DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-19 received on 11/25/2024 are considered in this office action.
Claims 5 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-19 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
In response to the applicant’s amendment, rejection under 35 USC § 101 is withdrawn.
Claims 7 and 13 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). In response to the amendment, the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 20110084851 A1), in view of TOSHIAKI (JP2020103092A), and further in view of KUZUMAKI (US 20210390506 A1).
Peterson is cited in the IDS received on 11/11/2025.
The Espacenet English translation of TOSHIAKI cited in this Office Action is attached in the previous Office Action sent on 02/13/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Peterson teaches a material supply system that causes a transport vehicle to supply an agricultural material for consumption by an agricultural machine in agricultural work (para. [0002]: “Embodiments of the present invention relate to agricultural vehicles […] a system and method for assisting in the refilling of a container of an agricultural vehicle.”; para. [0007]: “The processing device may also be configured to notify at least one refilling vehicle […]”; para. [0042]: “The refilling vehicle 32 may be automated”; FIG. 4 326; para. [0046]: “the processing device 20 may instruct a desired one of the refill vehicles 32 to travel to the refill location 24, as depicted in step 320”; para. [0042]: “The refilling vehicle 32 may be automated”), the material supply system comprising:
a computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”; para. [0022]: “The processing device 20 may comprise any number and combination of processors, controllers,”) configured or programmed to determine a delivery timing for the transport vehicle toward a delivery location of the agricultural material, based on a consumption status of the agricultural material in an agricultural task by the agricultural machine in a field, a position of a storage location of the agricultural material, and a position of the delivery location (para. [0007]: “The processing device may be configured to determine an optimal place and time for refilling based on a plurality of factors, including a status and/or location of the agricultural vehicle and a status and/or location of the refilling vehicle”; para. [0018]: “shown in FIG. 2, the system 10 may be installed or mounted on an agricultural vehicle 12 and used to calculate a proper time and a proper location for an agricultural vehicle 12 to refill at least one container 14”; para. [0037]: “204, the processing device 20 may determine if one or more parameters or particular criteria are met to require or request the vehicle 12 and/or the operator of the vehicle 12 to go refill the container 14 […] The particular criteria may include any combination of an amount of material or fuel remaining, an amount of fuel or material used per time segment and/or distance segment, an amount of time segments and/or distance segments remaining to complete a particular segment of the field, […] an approximate time and/or distance until a next refill location is reached, proximity of refilling vehicles 32 to a desired refill location, etc.”); and
a controller configured or programmed to acquire information indicating the transport start timing and to control self-driving of the transport vehicle (Peterson para. [0046]: “the processing device 20 may instruct a desired one of the refill vehicles 32 to travel to the refill location 24, as depicted in step 320”; Peterson para. [0042]: “The refilling vehicle 32 may be automated”;); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to, upon acquiring the information indicating the transport start timing, initiate self-traveling toward the delivery location at the transport start timing (Peterson para. [0046]: “the processing device 20 may instruct a desired one of the refill vehicles 32 to travel to the refill location 24, as depicted in step 320”; Peterson para. [0042]: “The refilling vehicle 32 may be automated”), but fails to specifically teach transport start timing and the computer is configured or programmed to determine a loading start timing at which to begin loading of the agricultural material onto the transport vehicle based on the transport start timing and a transport amount of the agricultural material to be transported by the transport vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TOSHIAKI teaches determine a transport start timing for the transport vehicle toward a delivery location of the agricultural material (para. [0053]: “The supply plan may be created by linking the planned travel route L1 and the transportation route L7. For example, in the planned travel route L1, the start time (the time at which the work is started from the start point of the planned travel route L1) for starting work (travel) can be input to the start input unit 807 of the route setting screen M3. When the start time is input to the start input unit 807, the replenishment plan creation unit 115 calculates the time until the replenishment position P20 is reached after the work of the traveling vehicle 3 is started (replenishment position arrival time). In addition, before the arrival time of the supply position, the supply plan creation unit 115 sets the transport route L7 for the supply machine VB1 to reach the supply position P20 and the supply setting field map MP2, and the time of departure from the supply source P65 ( Departure time) is set, and the departure time, the transport route L7, etc. are set as a supply plan”) and a controller configured or programmed to acquire information indicating the transport start timing and to control self-driving of the transport vehicle (TOSHIAKI para. [0053]: “the supply plan creation unit 115 sets the transport route L7 for the supply machine VB1 to reach the supply position P20 and the supply setting field map MP2, and the time of departure from the supply source P65 ( Departure time) is set, and the departure time, the transport route L7, etc. are set as a supply plan”, wherein “automated” indicates a controller to acquire information and to control self-driving); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to, upon acquiring the information indicating the transport start timing, initiate self-traveling toward the delivery location at the transport start timing (para. [0055]: “Further, when the replenishment machine VB1 is a work vehicle (for example, a tractor) capable of automatic traveling, the replenishment machine VB1 including the work vehicle can be automatically driven based on the transport route L7. That is, the automatic travel control unit 61 of the replenishment machine VB1 including the work vehicle automatically travels along the transport route L7, similar to the planned travel route L1.”).
