Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2025, 2/3/2026 and 4/6/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 24-27, 30-33 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai (US 2014/0108766) in view of Dwiel et al. (US 2017/0371790).
Regarding claim 20, Desai discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of processors, including a graphics processing unit (GPU) [see Fig. 1; CPU 140 & GPU 125]; and a memory for storage of data, including data for processing of pages by the GPU [see paragraph 25 & Fig. 1, GPU cache 130 & system memory 155]; and wherein, upon the GPU accessing a first page in processing of a current application and receiving a page fault indicating that the first page is not present in page translation entries [see paragraph 31; request from processor executing a process thread (particular software application) misses in translation buffer (TLB)], the plurality of processors are to perform page translation including:
identifying a set of sequential pages following the first page [see paragraph 31; virtual address translation for next sequential page identified], and requesting one or more page translations for the one or more sequential pages [see paragraph 31; address lookup request for one or more sequential page is sent and translations are prefetched].
Desai does not expressly disclose probing the set of sequential pages to identify one or more sequential pages that are not present in the page translation entries and are required in the processing of the application and requesting one or more page translations for the identified one or more sequential pages.
Dwiel discloses a memory system that implements prefetching. Upon a miss in a cache, sequential memory addresses are identified, and history is checked in order to determine whether a confidence exceeds a threshold to indicate that the sequential addresses will be needed for execution. When the confidence threshold is reached, prefetching of the sequential addresses is executed [See paragraphs 3-6; This confidence based prefetching is interpreted to be equivalent to the probing performed in the claim. The claim does not offer any insight into what the claimed probing entails, nor does the specification further describe a probing process. Therefore, when the confidence threshold is reached, the sequential addresses is deemed as required for processing the application].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the prefetching teachings of Dwiel in the system of Desai.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cache pollution [see Dwiel, paragraph 6].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Dwiel with Desai for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 20, 24-27, 30-33 and 36-38.
Regarding claim 24, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the page translation entries indicate translation of pages into virtual address space [see Desai, paragraph 30; TLB stores set of virtual to physical address translations].
Regarding claim 25, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein identifying one or more sequential pages that are required in the processing of the current
application includes obtaining a confirmation from software that the one or more sequential
pages are required [see Dwiel, paragraphs 5-6; wherein software determining a confidence threshold has been exceeded is interpreted as confirming the pages are required].
Regarding claim 26, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein requesting the one or more page translations includes requesting the one or more translations prior to needing the one or more sequential pages in processing of the current application [see Desai, paragraph 31; sequential address is fetched speculatively based on locality of references pattern].
Claims 27, 30-34 and 36-38 recite the same limitations as claims 20 and 24-26 and are rejected using the same citations and interpretations.
Claims 23, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai in view of Dwiel and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2008/0276066).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Desai and Dwiel discloses the method of claim 20 as discussed above, including prefetching a plurality of pages discloses [see paragraph 32].
The combination does not expressly disclose requesting translation of multiple pages in parallel.
Lee discloses a virtual memory translation system in which a plurality of virtual address translation pre-fetches may be performed at the same time (parallel) [see paragraphs 26 & 32].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the parallel pre-fetches of Lee in the system of Desai and Dwiel.
The motivation for doing so would have been that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (operations performed in parallel occur faster than those performed serially) [see MPEP 2143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Desai and Dwiel for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 23, 29 and 35.
Claims 29 and 35 recite the same limitations as claim 23 and are rejected using the same citations and interpretations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections of claims 21-22, 28 and 32 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20-22, 24, 26-28, 30, 32-34, 36 and 38 under Desai have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dwiel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN BERTRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137