DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jordan (PGPUB: 20130006775 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9. Jordan teaches a digital license plate attachable to a vehicle and comprising:
a display (see Fig. 2, item 110, display);
a location module for generating at least a location data based on a location of the digital license plate (see Jordan, Fig. 6, paragraph 36, the preferred system 100 preferably interfaces with a local or global positioning system to track the location of the vehicle, such as when the vehicle crosses a state border and/or which roads the vehicle has covered. From this vehicle location information, the preferred system 100 and the remote server preferably cooperate to pay required fees and taxes, submit required vehicle information (e.g., vehicle gross weight) to relevant authorities (e.g., a department of motor vehicles), and to render visually on the display 110 the current status of vehicle certifications and payments);
a communication module for sending and receiving data (see Jordan, paragraph 25, the communication module 130 is preferably configured to receive data from the remote server, including the user-elected application, application-related data, and additional visual content. However, the communication module 130 can also transmit data from the preferred system 100 to the remote server); and
a controller connected to the display (see Fig. 2, items 110, the display, and 140, the processor), the location module (see paragraph 28, GPS), and the communication module (see Fig. 2, items 130, the communication module, and 140, the processor),
wherein the controller manipulates the display to provide services based on at least the location data (see Fig. 2, paragraph 25, the communication module 130 is preferably configured to receive data from the remote server, including the user-elected application, application-related data, and additional visual content. However, the communication module 130 can also transmit data from the preferred system 100 to the remote server, such as vehicle location data, visual content exposure (e.g., how long visual content is rendered on the display 110, how many individuals read or noticed the visual content), a user preference, vehicle or vehicle occupant identification information, a local person, vehicle, or environmental condition, or any other relevant data or information).
Regarding claims 2 and 10. Jordan teaches the digital license plate of claim 1 further comprising:
a display (see Jordan, Fig. 2, item 110, display),
wherein the controller manipulates the communication module to send a request data to a server based on the location data and then receive a registration data from the server, the controller then selectively manipulates the display to present the visual information based on the registration data (see Jordan, Fig. 2, paragraph 30 and 57, state governments can set automatic registration protocols, such as how registration requests are routed to a department of motor vehicles server and how a digital registration "sticker" is transmitted back to the preferred system 100 as a vehicle identification information update. In a further example, local governments can set how or when vehicle identification information is installed on the preferred system 100, such as during manufacture or assembly of the preferred system 100, when the preferred system 100 is installed on a vehicle following delivery to a dealer, when the vehicle including the preferred system 100 is first registered at a DMV, when the vehicle including the preferred system 100 changes hands, and/or when an owner or user requests a license plate template change (e.g., standard to historic vehicle plate) or a change to vehicle registration (e.g., operational to non-op status, passenger to commercial vehicle status); the vehicle identification information is preferably a license plate number of the vehicle, though the vehicle identification information can additionally or alternatively be a VIN of the vehicle, a driver's license number of a vehicle operator, a name or other identity of the user and/or operator of the vehicle, registration information of the vehicle, or any other relevant vehicle- or user-related information. As described above, the remote server implementing the first preferred method S100 preferably transmits the visual content directly to the display via a wireless connection. Alternatively, the visual content can be uploaded to the display via a mobile electronic device wired or wirelessly coupled to the display).
Regarding claims 3 and 11. Jordan teaches the digital license plate of claim 1 further comprising
a display (see Jordan, Fig. 2, item 110, display),
wherein the communication module is configured to receive an advertisement data (see Jordan, Fig. 1 and 6A, paragraph 31 and 49, in one variation of the preferred system 100, the user-elected application is an advertising application, wherein the display 110 renders the additional visual content that is an advertisement when the advertising application executes; see Jordan, Fig. 4, paragraph 49, block S130 of the first preferred method S100 recites selecting the visual content relevant to the entity. The visual content is preferably selected from a content database maintained by the remote server implementing the first preferred method S100. The database can includes static content, such as toll payment profiles, standard bumper stickers, or advertisements),
the controller then manipulates the display to present visual information based on the advertisement data and the location data (see Jordan, Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 50, the entity is a second human user occupying a second vehicle. In one example implementation, Block S130 includes selecting visual content that is an advertisement relevant to the second user, such as based upon a location, interest, demographic (e.g., age, ethnicity, education level), recent purchase, purchase history, social network profile or feed, etc. of the second user. In this example implementation, the visual content is preferably rendered on the display in Block S140 when a user-elected application that is an advertisement application executes, as described above).
Regarding claims 4 and 12. Jordan teaches the digital license plate of claim 3, wherein the controller creates an advertisement exposure data based on the advertisement data and the location data (see Jordan, Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 50, the entity is a second human user occupying a second vehicle. In one example implementation, Block S130 includes selecting visual content that is an advertisement relevant to the second user, such as based upon a location, interest, demographic (e.g., age, ethnicity, education level), recent purchase, purchase history, social network profile or feed, etc. of the second user. In this example implementation, the visual content is preferably rendered on the display in Block S140 when a user-elected application that is an advertisement application executes, as described above).
