DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in Applicant’s responses filed 07/09/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 10-19, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant asserts on pages 7-8 that Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1 fail to teach wherein the metallic layer and coil windings are positioned to force a magnetic field to project along a predetermined direction.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While Opelt is devoid of the coil metallic layer and coil windings as claimed, Weber teaches facilitating complete visualization of a stent region by magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) due to “a more uniform amplification of an RF magnetic field” of the resonator device ([0016]-[0017]). [0019] then discloses that the induction coil 102 can have a number of configurations that are positioned at a variety of locations relative the vascular stent 106. For example, as illustrated the induction coil 102 can include a first end 110 and a second end 112. The induction coil 102 can also include a first coil segment 114 and a second coil segment 116. As illustrated, the first coil segment 114 can be positioned adjacent a first stent end 118, and the second coil segment 116 can be positioned adjacent a second stent end 120. In this case, the positioning of the coil allows the stated uniform amplification of the magnetic field in [0017].
Applicant further asserts on pages 7-8 that Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1 fail to teach wherein the sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array is positioned proximally to the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array.
Examiner agrees with Applicant’s assertion that Opelt and Weber fail to teach this feature. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art Piron, et al., US 20160022146 A1.
Specifically, Piron, et al., US 20160022146 A1 discloses an insertable magnetic resonance imaging probe (abstract) with multiple coil configurations to image forward, side, top and bottom views according to [0249]. Piron’s teachings have been combined with the teachings of Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1 to arrive at the claims.
Therefore, the claims stand rejected.
Withdrawn Objections - Drawings
The objection made to the drawings have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 07/09/2026.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The objection made to claim 11 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 07/09/2026
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections of claims 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 07/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12-13, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1 and Piron, et al., US 20160022146 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Opelt teaches a device for magnetic resonance imaging (see reproduce fig. 4 below depicting apparatus for inductive coupling of a nuclear magnetic resonance signal) comprising:
a forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array (resonant solenoid coil 44 of reproduced fig. 4 above and col. 5 lines 35-40),
a sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array (the two resonant saddle coils 46 (reproduced fig. 4 above and col. 5 lines 42-46) and the other pairs of resonant saddle coils 48 (reproduced fig. 4 above and col. 5 lines 49-52)) ,
wherein the sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array includes electrically-conductive coils disposed about a base (cylindrical carrier 42 forms a base around which the two saddle resonant solenoid coils 46 and 48 are wound. Col. 5 lines 44-47 state that “The saddle coils 46 are identically fashioned and are arranged opposite one another on the surface of the cylindrical carrier 42. Only the front areas of the conductors of the saddle coil 46 are visible in FIG. 5” and lines 52-53 of col. 5 state that “resonant capacitors and detuning circuits are not shown for the saddle coils 46, 48, but are nevertheless used”, hence indicating that the coils are electrically conductive).
