes the data received from the mobile device and service providers and may identify the root cause of service interruptions and other problems.”, Col. 6 line 29-32 “…the aggregation component 124 may not continually gather and aggregate information and may instead do so on a periodic or as-needed basis that may be defined by one or more policies.”, where the location information of the mobile device are aggregated by the server as movements of the mobile device occur, where the locations (historical snapshots of locations), usage and network conditions (in Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1 and Col. 7 line 22-52) corresponding to signal information, are all aggregated on a periodic bases); and
performing diagnostics for the terminal based on the first [[and second]] device configuration parameters, signal information, network usage information, and the one or more historical snapshots to identify malfunctions at the terminal (Gailloux Figure 2. Step 212, and Col. 11 line 49-67 and Col. 12 line 1-3 “At block 212, the diagnostics server 110 analyzes the data gathered at blocks 208 and 210 about the positioning and services in use by the portable electronic device 150 as well as the network conditions at the time of the service problem. The analysis component 126 of the diagnostics application 120 receives the information gathered by the aggregation component 124 and may process the information using statistical models and computer programs and algorithms. These operations may identify trends and service degradations that may not be apparent otherwise. Signaling data and radio frequency conditions may be analyzed using specialized statistical methods that identify lapses or weaknesses in signal strength in some specific geographic areas passed through by the portable electronic device 150. Analysis of the geographic positioning and movements of the portable electronic device 150 may reveal that the portable electronic device 150 during the time of the service problem was physically in an area with poor signal strength and/or high interference. The analysis may alternatively reveal that the services vendor 170 providing a specific data application being accessed at the time of the service problem experienced a service outage or degradation.”).
Gailloux does not explicitly disclose the limitations below.
However, Heine discloses receiving, by the server, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges, However, Heine discloses receiving, by the server, a plurality of second device configuration parameters of the terminal that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges, determining one or more historical snapshots of second device configuration parameters for the terminal and performing diagnostics for the terminal based on second device configuration parameters to identify malfunctions at the terminal (Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, and [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms, requirements and definitions, and any other criterion imposed by a marketplace on the transaction of second-life electronic goods such as those in the CTIA's R2 framework.”, where the unique device identification number, e.g. IMEI corresponds to the second device configuration parameters of the terminal, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0046] “[0046] In one embodiment, the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges include: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), voice over LTE (VOLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type, and Network selection mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine” and Bajpay (US 7818283 B1)).
With respect to claim 2, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing diagnostics for the terminal comprises: [[comparing the historical snapshots]] of the first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information against the received first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information to identify respective differences.
Where Gailloux is relied upon to disclose the receiving and the aggregating of (the first device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information) on a periodic basis (predetermined bases) for performing diagnostics of the device as discussed in claim 1 above. Heine is relied upon to disclose the second device configuration parameters for subsequent diagnosis of the device as discussed in claim 1 above.
Gailloux in view of Heine does not explicitly teach the limitation below.
However, Bajpay discloses comparing the first and second snapshots (Col. 10 lines 17-26 “In decision step 612, the at least two recorded snapshots, snapshot 1 and snapshot 2, of the input and output packet counters and other characteristics of the interface in the relevant port of the OCxx card are compared. If it is determined that a problem indicated by the comparison of snapshot 1 and snapshot 2 is not in a category of being automatically diagnosable, then the process is terminated in step 614. If the problem indicated by the comparison of the two snapshots is in the category of being automatically diagnosable, then the process proceeds to decision step 616”
and providing an alert when any of the identified differences satisfies a respective predetermined condition (Bajpay claim 14 “The computer system of claim 10 further comprises: means for automatically sending a voice message to a person responsible for the customer premises equipment (CPE) when the failure is isolated to the CPE” and Fig 5B Step 536 and Col. 9 Line 44-55 “…Returning to decision step 526, if the trouble is not an LEC problem, the process proceeds to decision step 534. In decision step 534, it is determined whether the trouble reported is a problem associated with a customer premises equipment (CPE), such as CPE 312 of FIG. 3. If the problem is a CPE problem, the process proceeds to step 536. In step 536, an automated voice mail is sent to the customer who is experiencing the problem to inform the customer that the problem resides in his equipment. In step 538, the trouble ticket is changed from work in progress to prepare for ticket clear. In step 540, the automated diagnose procedure is terminated and logged as diagnose stopped (DGNS)...”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Bajpay to isolate errors, and reduce network disruption, down time, labor process, and process time reduction, as recognized by (Bajpay Col. 2 line 4-7).
