DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coolant system claimed in at least claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because the claim form and arrangement does not comply with the form and arrangement guidelines as set out in MPEP 608.01(n) III-IV, wherein a dependent claim should first declare the preceding claim from which it depends, then continuing to specify a further limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
For example, to overcome the Objection, the claim may be rewritten in a similar form as follows:
“The refrigerant system according to claim 1, further comprising the distribution module:…”
Claim 8 is objected to because the claim form and arrangement does not comply with the form and arrangement guidelines as set out in MPEP 608.01(n) III-IV, wherein a dependent claim should first declare the preceding claim from which it depends, then continuing to specify a further limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
For example, to overcome the Objection, the claim may be rewritten in a similar form as follows:
“The refrigerant system according to claim 1, disposed within a thermal management system for an electric vehicle, the thermal management system further comprising:…”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First module part in at least claim 1
Second module part in at least claim 1
Coolant system in at least claim 8
A review of the specification show that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
A first module part appears to be described as comprising of refrigerant lines and a multi-way valve in at least ¶ 00032-00035 of the specification.
A second module part appears to be described as comprising of refrigerant lines, an internal heat exchanger and expansion valves in at least ¶ 00032-00035 of the specification.
A coolant system appears to be described as a system for circulating a liquid coolant between at least the second condenser or the chiller in the refrigerant system in at least ¶ 0027-0029 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the recitation of “A distribution module…” renders the claims unclear. Specifically, independent claim 1 has already disclosed “a distribution module”. Therefore, it is unclear if the new instance of the terms are referring to the previously disclosed elements, or if they are entirely new elements. Applicant should either fix antecedent basis issues for clarity, or Applicant should further name the elements to meet the minimum requirements for clarity and precision. Accordingly, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation(s) will be interpreted as – the distribution module –
Regarding Claim 3, the recitation of “…a refrigerant system…” renders the claims unclear. Specifically, independent claim 1 has already disclosed “a refrigerant system”. Therefore, it is unclear if the new instance of the terms are referring to the previously disclosed elements, or if they are entirely new elements. Applicant should either fix antecedent basis issues for clarity, or Applicant should further name the elements to meet the minimum requirements for clarity and precision. Accordingly, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation(s) will be interpreted as – the refrigerant system –
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the multiway valve" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 114161904 A, hereafter “Hu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu teaches a refrigerant system [Figs. 1-4] for an electric vehicle [¶ 0002], the system comprising:
a compressor [210]; at least one condenser [220, 260];
at least one expansion device [140];
an evaporator [230, 270], the compressor, the at least one condenser, the at least one expansion device, and the evaporator interact in the manner of a heat pump when the refrigerant system is in an operating state [¶ 0026-0027; Fig. 4 discloses the air conditioning system while Figs. 1-3 disclose the integrated heat pump module 100 configured to connect the plurality of disclosed refrigerant components];
a distribution module [100] to fluidically connect the compressor, the at least one condenser, the at least one expansion device, and the evaporator and to distribute a refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant system [¶ 0030-0032; air conditioning system 200 connects the heat pump components via integrated module 100; also see Fig. 4 apparent from inspection],
wherein the distribution module has a first module part [110; high temperature side] arranged fluidically between a compressor outlet of the compressor [¶ 0026-0032; Figs. 1-3; the module 100 may be formed from a plurality of substrates 110 (at least 2), wherein the substrates are generally considered to be a cooling “high temperature side” or a cooling “low temperature side”; thus, the side receiving hot compressed refrigerant from the compressor may be the high temperature side] and a condenser inlet of the at least one condenser [Fig. 4; apparent from inspection refrigerant flows into 220 from 100] and has a second module part [110; low temperature side] arranged fluidically between a condenser outlet of the at least one condenser and a compressor inlet of the compressor [¶ 0031; Figs. 1-4; ports 111 are provide on the substrates 110 to connect the module 100 to the aforementioned refrigerating components, wherein the refrigerant path is a closed loop and thus returns to the compressor, the side receiving cooled and condenser refrigerant from the condenser may be the low temperature side], and
wherein the first module part is substantially thermally insulated from the second module part via at least one insulating part [130] of the distribution module [Figs. 1-3; ¶ 0026, 0038; the hot temperature side and low temperature sides 110 are disposed on either side of the module 100 and are separated by a gap layer 130, the gap configured to reduce the occurrence of heat transfer (i.e. insulate)].
Regarding Claim 2, Hu teaches the refrigerant system according to claim 1 above and Hu teaches wherein the first module part, the at least one insulating part, and the second module part are connected to produce an assembly forming the distribution module [Figs.1-3; ¶ 0023, 0027-0028; the components form the heat pump integrated module 100], wherein this connection is accomplished by one of the compressor, the at least one condenser, the at least one expansion device, or the evaporator of the refrigerant system or wherein this component is designed as one of the at least one condensers [Fig. 4; ¶ 0027-0028; system 100 comprises connections to at least the compressor 210, condenser 220, evaporator 230 and expansion valve 140 to form the automobile air conditioning system 200].
