DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2-14 recite “A temperature” in line 1 of each claim. This appears to mean “The temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 16-20 recite “A thermally” in line 1 of each claim. This appears to mean “The thermally”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang Korean Patent Document KR 10-1528736 B1 (hereinafter “Yang”) and further in view of Nield et al. U.S. Patent Application 2021/0002997 (hereinafter “Nield”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a temperature triggered alert apparatus (refer to fig.3), comprising:- a temperature sensor (i.e. thermal imaging cameras 110, 120, and 130)(fig.3) configured to generate sensed temperatures of a thermally dependent system (refer to [0054]-[0058]);- a processor (i.e. thermal image detection unit 60)(fig.3)(refer also to fig.4) configured to detect the presence of an abnormal temperature condition based on at least one of said sensed temperatures (refer to [0054]-[0058]);- an alert system (i.e. communication module 500 and output module 400)(fig.4)(refer also to [0074] and [0075]) configured to alert at least one individual of said abnormal temperature condition (refer to [0075]);- autonomous power shut-off componentry (i.e. trip coil signal generation module 600)(fig.4)(refer also to [0076]) configured to autonomously interrupt power to said thermally dependent system upon detection of said abnormal temperature condition (refer to [0076]); however, Yang does not teach individual-initiated, remote power shut-off over-ride componentry. However, Nield teaches individual-initiated, remote power shut-off over-ride componentry (refer to [0036]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang to include the override of Nield to provide the advantage of preventing downtime due to nuisance trips or false alarms.
Regarding claim 2, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 further comprising at least one environmentally sealed enclosure in which at least some of said apparatus componentry is housed (refer to Yang [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 wherein said alert system comprises alert communication componentry configured to communicate said presence of said high temperature condition to at least one individual (refer to Yang communication module 500)(fig.4)(refer also to Yang [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 4 wherein said alert communication componentry is configured to indicate reason for said power interruption to said at least one individual (refer to Yang [0012] and [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 wherein said autonomous power shut-off componentry comprises communication componentry (i.e. Yang deterioration determination module 300 and trip coil signal generation module 600)(fig.4) configured to communicate a power shut-off instruction to thermally dependent system power circuit opening componentry (refer to Yang [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 6 wherein said thermally dependent system power circuit opening componentry comprises a relay (refer to Yang “protection relay” in [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 wherein said thermally dependent system comprises a system selected from the group of equipment, power equipment, a landfill, compost pile, steel mill, refinery, distillery, waste processing, manufacturing, battery storage system, battery bank, lithium ion battery bank, and any device or region that a customer wants to be monitored for temperature triggered alerts (implicit)(refer to Yang [0001]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 further comprising componentry configured to enable monitoring of a plurality of thermally dependent systems (refer to Yang thermal imaging cameras 110, 120, and 130)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 11, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 further comprising componentry configured to enable remote control of a plurality of temperature triggered alert apparatus (refer to Yang figure 3 and [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 further comprising at least one remote control center (refer to Yang [0073] and [0075]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches a thermally triggered alert apparatus (refer to fig.3), comprising:- a thermal sensor (i.e. thermal imaging cameras 110, 120, and 130)(fig.3) configured to generate at least one sensed fire or near-fire indicator of a first damage prone system (refer to [0003] and [0054]-[0058]);- a processor (i.e. thermal image detection unit 60)(fig.3)(refer also to fig.4) configured to detect the presence of fire or near-fire condition based on at least one of said first or near-fire indicator (refer to [0054]-[0058]);- an alert system (i.e. communication module 500 and output module 400)(fig.4)(refer also to [0074] and [0075]) configured to alert at least one individual of said fire or near-fire condition (refer to [0075]);- autonomous power shut-off componentry (i.e. trip coil signal generation module 600)(fig.4)(refer also to [0076]) configured to autonomously interrupt power to said fire damage prone system upon detection of said fire or near-fire condition (refer to [0076]); however, Yang does not teach individual-initiated, remote power shut-off over-ride componentry. However, Nield teaches individual-initiated, remote power shut-off over-ride componentry (refer to [0036]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang to include the override of Nield to provide the advantage of preventing downtime due to nuisance trips or false alarms.
Regarding claim 16, Yang and Nield teach a thermally triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 15 wherein said fire damage prone system comprises electrically or fuel powered equipment (refer to Yang [0001]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 17, Yang and Nield teach a thermally triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 15 further comprising at least one environmentally sealed enclosure in which at least some of said apparatus componentry is housed (refer to Yang [0021]).
Regarding claim 18, Yang and Neild teach a thermally triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 15 wherein said autonomous power shut-off componentry comprises communication componentry (i.e. Yang deterioration determination module 300 and trip coil signal generation module 600)(fig.4) configured to communicate a power shut-off instruction to thermally dependent system power circuit opening componentry (refer to Yang [0076]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang and Nield teach a thermally triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 15 further comprising a remote control center (refer to Yang [0073] and [0075]) configured to enable remote control of at least one temperature triggered alert apparatus (refer to Yang [0073] and [0075])(refer also to Nield [0036]).
Claim(s) 3, 9, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Neild as applied to claims 1 or 14 above, and further in view of FLIR Systems, Inc. FLIR A315 / A615 (hereinafter “Flir”).
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1 wherein said temperature sensor comprises a camera (i.e. Yang thermal imaging camera 110, 120, and 130)(fig.3); however, they do not teach wherein the camera is a radiometric camera. However, Flir teaches wherein the camera is a radiometric camera (refer to page 2 “radiometric” under USB). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang and Nield to include the radiometric camera of FLIR to provide the advantage of producing a high accuracy sensor capable of determining exact temperature of an entire area.
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1; however, they do not teach the apparatus further comprising plug- and-play componentry. However, Flir teaches the apparatus further comprising plug- and-play componentry (refer to “Plug&Play” on page 1 and USB on page 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang and Nield to include plug and play componentry of Flir to provide the advantage of using common connectors and standards to increase the applicability of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1; however, they do not teach the apparatus further comprising at least one video camera configured to provide a remotely viewable, live view of at least said thermally dependent system. However, Flir teaches the apparatus further comprising at least one video camera configured to provide a remotely viewable, live view of at least said thermally dependent system (refer to “real-time 16-bit image streaming” on page 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang and Nield to include the live view of Flir to provide the advantage of allowing a user to confirm temperature/thermal issues to make an informed decision to override, thereby minimizing nuisance tripping.
Regarding claim 20, Yang and Nield teach a thermally triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 14; however they do not teach the apparatus further comprising at least one video camera configured to provide a remotely viewable, live view of at least said thermally dependent system. However, Flir teaches the apparatus further comprising at least one video camera configured to provide a remotely viewable, live view of at least said thermally dependent system (refer to “real-time 16-bit image streaming” on page 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang and Nield to include the live view of Flir to provide the advantage of allowing a user to confirm temperature/thermal issues to make an informed decision to override, thereby minimizing nuisance tripping.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Nield as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al. Korean Patent Document KR 101684679 B1 (hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding claim 12, Yang and Nield teach a temperature triggered alert apparatus as described in claim 1; however, they do not teach the apparatus further comprising at least one master module in communication with a plurality of slave modules. However, Song teaches the apparatus further comprising at least one master module in communication with a plurality of slave modules (refer to [0051]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang and Nield to include the master/slave modules of Song to provide the advantage of simplifying temperature control of multiple locations using a well-known method.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838