DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 line 1 “wherien” should recite “wherein”.
Claim 7 line 1 “wherien” should recite “wherein”.
Claim 7 line 2 “a wire is connected” should recite “a wire connected”.
Claim 14 line 6 “wherien” should recite “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1. Claim 13 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Instant Application 18/958945
1. An apparatus, comprising: an intravascular catheter or guidewire comprising: a first sensor; and a sensor connection arrangement, wherein the first sensor and the sensor connection arrangement are physically distinct from one another, wherein sensor connection arrangement comprises: a foil configured for conduction of electrical signals; and a first terminal structure electrically coupled to the foil, wherein the first terminal structure comprises a first side and an opposite, second side, wherein the first side of the first terminal structure is attached to the foil, wherein the foil comprises a first fold such that the second side of the first terminal structure is positioned over the foil, wherein the first sensor is positioned over the foil.
13. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sensor connection arrangement comprises a second terminal structure electrically coupled to the foil, wherein the second terminal structure comprises a first side and an opposite, second side, wherein the first side of the second terminal structure is attached to the foil, wherein the foil comprises a second fold such that the second side of the second terminal structure is positioned over the foil, wherein the second terminal structure is configured to be electrically coupled to a second sensor.
U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2
1. A sensor arrangement, comprising: a foil configured for conduction of electrical signals; a first terminal structure electrically coupled to the foil, wherein the first terminal structure comprises a first side and an opposite, second side, wherein the first side of the first terminal structure is attached to the foil; a second terminal structure electrically coupled to the foil, wherein the second terminal structure comprises a first side and an opposite, second side, wherein the first side of the second terminal structure is attached to the foil; and a first sensor electrically coupled the first terminal structure, wherein the second terminal structure is configured to be electrically coupled to a second sensor, wherein the foil comprises a first fold such that the second side of the second terminal structure is positioned over the foil, wherein the foil comprises a second fold second side of the first terminal structure is positioned over the foil, wherein the first sensor is positioned over the foil between the first terminal structure and the second terminal structure.
Examiner note: Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 does not explicitly recite that the sensor and the sensor connection arrangement are distinct components, however they are being interpreted as distinct components due to the sensor being positioned over the foil and claim does not require that the sensor is integrated with the sensor connection arrangement.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 does not teach an apparatus, comprising: an intravascular catheter or guidewire comprising the first sensor and the and the sensor connection arrangement. However, Burkett (US 20140187874 A1) directed to intravascular devices, systems, and methods discloses an apparatus (Abstract, figs. 10 & 18), comprising: an intravascular catheter or guidewire (Abstract, figs. 10 & 18, “guidewire”, para. [0064]) comprising a first sensor (“one or more sensors on the guidewire”, para. [0013, 0064], figs. 10 & 18) and a sensor connection arrangement (conductive wires 308, fig. 18, para. [0009, 0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 to incorporate the sensor connection arrangement into an apparatus comprising an intravascular catheter or guidewire, in view of the teachings of Burkett, as this would aid in obtaining data related to blood vessels (Burkett, para. [0005]).
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above. Claim 2 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above. Claim 3 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above. Claim 10 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above. Claim 11 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above. Claim 12 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 13 above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 recites that the first sensor is positioned over the foil between the first terminal structure and the second terminal structure. The first terminal structure and the second terminal structure of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 would each be need to be positioned at a proximal and distal side/end of the sensor/foil, respectively, to enable the sensor to be positioned over the foil between the first terminal structure and second terminal structure, which is similar in scope to the sensor being positioned on a middle region of the foil as recited in claim 14 of the instant application.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 13 above. Claim 15 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 13 above. Claim 16 recites the same limitations as the subject matter claimed in claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer (US 20190217059 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett does not teach wherein a width of the first terminal structure is aligned with a width of the first sensor.
However, Meyer directed to a sensor assembly discloses wherein a width of the first terminal structure is aligned with a width of the first sensor (as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0102-0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett such that a width of the first terminal structure is aligned with a width of the first sensor, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid consumes a smaller cross-section area (Meyer, para. [0081, 0101]).
Claims 5-6 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 in view of Burkett (US 20140187874 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaneto (US 20060244177 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett does not teach wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire connected to the first terminal structure.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire (wire 7, fig. 12) connected to the first terminal structure (terminal part 20, fig. 12, para. [0115, 0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett such that the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire connected to the first terminal structure, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in electrically connecting the sensor to the terminal structure.