Opelt fails to teach wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array includes a metallic layer and coil windings disposed outside of the metallic layer; and wherein the metallic layer and coil windings are positioned to force a magnetic field to project along a predetermined direction.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Weber teaches a resonator device of a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system ([0014] discloses such MRI systems and [0069] describes such resonator device 400 of reproduced fig. 4 below in intravascular MRI), the resonator 400 of reproduced fig. 4 below comprising an elongate tube 452 including induction coil 402, and conductive film 450 according to [0059], and a first surface 458 and a second surface according to [0060]. The conductive film 450 can be located on at least a portion of the first surface 458 and the second surface 460 according to [0060]. The conductive film 450 is taught to extend longitudinally along the first surface 458 of the elongate tube 450 according to [0062] and the conductive film 450 and the induction coil 402 can be formed from an electrically conducive thin film as positioned on the elongate tube 452 according to [0064]. [0065] then indicates that the conductive film 450 and the induction coil 402 can have a thickness sufficient to conduct the energy through the resonator device 400. In addition, the induction coil 402 and/or the conductive film 450 can be formed of conductive nanoparticles. As used herein, a nanoparticle is a microscopic particle whose size is measured in nanometers. Examples of suitable nanoparticles include those that can be oxidized, including but not limited to gold (Au), hence teaching wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array ([0017] describe amplifying magnetic fields for the magnetic resonance imaging and [0068] describes the resonator being tuned or aligned to the magnetic field of the MRI system, meaning that a direction of the magnetic field of the resonator is the same as the magnetic field direction of the MRI system) includes a metallic layer (conductive film 450) and coil windings (induction coil 402) disposed outside of the metallic layer (see reproduced fig. 4 below); and wherein the metallic layer and coil windings are positioned to force a magnetic field to project along a predetermined direction (Weber teaches facilitating complete visualization of a stent region by magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) due to “a more uniform amplification of an RF magnetic field” of the resonator device ([0016]-[0017]). [0019] then discloses that the induction coil 102 can have a number of configurations that are positioned at a variety of locations relative the vascular stent 106. For example, as illustrated the induction coil 102 can include a first end 110 and a second end 112. The induction coil 102 can also include a first coil segment 114 and a second coil segment 116. As illustrated, the first coil segment 114 can be positioned adjacent a first stent end 118, and the second coil segment 116 can be positioned adjacent a second stent end 120. In this case, the positioning of the coil allows the stated uniform amplification of the magnetic field in [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Opelt wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array includes a metallic layer and coil windings disposed outside of the metallic layer; and wherein the metallic layer and coil windings are positioned to force a magnetic field to project along a predetermined direction, as taught by Weber, in an attempt to reduce artifacts during MRI of vascular regions of interest ([0015-[0016],[0069]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Opelt also strives to improve signal-to-noise ratio in the imaging region of magnetic resonance imaging (col. 1, lines 26-33 and 39-44).
Opelt in view of Weber fails to teach wherein the sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array is positioned proximally to the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Piron teaches an insertable magnetic resonance imaging probe for use in minimally invasive medical procedures (abstract and reproduced fig. 24 below) with multiple coil configurations to image forward, side, top and bottom views according to [0249], which discloses that Six different coil configurations are used to image to the left, right, above, below, and forwards of the imaging probe. To image forwards of the probe, coils ‘A’ and ‘B’ are used (folded stripline (‘A’) and loop (‘B’)), to image to the left of the probe, coil ‘C’ (sideways loop orientation), to image to the right of the probe, coil ‘D’ (sideways loop orientation), to image above the probe coil ‘E’ (butterfly oriented along probe), and to image below the probe, coil ‘F’ (butterfly oriented along probe). All these coils can be combined in a single imaging probe. [0250] also includes that adding more coils can improve performance. This arrangement uses two loops to look left and right, two butterflies to look up and down, and a loop and stripline at the tip. The end of the probe is located with arrows.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Opelt, wherein the sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array is positioned proximally to the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array, as taught by Piron, as such modification would improve performance of the probe [0250], through improved signal to noise ratio [0255], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Opelt also strives to improve signal-to-noise ratio in the imaging region of magnetic resonance imaging (col. 1, lines 26-33 and 39-44).
Regarding claim 12, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt further teaches capacitors disposed within the coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array (In col. 5, lines 40-42 state “The solenoid coil 44 is an embodiment of a dipole coil and has a number of turns. A resonant capacitor, and a detuning circuit, are used but are not shown here”).
Regarding claim 13, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt fails to teach an insulator layer disposed between the metallic layer and the coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array.
