DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 12-17 in the reply filed on 9/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kufner et al. (US 10,017,062 B2), hereafter referred to as Kufner.
Consider claim 12. Kufner teaches a vehicle (F) for a storage system, wherein the vehicle comprises: a rechargeable power source (battery, see title and abstract); and a first charge-receiving element, a second charge-receiving element, and a third charge-receiving element (116, see fig. 4C), wherein the first charge-receiving element, the second charge-receiving element, and the third charge-receiving element are arranged on a bottom section (U) of the vehicle and connected to the rechargeable power source, the first charge-receiving element is centrally arranged on the bottom section (center slot 116 in fig. 4C) and the second charge-receiving element and the third charge- receiving element are arranged at opposite sides of the first charge-receiving element (left and right slot 116 in fig. 4C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kufner (US 10,017,062 B2) in view of Lindbo et al. (US 10,000,337 B2), hereafter referred to as Lindbo.
Consider claim 13. Kufner does not explicitly teach first and second sets of wheels. Lindbo teaches a first set of wheels (116) and a second set of wheels (118) for moving a vehicle (30) upon a rail grid (14) of a storage system; wherein the first set of wheels is displaceable in a vertical direction (via 180, 184, 188) between a first position (lowered) in which the first set of wheels is arranged to move the vehicle in a first direction, a second position (intermediate), in which the first set of wheels and the second set of wheels are in contact with the rail grid, and a third position (raised) in which the second set of wheels is arranged to move the vehicle in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see column 10, lines 27-37). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kufner’s vehicle with first and second sets of wheels as taught by in order to move along perpendicular rails of a rail grid to store and remove articles.
Consider claim 14. Kufner teaches that when the vehicle is positioned above a charging station (10) of the storage system, two of the first charge-receiving element, the second charge-receiving element, or the third charge-receiving element (116) are arranged such that two charge-providing elements (14) of the charging station are connectable to the first charge-receiving element and the second charge-receiving element or the third charge-receiving element based on an orientation in which the vehicle is arranged on the rail grid (14 engaged with 116).
Consider claim 15. Kufner teaches that two of the first charge-receiving element, the second charge-receiving element, or the third charge-receiving element and the two charge-providing elements of the charging station are connected when the vehicle is positioned above the charging station (see fig. 1B), and the two charge-providing elements are in a fourth position (raised via 16).
Consider claim 16. Kufner in view of Lindbo teaches that the two of the first charge-receiving element, the second charge-receiving element, or the third charge-receiving element and the two charge-providing elements of the charging station are connected when the vehicle is positioned above the charging station (see Kufner’s fig. 1B), and the two charge-providing elements are in the fourth position (raised via Kufner’s 16) and the first set of wheels is in the first position or the second position (for example, with 180, 184, and 188 lowered).
Consider claim 17. Kufner teaches that the first charge-receiving element, the second charge-receiving element, and the third charge-receiving element comprise at least one power socket (116), and the two charge-providing elements comprise power pins (14).
Double Patenting
Claims 12-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,695. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims use equivalent language and the instant claims encompass the patented claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652