DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 and 02/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “the first portion of the topography imitating layer is at least adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate”. The meaning of “at least adjacent” is not clear. Does it mean the first portion of the topography imitating layer may not be adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate, and having a distance therebetween? Or does it mean the first portion of the topography imitating layer may be adjacent to another edge of the first substrate? Thereby as being indefinite, claim 1 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted "the first portion of the topography imitating layer is at least adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate" to be "the first portion of the topography imitating layer is adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate".
Claims 2-12 are rejected because they depend upon claim 1; they are likewise rejected under the same rationale as that set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13 recites the limitation, “the first portion of the topography imitating layer is at least adjacent to a first edge of the substrate”. The meaning of “at least adjacent” is not clear. Does it mean the first portion of the topography imitating layer may not be adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate, and having a distance therebetween? Or does it mean the first portion of the topography imitating layer may be adjacent to another edge of the first substrate? Thereby as being indefinite, claim 13 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted "the first portion of the topography imitating layer is at least adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate" to be "the first portion of the topography imitating layer is adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate".
Claims 14-15 are rejected because they depend upon claim 13; they are likewise rejected under the same rationale as that set forth above with respect to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20250041336 A; US 20250098469 as the equivalent English translation document, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Su et al. (US 20150124199, hereinafter “Su”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel (Figs. 17-21; Paras. [0027]-[0029]), comprising:
a first substrate (101), having a first display area (AA1) and a second display area (AA2), wherein a plurality of light-emitting diodes (OD in AA1; Para. [0108]) are disposed in the second display area, and the second display area surrounds the first display area (see Fig. 17);
a second substrate (170), located on the first substrate;
a topography imitating layer (OD in AA2), located between the first substrate and the second substrate (see Fig. 21) and having a first portion (a portion of OD in AA2 located on the upper side of AA1 in Fig. 17), wherein the first portion of the topography imitating layer is located in the second display area, and a height of the topography imitating layer is substantially the same as a height of the light-emitting diodes (see Fig. 21), and the first portion of the topography imitating layer is adjacent to a first edge of the first substrate (see 112(b) rejections above) (the first portion of ODs in AA2 disposed between an upper edge of 101 and AA1);
a sealing glue layer (160; regarding “glue”, the examiner 160 is used to join OD and CF; Paras. [0139]-[0141]), covering the topography imitating layer and the light-emitting diodes (Fig. 21).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a liquid crystal layer, located between the first substrate and the second substrate and surrounded by the topography imitating layer and the light-emitting diodes.
However, Su teaches providing a liquid crystal layer with light-emitting diodes, located between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 1; 130 and 230 provided between 210 and 120; Paras. [0024]-[0025]).
Because Kim teaches the display panel of Kim can be any one of all types of display device having a light emitting diode (Para. [0046]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Kim with the teachings of Su, to have a liquid crystal layer, located between the first substrate and the second substrate and surrounded by the topography imitating layer and the light-emitting diodes, for the purpose of realizing one of known display device including a PDLC and an OLED which exhibits very high transmittance (Su: Para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the topography imitating layer comprises a plurality of blocks, and a shape of each of the blocks is the same as that of one of the light-emitting diodes (see each block of OD in AA1 and AA2).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and Kim further discloses an optical barrier layer (143; Para. [0114]), located between the blocks of the topography imitating layer.
