DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “oblong shape” of claim 8 and the “sealing strip” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deblock EP 2966247 A1 (hereinafter Deblock).
In regards to claim 1, Deblock teaches a door lock device for a vehicle, comprising: a base component (3), wherein the base component is fixed to a vehicle door (4, see abstract and para 12) for opening and closing an opening of a vehicle body (para 12); a striker (21), wherein the striker is fixed to an edge of the opening on the vehicle body (para 15 and fig 1); and a latch (1), wherein the latch is provided on the base component (para 2) and has a latch groove (11) capable of being engaged with and disengaged from the striker, and the latch is capable of rotating between a locking position (see fig 1) in which the striker is constrained by the latch groove and an unlocking position (when rotated from fig 1) in which the striker is released, wherein a protrusion part (114) protruding toward an inner side of the latch groove is provided on a surface of the latch groove that contacts the striker when the latch rotates (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 2, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a protrusion amount of the protrusion part gradually increases and then gradually decreases toward a disengagement direction in which the striker is disengaged from the latch groove (see figs 2-3).
In regards to claim 3, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the protrusion part is formed in an arc shape when viewed along a rotation axis direction of the latch (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 4, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the protrusion part is a resin part covering the latch (para 27).
In regards to claim 7, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the base component is provided with a base groove for the striker to pass through (seen in fig 1).
In regards to claim 8, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional shape of a portion of the striker entering the latch groove is an oblong shape when viewed along a rotation axis direction of the latch (see reference image 1).
Reference image 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deblock as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Inan US 20090021027 A1 (hereinafter Inan).
In regards to claim 5, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1.
However, Deblock does not teach wherein the latch is provided with an abutting part, and the base component is provided with an abutted part, further rotation of the latch when the latch is rotated to the unlocking position is restricted by the abutment between the abutting part and the abutted part, and the abutted part is made of a material different from the base component.
Inan teaches a latch (1) is provided with an abutting part (portion engaging 8, see fig 2), and a base component (6) is provided with an abutted part (8), further rotation of the latch when the latch is rotated to the unlocking position is restricted by the abutment between the abutting part and the abutted part (see fig 2), and the abutted part is made of a material different from the base component (as the housing is steel, see para 7 and the abutted part is rubber see para 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the latch is provided with an abutting part, and the base component is provided with an abutted part, further rotation of the latch when the latch is rotated to the unlocking position is restricted by the abutment between the abutting part and the abutted part, and the abutted part is made of a material different from the base component in Deblock in order to limit overtravel while suppressing noise (see Inan paras 4 and 7)
In regards to claim 6, Deblock in View of Inan teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 5, wherein the abutted part is a rubber stopper (Inan para 7).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deblock as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Wilkes et al. US 20150123407 A1 (hereinafter Wilkes).
In regards to claim 9, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1.
However, Deblock is silent on wherein a sealing strip is provided around the opening, and when the vehicle door closes the opening, the sealing strip is squeezed and deformed by the vehicle door. This is very common in vehicle doors.
Wilkes teaches a sealing strip is provided around the opening, and when the vehicle door closes the opening, the sealing strip is squeezed and deformed by the vehicle door (para 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Deblock with a sealing strip is provided around the opening, and when the vehicle door closes the opening, the sealing strip is squeezed and deformed by the vehicle door in order to provide a well-known and conventional solution to prevent water egress into the vehicle compartment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeda US 4756564 A – teaches a similar protrusion.
NPL “DuPont™ Hytrel®” – teaches a resin.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675