DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The arguments are directed towards the amendments which Ikeda US 4756564 A has been introduced to teach.
Drawings
The previous drawing objections have been overcome by the present claim and drawing amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deblock EP 2966247 A1 (hereinafter Deblock) in view of Ikeda US 4756564 A (hereinafter Ikeda).
In regards to claim 1, Deblock teaches a door lock device for a vehicle, comprising: a base component (3), wherein the base component is fixed to a vehicle door (4, see abstract and para 12) for opening and closing an opening of a vehicle body (para 12); a striker (21), wherein the striker is fixed to an edge of the opening on the vehicle body (para 15 and fig 1); and a latch (1), wherein the latch is provided on the base component (para 2) and has a latch groove (11) capable of being engaged with and disengaged from the striker, and the latch is capable of rotating between a locking position (see fig 1) in which the striker is constrained by the latch groove and an unlocking position (when rotated from fig 1) in which the striker is released, wherein a protrusion part (114) protruding toward an inner side of the latch groove is provided on a surface of the latch groove that contacts the striker when the latch rotates (see fig 2).
However, Deblock does not teach the protrusion part protruding toward the inner side of the latch groove is provided at a center in a width direction of the surface of the latch groove that contacts the striker when the latch rotates , the protrusion part being spaced from edges of the surface of the latch groove on both sides of the protrusion part in the width direction.
Ikeda teaches a protrusion part (convex protrusion of 11) protruding toward an inner side of the latch groove is provided at a center in a width direction (up to down wrt fig 17) of a surface of the latch groove that contacts the striker when the latch rotates (see figs 16-17), the protrusion part being spaced from edges of the surface of the latch groove on both sides of the protrusion part in the width direction (see fig 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the protrusion part protruding toward the inner side of the latch groove is provided at a center in a width direction of the surface of the latch groove that contacts the striker when the latch rotates , the protrusion part being spaced from edges of the surface of the latch groove on both sides of the protrusion part in the width direction in order to provide a smaller contact area with the striker such that the protrusion part is more liable to deform (see Ikeda Col 5 lines 23-30).
In regards to claim 2, Deblock teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a protrusion amount of the protrusion part gradually increases and then gradually decreases toward a disengagement direction in which the striker is disengaged from the latch groove (Deblock: see figs 2-3).
In regards to claim 3, Deblock in view of Ikeda teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the protrusion part is formed in an arc shape when viewed along a rotation axis direction of the latch (Deblock: see fig 2).
In regards to claim 4, Deblock in view of Ikeda teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the protrusion part is a resin part covering the latch (Deblock: para 27).
In regards to claim 7, Deblock in view of Ikeda teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the base component is provided with a base groove for the striker to pass through (Deblock: seen in fig 1).
In regards to claim 8, Deblock in view of Ikeda teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional shape of a portion of the striker entering the latch groove is an oblong shape when viewed along a rotation axis direction of the latch (see reference image 1).
Reference image 1
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deblock in view of Ikeda as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Inan US 20090021027 A1 (hereinafter Inan).
In regards to claim 5, Deblock in view of Ikeda teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 1.
However, Deblock does not teach wherein the latch is provided with an abutting part, and the base component is provided with an abutted part, further rotation of the latch when the latch is rotated to the unlocking position is restricted by the abutment between the abutting part and the abutted part, and the abutted part is made of a material different from the base component.
Inan teaches a latch (1) is provided with an abutting part (portion engaging 8, see fig 2), and a base component (6) is provided with an abutted part (8), further rotation of the latch when the latch is rotated to the unlocking position is restricted by the abutment between the abutting part and the abutted part (see fig 2), and the abutted part is made of a material different from the base component (as the housing is steel, see para 7 and the abutted part is rubber see para 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the latch is provided with an abutting part, and the base component is provided with an abutted part, further rotation of the latch when the latch is rotated to the unlocking position is restricted by the abutment between the abutting part and the abutted part, and the abutted part is made of a material different from the base component in Deblock in order to limit overtravel while suppressing noise (see Inan paras 4 and 7)
In regards to claim 6, Deblock in view of Ikeda and Inan teaches the door lock device for a vehicle according to claim 5, wherein the abutted part is a rubber stopper (Inan para 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675