Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2018/0164373 A1, Pub. Date Jun. 14, 2018, hereinafter, Wang), in view of Reichow et al. (US 2016/0185230 A1, Pub. Date Jun. 30, 2016, hereinafter, Reichow), and further in view of Takatsuji (US 2013/0257464 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 3, 2013, hereinafter, Takatsuji).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang, teaches:
An apparatus comprising:
a relay device comprising one or more switches coupled to a battery under test ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]: discloses the apparatus containing a switch assembly (relay device) electrically coupled to the battery being evaluated),
wherein the relay device is configured to:
determine, based on a first configuration of the one or more switches, a value of the first voltage associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0051] & [0058]-[0059]: discloses a first configuration (terminal a connected to c) that directs the battery’s electrical path to acquire and hold a first measured voltage),
determine, based on a second configuration of the one or more switches, a value of the second voltage associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0060]-[0061], & [0065]: discloses a second switch state (terminal b connected to c) routing the battery path to determine a second held voltage),
determine, based on a third configuration of the one or more switches, a value of the third voltage associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0023]-[0024], [0050]-[0052], & [0055]), and
send data indicative of the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0023], [0043]-[0047], [0049], [0052]-[0053], [0059]-[0061], [0065]-[0066], [0068],[0089]-[0090], [0095], [0101], [Claim 1], [Claim 5], & [Claim 7]: the analog-to-digital converters send the sampled voltage data to the microcomputer); and
a controller in communication with the relay device, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive data indicative of the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage ([0036]-[0040], [0045], [0047], [0051], [0054], [0058], [0061], [0066], [0090], [0096], [Claim 3], & [Claim 4]: the microcomputer acts as the controller, communicates with the switches and receives the digitized voltage measurements),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
determine, based on the value of the first voltage and the value of the second voltage and the value of the third voltage, a value of a first resistance associated with the battery under test and a value of a second resistance associated with the battery under test, and
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the first resistance (internal resistance) of Wang ([0004], [006]-[0007], [0013], [0016]-[0017], [0032]-[0034], [0047], [0051], [0067], [0090]-[0091], & [0096]-[0097])
determine, based on the value of the first voltage and the value of the second voltage and the value of the third voltage, a value of a first resistance associated with the battery under test and a value of a second resistance associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0052], [0056], [0060], [0063], [0069],[0078]-[0079], [0100], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], [Claim 4], [Claim 10], [Claim 12], & [Claim 17]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microcomputer of Wang to determine a value of a first resistance (internal resistance) and a value of a second resistance (contact resistance) based on the three measured voltages, as taught by Reichow. Wang disclose a battery testing apparatus determining three voltages to calculate a first internal battery resistance but fails to detail determining both a first resistance and a second distinct resistance based on these values. Reichow teaches an internal resistance determining unit that uses successive voltage measurements to isolate the battery internal resistance from a second parasitic line or contact resistance. The motivation to combine would be to improve the accuracy of the internal battery health assessment by mathematically factoring out the negative influence of cabling and contact resistances. This constitutes a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Wang, and Reichow, are silent in regard to:
cause, based on at least one of the value of the first resistance or the value of the second resistance, output of at least one notification.
However, Takatsuji, further teaches:
cause, based on at least one of the value of the first resistance or the value of the second resistance, output of at least one notification ([0057], [0077]-[0078], & [0080]: teaches outputting a visual/audio notification upon determining a high resistance reading indicative of a loose connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the Wang and Reichow combination to cause the output of at least one notification based on the determined second contact resistance, as taught by Takatsuji. The combination of Wang and Reichow discloses determining a first internal resistance and a second contact resistance but fails to detail causing the output of at last one notification based on these calculated values. Takatsuji teaches a battery management system having a host controller 4 that evaluates contact resistance to determine connection looseness and upon detecting an abnormality, turns on an abnormality lamp on a display device 5 and sounds an alarm. The motivation to combine would be to attract a user’s attention to an abnormally high contact resistance using light and sound, thereby increasing the overall safety of the battery system and preventing thermal events . This modification is an application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]),
wherein the voltage monitoring device is configured to measure the first voltage, the second voltage, and the third voltage ([0044] & [0047]: discloses that the ADCs and differential amplifier (acting collectively as the voltage monitoring device) measure and quantize the raw and differential voltages during the respective switch configurations).