Peterson and TOSHIAKI are analogous to the claimed invention because they pertain to the resupplying planning for agricultural machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peterson and incorporate the teachings TOSHIAKI and provide a departure time. Doing so will ensure prompt arrival of the supply vehicle, thus ensuring no interruption in the workflow of the agricultural machine (TOSHIAKI, para. [0005]). Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI fails to specifically teach the computer is configured or programmed to determine a loading start timing at which to begin loading of the agricultural material onto the transport vehicle based on the transport start timing and a transport amount of the agricultural material to be transported by the transport vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, KUZUMAKI teaches a computer configured or programmed to determine a transport start timing for the transport vehicle toward a delivery location of the agricultural material (FIG. 4; FIG. 5; para. [0006]: “and a departure timing setting section configured to set a departure timing from a loading location for each of the materials, based on the usage timings and material information including the loading location of the materials such that the materials arrive at the usage location in sequence starting from a material with an earliest usage timing”)and the computer is configured or programmed to determine a loading start timing at which to begin loading of the agricultural material onto the transport vehicle based on the transport start timing and a transport amount of the agricultural material to be transported by the transport vehicle (FIG. 5; para. [0043]: “The loading timing setting section 54 sets a loading timing based on the departure timing set by the departure timing setting section 52. Specifically, the loading timing setting section 54 calculates the duration required for loading backward from the departure timing se by the departure timing setting section 52 in order to set the loading timing. The loading timing setting section 54 may compute a duration required for loading based on the information regarding the material size, weight, quantity, and so on as acquired by the material information acquisition section 42, and may add a margin to this computed loading duration when setting the loading timing”; para. [0050]: “The durations required for loading are computed based on the material information, including the material size, weight, and quantity”).
KUZUMAKI is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to delivery of materials based on usage time. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and incorporate the teachings KUZUMAKI and incorporate a loading timing setting section to set a loading timing based on the departure timing set by the departure timing setting section. Doing so will ensure prompt loading of materials, thus enable efficient delivery of materials (KUZUMAKI, para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI further teaches wherein the computer is configured or programmed to (Peterson para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”):
estimate a time of depletion at which a remaining amount of the agricultural material becomes smaller than a predetermined amount based on the consumption status of the agricultural material (Peterson para. [0037]: “on tracking of average amounts of material used over particular distance intervals or over the course of a single pass across the field, the system 10 may notify the operator that the vehicle 12 will not be able to make a full pass across the field and back to the refill location 24 with the material remaining”; Peterson para. [0045]: “determine if there is enough material to complete a pass or round across the field, as depicted in step 316”, wherein “enough material to complete a pass or round across the field” indicates the agricultural material becomes smaller than a predetermined amount);
estimate a traveling time required by the transport vehicle in order to move to the delivery location based on a relative positioning of the storage location of the agricultural material and the delivery location of the agricultural material (Peterson para. [0042]: “the system 10 may send a message to alert an appropriate refilling vehicle 32 that the vehicle 12 is on its way to the refill location 24 to be refilled, as depicted in step 210, such that if the refilling vehicle 32 is away from the refill location 24, it may return in time to refill the vehicle 12.”; TOSHIAKI para. [0049]: “The supply plan creation unit 115 creates a transport route L7 from the supply source P65 to the supply destination (supply setting farm field map MP2)”; TOSHIAKI para. [0053]: “the supply plan creation unit 115 sets the transport route L7 for the supply machine VB1 to reach the supply position P20 and the supply setting field map MP2, and the time of departure from the supply source P65 ( Departure time) is set, and the departure time, the transport route L7, etc. are set as a supply plan”; KUZUMAKI FIG. 5; KUZUMAKI para. [0041]: “The transportation duration computation section 50 computes the duration required for transportation from the loading location to the construction site for each vehicle V based on the travel route set by the travel route setting section 46 and the traffic volume information predicted by the traffic volume prediction section 48.”); and
