DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 13-20 in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 10 are indefinite because "the second stage" lacks positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 13-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (CN111297282A; machine translation).
Re claims 1 and 13, Gao et al. teach a method of controlling water discharge for a floor mopping robot (paragraph 1, claim 1) by obtaining an already cleaned area or an already moved distance (first position and first moment, paragraph 10), and controlling a water spray amount based on the already moved distance and a target moving distance (i.e. second position and second moment). Paragraphs 11-17 teaches a second water output volume is determined based on the distance between the first and the second position. Paragraph 45 teaches that based on the distance between the first and the second position, the water outlet unit is controlled to perform water outlet operation at the second position according to the second water outlet volume. Paragraph 75 teaches that after the robot moves a certain distance, it will determine whether water discharge operation is needed based on the first and second positions. Claim 1 is read broadly as controlling the water spray amount based on the already moved distance (i.e. first position) and a target moving distance (second position for example). Re claim 13, refer to paragraph 132 for the computer readable storage medium. Re claims 2-3 and 14-15, in reference to the pre-set amount of water, refer to paragraph 95, which teaches that the water discharge volume of 25 when the robot moves to a second position (target cleaning area) and a target moving distance (i.e. second distance). Re claims 7 and 19, the limitations of at a time instance, which reads broadly on any time when the robot has moved to a first distance (i.e. first position, first moment), controlling the water spray system to spray a first pre-set amount of water in a single spray, applicant is directed to paragraph 75 for example which teaches that water is discharged at a first location (first moment). Re claim 8, refer to paragraphs 26 and 96 for example, wherein the water spray sprays a second preset amount of water at a second position (i.e. target moving distance). Re claims 9 and 20, the limitations are met because Gao et al. teach at a time instance when the robot reaches the already cleaned area (i.e. first area, first moment), the water spray system sprays a pre-set amount of water (claim 1, paragraphs 10-11, 46, 73, 92). Re claim 10, the limitations read broadly on water spraying a second position (i.e. second moment) after spraying the first position (i.e. first moment).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-6 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or suggest the limitations of claims 4 and 16, and from those claims which are dependent thereof.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shim et al. teach a robot cleaner wherein the amount of water supplied to the mop of the cleaner can be controlled. Liu et al. teach a water spray control method.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc