CTNF 18/958,638 CTNF 93391 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. [AltContent: rect] 07-34-01 Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in line 5, lines 7-8, line 9 and line 10. Claim 1 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Claims 2-11 depend, either directly or indirectly, from claim 1 and are therefore rejected due to their dependency. Regarding claims 2-3 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in lines 3-4 and lines 5-6 of claim 2, and line 2 of claim 3. Claim 1 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Regarding claims 8-9 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in line 2 of claim 8. Claim 1 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Claim 9 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 8. Regarding claim 11 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in line 2 of claim 11. Claim 1 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Claim 9 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 8. Regarding claim 12 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in line 5, line 7, line 9 and line 10. Claim 12 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Regarding claim 13 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in line 2 and line 3. Claim 12 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Regarding claim 14 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in line 4, line 7, line 8 and line 9. Claim 14 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Regarding claim 15 : there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation “ the nozzle ” in lines 4-5, line 7, line 8 and line 9. Claim 15 first introduces a plurality of nozzles in line 3, making it unclear as to which nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is being referenced by the recitation “ the nozzle ” and therefore this recitation renders the claim indefinite. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art [AltContent: rect]against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namba et al. (US 2022/0111655) in view of Nishikawa (US 2020/0101717) . As to claim 1 : Namba discloses the claimed liquid ejecting apparatus (i.e., liquid discharge apparatus 10 ) ( Namba at [0041], FIG. 2) comprising: an accommodation unit configured to accommodate an ejection liquid (i.e., liquid container 12 containing the liquid ) ( Namba at [0041], [0042], FIG. 2); an ejection unit including a plurality of nozzles ejecting the ejection liquid (i.e., liquid discharge portion 11 including a common liquid chamber 56 and a module board 57, the common liquid chamber 56 is a liwuid chamber for supplying the discharge material 114 to a plurality of nozzles provided in the module board; and each of the plurality of nozzles includes a supply port 21 ) ( Namba at [0041], [0050], [0051], [0052], FIG. 2); and a circulation unit configured to circulate the ejection liquid of an individual flow passage in the nozzle (i.e., circulation unit 40 ) ( Namba at [0041], [0045], FIG. 2, FIG. 3). Namba discloses utilizing a piezoelectric element 18, or energy generating elements 18, provided in each nozzle 54 ( Namba at [0052], [0053]); and a detection unit 90 for detecting information as to whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid, where the piezoelectric element is deformed by application of a voltage and this deformation causes a change in pressure of the discharge material 114 in the nozzle 54, which allows the discharge material 114 to be discharged – when the energy generating element 18 is forcibly vibrated for discharge, a residual vibration is generated, and a counter electromotive force is generated due to the piezoelectric effect and the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force generated by this residual vibration, and since the counter electromotive force is generated for each energy generating element 18, in other words, for each nozzle 54, the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force for each nozzle 54 and determining, based on the detection result of the detection unit 90, whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid (i.e., at least one processor or circuit configured to function as a control unit configured to remove foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged by applying a foreign-matter drawing waveform to a piezoelectric element included in the nozzle ) ( Namba at [0059], [0060], [0061], [0062]). Though, Namba fails to explicitly disclose the claimed control unit configured to draw in and remove foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then cause the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharge the foreign matters from the individual flow passage. However, Nishikawa teaches a print head 2 having a nozzle face 20 and the nozzle face 20 being provided with a nozzle section 21 having a plurality of nozzles ( Nishikawa at [0035]). Nishikawa further teaches the printer 2 including a detection circuit 46 coupled to controller 100 and piezoelectric element 27, and detects an electronic signal output from the piezoelectric element 27 caused by the vibration of the