However, Weber further teaches an insulator layer disposed between the metallic layer and the coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array by stating in [0059] that “FIG. 4 provides an additional embodiment of the resonator device 400 that includes the induction coil 402, a conductive film 450 positioned adjacent the induction coil 402, and a dielectric layer 440. As illustrated, the dielectric layer 440 can be positioned between at least a portion of the induction coil 402 and the conductive film 450 to form the capacitor structure 408” The dielectric layer 440 forms the insulator layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Opelt to include an insulator layer disposed between the metallic layer and the coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array, as taught by Weber, in an attempt to reduce artifacts during MRI of vascular regions of interest ([0015-[0016],[0069]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Opelt also strives to improve signal-to-noise ratio in the imaging region of magnetic resonance imaging (col. 1, lines 26-33 and 39-44).
Regarding claim 16, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt further teaches wherein the coil windings of the sideways-looking array includes capacitors disposed among the coil windings (col. 5, lines 41-42 state that “A resonant capacitor, and a detuning circuit, are used but are not shown here”).
Regarding claim 17, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt further teaches wherein the sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array includes a four-element coil array (the second resonant coil arrangement 46 includes two saddle coils 46 (col. 5, lines 42-46) and the third resonant coil arrangement 48 includes two saddle coils 48 (col. 5, lines 49-52)).
Regarding claim 18, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 17 above.
Opelt further teaches wherein each element of the four-element coil array covers a 90 degree arc (col. 5, lines 49-52 state that “A third resonant coil arrangement likewise has two saddle coils 48 arranged opposite one another on the cylindrical carrier, these being constructed just like the saddle coils 46 but being rotated by 90.degree. relative thereto”).
Regarding claim 19, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt further teaches a matching, tuning, and decoupling circuit (col. 5, lines 30-34 state that “In an embodiment the coils are arranged around a common center and their symmetry axes are perpendicular to one another. The decoupling of the coil arrangements from one another thus achieved exclusively by means of the geometrical arrangement”. In col. 5, lines 40-42 state “The solenoid coil 44 is an embodiment of a dipole coil and has a number of turns. A resonant capacitor, and a detuning circuit, are used but are not shown here” and lines 53-54 state that “For clarity, resonant capacitors and detuning circuits are not shown for the saddle coils 46, 48, but are nevertheless used”).
Regarding claim 21, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt further teaches wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array and the sideways-looking magnetic resonance imaging array are configured for imaging the vagina and cervix (col. 5, lines 55-58 state that “When the catheter 40 with the device for signal intensification is introduced into the body via blood vessels, the blood flowing through the vessels can be employed as an imaging substance in the magnetic resonance tomogram”. The modified catheter 40, which includes all the features, including components, shape and size, of the apparatus of claim 10 as demonstrated above, is configured for intravascular magnetic resonance imaging. This means that the modified catheter as shown in fig. 4, is configured, in components, shape and size, for imaging the vagina and cervix. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1, and Piron, et al., US 20160022146 A1, as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Lardo et al. US 6675033 B1.
Regarding claim 11, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt in view of Weber and Piron fails to teach the coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array being more dense at a distal end of the array than at a proximal end of the array.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lardo teaches a system, method, and means for an MRI guidewire that can be visible on an MRI, can act as an antenna and receive MRI signals from surrounding subject matter, and can allow the use of multiple interventional tools without removal of the guidewire from a subject (as described in the abstract), the system comprising a helical whip antenna (fig. 28 has been reproduced below for reference), col. 13, lines 46-48 state that “In addition to altering the diameter of the coils in the helical coil whip antenna 306, the spacing between the coils can also be modified” and lines 53-58 stating that “Alternatively to FIG. 28, the coil spacing could be altered so that the spacing is tighter at the distal end 415 than the proximate end 515, the coil spacing could follow any type of regular change from tighter to looser coils along its length, or the coil spacing could contain coils of random spacing”, and hence teaching coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array being more dense at a distal end of the array than at a proximal end of the array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Opelt, as modified by Weber and Piron, the coil windings of