DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,013 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are directed to the same procedure of configuration and activation of combined CA and DC duplication for a PDCP entity served by at least two RLC entities with the only difference being that the instant application is claimed from the perspective of the base station and the conflicting Patent is claimed from the perspective of the UE. Below is a table showing the correspondence between instant Claims 1-12 and Claims 1-12 of the conflicting Patent, with differences underlined.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/958,574)
Conflicting Patent
(US 12,192,013 B2)
Claim No.
1
A method for wireless communication performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising:
A method for wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
7
sending, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration for a PDCP entity,
receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration for a PDCP entity,
the PDCP entity configured for being associated with more than two Radio Link Control (RLC) entities for Combine-Duplication,
the PDCP entity configured for being associated with more than two Radio Link Control (RLC) entities for Combine-Duplication,
the Combine-Duplication comprising a combination of Carrier Aggregation Duplication (CA-Duplication) and Dual Connectivity Duplication (DC-Duplication) for the PDCP entity,
a combination of Carrier Aggregation Duplication (CA-Duplication) and Dual Connectivity Duplication (DC-Duplication) for the PDCP entity,
wherein at least two RLC entities among the more than two RLC entities are associated with one of a master MAC entity (M-MAC) for a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a secondary MAC entity (S-MAC) for a Secondary Cell Group (SCG); and
wherein at least two RLC entities among the more than two RLC entities are associated with one of a master MAC entity (M-MAC) for a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a secondary MAC entity (S-MAC) for a Secondary Cell Group (SCG);
sending, to the UE, activation of a PDCP Combine-Duplication.
receiving, from the BS, activation of a PDCP Combine-Duplication;
activate the Combine-Duplication for the PDCP entity; and
submitting the PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) to a set of activated RLC bearers among a plurality of RLC bearers associated with the more than two RLC entities.
2
The method of claim 1, wherein the RRC message is one of a RRC Reconfiguration message, a RRC Resume message, a RRC Reestablishment message, a RRC Setup message, and a downlink (DL) unicast RRC message.
The method of claim 7, wherein the RRC message is one of a RRC Reconfiguration message, a RRC Resume message, a RRC Reestablishment message, a RRC Setup message, and a downlink (DL) unicast RRC message.
8
3
The method of claim 1, wherein sending the activation of the PDCP Combine- Duplication comprises transmitting one of RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to the UE.
The method of claim 7, wherein the PDCP Combine-Duplication is activated by one of RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).
9
4
The method of claim 1, wherein each of a plurality of RLC bearers associated with a respective one of the more than two RLC entities is one of activated and deactivated, independently of others of the plurality of RLC bearers.
The method of claim 7, wherein each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated, independently of others of the plurality of RLC bearers.
10
5
The method of claim 4, wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated dependent on the PDCP Combine-Duplication being activated.
The method of claim 10, wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated done only when PDCP Combine-Duplication is activated.
11
6
The method of claim 4, wherein each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated by the BS.
The method of claim 10, wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated by the BS.
12
7
A base station (BS) comprising:
A user equipment (UE) comprising:
1
a transceiver; one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, the at least one processor configured to execute the computer- executable instructions, and the computer-executable instructions causing the BS to:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein; and
at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, the at least one processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration for a PDCP entity,
receive, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration for a PDCP entity,
the PDCP entity configured for being associated with more than two Radio Link Control (RLC) entities for Combine-Duplication,
the PDCP entity configured for being associated with more than two Radio Link Control (RLC) entities for Combine-Duplication,
the Combine-Duplication comprising a combination of Carrier Aggregation Duplication (CA-Duplication) and Dual Connectivity Duplication (DC-Duplication) for the PDCP entity,
a combination of Carrier Aggregation Duplication (CA-Duplication) and Dual Connectivity Duplication (DC-Duplication) for the PDCP entity,
wherein at least two RLC entities among the more than two RLC entities are associated with one of a master MAC entity (M-MAC) for a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a secondary MAC entity (S-MAC) for a Secondary Cell Group (SCG); and
wherein at least two RLC entities among the more than two RLC entities are associated with one of a master MAC entity (M-MAC) for a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a secondary MAC entity (S-MAC) for a Secondary Cell Group (SCG);
send, to the UE via the transceiver, activation of a PDCP Combine-Duplication.
receive, from the BS, activation of a PDCP Combine-Duplication;
activate the Combine-Duplication for the PDCP entity; and
submit a PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) to a set of activated RLC bearers among a plurality of RLC bearers associated with the more than two RLC entities.