With respect to claim 12, Gailloux in view Heine discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
sending, by the terminal, diagnostics information for the terminal to the server (Gailloux Col. 10 Lines 64-65 “At block 208, the diagnostics server 110 gathers information stored in at least the portable electronic device 150”), wherein the server performs diagnostics for the terminal based on the first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information, [[and one or more historical snapshots for the terminal, wherein the historical snapshots comprise first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information for the terminal. ]]]
Where Gailloux is relied upon to disclose the receiving and the aggregating of (the first device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information) on a periodic basis (predetermined bases) for performing diagnostics of the device as discussed in claim 1 above. Heine is relied upon to disclose the second device configuration parameters for subsequent diagnosis of the device as discussed in claim 1 above.
Gailloux in view of Heine does not explicitly teach the limitation below.
However, Bajpay discloses comparing the first and second snapshots (Col. 10 lines 17-26 “In decision step 612, the at least two recorded snapshots, snapshot 1 and snapshot 2, of the input and output packet counters and other characteristics of the interface in the relevant port of the OCxx card are compared. If it is determined that a problem indicated by the comparison of snapshot 1 and snapshot 2 is not in a category of being automatically diagnosable, then the process is terminated in step 614. If the problem indicated by the comparison of the two snapshots is in the category of being automatically diagnosable, then the process proceeds to decision step 616”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Bajpay to isolate errors, and reduce network disruption, down time, labor process, and process time reduction, as recognized by (Bajpay Col. 2 line 4-7).
Claims 3, 4, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine” and Savarese (US 20240048493 A1)).
With respect to claim 3, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein performing diagnostics for the terminal comprises: performing [[[an inference using a machine learning model]]] based on the first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, network usage information, and the one or more historical snapshots (Gailloux (Col. 3 line 25-30 , and Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16, Figure 2 208, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16, Col. 3 line 31-35, Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1) in view of Heines ([0042]) discloses the above limitations as described in claim 1 above.)
Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the use of the above cited parameters for diagnostics, however, Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the use of machine learning and subsequently sending an alert.
However, Savarese discloses performing an inference using a machine learning model based on (metrics data)…. and providing an alert based on a result of the inference (Savarese: [0043] “…a machine learning unit to find anomalies, determine cohorts, deduce trends, determine location boundaries, detect network security issues, detect compromised clients, and/or optimize network usage. Based upon the found anomalies, determined cohorts, deduced trends, determined location boundaries, detected network security issues, detected compromised clients, and optimized network usage, the machine learning unit can send an alert to the VPN server pool; and the VPN server pool may send at least one of an alert to the client or an update to the client…the machine learning unit can include a data storage server collecting and storing the further attempted network flow metadata from the VPN server pool and an analysis server, and the method may further include: aggregating in the analysis server the collected further attempted network flow metadata stored on the data storage server using statistical algorithms; and processing the aggregated metadata through machine learning algorithms to automatically detect at least one of an abnormal data transfer or usage that is abnormal for a user of the client.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Savarese to improve performance, reliability, cost and security, as recognized by (Savarese [0170]).
With respect to claim 4, Gailloux in view of Heine and Savarese discloses the method of claim 3.
