Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Concerning claims 9 and 20,
The limitation “second, different device comprises the client device” is considered indefinite. It is unclear how a single device can comprise of another device. It would require for the first device to be at least two devices. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted to be that the second device is a client device. For the aforementioned reason, claims 9 and 20 do not establish clear metes and bounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0116436 A1 to Hartnett et al. (hereinafter Hartnett ) in view of US Publication 2018/0295175 A1 to Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith).
Concerning claim 1,
Hartnett discloses a live streaming platform server comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (0361-0362) that, when executed by the processor following an occurrence of a community game triggering event (0042, 0230, 0282, 0284, wherein a participation trigger is considered a participation selection event and the setup/creation of the participation trigger is considered a community game triggering event), cause the processor to:
responsive to an occurrence of a community game participant selection event associated with a first user of a first device, enable the first user of the first device to participate in a community game streamed to a client device as part of a live stream (0226, 0230, Figure 14-15, wherein participants device are considered to be first/second devices and viewer devices viewing the public live stream are considered to be a client device), and
responsive to a second, different user of a second, different device having a designated relationship with the first user and dependent of any occurrence of any community game participant selection event associated with the second, different user, associate the second, different user with the community game (0226, 0230, Figure 14-15).
Hartnett does not clearly disclose responsive to a second, different user of a second, different device having a designated relationship with the first user and independent of any occurrence of any community game participant selection event associated with the second, different user, associate the second, different user with the community game.
Smith teaches responsive to a second, different user of a second, different device having a designated relationship with the first user and independent of any occurrence of any community game participant selection event associated with the second, different user, associate the second, different user with the community game (0027).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the social streaming apparatus of Hartnett with the invitation mechanics of the live streaming apparatus of Smith as both concern video streaming with multiple participants. Altering the combined live stream of Hartnett to incorporate the invitation mechanism as taught in Smith would allow for greater ease and efficacy in inviting players and make the apparatus more robust.
Concerning claim 2,
Hartnett discloses the association of the second, different user with the community game comprises enabling the second, different user to participate in the community game (0226, 0230, Figure 14-15).
Concerning claim 3,
the association of the second, different user with the community game comprises enabling captured audio/video data of the second, different user to be part of the live stream (0060, 0226, 0230, Figure 14-15).
Concerning claim 6,
Smith teaches the designated relationship comprises the first user and the second, different user being part of a same group of users (0027, 0041).
Concerning claim 7,
Smith teaches the designated relationship comprises the first user inviting the second, different user to be associated with the community game (0027, 0030-0034).
Concerning claim 8,
Smith teaches the designated relationship comprises the second, different user requesting the first user to enable the second, different user to be associated with the community game (0027, 0043, 0072).
Concerning claim 9,
Smitch teaches the second, different device comprises the client device (0036).
Concerning claim 10, see the rejection claim 1.
Concerning claim 12-14 and 17-20, see the rejection of claims 1-3 and 6-9 respectively.
Claim(s) 4-5, 11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0116436 A1 to Hartnett et al. in view of US Publication 2018/0295175 A1 to Smith et al. and further in view of US Publication 2020/0302734 A1 to Baker et al. (hereinafter Baker).
Concerning claim 4,
Hartnett discloses wherein the association of the second, different user with the community game comprises enabling the second, different user to engage in play in association with the community game. (0046, 0285), but does not clearly disclose the community game involving wagering and/or gambling.
Baker teaches a game involving wagering and/or gambling done in a live stream in association with a community game (0033).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the social streaming apparatus of Hartnett with the gambling based live streaming apparatus of Baker as both concern video streaming with gaming characteristics. Altering the combined live stream of Hartnett to incorporate the gambling and wagering mechanics as taught in Smith would allow for a wider variety of games to be available, increasing user retention and enjoyment.
Concerning claim 5,
Baker teaches the wager is placed in relation to the first user (0033, as broadly claimed, placing a bet in a game like poker would be in relation to other players participating).
Concerning claim 11,
Baker teaches the participation of the second, different user comprises enabling the second, different user to receive an award in association with the community game (0032-0033).
Concerning claim 15-16, see the rejection of claim 4-5 respectively.
Conclusion
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715