DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 is further rejected due to its dependency to claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “machine learning models” In line 9. However, the disclosure fails to provide support for all kinds of machine learning models to be trained to assist the user in achieving a particular mental state. [0093], [0103], and [0108] of the PGPUB generally recite the machine learning algorithms but do not recite which machine learning algorithms in particular are being used.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites that the bio-signal comprises at least one of an EEG bio-signal sensor, a functional near-infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS) sensor, an EMG sensor, a galvanometer sensor, an electrocardiograph sensor, a heart rate sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, an eye-tracking sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a breathing sensor, a pedometer, a gyroscope. However, claim 1 recites that the bio-signal sensor measures brain activity. It is unclear how the bio-signal sensor would measure brain activity with a sensor besides the recited EEG bio-signal sensor (a fNIRS sensor, an EMG sensor, a galvanometer sensor, an electrocardiograph sensor, a heart rate sensor, a PPG sensor, an eye-tracking sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a breathing sensor, a pedometer, or a gyroscope). Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soulet de Brugiere et al. ‘717 (US Pub No. 2018/0368717 – cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Soulet de Brugiere et al. ‘717 teaches wearable device to wear on a head of a user (Fig. 1 device 100 and [0068]), the device comprising:
a flexible band shaped to correspond to the user’s head ([0072]), the flexible band including a front portion configured to contact at least part of a frontal region of the user’s head (Portion around forehead of user is interpreted as the front portion.), a rear portion configured to contact at least part of an occipital region of the user’s head (Portion including analysis means 150 is interpreted as the rear portion.), and at least one side portion extending between the front portion and the rear portion (Portion between the front portion and rear portion that includes transmission means 140 is interpreted as the side portion.);
a bio-signal sensor disposed on the flexible band to receive bio-signals from the user to measure brain activity (Fig. 1 acquisition means 130 and [0092]); and
an audio emitter configured to deliver feedback to the user based on the bio-signals (Fig. 2 acoustic transducer 110 and [0147]-[0150]), wherein the feedback is generated based on machine learning models trained to assist the user in achieving a particular mental state ([0002], [0138]-[0141]).
Regarding claim 2, Soulet de Brugiere et al. ‘717 teaches wherein the bio-signal sensor comprises at least one of an EEG bio-signal sensor ([0089], [0092]), a functional near-infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS) sensor, an EMG sensor ([0089]), a galvanometer sensor, an electrocardiograph sensor ([0089]), a heart rate sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, an eye-tracking sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a breathing sensor, a pedometer, a gyroscope.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,251,236 in view of Soulet de Brugiere et al. ‘717).
Regarding claim 1, the US Patent teaches wearable device to wear on a head of a user, the device comprising:
a flexible band shaped to correspond to the user’s head, the flexible band including a front portion configured to contact at least part of a frontal region of the user’s head, a rear portion configured to contact at least part of an occipital region of the user’s head, and at least one side portion extending between the front portion and the rear portion (Claim 1);
a bio-signal sensor disposed on the flexible band to receive bio-signals from the user to measure brain activity (Claim 1); and
an audio emitter (Claim 19).
The US Patent fails to teach the audio emitter configured to deliver feedback to the user based on the bio-signals, wherein the feedback is generated based on machine learning models trained to assist the user in achieving a particular mental state.
Soulet de Brugiere et al. ‘717 teaches an audio emitter configured to deliver feedback to the user based on the bio-signals (Fig. 2 acoustic transducer 110 and [0147]-[0150]), wherein the feedback is generated based on machine learning models trained to assist the user in achieving a particular mental state ([0002], [0138]-[0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio emitter of the US Patent to include being configured to deliver feedback to the user based on the bio-signals, wherein the feedback is generated based on machine learning models trained to assist the user in achieving a particular mental state as Soulet de Brugiere et al. ‘717 teaches that this will aid in synchronizing the emitted acoustic signal with a predefined brain wave temporal pattern when the person is in a state fitting for stimulation.
Regarding claim 2, the US Patent teaches wherein the bio-signal sensor comprises at least one of an EEG bio-signal sensor (Claim 1), a functional near-infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS) sensor, an EMG sensor, a galvanometer sensor, an electrocardiograph sensor, a heart rate sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, an eye-tracking sensor, a blood pressure sensor, a breathing sensor, a pedometer, a gyroscope.
Conclusion
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791