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 3 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the optical barrier layer is located between the light-emitting diodes (Figs. 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the topography imitating layer comprises a plurality of blocks (see Figs. 17 and 21), and a shape of an outer contour of each of the blocks is the same as that of an outer contour of a pixel defined by three of the light-emitting diodes (see Fig. 21; regarding “a pixel defined by three of the light-emitting diodes”, see Para. [0052] teaching a subpixel SP comprises SPr, SPg and SPb).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the topography imitating layer comprises a plurality of blocks (see Figs. 17 and 21), and a shape of an outer contour of each of the blocks is the same as that of an outer contour of two adjacent pixels defined by a partial number of the light-emitting diodes (Figs. 17 and 21; see two adjacent pixels in AA1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the second display area of the first substrate has a third edge relative to the first edge (the edge on AA2 located relative to the first edge in Fig. 17), and the topography imitating layer further comprises a second portion adjacent to the third edge (choose a portion of OD in AA2 disposed below the lower side of AA1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the second display area of the first substrate has a second edge (choose the vertical left edge of AA1 on 101) and a fourth edge (choose the vertical right edge of AA1 on 101) adjacent to the first edge, and the topography imitating layer further comprises a third portion (a portion of OD in AA2 adjacent to the vertical left edge of AA1) adjacent to the second edge or the fourth edge, and the third portion of the topography imitating layer is adjacent to the first portion of the topography imitating layer (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the topography imitating layer further comprises a fourth portion (choose a portion of OD in AA1 adjacent to TC2 in Figs. 19 and 21) located in the first display area, and the fourth portion of the topography imitating layer is adjacent to the first portion of the topography imitating layer (Figs. 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the topography imitating layer surrounds the light-emitting diodes (Figs. 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a display panel (Figs. 17-21; Paras. [0027]-[0029]), comprising:
a substrate (101), having a first display area (AA1) and a second display area (AA2), wherein a plurality of light-emitting diodes (OD in AA1; Para. [0108]) are disposed in the second display area, and the second display area surrounds the first display area (see Fig. 17);
a topography imitating layer (OD in AA2), located on the substrate and having a first portion (a portion of OD in AA2 located on an upper side of AA1 in Fig. 17), wherein the first portion of the topography imitating layer is located in the second display area, and a height of the topography imitating layer is substantially the same as a height of the light-emitting diodes (see Fig. 21), and the first portion of the topography imitating layer is adjacent to a first edge of the substrate (see 112(b) rejections above) (the first portion of ODs in AA2 disposed between an upper edge of 101 and AA1);
a sealing glue layer (160; regarding “glue”, the examiner considers 160 is used to join OD and CF; Paras. [0139]-[0141]), covering the topography imitating layer and the light-emitting diodes (Fig. 21).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a liquid crystal layer, located on the substrate and surrounded by the topography imitating layer and the light-emitting diodes.
However, Su teaches providing a liquid crystal layer with light-emitting diodes, located on a substrate (Fig. 1; 130 and 230 provided on 210; Paras. [0024]-[0025]).
Because Kim teaches the display panel of Kim can be any one of all types of display device having a light emitting diode (Para. [0046]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Kim with the teachings of Su, to have a liquid crystal layer, located on the substrate and surrounded by the topography imitating layer and the light-emitting diodes, for the purpose of realizing one of known display device including a PDLC and an OLED which exhibits very high transmittance (Su: Para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 13 above, and Kim further discloses wherein the topography imitating layer comprises a plurality of blocks, and a shape of each of the blocks is the same as that of one of the light-emitting diodes (see each block of OD in AA1 and AA2).
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 14 above, and Kim further discloses an optical barrier layer (143; Para. [0114]), located between the blocks of the topography imitating layer.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Su, and in further view of Sun (US 20240160062).
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the first edge is adjacent to a bonding area.
However, Sun teaches providing a bonding area on an edge of a first substrate (Para. [0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Kim with the teachings of Sun, wherein the first edge is adjacent to a bonding area, for the purpose of realizing the boning between light emitting devices and a substrate (Sun: Para. [0047]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Su, and in further view of Han et al. (US 20180151649, hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Su discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the topography imitating layer comprises an ultra-high aperture, a photo spacer on array, a black matrix on array, or a combination thereof.
However, Han teaches using an ultra-high aperture ratio for an organic light emitting diode display (Para. [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Kim with the teachings of Han, wherein the topography imitating layer comprises an ultra-high aperture, a photo spacer on array, a black matrix on array, or a combination thereof, for the purpose of realizing the ultra-high density display (Han: Para. [0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Muramoto et al. (US 20230350243 A1) disclose a display device, comprising pixels in a first display area and dummy pixels in a second display area (Figs. 1-2).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871