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Savarese discloses wherein the machine learning model is trained to identify one or more configurations that are at fault for degrading a performance of the terminal (Savarese [0045] “…The method may further include collecting network performance metrics from the client and from other clients from which other network flows are sent; detecting a trend of increasing network connection problems experienced by a cohort of clients selected from the client and the other clients; and determining where the cohort is. Further, the network performance metrics may relate to throughput, latency, connection failure, signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) and/or signal quality; and the method can include identifying a carrier, a cellular tower, a wireless local area network (WLAN) and/or a WLAN access point that the cohort is using. The cohort can be a geographic region and the geographic region may include a city, a state or a town…” where the metrics identifies configurations degradation performance associated with latency throughput and connection failure )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Savarese to improve performance, reliability, cost and security, as recognized by (Savarese [0170]).
With respect to claim 13, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the diagnostics information is obtained from an inference using a machine learning model based on the first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, network usage information, and the one or more historical snapshots.
wherein performing diagnostics for the terminal comprises: performing [[[an inference using a machine learning model]]] based on the first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, network usage information, and the one or more historical snapshots (Gailloux (Col. 3 line 25-30 , and Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16, Figure 2 208, Col. 10 line 64-67 and Col. 11 line 1- 16, Col. 3 line 31-35, Col. 5 line 62-67 and Col 6 line 1) in view of Heines ([0042]) discloses the above limitations as described in claim 1 above.)
Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the use of the above cited parameters for diagnostics, however, Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the use of machine learning and subsequently sending an alert.
However, Savarese discloses performing an inference using a machine learning model based on (metrics data)…. and providing an alert based on a result of the inference ( [0043] “…a machine learning unit to find anomalies, determine cohorts, deduce trends, determine location boundaries, detect network security issues, detect compromised clients, and/or optimize network usage. Based upon the found anomalies, determined cohorts, deduced trends, determined location boundaries, detected network security issues, detected compromised clients, and optimized network usage, the machine learning unit can send an alert to the VPN server pool; and the VPN server pool may send at least one of an alert to the client or an update to the client…the machine learning unit can include a data storage server collecting and storing the further attempted network flow metadata from the VPN server pool and an analysis server, and the method may further include: aggregating in the analysis server the collected further attempted network flow metadata stored on the data storage server using statistical algorithms; and processing the aggregated metadata through machine learning algorithms to automatically detect at least one of an abnormal data transfer or usage that is abnormal for a user of the client.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Savarese to improve performance, reliability, cost and security, as recognized by (Savarese [0170]).
With respect to claim 14, Gailloux in view of Heine and Savarese the method of claim 13.
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Savarese discloses wherein the machine learning model is trained to identify one or more configurations that are at fault for degrading a performance (Savarese [0045] “…The method may further include collecting network performance metrics from the client and from other clients from which other network flows are sent; detecting a trend of increasing network connection problems experienced by a cohort of clients selected from the client and the other clients; and determining where the cohort is. Further, the network performance metrics may relate to throughput, latency, connection failure, signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) and/or signal quality; and the method can include identifying a carrier, a cellular tower, a wireless local area network (WLAN) and/or a WLAN access point that the cohort is using. The cohort can be a geographic region and the geographic region may include a city, a state or a town…” where the metrics identifies configurations degradation performance associated with latency throughput and connection failure )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Savarese to improve performance, reliability, cost and security, as recognized by (Savarese [0170]).
Claims 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine” and Lingam (US 12294879 B2) and Suri (“US 7737896 B1”).
With respect to claim 6, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1.
Gailloux does not explicitly disclose the limitation below.