determine the transport start timing based on the time of depletion and the traveling time (Peterson para. [0042]: “the system 10 may send a message to alert an appropriate refilling vehicle 32 that the vehicle 12 is on its way to the refill location 24 to be refilled, as depicted in step 210, such that if the refilling vehicle 32 is away from the refill location 24, it may return in time to refill the vehicle 12.”; KUZUMAKI para. [0042]: “Namely, the transportation duration is calculated backward from the usage timing in order to set a departure timing for each vehicle V such that the material will be delivered to the construction site in time for the corresponding material usage timing.”).
Regarding claim 3, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 2. Peterson, TOSHIAKI and KUZUMAKI further teaches wherein the computer (Peterson para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to determine, as the transport start timing, a timing before a point in time that is derived by subtracting the traveling time from the time of depletion (TOSHIAKI para. [0053]: “calculates the time until the replenishment position P20 is reached after the work of the traveling vehicle 3 is started (replenishment position arrival time)”; KUZUMAKI para. [0042]: “Namely, the transportation duration is calculated backward from the usage timing in order to set a departure timing for each vehicle V such that the material will be delivered to the construction site in time for the corresponding material usage timing.”).
Regarding claim 4, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to transmit the information indicating the transport start timing to the controller configured or programmed to control self-driving of the transport vehicle (para. [0042]: “the fill location 24 requires one of the refilling vehicles 32 to meet the vehicle 12, the system 10 may send a message to alert an appropriate refilling vehicle 32 that the vehicle 12 is on its way to the refill location 24 to be refilled, as depicted in step 210, such that if the refilling vehicle 32 is away from the refill location 24, it may return in time to refill the vehicle 12. The refilling vehicle 32 may be automated or may be operated manually by an operator.”).
Regarding claim 6, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. KUZUMAKI teaches wherein the computer is configured or programmed to: estimate a loading time required for loading the agricultural material onto the transport vehicle based on the transport amount (FIG. 5; para. [0043]: “The loading timing setting section 54 may compute a duration required for loading based on the information regarding the material size, weight, quantity, and so on as acquired by the material information acquisition section 42”; para. [0050]: “Namely, the loading timing setting section 54 of the present exemplary embodiment sets the loading timings in consideration of the duration required for loading. Specifically, the loading timing setting section 54 computes the durations required to load the respective materials based on the material information acquired by the material information acquisition section 42, and sets the loading timings in consideration of these durations”); and
determine, as the loading start timing, a timing before a point in time that is derived by subtracting the loading time from the transport start timing (FIG. 5; para. [0050]: “The loading timings are set based on the departure timings using the functionality of the loading timing setting section 54. The loading timing of the material A is set to 11:00, this being one hour before the departure timing, and the loading timing of the material B is set to 12:00, this being two hours before the departure timing. The loading timing of the material C is set to 12:30, this being two hours before the departure timing, and the loading timing of the material D is set to 10:00, this being three hours before the departure timing. Namely, the loading timing setting section 54 of the present exemplary embodiment sets the loading timings in consideration of the duration required for loading”, wherein setting loading start timing “before” departure time based on loading duration indicates subtracting the loading time from the transport start timing).
