DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a Continuation of U.S. Application Ser. No. 18443,178, filed Feb. 15, 2024, now U.S. Patent 12,186,916, which is a Continuation of U.S. Application Ser. No. 18/220,412, filed Jul 11, 2023, now U.S. Patent 12,162,165, which is a Continuation of U.S. Application Ser. No. 17/881,475, filed August 4, 2022, now U.S. Patent 11,745,348.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-16 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application completely encompass the claims of the patent. One could not make or use the invention recited in claims 12-16 and 19 of the patent without infringing upon the claims of this application. Claims 14 of the patent aligns with claims 1 and 4 of this application; claim 19 also aligns with claim 1; claim 15 aligns with claim 2; and claim 16 aligns with claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roy et al. (US 2020/0286192).
Regarding independent claim 1, Roy discloses a system comprising: a frame (1) defining a frontal plane, a sagittal plane, a first end (bottom), and a second end (top) opposite the first end across the frontal plane, an intersection of the frontal plane and the sagittal plane defining a reference axis; a plurality of sensors, comprising: a first scale (18) and a second scale (19) opposite the first scale across the sagittal plane, the first and second scales configured to support a first bin and a second bin, respectively; a first camera (14) mounted to the frame above the first scale; a second camera (15) mounted to the frame above the second scale and opposite the first camera across the sagittal plane; and a third camera (16) mounted at the second end of the frame; and a robot arm (12), comprising at least three degrees-of freedom (DOF) mounted to the frame above the first and second scales with a base joint of the robot arm mounted at an incline relative to the reference axis.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 3, Roy discloses that The first and second scales are mounted to the frame. The frontal plane intersects the first camera and the second camera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al. (US 2020/0286192) in view of Ottitsch et al. (US 2020/0394603). Roy discloses a system comprising: a frame (1) defining a frontal plane, a sagittal plane, a first end (bottom), and a second end (top) opposite the first end across the frontal plane, an intersection of the frontal plane and the sagittal plane defining a reference axis; a plurality of sensors, comprising: a first scale (18) and a second scale (19) opposite the first scale across the sagittal plane, the first and second scales configured to support a first bin and a second bin, respectively; a first camera (14) mounted to the frame above the first scale; a second camera (15) mounted to the frame above the second scale and opposite the first camera across the sagittal plane; and a third camera (16) mounted at the second end of the frame; and a robot arm (12), comprising at least three degrees-of freedom (DOF) mounted to the frame above the first and second scales with a base joint of the robot arm mounted at an incline relative to the reference axis. Roy discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the third camera is a set of cameras wherein the set of cameras comprises a stereo-camera pair. However, Ottitsch discloses a similar device which includes a camera (100) which is a set of cameras which are a stereo-camera pair (see para. 0376) for the purpose of determining the space-time coordinates of bins. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Roy by having the third camera include a set of cameras wherein the set of cameras comprises a stereo-camera pair, as disclosed by Ottitsch, for the purpose of determining the space-time coordinates of the bins.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oleynik (US 2021/0069910) and Buehlet (US 2013/0101714) disclose similar food preparation systems which include robot arms and cameras.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653