Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/21/2025 and 10/8/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “page probing engine” and “page walker” in claims 21-22, 28 and 34. Support in the specification, including paragraphs [00370]-[00375] and Fig. 30, recites the functions performed by said probing engine and page walker, but lack any teaching regarding a corresponding structure or algorithm to perform the functions. Fig. 30 merely shows the probing engine and page walker existing within a “black box”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “probing engine” and “page walker” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Paragraphs [00370]-[00375] and Fig. 30 of the specification recite the functions performed by said probing engine and page walker, but lack any teaching regarding a corresponding structure or algorithm to perform the functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 21-22, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 21-22, 28 and 34 recite a “probing engine” and a “page walker”. As discussed above, the claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Support in the specification, including paragraphs [00370]-[00375] and Fig. 30, recites the functions performed by said probing engine and page walker, but lack any teaching regarding a corresponding structure or algorithm to perform the functions. Fig. 30 merely shows the probing engine and page walker existing within a “black box”. A statement of function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function fails to provide adequate written description.
Claims 21-22, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 21-22, 28 and 34 recite a “probing engine” and a “page walker”. As discussed above, the claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Support in the specification, including paragraphs [00370]-[00375] and Fig. 30, recites the functions performed by said probing engine and page walker, but lack any teaching regarding a corresponding structure or algorithm to perform the functions. Fig. 30 merely shows the probing engine and page walker existing within a “black box”. Therefore, the disclosure does not contain sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims as to enable one skilled in the pertinent art to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention in compliance with the enablement requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-22, 24, 26-28, 30, 32-34, 36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Desai (US 2014/0108766).
Regarding claim 20, Desai discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of processors, including a graphics processing unit (GPU) [see Fig. 1; CPU 140 & GPU 125]; and a memory for storage of data, including data for processing of pages by the GPU [see paragraph 25 & Fig. 1, GPU cache 130 & system memory 155]; and wherein, upon the GPU accessing a first page and receiving a page fault indicating that the first page is not present in page translation entries [see paragraph 31; request from processor misses in translation buffer (TLB)], the plurality of processors are to perform page translation including:
identifying a set of sequential pages following the first page [see paragraph 31; virtual address translation for next sequential page identified], probing the set of sequential pages to identify one or more sequential pages that are not present in the page translation entries [see paragraphs 32-33 & 36; TLB logic and table walk unit performs an address lookup for the sequential page. The sequential page translation is moved from the TLB prefetch buffer to the TLB upon a subsequent hit in the prefetch buffer (meaning the TLB does not contain that particular translation], and requesting one or more page translations for the one or more sequential pages [see paragraph 31; address lookup request for the sequential page is sent].
Regarding claim 21, Desai discloses the apparatus of claim 20, further comprising: a page probing engine, the page probing engine including a page walker to evaluate page translations [see paragraph 32; translation circuitry includes TLB logic (probing engine) comprising a table walk unit (page walker)].
Regarding claim 22, Desai discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein performing page translation probing the set of sequential pages utilizing the page walker to identify the one or more sequential pages that are not present in the page translation entries [see paragraphs 32-33 & 36; TLB logic and table walk unit performs an address lookup for the sequential page. The sequential page translation is moved from the TLB prefetch buffer to the TLB upon a subsequent hit in the prefetch buffer (meaning the TLB does not contain that particular translation].
Regarding claim 24, Desai discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the page translation entries indicate translation of pages into virtual address space [see paragraph 30; TLB stores set of virtual to physical address translations].
Regarding claim 26, Desai discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein requesting the one or more page translations includes requesting the one or more translations prior to needing the one or more sequential pages in processing [see paragraph 31; sequential address is fetched speculatively based on locality of references pattern].
Claims 27-28, 30, 32-34, 36 and 38 recite the same limitations as claims 20-22, 24 and 26 and are rejected using the same citations and interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0276066).
Regarding claim 23, Desai discloses the method of claim 20 as discussed above, including prefetching a plurality of pages discloses [see paragraph 32].
Desai does not expressly disclose requesting translation of multiple pages in parallel.
Lee discloses a virtual memory translation system in which a plurality of virtual address translation pre-fetches may be performed at the same time (parallel) [see paragraphs 26 & 32].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the parallel pre-fetches of Lee in the system of Desai.
The motivation for doing so would have been that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (operations performed in parallel occur faster than those performed serially) [see MPEP 2143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Desai for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 23, 29 and 35.
Claims 29 and 35 recite the same limitations as claim 23 and are rejected using the same citations and interpretations.
Claims 25, 31 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai in view of Wang et al. (US 2011/0010521).
Regarding claim 25, Desai discloses the method of claim 20 as discussed above.
Desai does not expressly disclose wherein probing the set of sequential pages includes: identifying any sequential pages of the set of sequential pages that are needed in processing; and requesting page translation of the sequential pages that are identified as being needed in processing.
Wang discloses a TLB prefetching system in which prefetching can be considered a passive prefetch or an active prefetch. An active prefetch utilizes a history table to detect an access pattern in order to predict that that an address translation will be needed. The active prefetching of Wang is analogous to the claimed limitations regarding identifying any pages of the set of pages that are needed in processing [see paragraphs 38-39].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the active prefetching of Wang in the system of Desai.
The motivation for doing so would have been accurately predict an address translation is needed [see Wang, paragraph 39].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wang with Desai for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 25, 31 and 37.
Claims 31 and 37 recite the same limitations as claim 25 and are rejected using the same citations and interpretations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu (US 5,282,274) – Generally teacher performing a translation of multiple virtual pages upon a TLB miss.
Isloorkar (US 2014/0156930) & Podaima (US 2016/0350225) – Generally teach address translation system capable of performing a plurality of pre-fetches in parallel.
Hwang (US 2018/0314644) – Generally teaches fetching a plurality of consecutive page table entries upon a TLB miss.
/RYAN BERTRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137