DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘fastener,’ ‘connector,’ ‘receiver’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,639. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims do not require the strap to encircle the ring and a portion of the film.
Instant Application 18/958601
Corresponding Claims of US Patent 12,150,639
1. A tissue containment bag comprising: a ring having an inner periphery delimiting an open end, the ring being deformable from an uncompressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is unobstructed to a compressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is partially obstructed; a film connected to the ring to form an enclosure having an interior and a closed end, the interior of the enclosure being accessible through the open end delimited by the ring, the film and the interior of the enclosure being extendable to a deployed state in which a distalmost end of the film extends away from the ring from a confined state in which the film including the distalmost end is confined to a position adjacent to ring; and a strap comprising a fastener, the strap being connected to the ring, having a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state, and having an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state, the fastener comprising a connector and a receiver and configured to releasably attach the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state, releasing the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state.
1. A tissue containment bag comprising: a ring having an inner periphery delimiting an open end, the ring being deformable from an uncompressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is unobstructed to a compressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is partially obstructed; a film connected to the ring to form an enclosure having an interior and a closed end, the interior of the enclosure being accessible through the open end delimited by the ring, the film and the interior of the enclosure being extendable to a deployed state in which a distalmost end of the film extends away from the ring from a confined state in which the film including the distalmost end is confined to a position adjacent to ring; and a strap connected and encircling the ring and a portion of the film, with the strap being textured relative to a smooth outer surface of the film, the strap having a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state and the strap has an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from its compressed state and the film from its confined state.
3.The tissue containment bag of claim 1 wherein the strap comprises a fastener attachment to releasably attach the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state.
4. The tissue containment bag of claim 3 wherein the inner periphery of the ring has a diameter and the strap has a length greater than the diameter of the inner periphery of the ring.
5. The tissue containment bag of claim 4 wherein the strap has an outer surface and an inner surface and the fastener attachment comprises a connector and a receiver disposed on the inner surface of the strap, the connector being disposed near a first end of the strap and the receiver being disposed near a second end of the strap.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,639. The applications are commonly owned. This is an actual NSDP rejection. A terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(d) would be required to overcome the rejection. Claim 14 of US Patent No. 12,150,639 recites all the limitations of claim 12 except that it fails to disclose that “another end of the cord is attached to a tag”. However, Kessler et al. (US 2017/0224321A1, “Kessler”) teaches a containment bag (18; Fig. 1) including a cord (316; Fig. 59) that is attached to the ring (edge of the bag) at one end and attached to a tag (318) at the other end (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cord of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,639 with a tag, as taught by Kessler, to provide means for manipulating and grasping the cord.
Instant Application 18/958601
Corresponding Claims of US Patent 12,150,639
12. A tissue containment bag comprising: a ring having an inner periphery delimiting an open end, the ring being deformable from an uncompressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is unobstructed to a compressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is partially obstructed; a film connected to the ring to form an enclosure having an interior and a closed end, the interior of the enclosure being accessible through the open end delimited by the ring, the film and the interior of the enclosure being extendable to a deployed state in which a distalmost end of the film extends away from the ring from a confined state in which the film including the distalmost end is confined to a position adjacent to ring; and a strap comprising a fastener, the strap being connected to the ring, having a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state, and having an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state, the fastener comprising a connector and a receiver and configured to releasably attach the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state, releasing the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state.
A tissue containment bag comprising: a ring having an inner periphery delimiting an open end, the ring being deformable from an uncompressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is unobstructed to a compressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is partially obstructed; a film connected to the ring to form an enclosure having an interior and a closed end, the interior of the enclosure being accessible through the open end delimited by the ring, the film and the interior of the enclosure being extendable to a deployed state in which a distalmost end of the film extends away from the ring from a confined state in which the film including the distalmost end is confined to a position adjacent to ring; and a strap connected and encircling the ring and a portion of the film, with the strap being textured relative to a smooth outer surface of the film, the strap having a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state and the strap has an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from its compressed state and the film from its confined state.
3.The tissue containment bag of claim 1 wherein the strap comprises a fastener attachment to releasably attach the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state.