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the relay device further comprises a voltage monitoring device,
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the individual switching and voltage monitoring components of Wang ([0035] & [0044])
wherein the relay device further comprises a voltage monitoring device ([0081]-[0082]: provides the structural integration of a switching device and a voltage determining unit into a single integrated module),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to structurally integrate the voltage measurement components into the relay switch module, such that the relay device further comprises the voltage monitoring device configured to measure the first, second, and third voltages as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a switching configuration that routes battery signal to a differential amplifier and analog-to-digital converters configured to measure the first, second, and third voltages, but does not detail structurally integrating these voltage measurement components within the relay device itself. Reichow teaches integrating a switching device and a voltage determining unit into a unified, at least partly monolithically integrated module. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to reduce the overall printed circuit board footprint and improve signal integrity by minimizing parasitic cabling resistances between the mechanical switch and the measurement sensors, thereby improving the accuracy of the voltage measurements. This modification represents a predictable variation combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 2 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the relay device further comprises one or more resistors coupled between at least one switch of the one or more switches and a ground connection.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the base switching apparatus ( changeover switch 112) of Wang ([0035] & [0037]).
wherein the relay device further comprises one or more resistors coupled between at least one switch of the one or more switches and a ground connection ([0081]-[0082] & [0084]: the integrated module (relay device) houses an electrical resistor coupled to a switch and a ground connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang by incorporating the resistor and ground coupling arrangement into the unified switching relay module, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a switching assembly for testing a battery but fails to detail the relay device further comprising one or more resists coupled between at least one switch and a ground connection. Reichow teaches a structural modification where an integrated switching module 51 includes a third switching device 19 and an electrical resistor 18 coupled to a reference potential 54 in the form of a ground potential. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to allow the application of a known load to the battery circuit in order to properly settle the voltage and accurately isolate parasitic contact resistances during the measurement phase (Reichow: [0058]-[0059] & [0100]). This modification constitutes a predictable variation combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]), wherein the first configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a third switch of the one or more switches ([0091]: discloses a first configuration where a first switch (SW11) and a third switch (SW 21) are closed (switched ON)) and opening a second switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches ([0085]-[0087], [0091], & [0094]) to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection of the battery under test and a negative bus connection of the battery under test for measuring the first voltage ([0007], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0052], [0055], [0059], [0062], [0082]-[0083], [0085] , [0091], & [0094]: discloses that closing the switches couples the positive and negative bus connections of the specific battery under test (Ce1) to the voltage monitoring device, via capacitors C1/C2, to measure the first voltage).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]), and opening a third switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches ([0087] & [0095]: discloses switches such as SW31, SW41, or SW42, are turned off (opened) while the others are turned on (closed) to configure the measurement paths)
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the second configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a second switch of the one or more switches
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the second voltage.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
wherein the second configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a second switch of the one or more switches ([0082]-[0084]: discloses configuring the circuit by closing multiple switches (device 19 and device 53 into a first position) to couple the measurement components into the circuit)
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the second voltage ([0048]-[0049], [0052], [0081]-[0082], & [0084]: discloses that closing the switches couples the voltage determining unit and the resistor to the positive terminal (Pole C/first terminal 9) of the battery to acquire the second voltage (UADD) under load).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch configurations of Wang to include the resistor-coupled second voltage measurement state as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a switch matrix for acquiring multiple voltages to evaluate a battery but fails to detail a second configuration that closes specific switches and opens others to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection and a resistor for measuring the second voltage. Reichow teaches a measurement module 51 that determines a second voltage value (UADD) by closing a third switching device 19 and a fourth switching device 53 to couple a voltage determining unit 20 and an electrical resistor 18 to the positive terminal (Pole C) of a battery 5, while isolating other paths. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to capture a voltage drop under a known load, thereby enabling the accurate calculation of the battery’s internal and contact resistances to improve diagnostic reliability (Reichow: [0058]-[0059] & [0090]). This modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 3 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]), and opening a first switch of the one or more switches and a second switch of the one or more switches ([0087] & [0095]: non-selected parallel switches (e.g., a first switch SW31 and SW41) are open (turned off) to prevent short circuits and ensure accurate isolated readings)