Heine discloses wherein the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges comprise: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) ((Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms, requirements and definitions, and any other criterion imposed by a marketplace on the transaction of second-life electronic goods such as those in the CTIA's R2 framework.”, where the unique device identification number, e.g. IMEI corresponds to the second device configuration parameters of the terminal, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0046] “[0046] In one embodiment, the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges include: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), voice over LTE (VOLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type, and Network selection mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Lingam discloses voice over LTE (VoLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), [[Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type]], and Network selection mode (Lingam: “FIG. 7 illustrates a table 700 of exemplary cellular engineering metrics tracked by a mobile wireless device 102 and used for analysis of cellular wireless voice and service issues. Voice metrics regarding details of how a CS cellular voice call ended can be used to diagnose CS voice call failures. Voice metrics regarding the end of a PS voice call ended can be used to diagnose PS voice call failures. Voice metrics regarding a crash or reset of a baseband processor can be used to diagnose issues associated with the baseband wireless processing circuitry. Service metrics, such as various user-controllable settings including an airplane mode, switches for data use, voice over LTE (VoLTE) use, various radio access technology, e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, use, or Wi-Fi calling can be used to analyze cellular service behavior based on the combination of settings extant on the mobile wireless device 102 when a cellular issue occurs. Additional service metrics include information regarding registration errors that can occur when registering for cellular wireless service by the mobile wireless device 102 and cellular service status metrics, such as an in-service, limited service, or 00S state, and serving/neighbor cell measurements of signal strength (or signal quality) that can impact cellular connectivity for the mobile wireless device 102. Service metrics can further include information regarding crashes and/or resets of cellular wireless software and/or hardware of the mobile wireless device 102. Metrics associated with eSIMs 208 can include installation and cellular provisioning details to determine eSIM installation status, cellular profile transfer details, errors associated with network-based servers, transfer details for a source device from which an eSIM 208 is transferred, and indications for monitor mode completion after installation of an eSIM 208, which can be used to check for status for transfer of a particular eSIM 208 and to diagnose issues associated with transfer of eSIMs 208 between mobile wireless devices 102, such as from a source device to a target device.” where Fig 7 further includes analysis/diagnosis metrics such as VoLTE, IMS, Wi-Fi Calling Switch, which indicates knowledge of an access name. furthermore Col. 17 Lines 10-20 discloses Multi-mode of UE where the UE switches between networks (i.e. network selection mode), where the metrics further includes data logs an data networks as disclosed in Col. 4 Lines 62-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Lingam to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to perform diagnostic testing on wireless devices configured for cellular wireless services, as recognized by (Lingam abstract).
Gailloux in view of Heine and Lingam does not disclose the limitation below
However, Suri, discloses Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type (Suri Col. 5 Line 49-62 “In step 190, the handset analyzes various parameters related to the identified available network and the current status of the handset. For example, the available network type can be compared to the preferred network type previously identified in step 185 or the battery condition may be compared to a threshold parameter to determine if the handset should only register on the available network that is less battery intensive. In one embodiment, the time of usage may be compared against one or more customer call plan schedule of fees to determine a preferred network (e.g., the network that would incur reduced or less fees). Additional analysis of the various parameters that are monitored and stored by the handset, as will be understood by one having skill in the art having the benefit of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine and Lingam to incorporate the teaching of Suri to optimize power and usage, as recognized by (Suri Col. 5 Line 49-62).
With respect to claim 16, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 11.
Gailloux does not explicitly disclose the limitation below.