Regarding claim 7, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. TOSHIAKI and KUZUMAKI further teaches wherein the computer is configured or programmed to provide a notification of the loading start timing to a terminal usable by a worker to perform the loading work (TOSHIAKI para. [0052]: “Further, the replenishment plan creation unit 115 automatically calculates the arrival time (date, time) and the like when the replenishment machine VB1 reaches (arrives) the field of the replenishment setting field map MP2, and the time display unit of the replenishment plan screen M9. 804. When the replenishment plan button 99B is selected on the replenishment plan screen M9, time information such as the conveyance route L7 (conveyance route L7 including position information), the replenishment machine VB1, and the arrival time set by the replenishment plan creation unit 115 is displayed.”; KUZUMAKI para. [0044]: “The notification section 56 notifies the vehicles V of their departure timings as set by the departure timing setting section 52 and loading timings as set by the loading timing setting section 54. Specifically, the notification section 56 notifies the driver of each vehicle V through the onboard unit in the vehicle V by displaying the departure timing and the loading timing on the display or the like installed in the vehicle V. The notification section 56 also notifies of the travel route set by the travel route setting section 46. The notification section 56 may perform route setting using a navigation system installed in the vehicle V. In cases in which driver information is registered, the notification section 56 may notify a mobile terminal or the like carried by the driver of the vehicle V”).
Regarding claim 9, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to monitor a state of the agricultural machine (FIG. 3 202; para. [0036]: “First, the processing device 20 may receive a data signal such as a level signal from the sensors 16 and/or a location signal from the location-determining device 18, as depicted in step 202. The level signal may comprise information about the amount of material in the container 14 and the location signal may comprise information regarding a location of the vehicle 12. The data signals may further comprise measurement information, status information, location information, etc., as described above and received from any of the sensors 16-18, the user interface 30, and/or from memory 26”), and
estimate the consumption status of the agricultural material based on the state of the agricultural machine (FIG. 3 204; para. [0037]: “step 204, the processing device 20 may determine if one or more parameters or particular criteria are met to require or request the vehicle 12 and/or the operator of the vehicle 12 to go refill the container 14. The particular criteria may include any combination of an amount of material or fuel remaining, an amount of fuel or material used per time segment and/or distance segment, an amount of time segments and/or distance segments remaining to complete a particular segment of the field, an approximate time and/or distance until a next refill location is reached, proximity of refilling vehicles 32 to a desired refill location, etc. For example, based on tracking of average amounts of material used over particular distance intervals or over the course of a single pass across the field, the system 10 may notify the operator that the vehicle 12 will not be able to make a full pass across the field and back to the refill location 24 with the material remaining”).
Regarding claim 10, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 9. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to monitor a position and a moving speed of the agricultural machine (para. [0020]: “The sensors 16 may be any one or more sensors providing information about the vehicle 12, its fuel, its materials, and its surroundings. For example, the sensors 16 may include an optical sensor, a radar sensor, a speedometer,”; para. [0021]: “The location-determining device 18 may determine locations or positions of the vehicle 12 as it is moved from place to place and may generate and send corresponding position data to the processing device 20”), and
estimate the consumption status of the agricultural material based on the position and the moving speed of the agricultural machine (FIG. 2 204; para. [0036]: “First, the processing device 20 may receive a data signal such as a level signal from the sensors 16 and/or a location signal from the location-determining device 18, as depicted in step 202. The level signal may comprise information about the amount of material in the container 14 and the location signal may comprise information regarding a location of the vehicle 12.”; para. [0037]: “The particular criteria may include any combination of an […] distance segment, an amount of time segments and/or distance segments remaining to complete a particular segment of the field”; para. [0041]: “The average, median, and/or maximum amount of fuel and/or material used per some measurement unit may also depend on additional factors such as speed, incline, etc. Therefore, various algorithms may calculate when refilling the container 14 will be required based on these additional factors”, wherein the “distance segment” comprises of the position of the agricultural material, as whether there is sufficient material depends on the distance between the agricultural machine and destination).
Regarding claim 11, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to estimate the consumption status of the agricultural material based on a previously-set work plan of the agricultural machine (para. [0037]: “For example, based on tracking of average amounts of material used over particular distance intervals or over the course of a single pass across the field, the system 10 may notify the operator that the vehicle 12 will not be able to make a full pass across the field and back to the refill location 24 with the material remaining”, wherein “over particular distance intervals or over the course of a single pass across the field” indicates previously-set work plan of the agricultural machine ).