Regarding claim 6, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett does not teach wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire connected to the first sensor.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire (wire 7, fig. 12) connected to the first sensor (electronic component/pressure sensor 50, fig. 12, para. [0114-0115, 0148])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett such that the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire connected to the first sensor, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in electrically connecting the sensor to the terminal structure.
Regarding claim 7, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett does not teach wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire is connected to the first terminal structure and the first sensor simultaneously.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire (wire 7, fig. 12) is connected to the first terminal structure (terminal part 20, fig. 12) and the first sensor (electronic component 2, fig. 11) simultaneously (as seen in fig. 12, para. [0115, 0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett such that the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire is connected to the first terminal structure and the first sensor simultaneously, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in electrically connecting the sensor to the terminal structure.
Regarding claim 8, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett and Kaneto does not teach wherein the wire extends across a gap between the between the first terminal structure and the first sensor.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), the wire (wire 7, fig. 12) extends across a gap between the between the first terminal structure (terminal part 20, fig. 12) and the first sensor (electronic component 2, fig. 11) (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett and Kaneto such that the wire extends across a gap between the between the first terminal structure and the first sensor, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in electrically connecting the sensor to the terminal structure.
Regarding claim 9, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett and Kaneto does not teach wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises a seal positioned over: where the wire is connected to the first terminal structure; where the wire is connected to the first sensor; and the gap.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), a wire (metal wire 7, fig. 12), and a first sensor (electronic component/pressure sensor 50, fig. 12, para. [0114]), wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises a seal (“resin 8 for sealing”, para. [0116, 0118], fig. 12) positioned over: where the wire is connected to the first terminal structure (“resin 8 ... sealing the connection between a terminal part 20”, para. [0118], as seen in fig. 12); where the wire is connected to the first sensor (as seen in fig. 12, para. [0118]); and the gap (unlabeled, but ass seen in fig. 12, para. [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150786 B2 as modified by Burkett and Kaneto such that the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises a seal positioned over: where the wire is connected to the first terminal structure; where the wire is connected to the first sensor; and the gap, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in protecting and sealing the connection between the first terminal structure and the first sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 20190217059 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer discloses an apparatus (Abstract, figs. 9-10), comprising: an intravascular catheter or guidewire (104, fig. 1, “104 ... catheter”; “sensor assembly 300 that can be used in ... 104”, para. [0063, 0072]) comprising: a first sensor (first magnetic field sensor 920A, figs. 9-10); and a sensor connection arrangement (multilayer circuit 908, figs. 9-10, para. [094]), wherein the first sensor and the sensor connection arrangement are physically distinct from one another (as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0093-0095, 0098-0100]), wherein sensor connection arrangement comprises: a foil (multilayer circuit 908 comprising flexible substrate 912, figs. 9-10) configured for conduction of electrical signals (“electrical traces ... electrically couple”, para. [0094, 0098, 0100]); and a first terminal structure electrically coupled to the foil (electrical lead pads 916, figs. 8-9, para. [0099-0100, 0103]), wherein the first terminal structure comprises a first side (leg portion 930B, as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0101, 0103]) and an opposite, second side (leg portion 930A, as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0101, 0103]), wherein the first side of the first terminal structure is attached to the foil (as seen in figs.9-10, “positioned”, para. [0101, 0103]), wherein the foil comprises a first fold (bend portion 932, as seen in figs. 9-10) such that the second side of the first terminal structure is positioned over the foil (leg portion 930A, as seen in figs. 9-10, “ two ... positioned ... four of the electrical lead pads 916 are positioned outside the inner area”; “electrical leads 904 is positioned in each of ... halves 936A-936B”, para. [0101, 0103]), wherein the first sensor is positioned over the foil (as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0098, 0100]).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first terminal structure is positioned at a proximal portion of the foil (proximal section 928, as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0100-0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first sensor is positioned distal of the first terminal structure (as seen in figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 4, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a width of the first terminal structure is aligned with a width of the first sensor (as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0102-0103]).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire connected to the first terminal structure (electrical lead 904, as seen in figs. 9-10, para. [0099]).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire connected to the first sensor (wire bonds 926, figs. 9-10, para. [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises one of: a pressure sensor, an ultrasound transducer, a flow velocity sensor, a spectral sensor, or a chemical sensor (“ultrasound sensors”, para. [0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of King, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kaneto (US 20060244177 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Meyer does not disclose wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire is connected to the first terminal structure and the first sensor simultaneously.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire (wire 7, fig. 12) is connected to the first terminal structure (terminal part 20, fig. 12) and the first sensor (electronic component/pressure sensor 50, fig. 12, para. [0114]) simultaneously (as seen in fig. 12, para. [0115, 0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meyer such that the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises: a wire is connected to the first terminal structure and the first sensor simultaneously, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in electrically connecting the sensor to the terminal structure.