4. The tissue containment bag of claim 3 wherein the inner periphery of the ring has a diameter and the strap has a length greater than the diameter of the inner periphery of the ring.
5. The tissue containment bag of claim 4 wherein the strap has an outer surface and an inner surface and the fastener attachment comprises a connector and a receiver disposed on the inner surface of the strap, the connector being disposed near a first end of the strap and the receiver being disposed near a second end of the strap.
6. The tissue containment bag of claim 5 wherein the first end of the strap is connected to the ring and the second end of the strap is not connected to the ring.
8. The tissue containment bag of claim 6 further comprising a tab connected to the ring at a position opposite of the strap, the strap having a length longer than a length of the tab.
9. The tissue containment bag of claim 8 wherein the tab has a loop defining an opening through which the strap is threadable there through.
10. The tissue containment bag of claim 9 wherein, with the strap threaded through the loop, the ring is in a partially compressed state in which the open end delimited by the ring is obstructed, no longer unobstructed in its initial uncompressed state, and less obstructed than the ring in the compressed state.
14. The tissue containment bag of claim 10 further comprising a cord attached to the ring, the strap having a length shorter than a length of the cord.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US 2010/0219091A1) in view of Campbell (US 4,211,091)
Regarding claim 1, Turner discloses a tissue containment bag including a ring (130; Fig. 13) having an inner periphery delimiting an open end (102). The ring is deformable from an uncompressed state (Fig. 17) in which the open end delimited by the ring is unobstructed to a compressed state (Fig. 18; [0050]) in which the open end delimited by the ring is partially obstructed. A film [0009, 0044] is connected to the ring to form an enclosure having an interior and a closed end. The interior of the enclosure being accessible through the open end delimited by the ring. The film and the interior of the enclosure being extendable to a deployed state (Figs. 19-21) in which a distalmost end of the film extends away from the ring from a confined state (Fig. 18) in which the film including the distalmost end is confined to a position adjacent to ring. However, Turner does not disclose a strap including a fastener, the strap connected to the ring, having a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state, and having an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state, the fastener includes a connector and a receiver and is capable of releasably attaching the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state, releasing the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state.
In the same field of endeavor, foldable bags, Campbell teaches a foldable bag (10) including a ring around an opening and a film connected to the ring to form an enclosure (Fig. 5). A strap (44; C3:L33-35) is attached and affixed to the ring, the upper portion of the wall (28) of the bag. The strap includes a fastener including a connector (48; C3:L41-50) and a receiver (50; C3:L45-48). The strap has a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state (C3;L35-55).The strap having an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state (Fig. 5; C3:L30-68). The fastener is capable of releasably attaching the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state and releasing the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have provided the bag of Turner with a strap, as taught by Campbell, to provide means for releasably roll or fold the bag while carrying or transporting the bag.
The proposed modification is a predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions (KSR, 550 U.S. at 417). A POSITA designing a surgical containment bag that must be stored and deployed in a controlled manner would have found it obvious to add a releasable strap known to secure flexible bag material around an opening to stabilize the collapsed ring and folded film together, thereby controlling deployment and transport, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.”
Although Campbell relates to non-surgical foldable bags, it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of managing flexible bag material and securing an opening for transport and storage—problems shared with surgical containment bags. See MPEP § 2141.01(a).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Turner and Campbell discloses that the fastener releasably connects the strap to itself (C3;L35-55; Campbell).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Turner and Campbell discloses that the fastener is capable of being covered by the strap with the strap in the fastened state (Fig. 5, 7; Campbell).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner in view of Campbell, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hubbard et al. (US 4,872,599, “Hubbard”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Turner and Campbell does not disclose that the strap is made of laminated fabric. In the same field of endeavor, bags, Hubbard teaches straps that are formed of flexible, laminated fabric (abs, C2;L55-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the strap of the combination of Turner and Campbell with laminated fabric, as taught by Hubbard, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one material for another for the predictable result of providing a flexible strap to releasably secure folded or rolled bag material to stabilize components during transport or insertion into a procedure site.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner in view of Campbell, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fleming et al. (US 2012/0083795A1, “Fleming”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Turner and Campbell discloses that the film is monolithic [0052] but does not disclose that the film is impermeable. In the same field of endeavor, bags, Fleming teaches a retrieval bag formed of a film or sheet having an impermeable barrier [0040]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the material of the film of the combination of Turner and Campbell with an impermeable barrier, as taught by Fleming, to provide means for being impervious to penetration.