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the third configuration comprises closing a third switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a negative bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the third voltage.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
wherein the third configuration comprises closing a third switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches ([0081]-[0084] & [0084]: discloses configuring the circuit by manipulating multiple switches simultaneously (closing device 19 and positioning device 53) to actively couple the measurement components into a specific path)
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a negative bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the third voltage ([0029], [0042], [0059]-[0060], & [0081]-[0084]: discloses that operating the switches couples the electrical resistor and voltage monitoring module to Pole D, which serves as the negative reference potential (negative bus connection) to determine a third voltage value ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch configurations of Wang to incorporate the negative bus resistor coupling state to measure the third voltage as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a switch matrix for acquiring multiple battery voltages but fails to detail a third configuration that closes third and fourth switches while opening first and second switches to couple a voltage monitoring device and a resistor to a negative bus connection to measure a third voltage. Reichow teaches a measurement module 51 that utilizes a third switching device 19 and a fourth switching device 53 to selectively couple a voltage determining unit 20 and an electrical resistor 18 to the negative reference connection (Pole D) of a battery to determine a third voltage value. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to isolate and quantify the parasitic voltage drop along the negative return path (Pole D) to further improve the accuracy of the battery’s internal resistance calculation (Reichow: [0054] & [0063]). This modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]), wherein the first voltage comprises a battery voltage of the battery under test ([0044], [0059], & [0094]: discloses that the first voltage acquired by the switch matrix and held by the first capacitor is the actual voltage of the battery (or specific cell) under test).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage of the battery under test.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the second capacitor (which holds the second voltage) physically connected between the positive electrode (positive bus) and a ground reference potential G of Wang ([0037]-[0038], [0040], [0042], [0061],& [0065]).
wherein the second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage of the battery under test ([0063], [0076], & [0084]: provides the modified second voltage measurement configuration and confirms measuring the voltage between the positive terminal (Pole C) and the ground reference potential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage measurement of Wang to ensure the second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses measuring a second voltage associated with the battery under test but fails to define that this second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage when utilizing the specific load-coupled configuration. Reichow teaches a voltage determining module configured to acquire a voltage value by measuring directly between a positive bus terminal (Pole C) and a reference potential 54 configured as a ground potential. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to isolate the parasitic line resistances present on the positive side of the circuit to improve overall diagnostic accuracy of the battery management system. This modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage of the battery under test.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the base structure of a battery negative terminal (bus) connected to ground of Wang ([0034]).
wherein the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage of the battery under test ([0053], [0063] & [0084]: provides the measurement limitation by teaching successive measurements that isolate the potential difference between the negative terminal (Pole D) and the ground reference potential, which constitutes measuring the ground to negative bus voltage to determine harness resistance (RHAR2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage measurement configuration of Wang so that the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses an apparatus for measuring multiple battery voltages but fails to detail that the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage of the battery under test. Reichow teaches a measurement module 51 configured to acquire successive voltage measurements between a negative bus connection (Pole D) and an absolute ground reference potential to determine parasitic line resistances. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to quantify the parasitic voltage drop along the ground return path (RHAR2), factoring out wiring resistance and improving diagnostic accuracy of the internal battery resistance calculations. This modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Wang, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0035], [0037], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the at least one notification is associated with at least one of the value of the first resistance or the value of the second resistance indicating a battery ground associated with the battery under test.