Regarding claim 12, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 11. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to estimate the consumption status of the agricultural material based on information of a work path and a work speed of the agricultural machine included in the work plan (para. [0037]: “For example, based on tracking of average amounts of material used over particular distance intervals or over the course of a single pass across the field, the system 10 may notify the operator that the vehicle 12 will not be able to make a full pass across the field and back to the refill location 24 with the material remaining”).
Regarding claim 13, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer (para. [0025]: “the processing device 20 may implement a computer program and/or code segments to perform some of the functions described herein.”) is configured or programmed to: estimate a point of depletion at which a remaining amount of the agricultural material becomes smaller than a predetermined amount, based on the consumption status of the agricultural material, a work path of the agricultural machine, and a position and a moving speed of the agricultural machine (para. [0041]: “the system 10 may command an operator and/or the automated steering system 22 to drive the vehicle 12 to the nearest fill location 24 based on the amount of fuel and/or materials, the distance left to cover, the distance from the refill location 24, the average, median, and/or maximum amount of fuel and/or material used or dispensed per some measurement unit (such as per square foot, per minute, etc.). The average, median, and/or maximum amount of fuel and/or material used per some measurement unit may also depend on additional factors such as speed, incline, etc. Therefore, various algorithms may calculate when refilling the container 14 will be required based on these additional factors”; para. [0045]: “received from the location-determining device 18 to determine if there is enough material to complete a pass or round across the field, as depicted in step 316.”, wherein enough material to complete a pass indicate remaining amount of the agricultural material becomes smaller than a predetermined amount); and
determine the delivery location in accordance with the point of depletion (FIG. 3; para. [0040]: “The processing device may then determine where the vehicle 12 should go to refill the container 14, as depicted in step 206”; para. [0041]: “drive the vehicle 12 to the nearest fill location 24 based on the amount of fuel and/or materials, the distance left to cover, the distance from the refill location 24, the average, median, and/or maximum amount of fuel and/or material used or dispensed per some measurement unit (such as per square foot, per minute, etc.).”).
Regarding claim 14, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. TOSHIAKI further teaches wherein, based on a previously-set operating schedule of the transport vehicle (FIG. 12A-12B; para. [0048]: “in which the supply position P20 is set, and the setting condition 802 is the supply setting from the supply source P65 to the supply destination. […] The location of the supply source P65 may be a location registered in advance in the travel support device 100”; para. [0052]: “The transport route L7 in the supply setting field map MP2 may be a route from the supply source P65 to the vicinity of the entrance of the supply setting field map MP2, or as shown in FIGS. 12A and 12B, supply from the supply source P65. It may be a route to the area A5 or a route from the supply source P65 to the supply position P20.”, wherein the transport route comprises of “location registered in advance” and supply position P20, thus indicating a previously-set operating schedule), the controller is configured or programmed to control self-traveling of the transport vehicle to circulate through a route that includes the storage location and the delivery location (FIG. 12A-12B; para. [0055]: “Further, when the replenishment machine VB1 is a work vehicle (for example, a tractor) capable of automatic traveling, the replenishment machine VB1 including the work vehicle can be automatically driven based on the transport route L7. That is, the automatic travel control unit 61 of the replenishment machine VB1 including the work vehicle automatically travels along the transport route L7, similar to the planned travel route L1”).
Regarding claim 17, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson further teaches wherein the computer is mounted in or on the agricultural machine, in a computer configured or programmed to communicate with the agricultural machine, or in or on the transport vehicle (para. [0018]: “As shown in FIG. 2, the system 10 may be installed or mounted on an agricultural vehicle 12 and used to calculate a proper time and a proper location for an agricultural vehicle 12 to refill at least one container 14.”).