piezoelectric element 27 under control of the controller 100, the controller 100 being capable of detecting whether a discharge failure occurs or not with each of the nozzles of the nozzle section 21 using the detection circuit – the discharge failure of the print head 2 referring to clogging of a nozzle of the nozzle section 21 ( Nishikawa at [0048]-[0055], [0069]-[0070]). Additionally, Nishikawa teaches maintenance controller 118 performing the maintenance of the print head 2 in accordance with the maintenance execution timing, the maintenance of the print head 2 includes flushing, cleaning, and wiping; wherein, cleaning is an operation to mount the cap on the nozzle face 20 by the cap movement mechanism 11 and to suck ink from the nozzle by the cap movement mechanism 11, such that the cleaning has an expected effect of removing foreign objects and air bubbles from the nozzle by compulsorily circulating ink in the nozzle ( Nishikawa at [0075]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the control unit configured draw in and remove foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then cause the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharge the foreign matters from the individual flow passage as such is known in the art of liquid ejecting devices given the discussion of Nishikawa above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of doing so enabling the efficient removal of foreign objects and air bubbles from a given nozzle. As to claim 2 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 1. Nishikawa further reads on the claimed wherein the at least one processor or circuit is further configured to function as a nozzle clogging detection unit configured to detect clogging of foreign matters in the nozzle, and wherein the control unit applies the foreign-matter drawing waveform to the nozzle for which the nozzle clogging detection unit detects the clogging of the foreign matters ( Nishikawa at [0053]-[0055], [0069], [0075]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1. As to claim 3 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 2. Nishikawa further reads on the claimed wherein the nozzle clogging detection unit detects the clogging of the foreign matters in the nozzle by measuring residual vibration in the individual flow passage by a counter electromotive force of the piezoelectric element ( Nishikawa at [0053]-[0055], [0069], [0075]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1. As to claim 8 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 1. Namba , modified by Nishikawa further reads on the claimed wherein the foreign matters in the nozzle are removed, and then bubbles in the accommodation unit are removed ( Namba at [0025]-[0036]; Nishikawa at [0075]). As to claim 9 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 9. Namba further reads on the claimed wherein the bubbles in the accommodation unit are removed via a separation membrane contacting with the ejection liquid ( Namba at [0025]-[0036], [0042], FIG. 2). As to claim 10 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 1. Namba further reads on the claimed wherein the accommodation unit includes a bubble vent valve for removing bubbles in the accommodation unit ( Namba at [0025]-[0036]). As to claim 11 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 1. Nishikawa further reads on the claimed wherein the control unit determines whether the clogging of the nozzle is eliminated after the foreign matters clogged inside the ejection port of the nozzle is drawn and removed ( Nishikawa at [0053]-[0055], [0069], [0075]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1. As to claim 12 : Namba discloses the claimed forming apparatus (i.e., imprint apparatus 101 ) ( Namba at [0025], FIG. 1) comprising: an accommodation unit configured to accommodate an ejection liquid (i.e., liquid container 12 containing the liquid ) ( Namba at [0041], [0042], FIG. 2); an ejection unit including a plurality of nozzles ejecting the ejection liquid (i.e., liquid discharge portion 11 including a common liquid chamber 56 and a module board 57, the common liquid chamber 56 is a liwuid chamber for supplying the discharge material 114 to a plurality of nozzles provided in the module board; and each of the plurality of nozzles includes a supply port 21 ) ( Namba at [0023]-[0024], [0041], [0050], [0051], [0052], FIG. 2); a circulation unit configured to circulate the ejection liquid of an individual flow passage in the nozzle (i.e., circulation unit 40 ) ( Namba at [0041], [0045], FIG. 2, FIG. 3); and a forming control unit (i.e., control unit 106 ) configured to perform a process of bringing a mold into contact with the ejection liquid on a substrate and forming the ejection liquid after the ejection unit ejects the ejection liquid to the substrate ( Namba at [0024], [0036], [0037], FIG. 1). Namba discloses utilizing a piezoelectric element 18, or energy generating elements 18, provided in each nozzle 54 ( Namba at [0052], [0053]); and a detection unit 90 for detecting information as to whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid, where the piezoelectric element