8
The BS of claim 7, wherein the RRC message is one of a RRC Reconfiguration message, a RRC Resume message, a RRC Reestablishment message, a RRC Setup message, and a downlink (DL) unicast RRC message.
The UE of claim 1, wherein the RRC message is one of a RRC Reconfiguration message, a RRC Resume message, a RRC Reestablishment message, a RRC Setup message, and a downlink (DL) unicast RRC message.
2
9
The BS of claim 7, wherein when sending the activation of the PDCP Combine- Duplication, the computer-executable instructions cause the BS to transmit one of RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to the UE.
The method of claim 1, wherein the PDCP Combine-Duplication is activated by one of RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).
3
10
The BS of claim 7, wherein each of a plurality of RLC bearers associated with a respective one of the more than two RLC entities is one of activated and deactivated, independently of others of the plurality of RLC bearers.
The UE of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated, independently of others of the plurality of RLC bearers.
4
11
The BS of claim 10, wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated dependent on the PDCP Combine-Duplication being activated.
The UE of claim 4, wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated done only when PDCP Combine-Duplication is activated.
5
12
The BS of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated by the BS.
The UE of claim 4, wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated by the BS.
6
As indicated above, the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the conflicting Patent and is covered by the conflicting Patent. The instant application and the conflicting Patent are claiming common subject matter, and the difference in limitation(s) are merely differences in wording. Therefore, Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting in light of the conflicting Patent Claims 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei (US 2020/0252330 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wei teaches the below limitation(s):
A method for wireless communication performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising:
sending, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration for a PDCP entity (Wei [0006] UE receives, from a base station through RRC signaling, a configuration for a PDCP entity, the configuration indicating an association between the PDCP entity and a plurality of RLC entities and comprises duplication configuration),
the PDCP entity configured for being associated with more than two Radio Link Control (RLC) entities for Combine-Duplication (Fig 1 PDCP 110 (PDCP entity) associated with primary RLC and secondary RLC (two or more RLC entities) associated with DC-Duplication and CA-Duplication; see also Fig 2),
the Combine-Duplication comprising a combination of Carrier Aggregation Duplication (CA-Duplication) and Dual Connectivity Duplication (DC-Duplication) for the PDCP entity (Fig 1 DC-Duplication 101 and CA-Duplication 102; Fig 2 and associated [0054] illustrates a PDCP duplication mechanism using a combined-duplication approach; [0052] rather than limiting the PDCP duplication mechanism to be either a CA-Duplication or a DC-Duplication, the frequency diversity and spatial diversity may be jointly utilized in a more flexible manner by combining the CA and DC mechanisms and [0053] combined-duplication mechanisms which combines CA and DC duplication mechanisms),
wherein at least two RLC entities among the more than two RLC entities are associated with one of a master MAC entity (M-MAC) for a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a secondary MAC entity (S-MAC) for a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) (Fig 1 wherein RLC entities 115 and 120 are respectively associated with M-MAC 125 and S-MAC 130); and
sending, to the UE, activation of a PDCP Combine-Duplication ([0059] teaches exemplary procedures including activation/deactivation of the PDCP duplication with the PDCP entity).
Regarding Claim 2, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the RRC message is one of a RRC Reconfiguration message, a RRC Resume message, a RRC Reestablishment message, a RRC Setup message, and a downlink (DL) unicast RRC message (Wei [0055] downlink RRC message may include RRCReconfiguration, RRCResume, RRCReestablishment, RRCSetup, or any other downlink unicast RRC message that contain the required PDCP duplication configuration).
Regarding Claim 3, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein sending the activation of the PDCP Combine- Duplication comprises transmitting one of RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to the UE (Wei [0106] PDCP entity may submit the PDCP PDU to the RLC entities indicated by base station via downlink MAC control element (CE); see also Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein each of a plurality of RLC bearers associated with a respective one of the more than two RLC entities is one of activated and deactivated, independently of others of the plurality of RLC bearers (Wei [0051] RLC bearers may be configured as a primary path for the PDCP PDU transmission and the other as a secondary transmission path … configurations of the primary transmission path and the MCG/SCG may be independently made by a base station, which examiner is interpreting as independent configurations (i.e. activation) for each of the two RLC bearers configured as paths).