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler et al. (US 2017/0224321A1) in view of Campbell (US 4,211,091).
Regarding claim 1, Kessler discloses a tissue containment bag including a ring (314; Fig. 56; [0332, 0336]) having an inner periphery delimiting an open end. The ring is deformable from an uncompressed state [0332] in which the open end delimited by the ring is unobstructed to a compressed state [0332-0337] in which the open end delimited by the ring is partially obstructed. A film (310; [0337]) is connected to the ring to form an enclosure having an interior and a closed end. The interior of the enclosure being accessible through the open end delimited by the ring. The film and the interior of the enclosure being extendable to a deployed state (Figs. 59) in which a distalmost end of the film extends away from the ring from a confined state (Fig. 59) in which the film including the distalmost end is confined to a position adjacent to ring. However, Kessler does not disclose a strap including a fastener, the strap connected to the ring, having a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state, and having an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state, the fastener includes a connector and a receiver and is capable of releasably attaching the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state, releasing the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state.
In the same field of endeavor, foldable bags, Campbell teaches a foldable bag (10) including a ring around an opening and a film connected to the ring to form an enclosure (Fig. 5). A strap (44) is attached and affixed to the ring, the upper portion of the wall (28) of the bag. The strap includes a fastener including a connector (48) and a receiver (50). The strap has a fastened state in which the strap in the fastened state secures the ring in the compressed state and, simultaneously, the film in the confined state (C3;L35-55).The strap having an unfastened state in which the strap, simultaneously, releases the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state (Fig. 5). The fastener is capable of releasably attaching the strap from the fastened state to the unfastened state and releasing the ring from the compressed state and the film from the confined state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have provided the bag of Kessler with a strap, as taught by Campbell, to provide means for releasably roll or fold the bag while carrying or transporting the bag.
The proposed modification is a predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions (KSR, 550 U.S. at 417). A POSITA designing a surgical containment bag that must be stored and deployed in a controlled manner would have found it obvious to add a releasable strap known to secure flexible bag material around an opening to stabilize the collapsed ring and folded film together, thereby controlling deployment and transport, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.”
Although Campbell relates to non-surgical foldable bags, it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of managing flexible bag material and securing an opening for transport and storage—problems shared with surgical containment bags. See MPEP § 2141.01(a).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kessler and Campbell discloses that the fastener releasably connects the strap to itself (C3;L35-55; Campbell).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kessler and Campbell discloses that the fastener is capable of being covered by the strap with the strap in the fastened state (Fig. 5, 7; Campbell).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler in view of Campbell, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hubbard et al. (US 4,872,599, “Hubbard”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kessler and Campbell does not disclose that the strap is made of laminated fabric. In the same field of endeavor, bags, Hubbard teaches straps that are formed of flexible, laminated fabric (abs, C2;L55-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the strap of the combination of Kessler and Campbell with laminated fabric, as taught by Hubbard, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one material for another for the predictable result of providing a flexible strap to releasably secure folded or rolled bag material to stabilize components during transport or insertion into a procedure site.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler in view of Campbell, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fleming et al. (US 2012/0083795A1, “Fleming”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kessler and Campbell discloses that the film is monolithic [0337] but does not disclose that the film is impermeable. In the same field of endeavor, bags, Fleming teaches a retrieval bag formed of a film or sheet having an impermeable barrier [0040]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the material of the film of the combination of Kessler and Campbell with an impermeable barrier, as taught by Fleming, to provide means for being impervious to penetration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 8 and 14-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Duty (US 2005/0028910A1) and Shibley et al. (US 2013/0184536A1) discloses retrieval bags having means to be folded or rolled.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771