However, Heine discloses wherein the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges comprise: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) ((Heine: [0042] “…the server 102 may be configured to extract a unique device identification number and/or batch identification number, associated with the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, based on the received device information. In one embodiment, the unique device identification number may be at least one of: an international mobile equipment identity number (IMEI) number, a manufacturer's serial number, any subset of characters included in the unique device identification number which may represent a batch identification number.”, [0056] “The device diagnostics module 218 is configured to enable the identification of a variety of potential fault problems on hardware, electronics, other sub-systems and components, and radio systems, which may require automated or manual intervention in order to rehabilitate the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices to a condition of functionality which satisfies a potential set of market conformity expectations and norms, requirements and definitions, and any other criterion imposed by a marketplace on the transaction of second-life electronic goods such as those in the CTIA's R2 framework.”, where the unique device identification number, e.g. IMEI corresponds to the second device configuration parameters of the terminal, consistent with the specification in the instant application in [0046] “[0046] In one embodiment, the second device configuration parameters that are retrievable only with carrier operator access privileges include: International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), voice over LTE (VOLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type, and Network selection mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Lingam discloses voice over LTE (VoLTE), access point name (APN) Internet, APN IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), [[Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type]], and Network selection mode (Lingam: “FIG. 7 illustrates a table 700 of exemplary cellular engineering metrics tracked by a mobile wireless device 102 and used for analysis of cellular wireless voice and service issues. Voice metrics regarding details of how a CS cellular voice call ended can be used to diagnose CS voice call failures. Voice metrics regarding the end of a PS voice call ended can be used to diagnose PS voice call failures. Voice metrics regarding a crash or reset of a baseband processor can be used to diagnose issues associated with the baseband wireless processing circuitry. Service metrics, such as various user-controllable settings including an airplane mode, switches for data use, voice over LTE (VoLTE) use, various radio access technology, e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, use, or Wi-Fi calling can be used to analyze cellular service behavior based on the combination of settings extant on the mobile wireless device 102 when a cellular issue occurs. Additional service metrics include information regarding registration errors that can occur when registering for cellular wireless service by the mobile wireless device 102 and cellular service status metrics, such as an in-service, limited service, or 00S state, and serving/neighbor cell measurements of signal strength (or signal quality) that can impact cellular connectivity for the mobile wireless device 102. Service metrics can further include information regarding crashes and/or resets of cellular wireless software and/or hardware of the mobile wireless device 102. Metrics associated with eSIMs 208 can include installation and cellular provisioning details to determine eSIM installation status, cellular profile transfer details, errors associated with network-based servers, transfer details for a source device from which an eSIM 208 is transferred, and indications for monitor mode completion after installation of an eSIM 208, which can be used to check for status for transfer of a particular eSIM 208 and to diagnose issues associated with transfer of eSIMs 208 between mobile wireless devices 102, such as from a source device to a target device.” where Fig 7 further includes analysis/diagnosis metrics such as VoLTE, IMS, Wi-Fi Calling Switch, which indicates knowledge of an access name. furthermore Col. 17 Lines 10-20 discloses Multi-mode of UE where the UE switches between networks (i.e. network selection mode), where the metrics further includes data logs an data networks as disclosed in Col. 4 Lines 62-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Lingam to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to perform diagnostic testing on wireless devices configured for cellular wireless services, as recognized by (Lingam abstract).
Gailloux in view of Heine and Lingam does not disclose the limitation below
However, Suri, discloses Preferred Network Type, Configuration parameters of the Preferred Network Type (Suri Col. 5 Line 49-62 “In step 190, the handset analyzes various parameters related to the identified available network and the current status of the handset. For example, the available network type can be compared to the preferred network type previously identified in step 185 or the battery condition may be compared to a threshold parameter to determine if the handset should only register on the available network that is less battery intensive. In one embodiment, the time of usage may be compared against one or more customer call plan schedule of fees to determine a preferred network (e.g., the network that would incur reduced or less fees). Additional analysis of the various parameters that are monitored and stored by the handset, as will be understood by one having skill in the art having the benefit of the present disclosure.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine and Lingam to incorporate the teaching of Suri to optimize power and usage, as recognized by (Suri Col. 5 Line 49-62).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine” and Demoski (US 8655336 B1) and Jain (US 20160373944 A1)).
With respect to claim 7, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1.
Heine discloses retrieving parameters including a brand ([0082] “At block 408, the device status information of the one or more cellular communications based electronic devices is determined based on the retrieved device characteristic information. The device status information comprises at least one of the one or more network bands, the radio network technologies, and the one or more network carriers responsible for the sim-encumbrance status, device disposition including being reported as lost/stolen, or otherwise protected by the device management protocol including Find My iPhone, device management and protection services of an owning organization, and the like.” where retrieved parameters include information pertaining to a specific brand )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux to incorporate the teaching of Heine to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to improve managing, processing, refurbishing, and reporting of one or more cellular communications based electronic devices, to address potential problems that may occur, as recognized by (Heine [0006]).
