Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2011/0122358).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display panel (Fig. 1-5, [0005-0066]) comprising:
a substrate (the substrate 110 in Fig. 1-5);
a plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to the portions between the CLC layer 3 and the substrate 110 for RGB in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the substrate ([0005, 0007, 0031]), each of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 1-5) including a first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to C in Fig. 1 and 4-5), a second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to B in Fig. 1 and 4-5), and a third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to A in Fig. 1 and 4-5); and
a reflective layer (the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 in Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]) including a first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to C in Fig. 1 and 4-5), a second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to B in Fig. 1 and 4-5), and a third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to A in Fig. 1 and 4-5),
wherein a thickness of the first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5), a thickness of the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5), and a thickness of the third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5) are each different (Fig. 1-2 and 4-5, Abs, [0019]).
Regarding claims 2-4 and 7, Kim also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) the first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5) is thicker than (Fig. 1-2 and 4-5) the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5), and the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5) is thicker than (Fig. 1-2 and 4-5) the third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5)
(Claim 3) wherein the reflective layer (the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 in Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]) includes cholesteric liquid crystals (Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]), and a pitch of the cholesteric liquid crystals in each of the first reflective portion, the second reflective portion, and the third reflective portion are different (Fig. 4-5, [0036, 0055, 0005-0006], the pitch of the liquid crystal is controlled in the first portion A for display of blue, in the second portion B for green, and in the third portion C for red).
(Claim 4) the first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5) is configured to selectively transmit and reflect red light corresponding to the pitch of the cholesteric liquid crystal in the first reflective portion (Fig. 4-5, [0036, 0055, 0005-0006], the pitch of the liquid crystal is controlled in the first portion A for display of blue, in the second portion B for green, and in the third portion C for red), the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5) is configured to selectively transmit and reflect green light corresponding to the pitch of the cholesteric liquid crystal in the second reflective portion (Fig. 4-5, [0036, 0055, 0005-0006], the pitch of the liquid crystal is controlled in the first portion A for display of blue, in the second portion B for green, and in the third portion C for red), and the third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5) is configured to selectively transmit and reflect blue light corresponding to the pitch of the cholesteric liquid crystal in the third reflective portion (Fig. 4-5, [0036, 0055, 0005-0006], the pitch of the liquid crystal is controlled in the first portion A for display of blue, in the second portion B for green, and in the third portion C for red).
(Claim 7) an encapsulation layer (180 in Fig. 4, or 220 in Fig. 5, [0052-0053, 0057-0060]) disposed between the plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to the portions between the CLC layer 3 and the substrate 110 for RGB in Fig. 4-5) and the reflective layer (the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 in Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]), wherein the encapsulation layer (180 in Fig. 4, or 220 in Fig. 5, [0052-0053, 0057-0060]) includes a first encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to C in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5) disposed between the first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to C in Fig. 1 and 4-5) and the first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5), a second encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to B in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5) disposed between the second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to A in Fig. 1 and 4-5) and the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5), and a third encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to A in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5) disposed between the third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to A in Fig. 1 and 4-5) and the third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5), a thickness of the second encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to B in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5) is greater than (Fig. 4-5) a thickness of the first encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to C in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5), and a thickness of the third encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to A in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5) is greater than (Fig. 4-5) the thickness of the second encapsulation portion (the portion of 180 or 220 corresponding to B in Fig. 4 or Fig. 5).