is deformed by application of a voltage and this deformation causes a change in pressure of the discharge material 114 in the nozzle 54, which allows the discharge material 114 to be discharged – when the energy generating element 18 is forcibly vibrated for discharge, a residual vibration is generated, and a counter electromotive force is generated due to the piezoelectric effect and the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force generated by this residual vibration, and since the counter electromotive force is generated for each energy generating element 18, in other words, for each nozzle 54, the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force for each nozzle 54 and determining, based on the detection result of the detection unit 90, whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid (i.e., at least one processor or circuit configured to function as a control unit that removes foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged by applying a foreign-matter drawing waveform to a piezoelectric element included in the nozzle ) ( Namba at [0059], [0060], [0061], [0062]). Though, Namba fails to explicitly disclose the claimed control unit that draws in and remove foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then cause the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharge the foreign matters from the individual flow passage. However, Nishikawa teaches a print head 2 having a nozzle face 20 and the nozzle face 20 being provided with a nozzle section 21 having a plurality of nozzles ( Nishikawa at [0035]). Nishikawa further teaches the printer 2 including a detection circuit 46 coupled to controller 100 and piezoelectric element 27, and detects an electronic signal output from the piezoelectric element 27 caused by the vibration of the piezoelectric element 27 under control of the controller 100, the controller 100 being capable of detecting whether a discharge failure occurs or not with each of the nozzles of the nozzle section 21 using the detection circuit – the discharge failure of the print head 2 referring to clogging of a nozzle of the nozzle section 21 ( Nishikawa at [0048]-[0055], [0069]-[0070]). Additionally, Nishikawa teaches maintenance controller 118 performing the maintenance of the print head 2 in accordance with the maintenance execution timing, the maintenance of the print head 2 includes flushing, cleaning, and wiping; wherein, cleaning is an operation to mount the cap on the nozzle face 20 by the cap movement mechanism 11 and to suck ink from the nozzle by the cap movement mechanism 11, such that the cleaning has an expected effect of removing foreign objects and air bubbles from the nozzle by compulsorily circulating ink in the nozzle ( Nishikawa at [0075]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the control unit configured draw in and remove foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then cause the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharge the foreign matters from the individual flow passage as such is known in the art of liquid ejecting devices given the discussion of Nishikawa above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of doing so enabling the efficient removal of foreign objects and air bubbles from a given nozzle. As to claim 13 : Namba and Nishikawa disclose the liquid ejecting apparatus of claim 1. Namba , modified by Nishikawa further reads on the claimed wherein, when the foreign matters clogged inside the ejection port of the nozzle are drawn and removed and then it is determined that the clogging of the nozzle is eliminated, the forming control unit resumes the forming after exchange of the substrate with a new substrate ( Namba at [0024], [0036], [0037]; Nishikawa at [0053]-[0055], [0075]). As to claim 14 : Namba discloses the claimed control method of controlling a liquid ejection apparatus ( Namba at [0036], [0037]) including an accommodation unit that accommodates an ejection liquid (i.e., liquid container 12 containing the liquid ) ( Namba at [0041], [0042], FIG. 2), an ejection unit that includes a plurality of nozzles ejecting the ejection liquid (i.e., liquid discharge portion 11 including a common liquid chamber 56 and a module board 57, the common liquid chamber 56 is a liwuid chamber for supplying the discharge material 114 to a plurality of nozzles provided in the module board; and each of the plurality of nozzles includes a supply port 21 ) ( Namba at [0023]-[0024], [0041], [0050], [0051], [0052], FIG. 2), and a circulation unit that circulates the ejection liquid of an individual flow passage in the nozzle (i.e., circulation unit 40 ) ( Namba at [0041], [0045], FIG. 2, FIG. 3). Namba discloses utilizing a piezoelectric element 18, or energy generating elements 18, provided in each nozzle 54 ( Namba at [0052], [0053]); and a detection unit 90 for detecting information as to whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid, where the piezoelectric element is deformed by application of a voltage and this deformation causes a change in pressure of the discharge material 114 in the nozzle 54, which allows the discharge material 114 