However, Takatsuji, further teaches:
wherein the at least one notification is associated with at least one of the value of the first resistance or the value of the second resistance ([0057] & [0077]: discloses the notification (abnormality lamp/alarm) is triggered by and associated with a calculated high contact resistance)
The Examiner is combining Reichow in view of Takatsuji by implementing the calculated second resistance (RHAR2) that measures the parasitic resistance on the reference potential line (Pole D), which is the ground path of Reichow ([0042], [0053], & [0063]).
indicating a battery ground associated with the battery under test ([0051] & [0053]: confirms that analyzing contact resistance on the negative (ground) terminals evaluates connection looseness, therefore the second resistance indicates the state of the battery ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined apparatus of Wang and Reichow to cause the notification to be associated with the second resistance indicating the battery ground, as taught by Takatsuji. Wang discloses a battery measuring apparatus but does not detail a notification associated with a calculated resistance indicating a battery ground of the battery under test. Reichow teaches determining a second resistance (RHAR2) that indicates the parasitic resistance of the ground reference potential path (Pole D), while Takatsuji teaches outputting an abnormality notification based on an elevated contact resistance. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to detect and alert the user to a deteriorating or loose ground connection, thereby preventing dangerous power failures, loss of system availability, or thermal events (Takatsuji: [0077] & [0080]). This modification constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (KSR).
Claims 11 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Takatsuji.
Regarding independent claim 11, Wang, teaches:
A method comprising ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]):
determining, by a relay device, based on a first configuration of one or more switches of the relay device coupled to a battery under test, a value of a first voltage associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0051], & [0058]-[0059]: discloses the method step of utilizing a first switch configuration (terminal a connected to c) to route and determine a first battery voltage of the battery under test);
determining, based on a second configuration of the one or more switches, a value of a second voltage associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0060]-[0061], & [0065]: discloses the method step of utilizing a second switch state configuration (terminal b connected to c) to route and determine a second voltage);
determining, based on a third configuration of the one or more switches, a value of a third voltage associated with the battery under test ([Abstract], [0023]-[0024], [0050]-[0052], & [0055]: discloses the initial method step of utilizing the switch configurations to acquire a pre-sample measurement, identified as a third voltage); and
sending, to a computing device, data indicative of the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0023], [0043]-[0047], [0049], [0052]-[0053], [0059]-[0061], [0065]-[0066], [0068],[0089]-[0090], [0095], [0101], [Claim 1], [Claim 5], & [Claim 7]: discloses sending the digitized data representing the measured voltages from the analog-to-digital converters to the microcomputer (computing device)),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the computing device outputs at least one notification based on the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage.
However, Takatsuji, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Takatsuji by implementing the computing device receiving three voltages of Wang ([Abstract], [0018], [0035]-[0040], [0045], & [0047]).
wherein the computing device outputs at least one notification based on the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage ([0057], [0074], & [0077]-[0080]: teaches the method step of a computing device evaluating measured voltage values and outputting an abnormality notification (lamp/alarm) based on the deviations in those voltages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang by configuring the computing device to output of at least one notification based on the first, second, and third voltages, as taught by Takatsuji. Wang discloses determining and sending a first, second, and third voltage to a computing device, but fails to detail the computing device outputting at last one notification based on the values of those voltage. Takatsuji teaches a battery management method where a host controller analyzes measured voltage values to detect deviations and outputs an abnormality notification via a display device and acoustic alarm when the voltage values cross predefined thresholds. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to alert a user to abnormal voltage drops caused by internal degradation or connection deterioration, thereby increasing the overall safety of the battery system, prompting immediate repair, and preventing thermal events . This modification constitutes the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable diagnostic results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]), wherein the first voltage comprises a battery voltage of the battery under test ([0044], [0059], & [0094]: discloses the method step of capturing a first voltage, acquired by the switch matrix and held by the first capacitor, defined as the actual voltage of the battery (or specific cell) under test).
