DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner’s interpretation of independent claim 1, for the purpose of consideration on the merits, is as follows:
The claim discloses the step of a transceiver transmitting or receiving, prior to entering L2 (power saving, paragraph 3, line 1) Mode, a message comprising a parameter which indicates at least the minimum expected throughput setting for the transceiver once it begins the process of exiting the L2 mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 appears to be written as follows: “A method comprising: transmitting or receiving, by a transceiver and prior to entering an L2 Mode, a message comprising a parameter indicating at least a minimum expected throughput after a first L2 exit step from the L2 Mode.”
This language could be interpreted either as described in “Claim Interpretation” above, or in such a way that the transceiver exits L2 Mode without/before entering L2 mode. Based on this ambiguity, the claim appears to be indefinite, and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S C. 112(b) accordingly.
For the purpose of consideration on the merits, the claim will be interpreted as stated in “Claim Interpretation” above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reina (US 2005/0271129), hereafter referred to as Reina’129 in view of Schoppmeier et al. (US 2011/0276826), hereafter referred to as Schoppmeier’826.
Referring to independent claim 1, Reina’129 teaches a method comprising: transmitting or receiving, by a transceiver (transmitter 22 and receiver 24, see figure 1 and paragraph 34, lines 2-3) and prior to entering an L2 mode, a message (initialization mode involves selecting a sub-group of tones selected to transmit transition sequence to signal transition back to L0 from L2, wherein tones are selected based on signal-to-noise ratio or other channel conditions, paragraph 38, lines 7-13).
Reina’129 does not appear to explicitly teach the message comprising a parameter indicating at least a minimum expected throughput after a first L2 exit step from the L2 mode.
However, Schoppmeier’826 teaches a message comprising a parameter indicating at least a minimum expected throughput after a first L2 exit step from the L2 mode (“Framing parameters for a DTU framer may for example comprise a number of Reed-Solomon codewords per DTU, a number of padding bytes per DTU or a framing type defining the DTU framing structure”, paragraph 26, lines 1-4; framing parameter change 40, see figure 4A and paragraph 75, lines 9-12; minimum rate for MSG_min and required bandwidth may be set, paragraph 143, lines 11-16; entering or leaving a low power mode, for example a L2 mode as defined in some xDSL standards, paragraph 21, lines 6-7).
Reina’129 and Schoppmeier’826 are analogous because they are drawn to the same inventive field of low power transmission of data.
Prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Reina’129 and Schoppmeier’826 before them, to modify the method of Reina’129 by incorporating the framing parameter change message specifying settings of required bandwidth and minimum rates.
The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate coordinating an online parameter change with other aspects of the communication system (paragraph 5, lines 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Reina’129 and Schoppmeier’826 to bring about the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tzannes (US 2003/0210739) discloses SRA protocols used to enter and exit from low power modes in a very fast and seamless manner.
Quigley et al. (US 7,843,847) discloses wherein after the wait state is entered, then each channel is checked on a per user basis.
Kim et al. (WO 2012053841 A2) discloses wherein an MTC operating parameter may be received through a network entry process between the MTC terminal and the base station or a deregistration process transmitted and received to allow the terminal to initially enter an idle mode in a connected mode.
Contact Information
/J.B.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184