DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 recites “the filtered air passage” in line 2 it should read as “a filtered air passage”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Troxell (US 20130239802 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Troxell teaches an air filter system for a tank arranged to provide a fluid, comprising: an air filter housing being arranged to receive and hold an air filter material between an air inlet and an air outlet (Fig 7 100 70)), wherein the air filter housing is further arranged to guide unfiltered ambient air from the air inlet towards the air filter material and to guide filtered air from the air filter material out through the air outlet to the tank (Fig 7 100 35 36 70), and an indicator arrangement in fluid connection with the air outlet (Fig 7 45 or 50) and being configured to mechanically indicate a congestion level of the air filter material based on the air pressure difference at the air outlet caused by an accumulation of particles in the air filter material.
Regarding to claim language "configured to mechanically indicate a congestion level of the air filter material based on the air pressure difference at the air outlet caused by an accumulation of particles in the air filter material" and “a tank arranged to provide a fluid”, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it meets the limitations of the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II).
Regarding to claim 2, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, wherein the indicator arrangement comprises a filtered air passage between the air outlet and a closed compartment (Fig 7 45).
Regarding to claim 3, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, wherein the filtered air passage is arranged at an angle with respect to air flow direction in the air outlet to fluidly connect the air outlet with the closed compartment (Fig 7 30 32 36).
Regarding to claim 4, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, wherein the closed compartment comprises a recess arranged with a pressure plate attached to a loaded spring, wherein the pressure plate is arranged to mechanically indicate the congestion level of the air filter material when acted upon by the air pressure difference (Fig 7 50).
Regarding to claim 5, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, wherein a wall of the closed compartment is configured such that the pressure plate is visible from the outside of the air filter housing(Fig 7 50).
Regarding to claim 6, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 5, wherein the air filter housing comprise markings visible from the outside of the air filter housing that indicates the congestion level of the air filter material relative to movement of the pressure plate (Fig 7 50).
Regarding to claim 11, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, a vehicle comprising an air filter system according to claim 1 (¶[0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troxell (US 20130239802 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holzwarth et al. (DE 102014015941 A1, hereinafter Holzwarth).
Regarding to claim 7, Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, but Troxell fails to teach wherein the air outlet comprise a filtered air guide that extends into the interior of the air filter housing and there comprise an opening to receive the filtered air.
However, Holzwarth teaches wherein the air outlet comprise a filtered air guide that extends into the interior of the air filter housing and there comprise an opening to receive the filtered air (see the top of Fig 6 or Fig 1, 14).
Holzwarth and Troxell are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air filters. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, would add guide on the outlet in order to better control the flow of liquid or air from the filter.
Regarding to claim 8 , Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 1, but Troxell fails to teach wherein the air outlet comprise a filtered air guide extending into the interior of the air filter housing such that back-splash from the tank is allowed to bypass the air filter material within the air filter housing.
However, Holzwarth teaches wherein the air outlet comprise a filtered air guide extending into the interior of the air filter housing such that back-splash from the tank is allowed to bypass the air filter material within the air filter housing (Fig 6, 118 116). Holzwarth and Troxell are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of air filters. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, would incorporate the down pipe of Holzwarth with the air filter of Troxell in order to eliminate possibility of the air filter being blocked by fluid.
Regarding to claim 9, modified Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 8, wherein the interior of the air filter housing comprise a receptacle arrangement arranged to receive back-splash from the filtered air guide and control the discharge of the back-splash out from the interior of the air filter housing via the air inlet (Fig 6 120 124 126 116).
Regarding to claim 10, modified Troxell teaches the air filter system according to claim 9, wherein the filtered air guide extends into and has an open end within the receptacle arrangement (Fig 6, 125).
Conclusion
/KYLE HARRISON SHIPMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771