DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,047 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claims 1-4 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 10 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 2 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claim 9 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claim 10 of the instant application.
Claim 11 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claims 11-14 of the instant application.
Claim 12 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claims 15 and 17 of the instant application.
Claim 13 of ‘047 recites claimed limitations of claim 16 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-12, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leist (US 2014/0373965 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leist (‘965) discloses an electrical conduit for wire and/or wire bundles, comprising: an electrical conduit (para[0023], “the pipe comprises a metal or metal alloy”) having an inner surface (para[0022], “inner surface”); a boron nitride coating (abstract, para[0027]) applied to the inner surface (para[0022],[0024]), wherein the boron nitride coating is configured to reduce a pull force (para[0024], less friction) required to pull the wire and/or wire bundles through the electrical conduit.
Regarding claim 2, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the boron nitride coating comprises boron nitride (para[0029]) in a carrier (para[0029], “the one or more boron nitride powders are added to the liquid coating”).
Regarding claim 5, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 2, wherein the carrier is a liquid (para[0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the boron nitride coating is applied to the inner surface as a powder (para[0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the electrical conduit comprises aluminum (para[0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the electrical conduit comprises at least one of steel (para[0023]), polyvinyl chloride, and fiberglass.
Regarding claim 10, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the electrical conduit comprises at least one of electrical metal tubing (para[0023]) and intermediate metal conduit.
Regarding claim 11¸ Leist discloses a method for improving a pull force of wire and/or wire bundles through an conduit, comprising: providing an electrical conduit (para[0023], “the pipe comprises a metal or metal alloy”) having an inner surface (para[0022], “inner surface”); applying a boron nitride coating (abstract, para[0027]) to the inner surface (para[0022],[0024]), wherein the boron nitride coating is configured to reduce a pull force (para[0024], less friction) required to pull the wire and/or wire bundles through the electrical conduit.
Regarding claim 12, Leist discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the boron nitride coating comprises boron nitride (para[0029]) in a carrier (para[0029], “the one or more boron nitride powders are added to the liquid coating”).
Regarding claim 15, Leist discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the carrier is a liquid (para[0029]), and wherein the boron nitride coating is applied using at least one of a brush application method, a spray application method (para[0029]), and a dip application method.
Regarding claim 17, Leist discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the boron nitride coating is applied to the inner surface as a powder (para[0030]) using a powder coating method (para[0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Leist discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the electrical conduit comprises aluminum (para[0023]).
Regarding claim 19, Leist discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the electrical conduit comprises at least one of steel (para[0023]), polyvinyl chloride, and fiberglass.
Regarding claim 20, Leist discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the electrical conduit comprises at least one of electrical metal tubing (para[0023]) and intermediate metal conduit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leist (US 2014/0373965 A1) in view of Student et al (US 2008/0015122 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 2, however, does not explicitly disclose that the boron nitride is present in a concentration of more than 50% (claim 3) and/or at least 85 % (claim 4). It is noted that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 II.A.). Also, the originally filed specification does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of the concentration of the boron nitride. Student et al (‘122) teaches that it is known to use up to 95 wt. % of boron nitride (claims 1-2, 5 of Student et al) as a sufficient amount of boron nitride when pulling a wire through the conduit (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leist to use the boron nitride present in a concentration of more than 50% (claim 3) and/or at least 85 % (claim 4), as taught by Student et al, as such concentration is sufficient amount of boron nitride when pulling a wire through the conduit (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Leist discloses the electrical conduit of claim 5, however, does not explicitly disclose that the liquid is water. Student et al teaches that water is one of known types of liquids of a carrier of the boron nitride coating (claim 11 of Student et al). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leist to use water as a carrier, as taught by Student et al, as water is one of known types of liquids of a carrier of the boron nitride coating (claim 11 of Student et al).
Regarding claims 13-14, Leist discloses the method of claim 12, however, does not explicitly disclose that the boron nitride is present in a concentration of more than 50% (claim 13) and/or at least 85 % (claim 14). It is noted that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 II.A.). Also, the originally filed specification does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of the concentration of the boron nitride. Student et al (‘122) teaches that it is known to use up to 95 wt. % of boron nitride (claims 1-2, 5 of Student et al) as a sufficient amount of boron nitride when pulling a wire through the conduit (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leist to use the boron nitride present in a concentration of more than 50% (claim 3) and/or at least 85 % (claim 4), as taught by Student et al, as such concentration is sufficient amount of boron nitride when pulling a wire through the conduit (abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Leist discloses the method of claim 15, however, does not explicitly disclose that the liquid is water. Student et al teaches that water is one of known types of liquids of a carrier of the boron nitride coating (claim 11 of Student et al). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leist to use water as a carrier, as taught by Student et al, as water is one of known types of liquids of a carrier of the boron nitride coating (claim 11 of Student et al).
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723