Claims 12-16 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Takatsuji, and further in view of Reichow.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]),
wherein the voltage monitoring device is configured to measure the first voltage, the second voltage, and the third voltage ([0044] & [0047]: discloses the step of the ADCs and differential amplifier (acting collectively as the voltage monitoring device) measuring and quantizing the raw and differential voltages during the respective switch configurations).
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the relay device further comprises a voltage monitoring device,
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the individual switching and voltage monitoring components during the measurement of Wang ([0035] & [0044])
wherein the relay device further comprises a voltage monitoring device ([0081]-[0082]: provides the structural integration of a switching device and a voltage determining unit housed into a single integrated module),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang to execute the voltage measurements using a relay switch module that further comprises the voltage monitoring device configured to measure the first, second, and third voltages as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method utilizing a switching configuration to route battery signal to a differential amplifier and analog-to-digital converters configured to measure the first, second, and third voltages, but does not detail the step of utilizing a relay device that structurally comprises the voltage monitoring device. Reichow teaches a measurement method using a unified, at least partly monolithically integrated module that incorporates a switching device and a voltage determining unit. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to reduce the overall printed circuit board footprint and improve signal integrity during the measurement steps by minimizing parasitic cabling resistances between the mechanical switch and the measurement sensors, thereby improving the accuracy of the voltage measurements. This modification represents a predictable variation combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the relay device further comprises one or more resistors coupled between at least one switch of the one or more switches and a ground connection.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the base switching apparatus during the method ( changeover switch 112) of Wang ([0035] & [0037]).
wherein the relay device further comprises one or more resistors coupled between at least one switch of the one or more switches and a ground connection ([0081]-[0082] & [0084]: provides the integrated module (relay device) housing an electrical resistor coupled to both a switch and a ground connection to execute the measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang by executing the resistor and ground coupling arrangement into the unified switching relay module, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method utilizing a switching assembly for testing a battery but fails to detail the relay device further comprising one or more resists coupled between at least one switch and a ground connection. Reichow teaches a measurement method using an integrated switching module that includes an electrical resistor and a third switching device that selectively couples the resistor to a reference potential configured as a ground potential. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to allow the selective application of a known load to the battery circuit during the measurement steps to properly settle the voltage and accurately isolate parasitic contact resistances during the measurement phase (Reichow: [0058]-[0059] & [0100]). This method modification constitutes a predictable variation combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]), wherein the first configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a third switch of the one or more switches ([0091]: discloses the method step of establishing a first configuration where a first switch (SW11) and a third switch (SW 21) are closed (switched ON) to isolate a specific battery cell for measurement) and opening a second switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches ([0085]-[0087], [0091], & [0094]) to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection of the battery under test and a negative bus connection of the battery under test for measuring the first voltage ([0007], [0034], [0039]-[0040], [0052], [0055], [0059], [0062], [0082]-[0083], [0085] , [0091], & [0094]: discloses that manipulating these specific switches during this step successfully couples the positive and negative bus connections of the specific battery under test (Ce1) to the voltage monitoring device, via capacitors C1/C2, to measure the first voltage).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]),
and opening a third switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches ([0087] & [0095]: discloses parallel switches (e.g., third switch SW31 and fourth switch SW41), are turned off (opened) to prevent short circuits and ensure accurate readings)
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the second configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a second switch of the one or more switches
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the second voltage.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
wherein the second configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a second switch of the one or more switches ([0082]-[0084]: discloses the method step of manipulating multiple switches simultaneously (closing device 19 and positioning device 53) to couple the measurement components into a specific path)
