Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaal et al (US Publication No.: 20100074343) in view of Iwai et al (US Publication No.: 20090325513), further in view of Han et al (US Publication No.: 20080240285).
Claim 1, Gaal et al discloses
a memory storing program instructions (paragraph 95); and
a processor, upon executing the program instructions (paragraph 95), configured to
receive a frame control comprising an initial Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol and a subsequent OFDM symbol of the frame control (Fig. 2 shows the frames of the transmission signal, label demodulation reference signal indicates the frame control or reference signal. (paragraph 27 discloses “The demodulation reference signal may also be referred to as a reference signal, pilot, preamble, reference, training sequence, etc.” Fig. 4, label 432 outputs M modulated symbols (paragraph 40). Paragraph 5 discloses OFDM as a type of wireless system, which indicates the symbols can be OFDM.),
wherein the initial OFDM symbol of the frame control is generated using frequency domain Constant Amplitude Zero Auto-Correlation (CAZAC) sequence (Fig. 4, label frequency base domain sequence generator. Paragraph 31 discloses the base sequence may be a CAZAC sequence. Fig. 4, label 432 generates modulated symbols based on the frequency domain base sequence output from label 412.).
Gaal et al fails to disclose
the CAZAC sequence is generated using a modulation of a frequency domain Constant Amplitude Zero Auto-Correlation (CAZAC) sequence by a pseudo- noise (PN) sequence;
wherein the frequency domain CAZAC sequence modulated by the PN sequence determines a service type associated with the broadcast communication frame; and
wherein the PN sequence is reset at a start of the preamble.
Iwai et al discloses
the CAZAC sequence is generated using a modulation of a frequency domain Constant Amplitude Zero Auto-Correlation (CAZAC) sequence by a pseudo-noise (PN) sequence (Fig. 7 shows multiplication of Zadoff-Chu sequence and PN sequence to randomize the Zadoff-Chu sequence. Fig. 26b, label idft indicates that the Zadoff-Chu sequence is in the frequency domain (paragraph 146).),
wherein the frequency domain CAZAC sequence modulated by the PN sequence determines a service type associated with the broadcast communication frame (Paragraph 68 discloses extending a PN sequence to a ZC sequence length, wherein contents of control information are associated with combinations of PN sequences, hence the PN sequence can be used as a preamble as control information, wherein service type associated with frame or preamble is considered control information. Paragraph 1 discloses radio communication apparatus and radio communication method, wherein broadcasting is a type of radio communication. ) and
wherein the PN sequence is reset at a start of the preamble (Fig. 6, label sequence length setting section sets the sequence length of the PN sequence. This indicates the PN sequence is reset for each generation of a preamble or the start of the preamble shown in Fig. 6,7.).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Gaal et al’s CAZAC and preamble by generating CAZAC sequence and preamble or frame control with information as disclosed by Iwai et al so to prevent performance deterioration due to influence of frequency offset while maintaining the ZC sequence length long.
Gaal et al discloses CAZAC sequence (paragraph 31) and Iwai et al discloses ZC sequence (Fig. 7, label ZC), but fails to indicate the relationship between CAZAC sequence and ZC sequence.
Han et al discloses a CAZAC sequence is a Zadoff-Chu sequence with an odd number length. (Paragraph 77) It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application that ZC sequence and CAZAC sequence are related as indicated by Han et al since CAZAC sequence is a ZC sequence.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11923966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention of this application is broader than the claimed invention of the patent, hence this application’s recited language anticipates the invention of the patent.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11923966 in view of Iwai et al (US Publication No.: 20090325513), further in view of Han et al (US Publication No.: 20080240285).
Claim 1 of this application recites limitations broader than the claimed invention of the patent’s claim 8. Although the patent’s claimed language does not recite “wherein the frequency domain CAZAC sequence modulated by the PN sequence determines a service type associated with the broadcast communication frame;” and recites ZC sequence as opposed to CAZAC, but fails to indicate the relationship between CAZAC sequence and ZC sequence.
Iwai et al discloses the frequency domain CAZAC sequence modulated by the PN sequence determines a service type associated with the broadcast communication frame (Paragraph 68 discloses extending a PN sequence to a ZC sequence length, wherein contents of control information are associated with combinations of PN sequences, hence the PN sequence can be used as a preamble as control information, wherein service type associated with frame or preamble is considered control information. Paragraph 1 discloses radio communication apparatus and radio communication method, wherein broadcasting is a type of radio communication. ). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify patent’s recited limitation by generating CAZAC sequence and preamble or frame control with information as disclosed by Iwai et al so to prevent performance deterioration due to influence of frequency offset while maintaining the ZC sequence length long.
Han et al discloses a CAZAC sequence is a Zadoff-Chu sequence with an odd number length. (Paragraph 77) It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application that ZC sequence and CAZAC sequence are related as indicated by Han et al since CAZAC sequence is a ZC sequence.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18422990 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention of this application is broader than the claimed invention of the copending application, hence the claimed invention of this application anticipates the invention of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LINDA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655