the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array being more dense at a distal end of the array than at a proximal end of the array, as taught by Lardo, to “allow the construction of a helical coil whip antenna that has greater electrical length but preserves the desired mechanical properties present in a looser packed coil” with respect to at least flexibility, as taught in Lardo in line 50-53 of col. 13, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Opelt is also tasked with coil arrangements that will improve the signal-to-noise ratio, col. 1, lines 39-44 stating that “The improvement of the signal-to-noise ratio of the inductively coupled, signal-intensifying resonant circuit and of the resonant coil arrangement is dependent on the quality (Q) of the coil arrangement and on the angle of the imaging area of the resonant coil arrangement relative to the basic magnetic field direction”.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1 and Piron, et al., US 20160022146 A1, as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Viswanathan, R.R., US 20080169811 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt in view of Weber and Piron fail to teach wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array takes a generally conical form.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Viswanathan teaches an apparatus is disclosed for Magnetic Resonance Imaging with specialized imaging coils possessing high Signal-to-Noise-Ratios (SNR). Radio Frequency transmitting and/or Radio Frequency receiving elements include carbon nanotube material, a ballistic electrical conductor having a resistance that does not increase significantly with length (see abstract), the apparatus comprising an imaging coil (see reproduced fig. 4 below) and [0072] stating that “FIG. 4 shows an imaging coil embodiment constructed as a generalized conical helical carbon nanotube winding with turns of progressively smaller winding diameter in the portion of the coil closer to the patient. The axial length L of the winding can be as high as about 8 cm; the largest winding diameter is in the range 5 cm-80 cm and the smallest winding diameter can be up to 20 times smaller than the largest winding diameter” and hence teaching wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array takes a generally conical form as required by the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Opelt, as modified by Weber and Piron, wherein the forward-looking magnetic resonance imaging array takes a generally conical form, as taught by Viswanathan, to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of the system ([0072], abstract), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Opelt is also tasked with coil arrangements that will improve the signal-to-noise ratio, col. 1, lines 39-44 stating that “The improvement of the signal-to-noise ratio of the inductively coupled, signal-intensifying resonant circuit and of the resonant coil arrangement is dependent on the quality (Q) of the coil arrangement and on the angle of the imaging area of the resonant coil arrangement relative to the basic magnetic field direction”.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opelt, et al., US 6317091 B1 in view of Weber, J., US 20070023424 A1 and Piron, et al., US 20160022146 A1, as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Sasada, I., US 20140327434 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Opelt in view of Weber and Piron teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above.
Opelt in view of Weber and Piron fail to teach wherein the coil windings of the sideways-looking array are disposed around a plastic cylinder.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sasada teaches a magnetic field sensor with which it is possible to simultaneously operate a DC flux gate magnetometer 10 and a search coil magnetometer 20, a sensor is miniaturized by the DC flux gate magnetometer and the search coil magnetometer being positioned close to one another (see abstract and depicted in reproduced fig. 2A below and [0046]), the sensor head includes a second sensor head 24 which is composed of a core 21 [0039]. [0040] further clarifies that “The second sensor head 24 of the search-coil magnetometer 20 according to the embodiment of the present invention has been prepared by winding a magnetic tape having a width of 50 mm around a pipe formed of plastic material having an outer diameter of 10 mm by several turns into a cylindrical shape (the second magnetic core 21) to obtain a core as the second magnetic core 21”. The pipe formed of plastic material is equivalent to the claimed plastic cylinder.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to Opelt, as modified by Weber and Piron, wherein the coil windings of the sideways-looking array are disposed around a plastic cylinder, as taught by Sasada, as such modification would improve the signal-to-noise ration of the system ([0004], [0094]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Opelt is also tasked with coil arrangements that will improve the signal-to-noise ratio, col. 1, lines 39-44 stating that “The improvement of the signal-to-noise ratio of the inductively coupled, signal-intensifying resonant circuit and of the resonant coil arrangement is dependent on the quality (Q) of the coil arrangement and on the angle of the imaging area of the resonant coil arrangement relative to the basic magnetic field direction”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAROUK A BRUCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797