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a positive bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the second voltage ([0048]-[0049], [0052], [0081]-[0082], & [0084]: discloses that operating the switches couples the electrical resistor and voltage monitoring module to Pole D, which serves as the negative reference potential (negative bus connection), to determine a loaded voltage measurement( the second voltage)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch configuration method of Wang to incorporate the negative bus resistor coupling state to measure the second voltage, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method utilizing a switch matrix for acquiring multiple battery voltages to evaluate a battery but fails to detail a second configuration that closes first and second switches while opening third and fourth switches to couple a voltage monitoring device and a resistor to a negative bus connection to measure a second voltage. Reichow teaches a measurement method using a module 51 that utilizes a third switching device 19 and a fourth switching device 53 to selectively couple a voltage determining unit 20 and an electrical resistor 18 to the negative reference connection (Pole D) of a battery 5 to determine a loaded voltage value, while isolating other paths. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to isolate and quantify the specific parasitic voltage drop along the negative return path (Pole D) under load, thereby factoring out wiring resistance to improve diagnostic accuracy of the internal battery resistance calculation (Reichow: [0054], [0058]-[0059], [0063], & [0090]). This method modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]), and opening a third switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches ([0087] & [0095]: non-selected parallel switches (e.g., a third switch SW31 and a fourth switch SW41) are open (turned off) to prevent short circuits and ensure accurate isolated readings)
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the third configuration comprises closing a third switch of the one or more switches and a fourth switch of the one or more switches
to couple the voltage monitoring device to a negative bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the third voltage.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
wherein the third configuration comprises closing a first switch of the one or more switches and a second switch of the one or more switches ([0081]-[0084] & [0084]: discloses the method step of manipulating multiple switches simultaneously (closing device 19 and positioning device 53) to actively couple the measurement components into a specific path)
to couple the voltage monitoring device to the positive bus connection of the battery under test and a resistor of the one or more resistors for measuring the third voltage ([0028]-[0029], [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0049], [0052], [0059]-[0060], [0063], [0076], [0081]-[0084]: discloses that operating the switches couples the electrical resistor and voltage monitoring module to the first terminal 9 (Pole C), which serves as the positive bus connection to determine a loaded voltage measurement (the third voltage)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch configuration method of Wang to incorporate the positive bus resistor coupling state to measure the third voltage as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method utilizing a switch matrix for acquiring multiple battery voltages but fails to detail a third configuration that closes first and second switches while opening third and fourth switches to couple a voltage monitoring device and a resistor to a positive bus connection to measure a third voltage. Reichow teaches a measurement method using a module 51 that utilizes a third switching device 19 and a fourth switching device 53 to selectively couple a voltage determining unit 20 and an electrical resistor 18 to the positive bus connection (Pole C/first terminal 9) of a battery to determine a third voltage value, as taught by Reichow ([0048]-[0049] & [0081]-[0084]). The motivation to combine these teachings would be selectively apply a known load to the positive terminal in order to quantify the parasitic voltage drop at the positive bus connection, factoring out wiring resistance to improve the accuracy of the diagnostic accuracy of the internal battery resistance calculation (Reichow: [0054] & [0063]). This method modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage of the battery under test.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the method step of determining a second voltage that is physically referenced to a ground potential G, by a second capacitor (which holds the second voltage) physically connected between the positive electrode (positive bus) and a ground reference potential G of Wang ([0037]-[0038], [0040], [0042], [0061],& [0065]).
wherein the second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage of the battery under test ([0063], [0076], & [0084]: confirms a measurement method that determined the voltage between the positive terminal (Pole C) and the ground reference potential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage measurement method of Wang to ensure the determined second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method for determining a second voltage associated with the battery under test but fails to define that this second voltage comprises a positive bus to ground voltage when utilizing the specific load-coupled configuration. Reichow teaches a measurement method configured to acquire a voltage value by measuring directly between a positive bus terminal (Pole C) and a reference potential 54 configured as a ground potential. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to isolate and quantify the parasitic line resistances present on the positive side of the circuit, thereby improving the overall diagnostic accuracy of the battery management system. This method modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage of the battery under test.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the base structure step where a battery negative terminal (bus) is connected to ground of Wang ([0034]).