Claims 1, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekine (US 2023/0269993).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine teaches a display panel (Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0131-0711]) comprising:
a substrate (the substrate 41 or 26 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B);
a plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to CF1/CF2/CF3, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 301, 302 and 303 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) disposed on the substrate (the substrate 41 or 26 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), each of the plurality of pixels including a first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to CF3, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 303 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), a second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to CF2, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 302 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), and a third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to CF1, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 301 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B); and
a reflective layer (61 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) including a first reflective portion (613 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) disposed on the first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to CF3, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 303 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), a second reflective portion (612 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) disposed on the second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to CF2, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 302 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), and a third reflective portion (611 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) disposed on the third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to CF1, and/or 31, 32 and 33 for 301 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B),
wherein a thickness of the first reflective portion (613 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), a thickness of the second reflective portion (612 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), and a thickness of the third reflective portion (611 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) are each different (Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-12, Sekine also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 7) an encapsulation layer (62 or 62’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) disposed between the plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 301, 302 and 303 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) and the reflective layer (61 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), wherein the encapsulation layer (62 or 62’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) includes a first encapsulation portion (623 or 623’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) disposed between the first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 303 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) and the first reflective portion (613 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), a second encapsulation portion (622 or 622’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) disposed between the second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 302 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) and the second reflective portion (612 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), and a third encapsulation portion (621 or 621’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) disposed between the third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 301 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) and the third reflective portion (611 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), a thickness of the second encapsulation portion (622 or 622’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) is greater than (Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) a thickness of the first encapsulation portion (623 or 623’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]), and a thickness of the third encapsulation portion (621 or 621’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]) is greater than (Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) the thickness of the second encapsulation portion (621 or 621’ in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0508]).
(Claim 10) a light concentrating layer (the layer corresponding to 51 and 35 in Fig. 24-25, [0361-0369]) the disposed between the plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to CF1/CF2/CF3 in Fig. 24-25) and the reflective layer (61 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]), wherein the light concentrating layer includes: high refractive index layers (35 in Fig. 24-25, [0185-0192]) disposed on the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel (Fig. 24-25, [0185-0192]); and a low refractive index layer (51 in Fig. 24-25, [0185-0192]) disposed on the high refractive index layers (35 in Fig. 24-25, [0185-0192]).
(Claim 11) each of the first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 303 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), the second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 302 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), and the third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to 31, 32 and 33 for 301 in Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) includes a first electrode (31 in Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B), a light-emitting element (33 in Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) disposed on the first electrode, and a second electrode (33 in Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B) disposed on the light-emitting element (Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B).
(Claim 12) light reflected by the reflective layer (61 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) is reflected toward ([0380, 0502], Fig. 15-16, Fig. 24-25, Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, the reflective layer (61 in Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0506-0508]) by the first electrode (31 in Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 36B and Fig. 37B, [0380, 0502], The first electrode 31 is composed of a light reflecting material layer).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwai (US 6661484).
Regarding claim 18, Iwai teaches a display panel (Fig. 1, Fig. 3 and Fig. 7, Col. 3-13) comprising:
a substrate (1 in Fig. 1, 3 and 7);
a plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to the portions of 2/5/16/17 for each pixel including RGB in Fig. 1, 3 and 7, Col. 2, Lines 37-40, Col. 3, Lines 8-10) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1, 3 and 7), each of the plurality of pixels including a first sub-pixel (the portions of 2/5/16/17 for the subpixel R in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), a second sub-pixel (the portions of 2/5/16/17 for the subpixel G in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), and a third sub-pixel (the portions of 2/5/16/17 for the subpixel B in Fig. 1, 3 and 7);
a color filter (the filter including 3a, 3b and 3c in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) including a red filter (3a in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) disposed on the first sub-pixel (the portions of 2/5/16/17 for the subpixel R in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), a green filter (3b in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) disposed on the second sub-pixel (the portions of 2/5/16/17 for the subpixel G in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), and a blue filter (3c in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) disposed on the third sub-pixel (the portions of 2/5/16/17 for the subpixel B in Fig. 1, 3 and 7); and
a cholesteric liquid crystal layer (the liquid crystal layer 7, which is a chiral nematic liquid crystal layer, in Fig. 1, 3 and 7, Col. 6, Lines 45-52) including a first cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel R in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) disposed on the red filter (3a in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), a second cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel G in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) disposed on the green filter (3b in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), and a third cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel B in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) disposed on the blue filter (3c in Fig. 1, 3 and 7),
wherein a thickness of the first cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel R in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) is greater than (Fig. 1, 3 and 7) a thickness of the second cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel G in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), and the thickness of the second cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel G in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) is greater than (Fig. 1, 3 and 7) a thickness of the third cholesteric liquid crystal portion (the portions of 7 for the subpixel B in Fig. 1, 3 and 7).