to be discharged – when the energy generating element 18 is forcibly vibrated for discharge, a residual vibration is generated, and a counter electromotive force is generated due to the piezoelectric effect and the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force generated by this residual vibration, and since the counter electromotive force is generated for each energy generating element 18, in other words, for each nozzle 54, the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force for each nozzle 54 and determining, based on the detection result of the detection unit 90, whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid (i.e., the method comprising: a control step of removing foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside by applying a foreign-matter drawing waveform to a piezoelectric element included in the nozzle ) ( Namba at [0059], [0060], [0061], [0062]). Though, Namba fails to explicitly disclose the claimed method comprising: a control step of drawing in and removing foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then causing the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharging the foreign matters from the individual flow passage. However, Nishikawa teaches a print head 2 having a nozzle face 20 and the nozzle face 20 being provided with a nozzle section 21 having a plurality of nozzles ( Nishikawa at [0035]). Nishikawa further teaches the printer 2 including a detection circuit 46 coupled to controller 100 and piezoelectric element 27, and detects an electronic signal output from the piezoelectric element 27 caused by the vibration of the piezoelectric element 27 under control of the controller 100, the controller 100 being capable of detecting whether a discharge failure occurs or not with each of the nozzles of the nozzle section 21 using the detection circuit – the discharge failure of the print head 2 referring to clogging of a nozzle of the nozzle section 21 ( Nishikawa at [0048]-[0055], [0069]-[0070]). Additionally, Nishikawa teaches maintenance controller 118 performing the maintenance of the print head 2 in accordance with the maintenance execution timing, the maintenance of the print head 2 includes flushing, cleaning, and wiping; wherein, cleaning is an operation to mount the cap on the nozzle face 20 by the cap movement mechanism 11 and to suck ink from the nozzle by the cap movement mechanism 11, such that the cleaning has an expected effect of removing foreign objects and air bubbles from the nozzle by compulsorily circulating ink in the nozzle ( Nishikawa at [0075]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method comprising: a control step of drawing in and removing foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then causing the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharging the foreign matters from the individual flow passage as such is known in the art of liquid ejecting devices given the discussion of Nishikawa above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of doing so enabling the efficient removal of foreign objects and air bubbles from a given nozzle. As to claim 15 : Namba discloses the claimed article manufacturing method ( Namba at [0024]) using a liquid ejection apparatus (i.e., liquid discharge apparatus 10 ) ( Namba at [0041], FIG. 2) including an accommodation unit that accommodates an ejection liquid (i.e., liquid container 12 containing the liquid ) ( Namba at [0041], [0042], FIG. 2), an ejection unit that includes a plurality of nozzles ejecting the ejection liquid (i.e., liquid discharge portion 11 including a common liquid chamber 56 and a module board 57, the common liquid chamber 56 is a liwuid chamber for supplying the discharge material 114 to a plurality of nozzles provided in the module board; and each of the plurality of nozzles includes a supply port 21 ) ( Namba at [0041], [0050], [0051], [0052], FIG. 2), and a circulation unit that circulates the ejection liquid of an individual flow passage in the nozzle (i.e., circulation unit 40 ) ( Namba at [0041], [0045], FIG. 2, FIG. 3), the method comprising: an applying step of applying the ejection liquid to a substrate ( Namba at [0024], FIG. 1); a forming step of forming the ejection liquid by bringing a mold into contact with the substrate to which the ejection liquid has been applied and hardening the ejection liquid ( Namba at [0024], FIG. 1); and a manufacturing step of manufacturing an article from the substrate on which the ejection liquid is formed in the forming step ( Namba at [0024], FIG. 1). Namba discloses utilizing a piezoelectric element 18, or energy generating elements 18, provided in each nozzle 54 ( Namba at [0052], [0053]); and a detection unit 90 for detecting information as to whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid, where the piezoelectric element is deformed by application of a voltage and this deformation causes a change in pressure of the discharge material 114 in the nozzle 54, which allows the discharge material 114 to be discharged – when the energy generating element 18 is forcibly vibrated for discharge, a residual vibration is generated, and a