Gailloux in view of Heine does not explicitly disclose the limitation below.
However, Dempski discloses the configuration parameters comprise : [[brand]], model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, [[WiFi configuration]], battery saving mode, [[tethering hotspot configuration,]] data roaming configuration, [[and device location]]. (Dempski: Claims 2-5 (“2. The system of claim 1, wherein the collected information includes: mobile device information, device operation information, or a diagnostic log. 3. The system of claim 2, wherein the collected information includes a captured screenshot. 4. The system of claim 2, wherein the mobile device information includes: manufacturer, model, hardware version, software version, warranty date, or mobile station identification information. 5. The system of claim 2, wherein the device operation information includes: installed mobile applications, battery level, signal strength, wireless operating mode, wireless network system identification, primary roaming list, internal read only memory (ROM) usage and random access memory (RAM) usage, external memory usage, wireless connectivity status, or data throughput speed information.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Dempski for faster review and resolution of the mobile station issue, as recognized by (Dempski Col. 1 Lines 12-13).
Gailloux in view of Heine and Dempski does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Jain discloses the configuration parameters comprise: WiFi configuration, tethering hotspot configuration, and device location (Jain [0013] “Reporting from the mobile handsets includes Radio Signal strength captured in any location at any time” and [0069] “f. generating GIS reports based on data/information collected (Location and Signal Level), as well as letting the user export these reports” and [0186] “[0186] WiFi metrics to be taken in tests include WiFi information (signal strength, location SSID, security), WiFi performance (time to connect, authenticate on WiFi network, battery impacts), throughput (downlink, uplink throughput using FTP, HTTP, iPERF, UDP, using short files, long files, with and without handovers), web browsing (DNS lookup, first byte download, first page download across any number of popular sites, success rate), and email (E2E delay, success rate, accuracy). WiFi metrics further include video (delay for stream URL, buffering start delay, time delay for playback start, time to buffering or playback completion for video from YouTube or similar services, voice over WiFi (multiple KPIs—retain ability, availability, mobility, MOS/PESQ/POQA), data error rate (packet loss for different sized packets using advanced PING capabilities to multiple URLs), latency (using different PING packets to multiple URLs), data session establishment (authentication, tunnel set up and teardown times for GPRS, 3G, LTE, WiFi), WiFi offload (device data usage metrics per minute, per hour, per day under GPRS, 3G, LTE, WiFi access and different locations and RF conditions), and load and stress testing (E2E delay, success rate, accuracy reported at access point level in aggregated manner).” And [0187] “…WiFi end-to-end (E2E) testing may also be performed. This testing may include the automation of E2E alpha testing or FOA for WLAN. The basic features of this testing may include recording location (altitude, longitude, latitude) of testing spot, recording AP SSID and AP MAC, authentication type and WiFi mode, measuring WiFi RSSI (signal level), channel, and SNR (signal noise ratio), running ping testing, recording ping latency, and ping loss rate, and downloading files, uploading files, and recording download and upload throughput.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine and Dempski to incorporate the teaching of Jain to monitor and report performance information for applications running on the handset and an association of those statistics with the radio technology, location of the mobile handset and other handset parameters, as recognized by (Jain [0010]).
With respect to claim 17, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the first device configuration parameters that are retrievable without providing carrier operator access privileges comprises: [[brand, model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, WiFi configuration, battery saving mode, tethering hotspot configuration, data roaming configuration, and device location.]]
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Dempski discloses the configuration parameters comprise : [[brand]], model, OS version, manufacturer of the terminal, [[WiFi configuration]], battery saving mode, [[tethering hotspot configuration,]] data roaming configuration, [[and device location]]. (Dempski: Claims 2-4 (“2. The system of claim 1, wherein the collected information includes: mobile device information, device operation information, or a diagnostic log.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the collected information includes a captured screenshot.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the mobile device information includes: manufacturer, model, hardware version, software version, warranty date, or mobile station identification information.