Regarding claims 19-20, Iwai also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 19) a thickness of the red filter (3a in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) is less than (Fig. 1, 3 and 7) a thickness of the green filter (3b in Fig. 1, 3 and 7), and the thickness of the green filter (3b in Fig. 1, 3 and 7) is less than (Fig. 1, 3 and 7) a thickness of the blue filter (3c in Fig. 1, 3 and 7)
(Claim 20) a reflective plate (the reflective layer 12 in Fig. 3) disposed between (Fig. 3) the substrate (1 in Fig. 3) and the plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to the portions of 5 for each pixel including RGB in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Ozawa (US 2003/0076466).
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not teach the following elements.
Ozawa teaches the following elements (Fig. 2 and 4, [0079-0083]):
(Claim 5) a backlight is provided (Fig. 2), a color filter (the pigmented color filter layer 32 in Fig. 2, [0081]) disposed between a plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to 51 in Fig. 2) and a reflective layer (the transflective layer 35 including 34r, 34g and 34b, which are cholesteric liquid crystal films in Fig. 2, [0081-0082]), wherein the color filter (the pigmented color filter layer 32 in Fig. 2, [0081]) includes a first filter (31r in Fig. 2) disposed between a first sub-pixel (52g and 52b below 34r in Fig. 2) and a first reflective portion (34r in Fig. 2), a second filter (31g in Fig. 2) disposed between a second sub-pixel (52b and 52r below 34g in Fig. 2) and a second reflective portion (34g in Fig. 2), and a third filter (31b in Fig. 2) disposed between a third sub-pixel (52r and 52g below 34b in Fig. 2) and a third reflective portion (34b in Fig. 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Ozawa for the system of Kim such that in the system of Kim,
(Claim 5) a backlight is provided, a color filter disposed between the plurality of pixels and the reflective layer, wherein the color filter includes a first filter disposed between the first sub-pixel and the first reflective portion, a second filter disposed between the second sub-pixel and the second reflective portion, and a third filter disposed between the third sub-pixel and the third reflective portion.
The motivation is to display sufficiently bright images (Ozawa, [0002]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2023/0176377) in view of Kim (US 2011/0122358).
Regarding claim 13, He teaches a personal immersive device (Fig. 14-15, Fig. 1-2, [0038-0089]) comprising:
a display panel (the reflective display panel 1418/102 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 1-2); and
a lens (1432/106 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 1-2) disposed on the display panel (Fig. 14 and Fig. 1-2),
wherein the display panel (the reflective display panel 1418/102 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 1-2) includes:
a substrate (the substrate of the reflective display panel 1418/102 in Fig. 14 and Fig. 1-2);
a plurality of pixels disposed on the substrate (Fig. 14 and Fig. 1-2, [0038]).
He does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel; and a reflective layer including a first reflective portion disposed on the first sub-pixel, a second reflective portion disposed on the second sub-pixel, and a third reflective portion disposed on the third sub-pixel, and wherein a thickness of the first reflective portion, a thickness of the second reflective portion, and a thickness of the third reflective portion are each different.