Regarding claim 5. Jordan teaches the digital license plate of claim 1, wherein the controller manipulates the communication module to send a payment data based on the location data (see Jordan, Fig. 4, paragraph 54, the first preferred method S100 and the remote server preferably cooperate to handle toll payment on behalf of the user and/or vehicle in addition to displaying vehicle toll payment status),
the controller selectively sends a message based on a confirmation data received by the communication module (see Jordan, paragraph 36, the preferred system 100 preferably interfaces with a local or global positioning system to track the location of the vehicle, such as when the vehicle crosses a state border and/or which roads the vehicle has covered. From this vehicle location information, the preferred system 100 and the remote server preferably cooperate to pay required fees and taxes, submit required vehicle information (e.g., vehicle gross weight) to relevant authorities (e.g., a department of motor vehicles), and to render visually on the display 110 the current status of vehicle certifications and payments . For example, an RFID tag included in the communication module 130 can trigger an RFID reader proximal a highway near a state border, wherein the trigger informs the remote server that the vehicle has crossed a state border, and wherein the remote server subsequently pushes relevant vehicle and payment information to an appropriate authority and the display 110 renders visual indicators of the certifications and payment).
Regarding claims 6 and 14. Jordan teaches the digital license plate of claim 1 further include
a display, wherein the communication module receives a news data (see Jordan, Fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 14, when executing a vehicle identification application, the preferred system 100 preferably functions as a digital license plate by displaying a government-issued license plate number of the vehicle. However, when executing another (i.e. a user-elected) application, the preferred system 100 preferably functions as a toll payment, interstate trucking, messaging, advertising, gaming, news, alert, or other application by displaying visual content relevant or specific to the user-elected application),
the controller manipulates the display to present visual information based on the news data and the location data (see Jordan, paragraph 27 and 35, the processor 140 can additionally or alternatively access relevant data directly from the remote server, such as via the communication module 130, to execute the application and select content to render on the display 110. The processor 140 preferably selectively executes the applications based upon the location of the vehicle; in another variation of the preferred system 100, the user-elected application is a news application, wherein the display 110 renders a news alert when the news application executes. In this variation, the display 110 preferably renders local, state, national, or international current events, such as national political headlines or international economic headlines).
Regarding claim 13. Jordan teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
sending a payment data using the communication module (see Jordan, Fig. 6, paragraph 36, an RFID tag included in the communication module 130 can trigger an RFID reader proximal a highway near a state border, wherein the trigger informs the remote server that the vehicle has crossed a state border, and wherein the remote server subsequently pushes relevant vehicle and payment information to an appropriate authority and the display 110 renders visual indicators of the certifications and payment);
receiving a payment confirmation data using the communication module (see Jordan, Fig. 6, paragraph 36, the trucking application is preferably installed on the preferred system 100 by the user who is a fleet manager for a vehicle fleet including the vehicle such that the fleet manager can use the trucking application executing on a plurality of vehicles in the vehicle fleet to track and manage interstate trucking fees, payments, and certifications); and
selectively sending a message based on the confirmation data (see Jordan, paragraph 38, system 100, the user-elected application is a tollway application, wherein the preferred system 100 handles toll payments for the vehicle passing through a tollbooth or toll plaza. Like the interstate trucking application described above, the preferred system 100 executing the tollway application preferably monitors the location of the vehicle and/or communicates with a tollbooth or tollway to trigger a toll payment. The preferred system 100 and/or remote server preferably interface(s) with the tollbooth or a toll management server to pay for the vehicle toll, and once the toll has been paid, the display 110 preferably renders visual content that indicates that the toll is paid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (PGPUB: 20130006775 A1) in view of Golduber (PGPUB: 20180154867 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15. Jordan teaches the digital license plate of claim 1 further comprising
a display (see Jordan, Fig. 2, item 110, display),
wherein the controller manipulates the display to present a vehicle identifying visual information after the communication module receives data (see Jordan, paragraph 26, the processor 140 is preferably coupled to memory and to the display 110 via a wired connection, such as a trace on a shared printed circuit board (PCB). However, the processor 140 can alternatively communicate with the memory 120 and/or display via a wireless or optical connection. Furthermore, the processor 140 can be physically coextensive with a processor of a mobile electronic device carried by the user).
However, Jordan does not expressly teach receives a rental confirmation data.