wherein the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage of the battery under test ([0053], [0063] & [0084]: provides the measurement method by teaching successive measurements that isolate the potential difference between the negative terminal (Pole D) and the ground reference potential, which constitutes measuring the ground to negative bus voltage to determine harness resistance (RHAR2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage measurement method of Wang to dictate that the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method for acquiring multiple battery voltages but fails to detail that the third voltage comprises a ground to negative bus voltage of the battery under test. Reichow teaches a measurement method configured to acquire successive voltage measurements between a negative bus connection (Pole D) and an absolute ground reference potential 54 to determine specific parasitic line resistances. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to quantify the parasitic voltage drop along the ground return path (RHAR2), thereby factoring out wiring resistance and improving diagnostic accuracy of the internal battery resistance calculations. This method modification represents a predictable variation of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Wang, teaches:
The method of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0035], & [0037], [0057]-[0059], & [0106]),
Wang, is silent in regard to:
wherein the computing device determines a value of a first resistance associated with the battery under test and a value of a second resistance associated with the battery under test based on the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage, wherein the at least one notification associated with is associated with at least one of the value of the first resistance or the value of the second resistance indicating a battery ground associated with the battery under test.
However, Reichow, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Wang in view of Reichow by implementing the computing device determining a first internal resistance from the voltage values of Wang ([0004], [006]-[0007], [0013], [0016]-[0017], [0032]-[0034], [0047], [0051], [0067], [0090]-[0091], & [0096]-[0097]).
wherein the computing device determines a value of a first resistance associated with the battery under test and a value of a second resistance associated with the battery under test based on the value of the first voltage, the value of the second voltage, and the value of the third voltage ([Abstract], [0052], [0056], [0060], [0063], [0069],[0078]-[0079], [0100], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], [Claim 4], [Claim 10], [Claim 12], & [Claim 17]: teaches modifying the method of Wang to use the successive voltage measurements to determine both the internal resistance and a distinct second resistance (e.g., RHAR1 or RHAR2)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resistance calculation method of Wang to determine both a first and second resistance based on the acquired voltage values, as taught by Reichow. Wang discloses a method where a computing device calculates a single internal resistance from acquired voltage values but fails to detail determining both a first resistance and a distinct second resistance based on the three voltages. Reichow teaches a measurement method where a computing module uses successive voltage measurements to determine both a first internal resistance and a distinct second resistance, such as parasitic line resistances (RHAR1, RHAR2). The motivation to combine these teachings would be to improve the accuracy of internal battery health assessment by mathematically factoring out the negative influence of cabling or contact resistances. This method modification constitutes a predictable variation combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
However, Takatsuji, further teaches:
wherein the at least one notification is associated with at least one of the value of the first resistance or the value of the second resistance ([0057] & [0077]: discloses the method step where the notification (abnormality lamp/alarm) is triggered by and associated with a calculated high contact resistance)
The Examiner is combining Reichow in view of Takatsuji by implementing the calculated second resistance (RHAR2) that measures the parasitic resistance on the reference potential line (Pole D), which serves as the ground path of Reichow ([0042], [0053], & [0063]).
indicating a battery ground associated with the battery under test ([0051], [0053], & [0057]: confirms that analyzing contact resistance on the negative (ground) terminal evaluates connection looseness, indicating the state of the battery ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and Reichow to include the step of outputting at least one notification associated with the second resistance indicating the battery ground, as taught by Takatsuji. The combined method of Wang and Reichow determines a second resistance indicating a parasitic battery ground path, but fails to detail the step of outputting a notification associated with this specific resistance. Takatsuji teaches a battery management method that evaluates contact resistance on a negative ground terminal and outputs an abnormality notification via a display device when that calculated resistance is abnormally high. The motivation to combine these teachings would be to detect and alert a user to a deteriorating or loose ground connection, thereby preventing dangerous power failures, loss of system availability, or thermal events, and maintaining reliable system power operation (Takatsuji: [0077] & [0080]). This modification constitutes applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 August 27, 2026
/A.A/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858