Regarding claim 8, Meyer, as modified by Kaneto hereinabove, discloses the apparatus of claim 7. Meyer, as modified by Kaneto hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the wire extends across a gap between the between the first terminal structure and the first sensor.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), the wire (wire 7, fig. 12) extends across a gap (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 11) between the between the first terminal structure (terminal part 20, fig. 12) and the first sensor (electronic component/pressure sensor 50, fig. 12, para. [0114]) (as seen in fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meyer such that the wire extends across a gap between the between the first terminal structure and the first sensor, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in electrically connecting the sensor to the terminal structure.
Regarding claim 9, Meyer, as modified by Kaneto hereinabove, discloses the apparatus of claim 8. Meyer, as modified by Kaneto hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises a seal positioned over: where the wire is connected to the first terminal structure; where the wire is connected to the first sensor; and the gap.
However, Kaneto directed to a flexible printed circuit board for a catheter discloses an intravascular catheter or guidewire (tube 101, fig. 12, “catheter”, para. [0115]), a wire (metal wire 7, fig. 12), and a first sensor (electronic component/pressure sensor 50, fig. 12, para. [0114]), wherein the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises a seal (“resin 8 for sealing”, para. [0116, 0118], fig. 12) positioned over: where the wire is connected to the first terminal structure (“resin 8 ... sealing the connection between a terminal part 20”, para. [0118], as seen in fig. 12); where the wire is connected to the first sensor (as seen in fig. 12, para. [0118]); and the gap (unlabeled, but ass seen in fig. 12, para. [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meyer, as modified by Kaneto hereinabove, such that the intravascular catheter or guidewire comprises a seal positioned over: where the wire is connected to the first terminal structure; where the wire is connected to the first sensor; and the gap, in view of the teachings of Kaneto, as this would aid in protecting and sealing the connection between the first terminal structure and the first sensor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Dalene (US 20170202495 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Meyer does not expressly disclose wherein the first fold extends transverse to a length of the foil.
However, Dalene directed to an oximetry sensor assembly connector including a flexible circuit that is folded (Abstract) discloses wherein the first fold extends transverse to a length of the foil (fold axis 208, figs. 6A-6B, para. [0049-0050, 0074-0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meyer such that the first fold extends transverse to a length of the foil, in view of the teachings of Dalene, as such a modification would have yielded predictable results of exposing electrical traces to provide electrical connection means on the top and bottom of the flexible circuit.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Rice (US 20140257107 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Meyer discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Meyer does not expressly disclose wherein the sensor connection arrangement comprises a first integrated circuit attached and electrically coupled to the foil, and wherein the first integrated circuit overlaps the first terminal structure.
However, Rice directed to a transducer assembly including a flex circuit discloses a sensor connection arrangement (figs. 7 & 9B) comprising a first integrated circuit (“substrate 201 (having the ASIC 220) includes conductive bonding pads 321-322”, para. [0053, 0057], figs. 7 & 9B) attached and electrically coupled to the foil (“bond pads 321-322 ... 201 is bonded to a flex circuit 300; flex circuit includes conductive bonding pads 331-332, to which the bonding pads 321-322 are bonded”, para. [0057], figs. 7 & 9B), and wherein the first integrated circuit overlaps the first terminal structure (fig. 7, “bonding pads ... bonded, using flip-chip technology”, para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Meyer such that the sensor connection arrangement comprises a first integrated circuit attached and electrically coupled to the foil, and wherein the first integrated circuit overlaps the first terminal structure, in view of the teachings of Rice, as this would aid in sending and receiving electrical signals to the sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: King directed to (US 20190054274 A1) directed to a flexible printed circuit positioned within a multi-lumen catheter.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791