counter electromotive force is generated due to the piezoelectric effect and the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force generated by this residual vibration, and since the counter electromotive force is generated for each energy generating element 18, in other words, for each nozzle 54, the detection unit 90 detects the counter electromotive force for each nozzle 54 and determining, based on the detection result of the detection unit 90, whether the discharge port 19 is covered with the liquid (i.e., the method comprising: a control step of drawing in and removing foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged by applying a foreign-matter drawing waveform to a piezoelectric element included in the nozzle ) ( Namba at [0059], [0060], [0061], [0062]). Though, Namba fails to explicitly disclose the claimed the method comprising: a control step of drawing in and removing foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then causing the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharging the foreign matters from the individual flow passage. However, Nishikawa teaches a print head 2 having a nozzle face 20 and the nozzle face 20 being provided with a nozzle section 21 having a plurality of nozzles ( Nishikawa at [0035]). Nishikawa further teaches the printer 2 including a detection circuit 46 coupled to controller 100 and piezoelectric element 27, and detects an electronic signal output from the piezoelectric element 27 caused by the vibration of the piezoelectric element 27 under control of the controller 100, the controller 100 being capable of detecting whether a discharge failure occurs or not with each of the nozzles of the nozzle section 21 using the detection circuit – the discharge failure of the print head 2 referring to clogging of a nozzle of the nozzle section 21 ( Nishikawa at [0048]-[0055], [0069]-[0070]). Additionally, Nishikawa teaches maintenance controller 118 performing the maintenance of the print head 2 in accordance with the maintenance execution timing, the maintenance of the print head 2 includes flushing, cleaning, and wiping; wherein, cleaning is an operation to mount the cap on the nozzle face 20 by the cap movement mechanism 11 and to suck ink from the nozzle by the cap movement mechanism 11, such that the cleaning has an expected effect of removing foreign objects and air bubbles from the nozzle by compulsorily circulating ink in the nozzle ( Nishikawa at [0075]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the control unit configured draw in and remove foreign matters with which an ejection port of the nozzle has become clogged inside , and then cause the circulation unit to circulate the ejection liquid of the individual flow passage in the nozzle and discharge the foreign matters from the individual flow passage as such is known in the art of liquid ejecting devices given the discussion of Nishikawa above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of doing so enabling the efficient removal of foreign objects and air bubbles from a given nozzle . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record discloses applying a voltage to deform the piezoelectric element ( Namba at [0060], [0072]; Nishikawa at [0052]); though, the prior art of record, fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed wherein the foreign-matter drawing waveform includes a maximum drawing waveform and a first pushing waveform before the maximum drawing waveform, and a voltage change amount of the first pushing waveform is equal to or less than a voltage change amount of the maximum drawing waveform of claim 4; and the claimed wherein the foreign-matter drawing waveform includes a maximum drawing waveform and a second pushing waveform after the maximum drawing waveform, and a voltage change amount of the maximum drawing waveform is greater than a voltage change amount of the second pushing waveform of claim 6. Claims 5 and 7 are allowed due to their dependency on claims 4 and 6, respectively . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BAILEIGH K. DARNELL whose telephone number is (469)295-9287. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9am-5pm, MST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Galen H. Hauth can be reached at (571)270-5516. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 2 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 3 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 4 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 5 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 6 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 7 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 8 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 9 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 10 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 11 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 12 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 13 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 14 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 15 Art Unit: 1743 Application/Control Number: 18/958,638 Page 16 Art Unit: 1743