5. The system of claim 2, wherein the device operation information includes: installed mobile applications, battery level, signal strength, wireless operating mode, wireless network system identification, primary roaming list, internal read only memory (ROM) usage and random access memory (RAM) usage, external memory usage, wireless connectivity status, or data throughput speed information.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Dempski for faster review and resolution of the mobile station issue, as recognized by (Dempski Col. 1 Lines 12-13).
Dempski does not disclose the limitation below
However, Jain discloses the configuration parameters comprise: brand , WiFi configuration, tethering hotspot configuration, and device location (Jain [0013] “Reporting from the mobile handsets includes Radio Signal strength captured in any location at any time” and [0069] “f. generating GIS reports based on data/information collected (Location and Signal Level), as well as letting the user export these reports” and [0186] “[0186] WiFi metrics to be taken in tests include WiFi information (signal strength, location SSID, security), WiFi performance (time to connect, authenticate on WiFi network, battery impacts), throughput (downlink, uplink throughput using FTP, HTTP, iPERF, UDP, using short files, long files, with and without handovers), web browsing (DNS lookup, first byte download, first page download across any number of popular sites, success rate), and email (E2E delay, success rate, accuracy). WiFi metrics further include video (delay for stream URL, buffering start delay, time delay for playback start, time to buffering or playback completion for video from YouTube or similar services, voice over WiFi (multiple KPIs—retain ability, availability, mobility, MOS/PESQ/POQA), data error rate (packet loss for different sized packets using advanced PING capabilities to multiple URLs), latency (using different PING packets to multiple URLs), data session establishment (authentication, tunnel set up and teardown times for GPRS, 3G, LTE, WiFi), WiFi offload (device data usage metrics per minute, per hour, per day under GPRS, 3G, LTE, WiFi access and different locations and RF conditions), and load and stress testing (E2E delay, success rate, accuracy reported at access point level in aggregated manner).” And [0187] “…WiFi end-to-end (E2E) testing may also be performed. This testing may include the automation of E2E alpha testing or FOA for WLAN. The basic features of this testing may include recording location (altitude, longitude, latitude) of testing spot, recording AP SSID and AP MAC, authentication type and WiFi mode, measuring WiFi RSSI (signal level), channel, and SNR (signal noise ratio), running ping testing, recording ping latency, and ping loss rate, and downloading files, uploading files, and recording download and upload throughput.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine and Dempski to incorporate the teaching of Jain to monitor and report performance information for applications running on the handset and an association of those statistics with the radio technology, location of the mobile handset and other handset parameters, as recognized by (Jain [0010]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine” and Lingam (US 12294879 B2).
With respect to claim 8, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1.
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Lingam discloses further comprising: reconfiguring one least one of the second device configuration parameters at the terminal to diagnose identified malfunctions at the terminal (Lingam Col. 17 Line 7-20 “Additionally, it should be understood that the UEs described herein may be configured as multi-mode wireless communication devices that are also capable of communicating via different third generation (3G) and/or second generation (2G) RATs. In these scenarios, a multi-mode UE can be configured to prefer attachment to LTE networks offering faster data rate throughput, as compared to other 3G legacy networks offering lower data rate throughputs. For instance, in some implementations, a multi-mode UE may be configured to fall back to a 3G legacy network, e.g., an Evolved High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA+) network or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) 2000 Evolution-Data Only (EV-DO) network, when LTE and LTE-A networks are otherwise unavailable.”, where the reconfiguration of the preferred network for communication, e.g. LTE, corresponding to the second device parameter to e.g. 3G when unavailability/malfunction is diagnosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Lingam to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to perform diagnostic testing on wireless devices configured for cellular wireless services, as recognized by (Lingam abstract).
With respect to claim 18, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 11.
