DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 5, in paragraph 0029, the term --a-- should be inserted before the term “breathing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 11, the term --is-- should be inserted after the term “system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,905. In other words, claims 1 and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,905 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 1-7 and therefore anticipate claims 1-7. Since claims 1-7 are anticipated by claims 1 and 11-17 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 11-17. Thus the invention of claims 1 and 11-17 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1-7. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1-7 are anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1 and 11-17 of the patent, claims 1-7 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 and 11-17, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1 and 11-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0013470 to Richards et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0275808 to DiMaio et al. With respect to claim 1, Richards et al. '470 shows the claimed limitations of a patient support apparatus for supporting a patient, said patient support apparatus comprising: a mattress (10) defining a patient support surface, said mattress including an inflatable mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180), and said inflatable mattress portion having a plurality of states (i.e., with respect to rotation, percussion and vibration) (as shown in Figures 1, 2, 6 & 19-21 and as described on page 2, paragraph 0033; page 3, paragraphs 0042, 0044 & 0049; and on page 5, in paragraphs 0064-0070); a control system (120, 199) configured to control inflation or deflation of said inflatable mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180) to change between said states of said inflatable mattress portion (as shown in Figures 10-12 & 22 and as described on page 3, in paragraph 0053; page 5, paragraph 0071 and on page 6, in paragraph 0071); and a user interface (122) in communication with said control system (120, 199), said user interface configured to allow a user to input a selected state from said states of said inflatable mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180), and said control system (120, 199) being operable to inflate or deflate said inflatable mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180) in response to said selected state input at said user interface (122, 170) (as shown in Figures 10-12 & 16-18 and as described on page 3, in paragraph 0053; page 4, paragraphs 0053 & 0059-0062 and on page 5, in paragraphs 0062-0064).
With further respect to claim 1, Richards et al. '470 further discloses a condition wherein the control system (120, 199) is configured to modify said selected state of said inflatable mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180) in response to (1) a passage of time after said selected state was input into said control system (120, 199) and/or a (2) a sensed condition at said mattress (10) (see Figure 28 and page 8, paragraph 0092). However, Richards et al. '470 does not specifically disclose wherein the control system is configured to automatically modify said selected state. DiMaio et al. '808 provides the basis teaching of a patient support apparatus comprising a mattress (1159) defining a patient support surface, said mattress including an inflatable mattress portion (1161a-1161g, 1400) (as shown in Figures 1, 11E & 13B and as described on page 2, in paragraph 0009; page 5, paragraph 0063; page 11, paragraph 0118; and on page 12, in paragraph 0128); and a control system (206, 220) configured to control inflation or deflation of said inflatable mattress portion (1161a-1161g, 1400) (as shown in Figures 6 & 7 and as described on page 8, in paragraph 0084; page 9, paragraphs 0102 & 103 and on page 10, in paragraph 0103), wherein the control system (206, 220) is configured to automatically modify said selected state (as described on page 11, in paragraph 0114). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patient support apparatus of Richards et al. '470 with the control system of DiMaio et al. '808 which is configured to automatically modify said selected state of said inflatable mattress portion with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have achieved the desirable result of facilitating comfort and care to a patient disposed on the mattress.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Richards et al. '470 further teaches conditions wherein the selected state of said inflatable mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180) is a CPR state wherein said inflatable mattress portion is either fully deflated or max inflated, and wherein said sensed condition at said mattress (10) comprises a characteristic associated with CPR (as shown in Figures 16-18 & 24 and as described on page 4, in paragraphs 0059 & 0060; page 5, paragraph 0063 and on page 7, in paragraph 0087).
With respect to claims 4-6, Richards et al. '470 further teaches the use of a selected state of said mattress portion (90, 92, 110, 116, 180) which is a CPR state as stated in the immediately preceding paragraph, but does not specifically disclose conditions wherein the characteristic associated with CPR comprises a force or an increased weight associated with CPR, and further wherein the control system automatically modifies said selected state when the force is no longer present after a period of time or when the increased weight is removed. DiMaio et al. '808 provides the basic teaching that the control system is configured to automatically modify said selected state (as described on page 11, in paragraph 0114), and further wherein modification of the selected state is based on patient data such as the weight of a patient (as shown in Figures 8 & 9 and as described on page 1, paragraphs 0007-0009 and on page 10, in paragraphs 0107 & 0109). The skilled artisan would have it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patient support apparatus of Richards et al. '470 with the control system of DiMaio et al. '808 which automatically modifies said selected state when the force is no longer present after a period of time or when the increased weight is removed with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have achieved the desirable result of further facilitating comfort and care management to a patient disposed on the mattress.
With respect to claim 7, DiMaio et al. '808 further teaches a condition wherein said control system (206, 220) is configured to monitor a biometric condition of a patient supported on said mattress, and said sensed condition at said mattress comprises detecting when the biometric condition of the patient has changed (as shown in Figures 8 & 9 and as described on page 10, paragraphs 0107 & 0109). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the patient support apparatus of Richards et al. '470 with the control system of DiMaio et al. '808 which is configured to monitor a biometric condition of a patient supported on said mattress, and said sensed condition at said mattress comprises detecting when the biometric condition of the patient has changed, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have achieved the desirable result of imparting enhanced comfort and care management to a patient disposed on the mattress.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: Lafleche et al. ‘004, Theunick et al. ‘528, Lafleche et al. ‘926, Lafleche et al. ‘287, Lafleche et al. ‘636, Lafleche et al. ‘202, Lafleche et al. ‘362, Lafleche et al. ‘265, Lafleche et al. ‘564, Lafleche et al. ‘273, Lafleche et al. ‘158, Lafleche et al. ‘792, Lafleche et al. ‘307 and Lafleche et al. ‘781.
/ROBERT G SANTOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673