DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foreign Patent Application Publication No. KR 102037826 to Seo et al. (“Seo”).
As to claim 1, Seo discloses a wearable electronic device [Figs 1-5, Abstract]. comprising: a housing forming at least a part of an exterior of the wearable electronic device [Fig. 4: housing 1]; a nozzle extending from a part of the housing [Fig. 1, 3-4: inlet of the housing 1], wherein the nozzle comprises a first hole at a first position [Figs. 4-5: 120] and a second hole at a second position [Figs. 4-5: similar hole on the opposite side of the hole 120]; an acoustic path inside the nozzle [Figs. 1, 3-4: the acoustic path is inside the inlet of the housing 1]; a grill inside the nozzle [Figs. 4-5: grill 6], wherein the grill comprises a first latch passing through the first hole such that a part thereof protrudes in a first direction [Figs. 4-5: 62] and a second latch passing through the second hole such that a part thereof protrudes in a second direction [Figs. 4-5: similar latch on the other end of the grill]; and an ear tip at least partially surrounding an outer surface of the nozzle [Figs 4-5: ear tip 2], wherein the ear tip comprises a first groove detachably coupled to a part of the first latch [Fig. 4-5: groove which goes around 120 and 14] and a second groove detachably coupled to a part of the second latch [Figs. 4-5: similar groove which goes around other side].
As to claim 9, Seo discloses wherein the first latch comprises a first inclined surface [Fig. 4: 14], the second latch comprises a second inclined surface [Fig. 4: opposite side of the grill], the first groove comprises a third inclined surface [Fig. 4: groove above 14], and the second groove comprises a fourth inclined surface [Fig. 4: similar groove which goes around the other side]], and wherein the first latch is at least partially coupled to the first groove, and the second latch is at least partially coupled to the second groove [Fig. 4].
As to claim 10, Seo discloses wherein a sealing member is partially formed at an end of the ear tip that faces a part of the housing [Figs. 3-5].
As to claim 11, Seo discloses wherein an insertion guide is formed on a part of an inner side of the ear tip [Figs. 3-5].
As to claim 12, Seo discloses wherein the insertion guide comprises a first cutting portion on a part of an inner side surface of the ear tip in the first direction and a second cutting portion on a part of the inner side surface of the ear tip in the second direction [figs: 4-5].
As to claim 13, Seo discloses wherein the part of the ear tip on which the first cutting portion is formed comprises an upper portion having a width that is narrower than a width of a lower portion of the part of the ear tip on which the first cutting portion is formed [figs: 4-5].
As to claim 15, Seo discloses wherein at least one guide groove is formed on the inner side of the nozzle, and the at least one guide groove is configured to guide a part of the grill to be inserted into the nozzle [figs: 4-5].
As to claim 16, Seo discloses a wearable electronic device [Figs 1-5, Abstract] comprising: a housing forming at least a part of an exterior of the wearable electronic device [Fig. 4: housing 1]; a nozzle extending from a part of the housing [Fig. 1, 3-4: inlet of the housing 1], wherein the nozzle comprises a hole in a side surface of the nozzle [Figs. 4-5: 120]; a grill inside the nozzle [Figs. 4-5: grill 6], wherein the grill comprises a latch passing through the hole such that a part thereof protrudes out of the nozzle through the hole [Figs. 4-5: 62]; and an ear tip at least partially surrounding an outer surface of the nozzle [Figs 4-5: ear tip 2], wherein the ear tip comprises a groove coupled to a part of the latch [Fig. 4-5: groove which goes around 120 and 14].
As to claim 17, Seo discloses wherein the nozzle is configured to receive the grill through an acoustic path formed by an interior of the nozzle during assembly of the wearable electronic device [Figs. 1, 3-4: the acoustic path is inside the inlet of the housing 1].
As to claim 18, Seo discloses wherein the ear tip is configured to alternately attach or detach from the nozzle [Figs. 3-4].
As to claim 19, Seo discloses wherein the grill further comprises: a frame disposed across one end of the nozzle and comprising at least one opening; and a first extension extending from the frame and integrally connected to the latch [Figs. 4-5].
As to claim 20, Seo discloses wherein a sealing member is partially formed at an end of the ear tip that faces a part of the housing [Figs. 3-5].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent Application Publication No: 20200128340 to Jeong et al. (Fig. 4 and associated paragraphs).
/ANTIM G SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693