Golduber teaches that assuming one of renters 112 (1-n) is selected as the qualified renter filling the owner request, server 103 may send a message to the renter with confirmation of the agreement and location of the rental vehicle to the renter's personal communications device. Once a renter, for example renter 112 (1), is geographically close to the vehicle, server 103 may send a compartment access code or signal to personal communications device 113 aided by SW 111a. Renter 112 (1) may then communicate the access code to SLPF 117 unlocking the key compartment of the SLPF (see paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan by Golduber to obtain one of renters 112 (1-n) is selected as the qualified renter filling the owner request, server 103 may send a message to the renter with confirmation of the agreement and location of the rental vehicle to the renter's personal communications device, in order to provide receives a rental confirmation data. Therefore, combining the elements from prior arts according to known methods and technique would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8. Jordan teach a digital license plate system, comprising:
a location module for generating a location data based on a location of the digital license plate system (see Jordan, Fig. 6, paragraph 36, the preferred system 100 preferably interfaces with a local or global positioning system to track the location of the vehicle, such as when the vehicle crosses a state border and/or which roads the vehicle has covered. From this vehicle location information, the preferred system 100 and the remote server preferably cooperate to pay required fees and taxes, submit required vehicle information (e.g., vehicle gross weight) to relevant authorities (e.g., a department of motor vehicles), and to render visually on the display 110 the current status of vehicle certifications and payments);
a communication module for sending and receiving data (see Jordan, paragraph 25, the communication module 130 is preferably configured to receive data from the remote server, including the user-elected application, application-related data, and additional visual content. However, the communication module 130 can also transmit data from the preferred system 100 to the remote server);
and
a controller (see Fig. 2, items 110, and 140, the processor) connected to the location module (see paragraph 28, GPS), the communication module (see Fig. 2, items 130, the communication module, and 140, the processor), and the user device (see paragraph 45, the first preferred method S100 can additionally or alternatively collect the position or location of the vehicle, such as by communicating with a GPS module integrated into the vehicle, into the display, or into a mobile electronic device (e.g., smartphone) in communication with the vehicle and/or the display).
However Jordan does not expressly teach:
a user device configured to generate a user command based on a user input;
wherein the controller provides services based on the location data, data received by the communication module, and the user command.
Golduber if the user determines that the key compartment door is locked at step 1004, the user, or the server (on behalf of the user) may issue an access code or “unlock” command. The user may receive the access code from the server over a network connection between the server and the user's personal communications device running the mobile application. The user may then issue or “send” the command to the SLPF over the short range wireless connection established between the SLPF and the user's personal communications device. In an alternative embodiment, the server may, upon detecting that the correct user is at the location of the vehicle and is there to take the vehicle, work on the vehicle, or to put a key in the SLPF key compartment, give the access code directly from the server to the SLPF over a network connection between the server and the SLPF. Of course, both functions may be practiced such as for renters, the server unlocks the compartment and relocks the compartment (see paragraph 103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan by Golduber to obtain if the user determines that the key compartment door is locked at step 1004, the user, or the server (on behalf of the user) may issue an access code or “unlock” command. The user may receive the access code from the server over a network connection between the server and the user's personal communications device running the mobile application, in order to provide a user device configured to generate a user command based on a user input; to further obtain the server may, upon detecting that the correct user is at the location of the vehicle and is there to take the vehicle, work on the vehicle, or to put a key in the SLPF key compartment, give the access code directly from the server to the SLPF over a network connection between the server and the SLPF, in order to further provide wherein the controller provides services based on the location data, data received by the communication module, and the user command. Therefore, combining the elements from prior arts according to known methods and technique would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16. Jordan does not expressly teach the method of claim 9 further comprising:
generating a user command based on a user input, wherein the step of providing services includes providing services based on the location data and the user command.
Golduber if the user determines that the key compartment door is locked at step 1004, the user, or the server (on behalf of the user) may issue an access code or “unlock” command. The user may receive the access code from the server over a network connection between the server and the user's personal communications device running the mobile application. The user may then issue or “send” the command to the SLPF over the short range wireless connection established between the SLPF and the user's personal communications device. In an alternative embodiment, the server may, upon detecting that the correct user is at the location of the vehicle and is there to take the vehicle, work on the vehicle, or to put a key in the SLPF key compartment, give the access code directly from the server to the SLPF over a network connection between the server and the SLPF. Of course, both functions may be practiced such as for renters, the server unlocks the compartment and relocks the compartment (see paragraph 103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jordan by Golduber to obtain If the user determines that the key compartment door is locked at step 1004, the user, or the server (on behalf of the user) may issue an access code or “unlock” command. The user may receive the access code from the server over a network connection between the server and the user's personal communications device running the mobile application. The user may then issue or “send” the command to the SLPF over the short range wireless connection established between the SLPF and the user's personal communications device and the server may, upon detecting that the correct user is at the location of the vehicle and is there to take the vehicle, work on the vehicle, or to put a key in the SLPF key compartment, give the access code directly from the server to the SLPF over a network connection between the server and the SLPF, in order to provide generating a user command based on a user input, wherein the step of providing services includes providing services based on the location data and the user command. Therefore, combining the elements from prior arts according to known methods and technique would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/XIN JIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663