Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10022079. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a housing, an actuator mechanism, a pre-sample container defining a pre-sample reservoir, a removable plunger cap, a plunger tube, a cannula assembly, a plunger seal, the actuator mechanism transitions from a first configuration…to a second configuration, pre-sample container volume from 3-5 ml, decoupling the removable plunger cap from the plunger tube, pre-sample container is selectively removable from the plunger tube, a sample collection reservoir attached to the cannula assembly after the pre-sample container is removed such that the sample collection reservoir draws the second portion of the bodily fluid from the second fluid reservoir.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11311669. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a housing, an actuator mechanism, a pre-sample container defining a pre-sample reservoir, a removable plunger cap, a plunger tube, a cannula assembly, a plunger seal, the actuator mechanism transitions from a first configuration…to a second configuration, pre-sample container volume from 3-5 ml, decoupling the removable plunger cap from the plunger tube, pre-sample container is selectively removable from the plunger tube, a sample collection reservoir attached to the cannula assembly after the pre-sample container is removed such that the sample collection reservoir draws the second portion of the bodily fluid from the second fluid reservoir, a port configured to be coupled with a lumen-defining device.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12178999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a housing, an actuator mechanism, a pre-sample container defining a pre-sample reservoir, a removable plunger cap, a plunger tube, a cannula assembly, a plunger seal, the actuator mechanism transitions from a first configuration…to a second configuration, pre-sample container volume from 3-5 ml, decoupling the removable plunger cap from the plunger tube, pre-sample container is selectively removable from the plunger tube, a sample collection reservoir attached to the cannula assembly after the pre-sample container is removed such that the sample collection reservoir draws the second portion of the bodily fluid from the second fluid reservoir, a port configured to be coupled with a lumen-defining device, a vacuum collection device can be selectively coupled with the cannula assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 8, 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “with the with the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “at least partially” in claim 1, 8, 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “at least partially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullington (20140163419) in view of Mahurkar (US 20100286609).
Regarding claim 16, Bullington discloses A syringe-based device (100 and/or 200) for procuring bodily fluid samples (paragraph 0035, 0046) comprising:
(a) a housing (201) being configured to receive fluid (paragraph 0047-0048); and
(b) an actuator mechanism (240) being retainable at least partially within the housing (paragraph 0049),
the actuator mechanism including:
(i) a pre-sample container defining a pre-sample reservoir (280) (paragraph 0059-0060, 0064);
(ii) a plunger cap (258) being configured to be operably coupled with the with the pre-sample container;
(iii) a plunger tube (251), the plunger tube being selectively engaged with the plunger cap,
(iv) a cannula assembly (241) retained by the plunger tube (251); and
(v) a plunger seal, the plunger seal being movable relative to the housing to define a second fluid reservoir in cooperation with the housing (paragraph 0057).
Bullington discloses all of the claim limitations except a plunger cap being configured to be operably coupled with the with the pre-sample container. Mahurkar teaches a plunger cap being configured to operably coupled with the pre-sample container (paragraph 0156-0158). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to modify Bullington’s plunger cap by Mahurkar’s removable plunger cap for the purpose of allowing for air release for the plunger tube as well as an area to attach sample containers.
Regarding claim 17, Bullington discloses The syringe-based device of claim 16, wherein the pre-sample container is a fluid collection vial having a defined volume (paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 18, Bullington discloses The syringe-based device of claim 17, wherein the pre-sample container is selectively removable from the plunger tube (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 19, Bullington discloses the syringe-based device of claim 16, further comprising a sample collection reservoir, wherein the sample collection reservoir is attached to the cannula assembly after the pre-sample container is removed such that the sample collection reservoir draws a portion of a bodily fluid from the second fluid reservoir (paragraph 0045).
Conclusion
/YASMEEN S WARSI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791