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, Lingam discloses further comprising: receiving a reconfiguration request to reconfigure one least one of the second device configuration parameters at the terminal to fix any identified malfunctions at the terminal (Lingam Col. 17 Line 7-20 “Additionally, it should be understood that the UEs described herein may be configured as multi-mode wireless communication devices that are also capable of communicating via different third generation (3G) and/or second generation (2G) RATs. In these scenarios, a multi-mode UE can be configured to prefer attachment to LTE networks offering faster data rate throughput, as compared to other 3G legacy networks offering lower data rate throughputs. For instance, in some implementations, a multi-mode UE may be configured to fall back to a 3G legacy network, e.g., an Evolved High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA+) network or a Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) 2000 Evolution-Data Only (EV-DO) network, when LTE and LTE-A networks are otherwise unavailable.”, where the reconfiguration of the preferred network for communication, e.g. LTE, corresponding to the second device parameter to e.g. 3G when unavailability/malfunction is diagnosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of Lingam to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to perform diagnostic testing on wireless devices configured for cellular wireless services, as recognized by (Lingam abstract).
Claims 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gailloux et al. (US 8644813 B1, hereinafter (Gailloux) in view of Heine et al. (US 20240104615 A1, hereinafter “Heine” and McIntyre (US 20120079100 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Gailloux in view of Heine discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the received first and second device configuration parameters, signal information, and network usage information of the terminal [[to a carrier operator for the carrier operator]] to identify terminal malfunctions. (Gailloux Col. 5 Lines 1-6 “The usage activity reports and test results run by the diagnostics software 152, which may be stored on the portable electronic device 150 as diagnostic data files 154, may be transmitted to the diagnostics application 120 for immediate analysis and/or may be transmitted to the database 130 for storage and possible later analysis.”)
Gailloux in view of Heine does not disclose the limitation below.
However, McIntyre discloses to a carrier operator for the carrier operator to identify terminal malfunctions ([0159] “… the configuration of the diagnostic system is such that the system's functionality may be seamlessly accessed by existing repair systems (e.g., existing carrier/operator and service center repair systems). Embodiments of the system enable information readily to be exchanged between the diagnostic system and other carrier/operator service center systems…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gailloux in view of Heine to incorporate the teaching of McIntyre to utilize the above feature, with the motivation to diagnose and repair a system, as recognized by (McIntyre [0159]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
George (US 20230188971 A1)) discloses wherein the network usage information includes data usage information including any of: cellular data, SMS data, voice data or a combination thereof.” And [0035] “ The core network elements 104 collect this cellular/wireless network usage data 101 information as the device(s) 102…cellular usage metadata as used herein may refer to any one or more of: packet data usage, SMS usage, voice data usage or cellular registration usage.”
Vasseur (US-10680889-B2) discloses inference (machine learning), to identify performance degradation and configuration change in Col. 11 Line 18. and Col 16 line 25-38.
Peddireddy (US-20080084992-A1) discloses in [0033] “…the diagnostic and other data and information might be collected from the handset 102 and then transmitted without being stored, or some data or portions of the data might be stored, temporarily or 1otherwise, and then transmitted to the relevant systems.”
Andreas (US-10491459-B1) discloses in Col. 15 Lines 44-60 “In some embodiments, the client 120 may (a)periodically update a development server 140 as to the actions taken by the client 120 for further diagnosis of technical issues on the UE 102 and/or network 172 that may need to be addressed. For example, the client 120 may identify the user application (e.g., 122, 124) corresponding to the threshold being exceeded (e.g., the bounded threshold and/or modified threshold), create a diagnostic prompt that comprises an address (e.g., an IP address) corresponding to a development server 140, and request, via display of the diagnostic prompt on a user interface of the UE 102, permission to contact the development server 140. In response to permission being granted, the client 120 may use the API to obtain captured information (e.g., the application cache, application log, the communication log, MEID, the bounded threshold and/or the modified threshold) and transmit the captured information to the development server 140.”)
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Akram Manshalin, whose telephone number is 571-272-6555. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 7:30 am to 5:00 pm.
/Akram Manshalin/
Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 10/12/2026