DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9: “preheating a feedstock…” in line 3 should be –preheating a hydrocarbon feedstock…–to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims.
Claim 9: “mixing the hydrocarbon feedstock after preheating with a diluent” (line 5) is awkward syntax/omits necessary punctuation to make clear that mixing with a diluent is occurring after preheating. The office recommends either –after preheating, mixing the hydrocarbon with a diluent—or “mixing the hydrocarbon feedstock, after preheating, with a diluent—
Claim 9: “cracking the mixed feedstock-diluent after preheating in the radiant section” (line 9) similarly contains awkward syntax/omits necessary punctuation to make clear that cracking is occurring in the radiant section and not preheating. The office recommends either –after pre-heating in the secondary transfer line exchanger, cracking the mixed feedstock-diluent in the radiant section—or –cracking the mixed feedstock-diluent, after preheating in the secondary transfer line exchanger, in the radiant section—
Claim 18: “the feedstock” should be –the hydrocarbon feedstock—to maintain consistent terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 recites that the concentration of oxygen in the oxygen enriched air is more than 21%. Given that the natural concentration of oxygen in air is 21%, oxygen enriched air must be, by definition, more than 21% oxygen. Therefore, the limitations of claim 15 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oud (US 2020/0172814) in view of Aslaner et al (WO 2021/016301).
Regarding claims 9, 12, 18 and 19, Oud discloses a method for cracking hydrocarbon feedstock in a cracking furnace system, the method comprising (see Figs. 1, 2, 4):
preheating a hydrocarbon feedstock 1 in a convection section 20 (see [0028]);
after preheating, mixing the hydrocarbon feedstock with a diluent (dilution steam 2) to form a mixed feedstock-diluent (see [0028]);
preheating the mixed feedstock-diluent in a primary transfer line exchanger (TLE) 35 (see [0028]);
after preheating in the primary TLE, cracking the mixed feedstock-diluent in the radiant section 10 by oxygen or oxygen enriched air combustion to produce cracked gas (see [0013]; [0028]; [0034]);
cooling the cracked gas in the primary TLE (see [0028]);
cooling the cracked gas exiting the primary TLE further in a secondary TLE 36 (see [0030]); and
producing a saturated super high-pressure steam in the secondary TLE (see [0030]).
Oud recognizes that preheating temperatures are result effective variables, where the optimum inlet temperature of the feedstock into the radiant section is determined by the thermal stability of the feedstock (see [0006]). Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily optimize the preheating temperatures according to the suggestions in Oud, based on the thermal stability of the feedstock as well as the intended operating conditions for cracking the feed. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, the claimed preheating temperatures are not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Oud differs from the claimed arrangement in that the mixed feedstock-diluent is preheated in the primary TLE instead of the secondary TLE, as claimed, and saturated steam is produced in the secondary TLE instead of the first TLE, as claimed.
However, this difference is not considered to be patentably distinguishing, as switching the order of steps is generally considered prima facie obvious and is additionally known in the art to be a suitable arrangement for achieving the same purpose of cooling reaction effluent, preheating hydrocarbon feedstock, and producing steam in a thermal cracking process (see Aslaner: [0034], which discloses that the primary TLE of a cracking system can be utilized for producing steam and the secondary TLE can be utilized to preheat the hydrocarbon feed). Arriving at the instant claimed embodiment would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, arrived at by routine experimentation, and associated with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Regarding claim 10, Oud discloses wherein the saturated super high-pressure steam is generated from water coming from a steam drum 33 (see [0028]; [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Oud discloses wherein the saturated super high-pressure steam produced is sent to a steam drum (see [0028]; [0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Oud discloses wherein the dilution steam is produced outside the cracking furnace system (in steam drum 33) (see [0028]; [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Oud discloses wherein cracking the mixed feedstock-diluent comprises controlling a combustion temperature in the radiant section by dilution of fuel and oxygen or oxygen enriched air (see [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 15, Oud discloses wherein the oxygen enriched air comprises more than 21% oxygen (see [0013]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Oud discloses wherein cracking the mixed feedstock-diluent includes producing flue gas at a temperature of 1150°C (see [0013]).
Double Patenting
Claims 9-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,097.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, while the method claimed in ‘097 requires the additional features of the cracking furnace system claimed, the method steps for carrying out cracking are the same.
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772