Regarding Claim 5, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 4.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated dependent on the PDCP Combine-Duplication being activated (Wei [0053] once a PDCP entity is configured with the combined-duplication, three or more RLC bearers may be configured to associate with the PDCP entity, which examiner is interpreting as activation of RLC bearers based on activation of PDCP combine-duplication).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 4.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated by the BS (Wei [0057] base station may configure RLC bearers to be associated with the PDCP entity).
Regarding Claim 7, Wei teaches the below limitation(s):
A base station (BS) comprising:
a transceiver; one or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing computer-executable instructions embodied therein; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (Wei Fig 10 transceiver 120, processor 1026 and memory 1028), the at least one processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions, and the computer-executable instructions causing the BS to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration for a PDCP entity ([0006] UE receives, from a base station through RRC signaling, a configuration for a PDCP entity, the configuration indicating an association between the PDCP entity and a plurality of RLC entities and comprises duplication configuration),
the PDCP entity configured for being associated with more than two Radio Link Control (RLC) entities for Combine-Duplication (Fig 1 PDCP 110 (PDCP entity) associated with primary RLC and secondary RLC (two or more RLC entities) associated with DC-Duplication and CA-Duplication; see also Fig 2),
the Combine-Duplication comprising a combination of Carrier Aggregation Duplication (CA-Duplication) and Dual Connectivity Duplication (DC-Duplication) for the PDCP entity (Fig 1 DC-Duplication 101 and CA-Duplication 102; Fig 2 and associated [0054] illustrates a PDCP duplication mechanism using a combined-duplication approach; [0052] rather than limiting the PDCP duplication mechanism to be either a CA-Duplication or a DC-Duplication, the frequency diversity and spatial diversity may be jointly utilized in a more flexible manner by combining the CA and DC mechanisms and [0053] combined-duplication mechanisms which combines CA and DC duplication mechanisms),
wherein at least two RLC entities among the more than two RLC entities are associated with one of a master MAC entity (M-MAC) for a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a secondary MAC entity (S-MAC) for a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) (Fig 1 wherein RLC entities 115 and 120 are respectively associated with M-MAC 125 and S-MAC 130); and
send, to the UE via the transceiver, activation of a PDCP Combine-Duplication ([0059] teaches exemplary procedures including activation/deactivation of the PDCP duplication with the PDCP entity).
Regarding Claim 8, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 7.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the RRC message is one of a RRC Reconfiguration message, a RRC Resume message, a RRC Reestablishment message, a RRC Setup message, and a downlink (DL) unicast RRC message (Wei [0055] downlink RRC message may include RRCReconfiguration, RRCResume, RRCReestablishment, RRCSetup, or any other downlink unicast RRC message that contain the required PDCP duplication configuration).
Regarding Claim 9, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 7.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein sending the activation of the PDCP Combine- Duplication comprises transmitting one of RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) to the UE (Wei [0106] PDCP entity may submit the PDCP PDU to the RLC entities indicated by base station via downlink MAC control element (CE); see also Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 7.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein each of a plurality of RLC bearers associated with a respective one of the more than two RLC entities is one of activated and deactivated, independently of others of the plurality of RLC bearers (Wei [0051] RLC bearers may be configured as a primary path for the PDCP PDU transmission and the other as a secondary transmission path … configurations of the primary transmission path and the MCG/SCG may be independently made by a base station, which examiner is interpreting as independent configurations (i.e. activation) for each of the two RLC bearers configured as paths).
Regarding Claim 11, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 10.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated dependent on the PDCP Combine-Duplication being activated (Wei [0053] once a PDCP entity is configured with the combined-duplication, three or more RLC bearers may be configured to associate with the PDCP entity, which examiner is interpreting as activation of RLC bearers based on activation of PDCP combine-duplication).
Regarding Claim 12, Wei teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 10.
Wei further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein each of the plurality of RLC bearers is one of activated and deactivated by the BS (Wei [0057] base station may configure RLC bearers to be associated with the PDCP entity).
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412