Regarding Claim 3, Hu teaches a distribution module [100] for a refrigerant system according to claim 1 above [Figs. 1-4] and Hu teaches wherein the first module part, the at least one insulating part, and the second module part are designed such that the first module part, the at least one insulating part, and the second module part are connected to one another to produce an assembly forming the distribution module [Figs. 1-3; apparent from inspection substrates 110 are formed on the top and bottom of the device, with gap layer 130 disposed between said substrates to form the integrated module 100].
Regarding Claim 4, Hu teaches the distribution module according to claim 3 above and Hu teaches wherein at least one valve of the distribution module [150] or a valve of the distribution module designed as a single multiway valve [this limitation is listed in the alternative and not considered due to the presence of the former in the prior art], is arranged in the first module part [¶ 0032; Figs. 1 and 4; module 100 may comprise a plurality of stop valves 150 disposed upstream of the condenser and downstream of the compressor in the high temperature side].
Regarding Claim 5, Hu teaches the distribution module according to claim 3 above and Hu teaches wherein an internal heat exchanger [250] is arranged in the second module part [Fig. 4; ¶ 0033; coaxial pipe 250, disposed downstream of the condenser, may be a heat exchanger], wherein the internal heat exchanger is designed and arranged such that a heat exchange between a refrigerant line arranged fluidically upstream of the evaporator and a refrigerant line arranged fluidically downstream of the evaporator is made possible by the internal heat exchanger [Fig. 4; ¶ 0033; refrigerant flow to 250 from condenser 220 before flow to evaporator 230, wherein refrigerant from evaporator 230 flows back towards 250 to exchange heat with refrigerant before flowing back to the compressor 210].
Regarding Claim 6, Hu teaches the distribution module according to claim 3 above and Hu teaches wherein at least one of the at least one expansion devices, or an expansion device designed as an expansion valve, is arranged in the second module part [Fig. 4; ¶ 0032-0033; expansion valve 140 is disposed downstream of the condenser in the low temperature side, upstream of the evaporator].
Regarding Claim 7, Hu teaches the distribution module according to claim 3 above and Hu teaches wherein at least one of the at least one insulating parts has an opening for through-passage of a refrigerant line of the distribution module [Figs. 1-3; ¶ 0026, 0028; module 100 comprises a plurality of connectors 120, wherein the connectors are configured to connect the plurality of substrate layers 110 across the gap 130, therefore providing through-sections of the insulating portion for the sections to communicate], or wherein the refrigerant line is fluidically connected to the multiway valve, or wherein the refrigerant line is fluidically connected to a refrigerant line of the distribution module that is fluidically connected to the compressor inlet of the compressor [these limitations are listed in the alternative and not considered due to the presence of the first limitation in the prior art].
Regarding Claim 8, Hu teaches a thermal management system [Figs. 1-4] for an electric vehicle [¶ 0002], comprising:
a refrigerant system for circulation of a refrigerant [¶ 0004; Fig. 4; system 200 comprises at least a compressor, condenser 220, evaporator 230 and connection module 100]; and
a coolant system [not shown] for circulation of a liquid coolant [water] that is connectable in a heat-transmitting manner to the refrigerant system according to claim 1 [¶ 0033; Fig. 4; Hu discloses that condenser 260 is a water-cooled condenser, and therefore necessarily providing communication between the refrigerant circuit (100) and a water coolant circuit (connected to water-cooled condenser 260)].
Regarding Claim 9, Hu teaches the thermal management system according to claim 8 above and Hu teaches wherein one of the at least one condensers is a liquid-cooled condenser and is fluidically connected to the coolant system [¶ 0033; at least condenser 260 is a water-cooled condenser and is therefore commonsensically connected to a coolant system].
Regarding Claim 10, Hu teaches the thermal management system according to claim 8 above and Hu teaches wherein the distribution module is fluidically connected to a chiller [270] of the thermal management system [¶ 0033; Fig. 4; apparent from inspection chiller 270 is disposed within 200], and wherein the chiller makes possible a heat exchange between the refrigerant system and the coolant system [¶ 0033; Fig. 4; chiller 270 is configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant being received from expansion valve 140 and a cooling liquid in a battery cooling circuit].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koberstein et al. (US 20210086587 A1) discloses an integrated heat pump bundled module mounting manifold for a vehicle, comprising a plurality of sections configured to flow refrigerant therebetween using internal valves, the sections provided with connections to a plurality of refrigerant circuit components outside the bundled module.
/LARRY L FURDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763