Regarding claim 18, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson further teaches, wherein the agricultural material includes seedlings of a plant (para. [0004]: “Agricultural vehicles must be periodically refilled with seeds”; para. [0018]: “agricultural vehicle 12 to refill at least one container 14. The agricultural vehicle 12 may be any vehicle operable to dispense a material, such as a spreader, sprayer, or seeder by Willmas®, RoGator®, Sunflower®, or White®. The container 14 may be any container that holds and/or dispenses the material, such as a seed hopper, herbicide tank, pesticide tank, fuel tank, etc.”); and the agricultural machine is a transplanter that travels while planting seedlings of the plant in a field (para. [0018]: “The agricultural vehicle 12 may be any vehicle operable to dispense a material, such as a spreader, sprayer, or seeder by Willmas®, RoGator®, Sunflower®, or White®.”).
Regarding claim 19, it recites a computer-implemented method claim with claim limitations similar to those performed by the material supply system of claim 1, and thus is rejected on the same basis.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson, in view of TOSHIAKI, and further in view of KUZUMAKI, and further in view of Harris (US20180107219A1).
Regarding claim 15, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. TOSHIAKI further teaches a command from a device that is operated by a user (FIG. 6; FIG. 12A-12B; para. [0055]: “the replenishment machine VB1 is a work vehicle (for example, a tractor) capable of automatic traveling, the replenishment machine VB1 including the work vehicle can be automatically driven based on the transport route L7”; para. [0034]: “FIG. 6, when the worker (driver) performs a predetermined operation on the display device”), but fails to specifically teach wherein, after unloading of the agricultural material from the transport vehicle is completed at the delivery location, the controller is configured or programmed to initiate self-traveling from the delivery location to the storage location, in response to a command from a device that is operated by a user.
However, Harris teaches wherein, after unloading of the agricultural material from the transport vehicle is completed at the delivery location, the controller is configured or programmed to initiate self-traveling from the delivery location to the storage location, in response to a command from a device (para. [0016]: “After the drone has refueled the vehicle, the drone may return to a refilling station.”; para. [0025]: “Drones may be stored at a refill station, for example a service station or some other fuel depot. Wherever the drones are stored there may be an interface to a dispatcher.”; para. [0005]: “transmitting, at the dispatcher, a message to the autonomous drone,”; para. [0014]: “The dispatcher may have determined the drone to dispatch prior to making the offer, or after the offer is made. The dispatcher may determine the drone to dispatch based on one or more conditions.”).
Harris is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the resupplying planning for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI and incorporate the teachings Harris and return the resupplying machine to the refilling station. Doing so will allow the resupplying machine to resupply and later perform resupply of other vehicles.
Regarding claim 16, Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI teaches the material supply system of claim 1. Peterson and TOSHIAKI further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to initiate self-traveling to the delivery location, (Peterson para. [0046]: “the processing device 20 may instruct a desired one of the refill vehicles 32 to travel to the refill location 24, as depicted in step 320”; TOSHIAKI para. [0053]: “In addition, before the arrival time of the supply position, the supply plan creation unit 115 sets the transport route L7 for the supply machine VB1 to reach the supply position P20 and the supply setting field map MP2, and the time of departure from the supply source P65 ( Departure time) is set, and the departure time, the transport route L7, etc. are set as a supply plan””), but fails to specifically teach receiving a notification that loading of the agricultural material onto the transport vehicle at the storage location has been completed.
However, Harris teaches receiving a notification that loading of the agricultural material onto the transport vehicle at the storage location has been completed (para. [0016]: “the drone may be filled at the refilling station in response to the fuel request, and only the amount of fuel requested may be added to the drone.”; para. [0004]: “determine an autonomous drone to dispatch based, at least in part on the refueling location and a type of fuel requested by the vehicle; and transmit a message to the autonomous drone, the message comprising at least the refueling location. The autonomous drone may comprise a fuel storage area;”, wherein the drone is refilled and then sent, thus indicating notification that loading of the agricultural material).
Harris is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the resupplying planning for machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peterson in view of TOSHIAKI and further in view of KUZUMAKI and incorporate the teachings Harris and return the resupplying machine to the refilling station. Doing so will allow the resupplying machine to resupply and later perform resupply of other vehicles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. RUSNAK (US20210142280A1) teaches selecting a particular eligible transporter for transporting a first good for a first job, wherein operating by receiving a request for transporting the good from a pickup location to a delivery location.
/ANDREW SANG KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3668