DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: user input of an image via a displayed user interface provided by an image processing apparatus as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Para 31, 37, 45); providing an input prompt via a user interface or a database as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Para 95); an image processing apparatus to generate a synthetic image as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Para 32); and a ground truth data and ground truth image for determining a score as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Para 25, 27; Fig. 4).
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 14-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Agoston Weisz et al., US 2025/0329084 A1.
Independent claim 1, discloses a method for image processing, comprising:
obtaining a prompt indicating an image element (Fig. 4 “454”);
generating a first score function using a base image generation model and a second score function using an auxiliary image generation model, wherein the first score function and the second score function are based on the prompt (Fig. 4 “456”; The cross-attention operation can therefore be considered to update or modify the encoding 204 of the input image by attending to the input prompt 203.- Para 46; The self-attention operation can enable the VLM to focus on the most relevant parts of the encoding 204 of the input image in accordance with the instructions in the input prompt 203 – Para 47);
combining the first score function and the second score function to obtain a combined score function (i.e. the VLM can include a combination of cross-attention and self-attention operations – Para 48), wherein the combined score function includes positive guidance from the first score function (i.e. The cross-attention operation can therefore be considered to update or modify the encoding 204 of the input image by attending to the input prompt 203. – Para 46) and negative guidance from the second score function (i.e. The self-attention operation can enable the VLM to focus on the most relevant parts of the encoding 204 of the input image in accordance with the instructions in the input prompt 203 – Para 47); and
generating a synthetic image that depicts the image element based on the combined score function (i.e. The generated output image 206 is a modified version of the input image 202, modified according to the instructions in the input prompt 203- Para 52).
Claim 3, Weisz discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a training image using the base image generation model (i.e. the image generation model 1545 is configured to generate the training image1550 based on the guidance embedding 1540 – Para 184); and training the auxiliary image generation model using the training image (i.e. an encoding of the input prompt 203 can be concatenated and provided as input to the VLM (e.g. auxiliary image generation model). The VLM can include one or more Transformer blocks with a self-attention operation – Para 47).
Claim 4, Weisz discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: training another image generation model using the synthetic image as training data (i.e. the image generation engine 162 can interface with an external image generation system 180 to generate an image based upon the modified encoding 205 – Para 51).
Claim 5, Weisz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein combining the first score function and the second score function comprises: identifying a weight parameter, wherein the first score function and the second score function are combined based on the weight parameter (i.e. The plurality of VLMs can be a copy of a single VLM but with different parameters, - Para 59; the parameters of the VLM undergoing fine-tuning are adjusted using a reinforcement learning update rule – Para 63; The system can determine to continue fine-tuning the VLM until one or more conditions are satisfied – Para 64).
Claim 7, Weisz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the second score function represents an unnatural image artifact (i.e. self-attention operation can enable the VLM to focus on the most relevant parts of the encoding 204 of the input image – Para 47).
Independent claim 8, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claims 10-12, 14, 18 and 20, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 1, 3-5 and 7 apply herein.
Independent claim 15, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9, 13,16-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agoston Weisz et al., US 2025/0329084 A1 as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Zecheng He et al., US 2026/0101081 A1.
Claim 2, Weisz teaches the method of claim 1 includes encoding an input image in a learned latent space (Para 43); and applying differing parameters to the VLM (e.g. generative model – Para 8, 63).
He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthetic image comprises: obtaining a noise map (i.e. noise input may be in a latent space – Para 53, 149); and denoising the noise map based on the combined score function (i.e. the image generation model performs a denoising process (e.g., a reverse diffusion process) to denoise the noise input – Para 54; guidance feature 1070 can be combined with the noisy feature 1035 using a cross-attention block within the reverse diffusion process 1040 – Para 141), which Weisz fails to disclose.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine He’s known method comprising obtaining a noise map; and denoising the noise map based on the combined score function with the method of Weisz because each discloses a generative model for updating an input image to provide variations of a synthetic image (He, Para 128).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine He’s known method comprising obtaining a noise map; and denoising the noise map based on the combined score function with the method of Weisz and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 6, Weisz teaches the method of claim 1 that uses a multimodal model (Para 4) trained on multimodal data (Para 68); obtaining a prompt (Fig. 4 “454”) and encoding an input prompt (Para 49) indicating an image element based on an embedding from vocabulary (Para 50), wherein the first score function and the second score function are generated based on the prompt embedding (i.e. Fig. 4 “456”; The cross-attention operation can therefore be considered to update or modify the encoding 204 of the input image by attending to the input prompt 203.- Para 46; The self-attention operation can enable the VLM to focus on the most relevant parts of the encoding 204 of the input image in accordance with the instructions in the input prompt 203 – Para 47).
He discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: encoding the prompt to obtain a prompt embedding (i.e. generating a multimodal embedding based on the input image and the text prompt – abstract; generating, using a multimodal encoder, a multimodal embedding – Para 4; encode the input prompts to generate a multimodal embedding – Para 42), which Weisz fails to disclose.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine He’s known method comprising encoding the prompt to obtain a prompt embedding with the method of Weisz because each encodes prompts and provides an embedding that guides the image generation process to generate a synthetic image (He, Para 42).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine He’s known method comprising encoding the prompt to obtain a prompt embedding with the method of Weisz and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 9, 13 and 19, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 2 and 6 apply herein.
Claim 16, Weisz discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the base image generation model is a generative model (Para 70).
Weisz fails to disclose wherein: the base image generation model comprises a diffusion model, which He discloses (i.e. diffusion model 1000 is an example of, or includes aspects of, the image generation model – Para 135; Diffusion models are a class of generative neural networks that can be trained to generate new data with features similar to features found in training data- Para 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine He’s known method wherein a base image generation model comprises a diffusion model with the method of Weisz because generative models are used in generating images, where a diffusion model is exemplary of a generative model. Thus, the combination yields predictable results.
Claim 17, Weisz discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the base image generation model is a generative model (Para 70).
Weisz fails to disclose wherein: the auxiliary image generation model comprises a diffusion model, which He discloses (i.e. diffusion model 1000 is an example of, or includes aspects of, the image generation model – Para 135; Diffusion models are a class of generative neural networks that can be trained to generate new data with features similar to features found in training data- Para 136).
Similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 16 applies herein.
Conclusion
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615