Kim teaches that each of a plurality of pixels (Fig. 1-5, [0005, 0007, 0031]) including a first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to C in Fig. 1 and 4-5), a second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to B in Fig. 1 and 4-5), and a third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to A in Fig. 1 and 4-5); and a reflective layer (the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 in Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]) including a first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the first sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to C in Fig. 1 and 4-5), a second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the second sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to B in Fig. 1 and 4-5), and a third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5) disposed on the third sub-pixel (the subpixel corresponding to A in Fig. 1 and 4-5), wherein a thickness of the first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5), a thickness of the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5), and a thickness of the third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5) are each different (Fig. 1-2 and 4-5, Abs, [0019]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kim for the system of He such that in the system of He, each of the plurality of pixels including a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel; and a reflective layer including a first reflective portion disposed on the first sub-pixel, a second reflective portion disposed on the second sub-pixel, and a third reflective portion disposed on the third sub-pixel, and wherein a thickness of the first reflective portion, a thickness of the second reflective portion, and a thickness of the third reflective portion are each different. The motivation is to provide a reflective display including relatively low power consumption and high screen luminance (Kim, [0005]).
Regarding claims 14-15, He does not teach the following elements.
Kim teaches the following elements:
(Claim 14) the first reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to C in Fig. 4-5) is thicker than (Fig. 1-2 and 4-5) the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5), and the second reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to B in Fig. 4-5) is thicker than (Fig. 1-2 and 4-5) the third reflective portion (the portion of the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 corresponding to A in Fig. 4-5)
(Claim 15) wherein the reflective layer (the cholesteric liquid crystal layer 3 in Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]) includes cholesteric liquid crystals (Fig. 4-5, [0015, 0034]), and a pitch of the cholesteric liquid crystals in each of the first reflective portion, the second reflective portion, and the third reflective portion are different (Fig. 4-5, [0036, 0055, 0005-0006], the pitch of the liquid crystal is controlled in the first portion A for display of blue, in the second portion B for green, and in the third portion C for red).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kim for the system of He in view of Kim such that in the system of He in view of Kim,
(Claim 14) the first reflective portion is thicker than the second reflective portion, and the second reflective portion is thicker than the third reflective portion.
(Claim 15) the reflective layer includes cholesteric liquid crystals, and a pitch of the cholesteric liquid crystals in each of the first reflective portion, the second reflective portion, and the third reflective portion are different.
The motivation is to provide a reflective display including relatively low power consumption and high screen luminance (Kim, [0005]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Kim as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ozawa (US 2003/0076466).
Regarding claim 16, Kim does not teach the following elements.
Ozawa teaches the following elements (Fig. 2 and 4, [0079-0083]):
(Claim 16) a backlight is provided (Fig. 2), a color filter (the pigmented color filter layer 32 in Fig. 2, [0081]) disposed between a plurality of pixels (the pixels corresponding to 51 in Fig. 2) and a reflective layer (the transflective layer 35 including 34r, 34g and 34b, which are cholesteric liquid crystal films in Fig. 2, [0081-0082]), wherein the color filter (the pigmented color filter layer 32 in Fig. 2, [0081]) includes a first filter (31r in Fig. 2) disposed between a first sub-pixel (52g and 52b below 34r in Fig. 2) and a first reflective portion (34r in Fig. 2), a second filter (31g in Fig. 2) disposed between a second sub-pixel (52b and 52r below 34g in Fig. 2) and a second reflective portion (34g in Fig. 2), and a third filter (31b in Fig. 2) disposed between a third sub-pixel (52r and 52g below 34b in Fig. 2) and a third reflective portion (34b in Fig. 2).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Ozawa for the system of He in view of Kim such that in the system of He in view of Kim,
(Claim 16) a backlight is provided, a color filter disposed between the plurality of pixels and the reflective layer, wherein the color filter includes a first filter disposed between the first sub-pixel and the first reflective portion, a second filter disposed between the second sub-pixel and the second reflective portion, and a third filter disposed between the third sub-pixel and the third reflective portion.
The motivation is to display sufficiently bright images (Ozawa, [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of a display panel or a personal immersive device as set forth in claims 6, 8-9 and 17.
Regarding claims 6, 8-9 and 17, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a display panel or a personal immersive device recited in claim 5 or 16, wherein “a thickness of the first filter is less than a thickness of the second filter, and the thickness of the second filter is less than a thickness of the third filter” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871