DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 requires “the stimulation signals are delivered to the recipient of via an electrode array”. There appears to be at least one word missing between “recipient of” and “via”.
Claim 9 requires “where the perceptual information is”. This should be changed to “wherein the perceptual information is”.
Claim 17 requires “wherein signal processor unit”. There is a missing “the” before “signal processor unit”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schleich et al (U.S. 9,180,295). Schleich discloses (Fig. 1) at a hearing device (col. 5, line 12-col. 7, line 13), obtaining at least one audio signal comprising multiple acoustic parameters, wherein the hearing device includes a memory unit storing a plurality of multidimensional perceptual models, and wherein each multidimensional perceptual model includes perceptual information as a function of coding parameter groups; retrieving a selected multidimensional perceptual model of the plurality of multidimensional perceptual models from the memory unit; using the selected multidimensional perceptual model to convert the at least one audio signal into one or more processed signals such that at least one piece of perceptual information is encoded as function of the coding parameter groups in the selected multidimensional perceptual model; and generating, using the one or more processed signals, stimulation signals for delivery to a recipient of the hearing device.
Regarding claim 2, Schleich discloses (col. 5, lines 20-34) the selected multidimensional perceptual model is selected based on perceptual information of interest determined for a given time period, and wherein the perceptual information of interest varies with respect to one or more of the multiple acoustic parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Schleich discloses (col. 4, line 56-col. 5, line 3) determining the perceptual information of interest for a given time period based on a sound coding strategy selected for use by the hearing device.
Regarding claim 4, Schleich discloses (col. 4, line 56-col. 5, line 3) determining the perceptual information of interest for a given time period based on an acoustic environment of the hearing device.
Regarding claim 5, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) selecting a sequence of coding parameter groups of the selected multidimensional perceptual model, processing the at least one audio signal into a plurality of band limited audio signals; mapping each coding parameter group of the sequence of coding parameter groups to one of the plurality of band limited audio signals based on an acoustic parameter of the multiple acoustic parameters to generate a plurality of mapped signals, and coding the plurality of mapped signals into a plurality of stimulation pulses for delivery to the recipient via a plurality of electrodes.
Regarding claim 6, Schleich discloses (col. 6, line 66-col. 7, line 13) the selected sequence of coding parameter groups fulfils at least one objective criterion while adhering to at least one constraint criterion.
Regarding claim 7, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) the at least one objective criterion is determined based on the perceptual information of interest, and wherein the at least one objective criterion is at least a maximized range and/or resolution of pitch of the recipient.
Regarding claim 8, Schleich discloses (Abstract) the stimulation signals are delivered to the recipient of [sic] via an electrode array comprising a plurality of electrodes.
Regarding claim 9, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) the perceptual information is at least pitch.
Regarding claim 10, Schleich discloses at least (col. 6, lines 32-65) each of the plurality of multidimensional perceptual models is customized for the recipient via a fitting procedure.
Regarding claim 11, Schleich discloses (col. 5, lines 20-49) a coding parameter of a coding parameter group is at least a pulse amplitude.
Regarding claim 12, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) a coding parameter of a coding parameter group is at least an interaural level difference.
Regarding claim 13, Schleich discloses (Fig. 1) one or more microphones configured to (col. 5, line 12-col. 7, line 13) generate at least one audio signal comprising multiple acoustic parameters; a memory unit storing a plurality of multidimensional perceptual models, wherein each multidimensional perceptual model includes perceptual information as a function of coding parameter groups; a signal processor unit configured to: retrieve a selected multidimensional perceptual model of the plurality of multidimensional perceptual models from the memory unit, and use the selected multidimensional perceptual model to convert the at least one audio signal into one or more processed signals such that at least one piece of perceptual information is encoded as function of the coding parameter groups in the selected multidimensional perceptual model; and a coding unit configured to generate, using the one or more processed signals, stimulation signals for delivery to a recipient of the hearing device.
Regarding claim 14, Schleich discloses (col. 5, lines 20-34) the selected multidimensional perceptual model is selected based on perceptual information of interest determined for a given time period, and wherein the perceptual information of interest varies with respect to one or more of the multiple acoustic parameters.
Regarding claim 15, Schleich discloses (col. 4, line 56-col. 5, line 3) the signal processor unit is configured to determine the perceptual information of interest for a given time period based on a sound coding strategy selected for use by the hearing device.
Regarding claim 16, Schleich discloses (col. 4, line 56-col. 5, line 3) the signal processor unit is configured to determine the perceptual information of interest for a given time period based on an acoustic environment of the hearing device.
Regarding claim 17, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) signal processor unit is configured to: select a sequence of coding parameter groups of the selected multidimensional perceptual model; process the at least one audio signal into a plurality of band limited audio signals; and map each coding parameter group of the sequence of coding parameter groups to one of the plurality of band limited audio signals based on an acoustic parameter of the multiple acoustic parameters to generate a plurality of mapped signals; wherein the coding unit is configured to code the plurality of mapped signals into a plurality of stimulation pulses for delivery to the recipient via a plurality of electrodes.
Regarding claim 18, Schleich discloses (col. 6, line 66-col. 7, line 13) the selected sequence of coding parameter groups fulfils at least one objective criterion while adhering to at least one constraint criterion.
Regarding claim 19, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) the at least one objective criterion is determined based on the perceptual information of interest, and wherein the at least one objective criterion is at least a maximized range and/or resolution of pitch of the recipient.
Regarding claim 20, Schleich discloses (col. 6, lines 32-65) the perceptual information is at least pitch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 2012/0130449 to Carlyon et al, as provided by the Applicant.
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792