DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed on 11/25/2024. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Priority
1. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 2/11/2025 and 10/29/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis of Claim 11 (see MPEP §2106.03):
As a method, the claim is directed to a statutory category (Step 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 11 is directed to determining an operation amount of a driver exceeding a range and making a decision based on this determination. This limitation akin to a mental process as a human mind can determine an operation amount of a driver exceeding a threshold. For example, a human mind can make an observation of the driver turning the steering wheel and can determine how much further to turn the steering wheel to maneuver into a parking space (Step 2A, Prong 1).
The applicant does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The applicant has recited a claim in which makes a decision based on an observation (Step 2A, Prong 2).
The claim does not provide an inventive concept and the claim recites no additional elements. Accordingly, the lack of additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because there are no meaningful limits imposed on practicing the abstract idea (see MPEP §2106.05(I)(a)) (Step 2B).
In conclusion, Claim 11 is directed toward non-subject matter eligible material and is thus rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harai (US 20220402483 A1).
7. Regarding Claim 1, Harai teaches a parking assistance apparatus performing parking assistance based on a route of a vehicle in teaching travel, the parking assistance apparatus comprising (Harai: [0013] and [0024]):
A processor that determines whether an operation amount of a driver in the teaching travel of the vehicle exceeds a predetermined range (Harai: [0036] and [0055]),
Wherein the processor executes predetermined processing in a case where the operation amount exceeds the predetermined range (Harai: [0056]).
8. Regarding Claim 2, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches the predetermined processing is processing for notifying the driver that the operation amount is outside the predetermined range (Harai: [0056]).
9. Regarding Claim 3, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches the operation amount is a steering angle, and the processor determines that the operation amount has exceeded the predetermined range in a case where the steering angle is equal to or greater than a predetermined angle (Harai: [0055]).
10. Regarding Claim 4, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches the predetermined processing is processing for applying resistance to an operation performed by the driver (Harai: [0056]).
11. Regarding Claim 5, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches the predetermined processing is processing for changing a predetermined display content on a display of the vehicle from a display content before execution of the predetermined processing (Harai: [0056]).
12. Regarding Claim 7, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches the predetermined processing is processing for outputting sound from a speaker of the vehicle (Harai: [0056]).
13. Regarding Claim 10, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, teaches in a case where the operation amount continues to exceed the predetermined range after the predetermined processing is executed, the processor continues to execute the predetermined processing (Harai: [0056]).
13. Regarding Claim 11, Harai teaches a parking assistance method for performing parking assistance based on a route of a vehicle in teaching travel, the parking assistance method comprising (Harai: [0013] and [0024]):
Determining whether an operation amount of a driver in the teaching travel of the vehicle exceeds a predetermined range (Harai: [0036] and [0055]);
And executing predetermined processing in a case where the operation amount exceeds the predetermined range (Harai: [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harai (US 20220402483 A1).
18. Regarding Claim 8, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 1.
Harai does not explicitly teach the processor changes an operation range of the driver for the vehicle in accordance with a speed in the teaching travel. However, Harai teaches in [0055] and [0062] to determine if the operation performed by the driver is an oversteer angle operation or a stationary steering operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the operation range of the driver in accordance with the speed in the teaching travel as similarly shown in Harai's [0055] and [0062] use of restriction control based on a stationary steering operation or oversteer angle operation. This provides the benefit of restricting the steering angle at different operation ranges to guide the vehicle into the parking spot based on different speeds of the vehicle (stationary or non-stationary).
19. Regarding Claim 9, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 8, and further teaches the operation amount is a steering angle, and the processor sets a determination threshold for the steering angle to an angle smaller than a predetermined angle in a case where a speed of the vehicle in the teaching travel is higher than a predetermined speed (Harai: [0063] and [0074] Note that the oversteer operation occurs in a case where a speed of the vehicle in the teaching travel is higher than a predetermined speed.).
20. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harai (US 20220402483 A1) in view of Maruoka (US 20200317267 A1).
21. Regarding Claim 6, Harai remains as applied above in Claim 5.
Harai fails to explicitly teach the predetermined display content is a predicted course line of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maruoka teaches the predetermined display content is a predicted course line of the vehicle (Maruoka: [0087] and [0088]).
Harai and Maruoka are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle navigation displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harai to incorporate the teachings of Maruoka for the display content to be a predicted course line of the vehicle because it provides the benefit of accurately guiding the vehicle by increasing awareness of the driver. A guide line also improves the identification of a target parking position for the vehicle. Maruoka explicitly explains the benefit to improving the display content in at least [0011] and [0087].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3663